Newbie - Welcome Jynx

Status
Not open for further replies.

essoh

Member Since 2013
Well, where to begin. This week has been full of ups and downs. Jynx is almost 13, diagnosed just about a month ago. I brought him in because I noticed weight loss (went from 11.1 lbs to 8.2) and he couldn't get enough to drink. I was hoping it was hyperthyroid.. but sadly no.. His BG was well over 600.

Started on 2 units Lantus 2x daily and HIlls DM canned food on 3/29. Since I have 2 kitties, dry food was also left out to free feed. No home monitoring at this point (I have to research everything to death.. LOL). Had his first vet curve done on 4/17, still very high numbers +1=289 +5=510, they didn't do anymore and had me increase dosage to 3 units. I also decided on Friday (4/19) to isolate Zoey (second cat) when eating and stop all dry food for Jynx (I will transition Zoey once this food is gone.. it was expensive!). Jynx tends to wolf food down and then throw up so I feed him 1/4 can (6 oz) 4x daily.

MAJOR DOWN: Still no meter, was planning on buying one on Sunday (4/22) had it narrowed down thanks to members of this board. Was on the computer when I heard a little mewl, turned around and poor Jynx was staggering and couldn't walk! Scooped him up, yelled for Hubby, ran into the kitchen.. we rubbed syrup on his gums and I called the Emergency Clinic.. he was looking really bad, like he was already heading into a coma. Quick got dressed, threw a baseball cap on and rushed to the clinic. His initial BG was 20.. yikes.. they gave him fluids and dextrose. Hubby and I went home after 2 1/2 hours, we were lucky that Jynx's levels stabilized enough about 10 pm that same night and got to go bring him home. Did NOT dose next morning, wanted to speak with regular vet first. She lowered the dosage back down to 2 units.

I went out on Monday after work and got a meter, lancets and strips. First test took about 20 minutes.. poor guy, he was a trooper, finally got a sample BG 318. Gave him his 2 units that night +1=285 (went a little better). Tuesday AMPS=85.. seemed low but dosed 2 anyway.. scary since we both had to work all day. Came home and tested right away +8=70.

MAJOR UP: Called the clinic to find out if I should dose, regular vet doesn't work on Tuesday's so spoke to the other. She said her and the other vet have a different way of treating diabetics.. I now want HER!! She said to keep up the home testing, ONLY dose if BG >200 and only 1 unit.

As of now, Jynx's last dose was Tuesday (4/23) AM. Here's his numbers, I'm so happy! These are from a human meter but hopefully good for kitty.
4/23 +10=107, PMPS=112 (0 units), PM +3=139
4/24 AMPS=174 (little higher.. but vet said 200 so 0 units), +8=150, PMPS=152

Long.. but this is my story. Once again I am so very grateful for this forum and the advice I have gotten so far.. you folks ROCK!! :razz:
 
Looking good so far, but keep testing. You might want to feed frequent mini meals instead of bigger meals to help supplement the pancreas. I hope he continues to drop. An ideal BG is 50-130 but we wouldn't recommend you shoot at these levels being so new.

Keep measuring and keep us updated!

Wendy
 
Wow! So glad to hear that Jynx made it through that first hypo episode ok and is back home.

Reading through your condo, I saw that the dose had been raised to 3 units of lantus and thought to myself "That is too high, too fast". Then I keep reading and see your staggering kitty and a rush to the emergency vet with a hypo. Scary.

Hope the heart palpitations for you and your DH have calmed down since then.

It was also nice to read that the one vet was advising starting at 1 unit and don't shoot if < 200. That is what we like to see for new people starting out. It's the 'Start low, go slow' or SLGS approach which works well.

As you do more home testing and gather more data on how your kitty Jynx reacts to insulin, you will learn to shoot lower numbers. For now, don't worry about it.

Since you said you struggled 20 minutes to get your first home BG test, I'm including two documents for your review that may help you.

This one is the how tos: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub

This one is the how to make it easier on your cat, written by member Kpassa. https://sites.google.com/site/michelangeloprofilefdmb/feline-diabetes/ear-testing-psychology

Good job on spreading out the meals to 4x a day. That also helps to even out the BG numbers.

If you have any other questions, add them to this same post. That way, we can follow along in the history for your cat. To get people to know you have a question, you go back to your very first post in this condo and edit the subject line to include your question and click on the radio button with the question mark after it.

That way, people scanning the board know you are looking for some information and will try to answer it.

Good luck and remember that this is a marathon and not a sprint. We are here to help you in learning all the new steps in this sugardance.
 
Just to clarify feeding.. I am not feeding him 6 oz. 4x daily, I am feeding 1 6 oz. can, 1/4 at a time 4x daily.

Latest data: 4/24 PM +3=157
4/25 AMPS=135 (another 0 units!!) This was about 1.5 hours after first feeding of the day. :-D
 
essoh said:
Just to clarify feeding.. I am not feeding him 6 oz. 4x daily, I am feeding 1 6 oz. can, 1/4 at a time 4x daily
.

Diabetics can't use all the food they eat because of the insulin lack. It is OK to feed about 25-50% more food spread out across the day. Also, adding an ounce or two of water to a can provides more volume and helps replace what is lost through excessive urination.
 
Welcome, again! :-D

essoh said:
Started on 2 units Lantus 2x daily and HIlls DM canned food on 3/29....(I will transition Zoey once this food is gone.. it was expensive!).

Hills is notoriously too high in carbs for diabetics (14%)...although they claim the extra fiber counteracts this but it doesn't when it comes to spiking sugar levels! There is this wonderful thing called the "Hills Guarantee" which allows you to return all food, even opened, back to the vet for a full refund. Just tell them your cat stopped eating it (which is often the case anyway).

