Violet and Chaos
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
I got my newbie kit in the mail today and you'll never guess- thanks to the thorough instructions on this site and the little rice sock included in my kit, I have successfully tested Chaos's BG today on the FIRST TRY! (I tested my own BG first to make sure I understood the meter and strips.) So the question I have is about his BG#. His PMPS was 161 (in the US; I'm a bit confused on the difference it makes). What does that say about his current dosage and food, just in general experience? He's on 2.5 units Lantus and a 50/50 mix of wet and dry foods.
Tomorrow I would like to start transitioning him to an all wet diet as well as start his spreadsheet. Would it be wise to reduce his dose as a matter of precaution when reducing the amount of dry food? ? I've read the regulation in 5 steps article and wondering what a good starting dose would be on an all-canned diet and how to handle it if his numbers are too high. He's been on insulin 11 months, so he's not newly diagnosed. just making some changes.
I got my newbie kit in the mail today and you'll never guess- thanks to the thorough instructions on this site and the little rice sock included in my kit, I have successfully tested Chaos's BG today on the FIRST TRY! (I tested my own BG first to make sure I understood the meter and strips.) So the question I have is about his BG#. His PMPS was 161 (in the US; I'm a bit confused on the difference it makes). What does that say about his current dosage and food, just in general experience? He's on 2.5 units Lantus and a 50/50 mix of wet and dry foods.
Tomorrow I would like to start transitioning him to an all wet diet as well as start his spreadsheet. Would it be wise to reduce his dose as a matter of precaution when reducing the amount of dry food? ? I've read the regulation in 5 steps article and wondering what a good starting dose would be on an all-canned diet and how to handle it if his numbers are too high. He's been on insulin 11 months, so he's not newly diagnosed. just making some changes.