Newly Diagnosed 15 year old cat

choyt

Member Since 2026
Hello All,
I am not sure where to start. My male cat has recently been diagnosed with diabetes but given my current financial situation I am considering medical surrender. I was able to cover his initial ER visit and overnight visit. We got the insulin for him and are using the libre 3 freestyle plus to track and the U 300 glargine. It is long lasting but can take 7 days to release in his system. He is only receiving 1 unit dose ideally every 12 hours but the diabetes specialist said as it is longer lasting 1 dose daily is fine. We are in the first 24 hours I gave him a dose 1 about 21 hours ago and dose 2 about 8 hours ago. He is currently having off the charts readings of high glucose. At this point due to my work constraints and financial constraints I am unable to take him in, not to mention the ER we have been going too is not particularly close by. A lot of resources says this is normal for the first 7 days but the vet really wants to test him themselves. My regular bey doesn't have an opening until Aug 28 so in 2 weeks. I am unsure what I can do as I want what is best for him but I can't poor from an empty cup.
 
Don't give up! I know it is overwhelming at first, we all have been there, but there's hope and solutions, you have been prescribed a good insulin, in this
Forum you can get assistance to a good health diabetic cat in no time by following good advice, in regard to your financial situation there are many foundations willing to assist you, below is a link for financial assistance. please keep posting, we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, also links below, please, keep posting we are here to help you in this journey!
in our main menu you will find many sticky notes and much important information on feline diabetes, I am sure there will be a member ready to assist you on dosing and feeding advice on Lantus

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Financial Help Links
 
I agree with CORKY, please don’t give up!! I felt just like you just a few months ago, felt like I was stuck between a rock and a hard place. But my cat's glucose went from off the charts to very nice numbers from all the guidance/advice I received here! It can be treated at home and be relatively inexpensive. The first vet visit when my cat was diagnosed was the most expensive time but you're already past that! My vet also tried to push for in clinic testing but it's not even recommended by the AAHA anymore and I get more accurate readings at home. People are here to help!
 
Hello and welcome. What is your kitty's name?

We don't get many users here with the U-300 glargine, most use the U-100 glargine. You do have to give it twice a day, but there are some coupon programs that make it quite cost effective. Are you using the U-300 pen to give the insulin?

Don't worry about the initial high numbers. Glargine is a depot style insulin, it does take a while to build up in the body. When you say "high numbers" can you give me an idea of how high, the actual numbers? We are not as concerned about the high numbers, but rather the low ones and how low the dose is taking him (the nadirs). Can you tell me what the lowest number is that you have seen so far?

The only reason high numbers could be a concern is if he was otherwise acting poorly, lethargic and not eating and getting ketones. With a cheap bottle of ketostix, you can test him at home for ketones. Tips to catch and test a urine sample

Since you are using the Libre, this post might help you: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats. A lot of people do their own installation of the Libres, to save money. A lot of us you blood glucose metersd, the human ones are OK. If you are gathering blood sugar data on your own, there is no reason to visit the vet for a curve or blood glucose test. I used to put my blood sugar data in the spreadsheet (Corky linked it above) and drop the week's worth of data off at the vet each week, at least in the beginning. Then I just started following the dosing methods we use here. Unfortunately we don't have a method for the U-300 glargine.
 
Hello and welcome. What is your kitty's name?

We don't get many users here with the U-300 glargine, most use the U-100 glargine. You do have to give it twice a day, but there are some coupon programs that make it quite cost effective. Are you using the U-300 pen to give the insulin?

Don't worry about the initial high numbers. Glargine is a depot style insulin, it does take a while to build up in the body. When you say "high numbers" can you give me an idea of how high, the actual numbers? We are not as concerned about the high numbers, but rather the low ones and how low the dose is taking him (the nadirs). Can you tell me what the lowest number is that you have seen so far?

The only reason high numbers could be a concern is if he was otherwise acting poorly, lethargic and not eating and getting ketones. With a cheap bottle of ketostix, you can test him at home for ketones. Tips to catch and test a urine sample

Since you are using the Libre, this post might help you: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats. A lot of people do their own installation of the Libres, to save money. A lot of us you blood glucose metersd, the human ones are OK. If you are gathering blood sugar data on your own, there is no reason to visit the vet for a curve or blood glucose test. I used to put my blood sugar data in the spreadsheet (Corky linked it above) and drop the week's worth of data off at the vet each week, at least in the beginning. Then I just started following the dosing methods we use here. Unfortunately we don't have a method for the U-300 glargine.
Yes we are using a glargine pen for him.
 
