Well, where to begin. This week has been full of ups and downs. Jynx is almost 13, diagnosed just about a month ago. I brought him in because I noticed weight loss (went from 11.1 lbs to 8.2) and he couldn't get enough to drink. I was hoping it was hyperthyroid.. but sadly no.. His BG was well over 600.
Started on 2 units Lantus 2x daily and HIlls DM canned food on 3/29. Since I have 2 kitties, dry food was also left out to free feed. No home monitoring at this point (I have to research everything to death.. LOL). Had his first vet curve done on 4/17, still very high numbers +1=289 +5=510, they didn't do anymore and had me increase dosage to 3 units. I also decided on Friday (4/19) to isolate Zoey (second cat) when eating and stop all dry food for Jynx (I will transition Zoey once this food is gone.. it was expensive!). Jynx tends to wolf food down and then throw up so I feed him 1/4 can (6 oz) 4x daily.
MAJOR DOWN: Still no meter, was planning on buying one on Sunday (4/22) had it narrowed down thanks to members of this board. Was on the computer when I heard a little mewl, turned around and poor Jynx was staggering and couldn't walk! Scooped him up, yelled for Hubby, ran into the kitchen.. we rubbed syrup on his gums and I called the Emergency Clinic.. he was looking really bad, like he was already heading into a coma. Quick got dressed, threw a baseball cap on and rushed to the clinic. His initial BG was 20.. yikes.. they gave him fluids and dextrose. Hubby and I went home after 2 1/2 hours, we were lucky that Jynx's levels stabilized enough about 10 pm that same night and got to go bring him home. Did NOT dose next morning, wanted to speak with regular vet first. She lowered the dosage back down to 2 units.
I went out on Monday after work and got a meter, lancets and strips. First test took about 20 minutes.. poor guy, he was a trooper, finally got a sample BG 318. Gave him his 2 units that night +1=285 (went a little better). Tuesday AMPS=85.. seemed low but dosed 2 anyway.. scary since we both had to work all day. Came home and tested right away +8=70.
MAJOR UP: Called the clinic to find out if I should dose, regular vet doesn't work on Tuesday's so spoke to the other. She said her and the other vet have a different way of treating diabetics.. I now want HER!! She said to keep up the home testing, ONLY dose if BG >200 and only 1 unit.
As of now, Jynx's last dose was Tuesday (4/23) AM. Here's his numbers, I'm so happy! These are from a human meter but hopefully good for kitty.
4/23 +10=107, PMPS=112 (0 units), PM +3=139
4/24 AMPS=174 (little higher.. but vet said 200 so 0 units), +8=150, PMPS=152
Long.. but this is my story. Once again I am so very grateful for this forum and the advice I have gotten so far.. you folks ROCK!! :razz:
Started on 2 units Lantus 2x daily and HIlls DM canned food on 3/29. Since I have 2 kitties, dry food was also left out to free feed. No home monitoring at this point (I have to research everything to death.. LOL). Had his first vet curve done on 4/17, still very high numbers +1=289 +5=510, they didn't do anymore and had me increase dosage to 3 units. I also decided on Friday (4/19) to isolate Zoey (second cat) when eating and stop all dry food for Jynx (I will transition Zoey once this food is gone.. it was expensive!). Jynx tends to wolf food down and then throw up so I feed him 1/4 can (6 oz) 4x daily.
MAJOR DOWN: Still no meter, was planning on buying one on Sunday (4/22) had it narrowed down thanks to members of this board. Was on the computer when I heard a little mewl, turned around and poor Jynx was staggering and couldn't walk! Scooped him up, yelled for Hubby, ran into the kitchen.. we rubbed syrup on his gums and I called the Emergency Clinic.. he was looking really bad, like he was already heading into a coma. Quick got dressed, threw a baseball cap on and rushed to the clinic. His initial BG was 20.. yikes.. they gave him fluids and dextrose. Hubby and I went home after 2 1/2 hours, we were lucky that Jynx's levels stabilized enough about 10 pm that same night and got to go bring him home. Did NOT dose next morning, wanted to speak with regular vet first. She lowered the dosage back down to 2 units.
I went out on Monday after work and got a meter, lancets and strips. First test took about 20 minutes.. poor guy, he was a trooper, finally got a sample BG 318. Gave him his 2 units that night +1=285 (went a little better). Tuesday AMPS=85.. seemed low but dosed 2 anyway.. scary since we both had to work all day. Came home and tested right away +8=70.
MAJOR UP: Called the clinic to find out if I should dose, regular vet doesn't work on Tuesday's so spoke to the other. She said her and the other vet have a different way of treating diabetics.. I now want HER!! She said to keep up the home testing, ONLY dose if BG >200 and only 1 unit.
As of now, Jynx's last dose was Tuesday (4/23) AM. Here's his numbers, I'm so happy! These are from a human meter but hopefully good for kitty.
4/23 +10=107, PMPS=112 (0 units), PM +3=139
4/24 AMPS=174 (little higher.. but vet said 200 so 0 units), +8=150, PMPS=152
Long.. but this is my story. Once again I am so very grateful for this forum and the advice I have gotten so far.. you folks ROCK!! :razz: