Hello, thanks for taking the time to check this out. Here is a link to a post I started recently about some issues we have had. Post started as me looking for advice on Scruffy urinating outside the litterbox and went from there. I have included it if anyone feels the need to look through it.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=28293
I have since switched him to some low carb soft food and he was returning some low BG readings consistently, the very next day. He has probably been diabetic since August sometime (thats when we started to note increased urine in boxes). He was heavy at around 16#'s. He was put on a weight management dry food around July and we switched all of our cats to timed feedings. Scruffy was loosing weight fast (too fast, unknown to us at the time) and showing other signs of diabetes (again unknown to us at the time).
He was diagnosed on Sept. 7th. He started insulin (long story) Sept. 15th. We have been home testing since 9/21. His dose went from 3 to 4 units on 9/21. As far as we know he was never over about 450. Since 9/21-9/27 he was around mid 300's. He then climbed up to low 400's and vet increased his dose from 4 to 5 units of ProZinc. He has been on 5 units since 9/28. He has been getting two shots each day.
After the 5 unit dose increase he started to drop but it was not constant. He would still spike into the mid 300's, but his overall average was coming down. His average from 10/11 - 10/21 was 170. Keep in mind all the above readings were taken once a day with a few being two times a day 6 to 7 hours after his insulin. Thats what the vet directed me to do.
That brings us up to a few days ago when I started his SS which is linked in my sig.
Due to the consistent low readings (under 50) I consulted with vet yesterday who advised no insulin lastnight. He was still low as you can see, so he was given Karo and dry DM food to bring his numbers up. It worked, however, his numbers went to nearly 300. He has since come back down, I did give him a 2 unit dose (as directed by vet, if AMPS readings were above 200).
I submitted a detailed log and a link to my SS to the vet a bit ago. I will wait for a response but wanted to see what advice anyone had from here.
Its very fustrating due to no knowing exactly how accurate my meter is. I am using a OneTouch Ultra fyi. Strips are coded right, and are new. Unit has been tested with solution several times. Unit was even compared to Vets monitor, one time it was 50 points low (vets read around 440, mine 387), another time ours both gave a reading of 446. The consistent low readings on my SS from yesterday were with a low battery (unknown to me at the time), new battery was put in this am before the 270 reading. However, the manuel does state unit will give correct reading until it just will not work anymore. So I would have to assume readings were correct.
As for behavior, Scruffy is always hungry and eats his food like a starved dog. His water intake and urine has both decreased. Even during the low low readings yesterday he has remained otherwise normal in his appearance/behavior. On his weight, he went from the 16# mentioned above down to 11.5#'s. Since insulin and DM dry food he climbed back up to about 15# now. We are very strict on what he eats but he does scam food from the other dishes from time to time if we get distracted. I was told NOT to starve him while we are trying to stabilze him, so I have been giving him small snacks inbetween his main feedings/injections.
Thank you for any input advice you can offer.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=28293
I have since switched him to some low carb soft food and he was returning some low BG readings consistently, the very next day. He has probably been diabetic since August sometime (thats when we started to note increased urine in boxes). He was heavy at around 16#'s. He was put on a weight management dry food around July and we switched all of our cats to timed feedings. Scruffy was loosing weight fast (too fast, unknown to us at the time) and showing other signs of diabetes (again unknown to us at the time).
He was diagnosed on Sept. 7th. He started insulin (long story) Sept. 15th. We have been home testing since 9/21. His dose went from 3 to 4 units on 9/21. As far as we know he was never over about 450. Since 9/21-9/27 he was around mid 300's. He then climbed up to low 400's and vet increased his dose from 4 to 5 units of ProZinc. He has been on 5 units since 9/28. He has been getting two shots each day.
After the 5 unit dose increase he started to drop but it was not constant. He would still spike into the mid 300's, but his overall average was coming down. His average from 10/11 - 10/21 was 170. Keep in mind all the above readings were taken once a day with a few being two times a day 6 to 7 hours after his insulin. Thats what the vet directed me to do.
That brings us up to a few days ago when I started his SS which is linked in my sig.
Due to the consistent low readings (under 50) I consulted with vet yesterday who advised no insulin lastnight. He was still low as you can see, so he was given Karo and dry DM food to bring his numbers up. It worked, however, his numbers went to nearly 300. He has since come back down, I did give him a 2 unit dose (as directed by vet, if AMPS readings were above 200).
I submitted a detailed log and a link to my SS to the vet a bit ago. I will wait for a response but wanted to see what advice anyone had from here.
Its very fustrating due to no knowing exactly how accurate my meter is. I am using a OneTouch Ultra fyi. Strips are coded right, and are new. Unit has been tested with solution several times. Unit was even compared to Vets monitor, one time it was 50 points low (vets read around 440, mine 387), another time ours both gave a reading of 446. The consistent low readings on my SS from yesterday were with a low battery (unknown to me at the time), new battery was put in this am before the 270 reading. However, the manuel does state unit will give correct reading until it just will not work anymore. So I would have to assume readings were correct.
As for behavior, Scruffy is always hungry and eats his food like a starved dog. His water intake and urine has both decreased. Even during the low low readings yesterday he has remained otherwise normal in his appearance/behavior. On his weight, he went from the 16# mentioned above down to 11.5#'s. Since insulin and DM dry food he climbed back up to about 15# now. We are very strict on what he eats but he does scam food from the other dishes from time to time if we get distracted. I was told NOT to starve him while we are trying to stabilze him, so I have been giving him small snacks inbetween his main feedings/injections.
Thank you for any input advice you can offer.