The issue with using a pen versus a syringe is that in order to prime the pen, you have to waste a unit or so of insulin. If finances are an issue, wasting insulin can become a cost issue over time. Syringes are inexpensive and also allow you greater accuracy. The pens do not allow you to adjust a dose for less than 1.0u. We recommend making dose changes that are less than 1.0u.
 
Hello All,
I am not sure where to start. My male cat has recently been diagnosed with diabetes but given my current financial situation I am considering medical surrender. I was able to cover his initial ER visit and overnight visit. We got the insulin for him and are using the libre 3 freestyle plus to track and the U 300 glargine. It is long lasting but can take 7 days to release in his system. He is only receiving 1 unit dose ideally every 12 hours but the diabetes specialist said as it is longer lasting 1 dose daily is fine. We are in the first 24 hours I gave him a dose 1 about 21 hours ago and dose 2 about 8 hours ago. He is currently having off the charts readings of high glucose. At this point due to my work constraints and financial constraints I am unable to take him in, not to mention the ER we have been going too is not particularly close by. A lot of resources says this is normal for the first 7 days but the vet really wants to test him themselves. My regular bey doesn't have an opening until Aug 28 so in 2 weeks. I am unsure what I can do as I want what is best for him but I can't poor from an empty cup.
Hey and welcome here.
I know it can be overwhelming at first when your kitty gets the diagnosis but I promise you it is getting better. My boy Regs was diagnosed in April and I'm just here for a couple weeks and got amazing recommendations here and slowly his Glucose is getting lower. The freestyle libre unfortunately only goes to 400mg/dL so right in the beginning that is not the best way to measure if your kitty has very high sugars. Many people here use a human glucose meter, if you are in the US from Walmart ReliOn, the meter and the test strips are quite inexpensive so it should not make such a big impact on your finacial situation then letting the vet make a curve and you can keep an eye on his glucose levels yourself.
The group is amazing and so helpful I'm sure someone could help you making a spreadsheet and put the numbers down, so you can have a great overview about your progress. Unless he is showing signs of illness I would monitor myself and maybe just send the vets the numbers here and there but I'm sure someone much more experienced can explain you better
 
For more context. I would love to use the U 100 but in large part because my work schedule is not stable. I am an AGM for a busy restaurant, with an hour commute. So I am gone at minimum 10 hours a day and at max 12-14. The interness I was working at with VEG which is a veterinary group in the Bay area was immensely helpful. The interness specializes in Feline Diabetes. I am saying working with human pharmacy's for a cat is extremely difficult. The U 300 some pharmacies will break up a package of the pens. I have been lucky that my sister knows Biochemistry so well so we are currently trying to find the right dose for this cat. Otto Bot used to be a really big boy but the ketones he had were very high and they caused him to lose a lot of weight. Apparently he is in the early diabetes stages so he is very treatable, with the potential to fully go into remission. Now I live in the Bay Area so things are pricey here. It has been a huge challenge finding a balance. Now I am using the libre sensor 3 freestyle plus. One pen can last a few months. When I said his readings were very high libre only goes to 400. Otto has been in the 350+ so it seems he is insulin resistant. I know U300 takes time to build its depot, I am just really worried he is hurting. The lowest we got in is 258. The problem is he is also a grazer. I am using low phosphorus food for him but I really need to get him more protein but we aren't trying to stress him out further. It has been a lot to deal with. I still have a small part of me that if someone better equipped can take care of him it would be better. His sister Tedi Bear was also diagnosed with early Kidney Disease. I have 2 younger cats as well.
 
This CKD food Chart has a list of low carb foods that are low in phosphorus, meaning both cats can eat it.

Good to know that Otto Bot had a history of DKA. That means that it's essential he get his shots, and lots of food to start, like 1.5 times his normal calories. How is his appetite? Kitties post DKA often benefit from a nausea medication like ondansetron. What dose of insulin is he on?

There are some things you can put in your signature that are really helpful for us, as they are common questions. Descriptions of what can go in there in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
This CKD food Chart has a list of low carb foods that are low in phosphorus, meaning both cats can eat it.