If I were you, I'd get rid of it now and try transitioning them onto something cheaper and better for both of them. ;-) You can check out the food list at catinfo.org for some lower carb options (less than 10%, the lower the better). I also created a pre-sorted version of the food list starting with lowest carb amounts to highest and separating out the foods with poultry (Mikey is allergic to beef) and fish.

Getting him onto a lower carb diet might be all he needs to go Off The Juice! otj_icon Jinx definitely looks like he's trying to!
 
We also use this handy spreadsheet for helping us track numbers and to share with others on here.

Here's a quick run-down of spreadsheet-specific terminology:
  • Fur shot: when the syringe needle pokes through almost like a sewing needle through fabric and it is unknown how much, if any, insulin actually made it inside the cat. Usually detected by wet fur or the smell of insulin (it smells like band-aids or scotch or antiseptic). IT IS ALWAYS ASSUMED THAT THE CAT GOT THE INSULIN AND YOU NEVER GIVE ANOTHER SHOT. It is always better to miss a shot than to give too much insulin.
  • AMS/PMS: morning (AM)/evening (PM) shot
  • AMPS/PMPS: morning pre-shot test/evening pre-shot test (it's assumed the shot is given within 15 minutes or less of this test).
  • +1, +2, +3...: How many hours after a shot, i.e. +1 would be one hour after their last PS (pre-shot) test
  • BG/BS: Blood Glucose or Blood Sugar (numbers). Usually used in relation to testing and dosing and what "level" or "point" the cat is at. Used in a sentence: "Michelangelo's BGs have been high so I've been increasing his dose."
  • AMBG/PMBG: morning/evening Blood Glucose. Used when no shot has been given at the regular shot time.

And please let us know if you need any help getting this set up or have any questions.
 
Hello Sue and Jynx,

I've been watching for you to show up ever since you posted on my food list condo...

I was afraid for Jynx when you said 2 units and no testing. And your vet raised you to 3units. :-x (I'm not liking your vet)
I'm so glad you caught that low number and got him to the vet . Cats that experience hypo's can become oversensitive to insulin so you need to be vigilant when you do shoot.

Most of the kitties here start around 1 unit and increase in 0.25 units or 0.50 units to find the right dose. It is determined by weight and by the cat's reaction to the insulin.

It would be good to get a spreadsheet started so others can help you.
How to set up a spreadsheet
If you have troubles setting it up, just ask.... There are many here who are able to do one for you.

I'm so glad you came back and posted.
Welcome to FDMB and keep asking questions....
 
Looks good... Keep watching and seeing. You get 14 days of 40-130 and you can consider him OTJ. I wouldnt shoot unless he is over 200, and even then personally i might wait and see what happens for a day or two... Assuming no ketones of course.

To help him out you could feed him frequent small meals instead of bigger ones if you don't do that already.. Keep up the good work and let us know how it goes!
 
Since Jynx's BG numbers have been running so close to the high point of the normal range for a non-diabetic cat, I would be keeping a close eye on him. I'd be happier if the BG numbers were consistently under 100. Yes, the normal range for a cat is 40-120.

We like to see 2 weeks of numbers < 120, with most of those numbers <100, in the double digits. I think Jynx is very close to being diet controlled but think his pancreas could use a little more support to heal.

I'd like to see mainly green numbers on the spreadsheet instead of all those blues, and many of those blues in the higher range.

Have you considered microdosing?

You are getting there, but maybe a tiny dose would help support the pancreas as it continues to heal.
 
Maybe try an even lower carb food? What are you feeding him now? I've noticed about a 20 to 50 point difference in my cat from 8% vs. 5% carb food.

And you're doing a great job! :thumbup
 
He is doing really well. Keep watching and testing.. we want 40-130. He has had 6 days of that so far from what i can see - lets hope he keeps it up!
 
Jynx had a spike back on May 11 of 127. His numbers since then have been mostly under 100 and the few above I am very comfortable with since they were barely over 100.

He (and Zoey, the other kitty in the house) are going in for their regular check-up and vacs on Tuesday. I will also be bringing in a copy of Jynx's spreadsheet to show her. I know he's gained some weight, his fur looks shiny and soft again and he even plays a bit (he was never much to play in the first place.. LOL).

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0PdczU ... sp=sharing
 
WOO HOO!!!! Just got back from a checkup.. Vet said HE'S IN REMISSION!

A HUGE thank you again to this board, I got so much useful information. I will continue to monitor. I feel pretty lucky that Jynx only needed insulin for a month. Vet says as long as I keep feeding him like I am, he should be fine; even said to only test a few times a month, more for me to keep his levels in check.

He had a great checkup, skin & coat look very healthy, he gained a full pound since he was in about a month ago, and he's only about 1/2 pound from his ideal weight. Again.. THANK YOU ALL!!

flip_cat cat_pet_icon
 
Darn, missed another countdown OTJ trial. We like to see people post every day during an OTJ trial so we can cheer them on. Then, we have a party, usually catered by chef Rusty.

Congratulations Jynx!!!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: CONGRATULATIONS!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Tips to keep him OTJ
1. Never feed high carb food again ever, not even treats. If you change food be 100% sure it's low carb.
2. Test blood every couple of weeks so you can catch issue early
3. Weigh once a month
4. Watch the pee patches, eating and drinking for changes
5. Check all meds from your vet for steroids or sugar before giving, you don't want either
6. Regular vet checks to watch for infection ie UTI, ear, dental.


Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top