Good to know that Otto Bot had a history of DKA. That means that it's essential he get his shots, and lots of food to start, like 1.5 times his normal calories. How is his appetite? Kitties post DKA often benefit from a nausea medication like ondansetron. What dose of insulin is he on?

There are some things you can put in your signature that are really helpful for us, as they are common questions. Descriptions of what can go in there in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
He is on a U300 glargine pen for the moment 2 units. Once we get his sensor back on (it fell off last night) we will read his glucose level. His appetite has been touch and go sometimes he eats a lot and other times he barely touches anything. He has lost a lot of weight. Hopefully I can stabilize him soon. His sister seems to be putting him at ease, and the younger cats are very confused.
 
Toujeo is 3 times stronger than the U-100 glargine. Your vet has started your cat on the equivalent of 6 units of U-100 glargine. That is a HUGE starting dose. We typically start cats on around 1 units of a U-100 insulin.
 
Toujeo is 3 times stronger than the U-100 glargine. Your vet has started your cat on the equivalent of 6 units of U-100 glargine. That is a HUGE starting dose. We typically start cats on around 1 units of a U-100 insulin.
We started him on 1 unit but his glucose was off the charts it did absolutely nothing for him, he stayed at 400 for 48 hours. So we are trying 2 units so far it has stabilized him better. We got the lowest on 2 units was 258. It is making me wonder if he is insulin resistant. For now we are watching closely to see if the 2 units is working for him. I will have solid data in 3 more days.
 
There are many things that can cause insulin resistance such as other medical conditions, infection or inflammation. Needing a dental is a common issue. Does he have any other medical conditions that you know of?
 
There are many things that can cause insulin resistance such as other medical conditions, infection or inflammation. Needing a dental is a common issue. Does he have any other medical conditions that you know of?
Aside from his Diabetes and Kidney Disease (early stage). He is also a FIC kitty Feline Idiopathic Cystitis. His teeth and gums are good nothing there. We have an appointment with our regular vet in 11 more days. So we will see what they want to do.
 
it's totally normal for it to take a while for kitty to get out of the high BG #s. i'm attaching my kitty's Chart from when he was first diagnoseed last year. you can see how high the #s are. he is doing well now & in normal BG 99% of the time. (also, his dosage has been lowered to 0.5u nowadays)
 

Attachments

  • diag.jpeg
    diag.jpeg
    314.9 KB · Views: 4
Last edited:
it's totally normal for it to take a while for kitty to get out of the high BG #s. i'm attaching my kitty's Chart from when he was first diagnoseed last year. you can see how high the #s are. he is doing well now & in normal BG 99% of the time.
Honestly this makes me feel a lot better. I am genuinely worried about him though.
 
Honestly this makes me feel a lot better. I am genuinely worried about him though.
i know it's overwhelming at first because there is so much info to take in. just focus on giving insulin regularly & testing his BG. if you have to give the dose 1-2 hours early/late due to work, it's ok.

i am a bit concerned how high his dose is right now. just keep in mind it takes time (at least a week or 2) for the body to adjust to the insulin. see how on my Chart i did not up the dose despite the high BG #s. that is because the vet told me to keep the dose for 1-2 weeks before upping it (if BG is still too high). you gotta be patient about this.

my kitty is now down to just 0.5u twice a day & has normal BG. but it took a year to get here. i dont want you to overdose the insulin due to impatience. (i am not a vet, just my opinion)
 
Last edited:
I am worried too. He was originally a 20 pound cat and he has lost weight since but is still 15 pounds but he feels so thin right now. Mixed with Kidney Disease which his sister also has, has made this situation so much harder. I want to get him more protein but the vet said to not change things too much for now. Right now we are trying to stabilize him. I know he isn't feeling great at all.
 
I am worried too. He was originally a 20 pound cat and he has lost weight since but is still 15 pounds but he feels so thin right now. Mixed with Kidney Disease which his sister also has, has made this situation so much harder. I want to get him more protein but the vet said to not change things too much for now. Right now we are trying to stabilize him. I know he isn't feeling great at all.
the reason he has lost weight is because the high BG keeps his body from processing nutrients in food properly. you might even notice he eats more now (or is hungy more), yet still lost weight. it's ok.

When the glucose levels are more regulated, the constant hunger will go away & he will gain weight back. same thing happened to mine. dont worry about it, just let him eat as much as he wants (low carb wet food). he will himself normalize when his BG is lower.
 
Back
Top