Ally just sent me this PM and I will answer here.
Hi, So Charlie has been like a rainbow on his spreadsheet but we are becoming pros at testing!
Few questions to ensure we are on the right track
* I've done a curve and also a week of +7 and +3 to see if the 1 unit is best for him yet his number still bounce around.
Should we keep doing what we are doing and he could just be a bouncer 
Or continue to try do +7 when possible?
Also when his numbers are below 8.3 I've read I can feed then test after a few hours then do his shot if I held the shot would I then have to alter his next shot time and future? He isn't impressed at all if we test and he doesn't get fed (he is just here for the food!)
Thanks so much for all your guidance for this newbie
Hi Ally, I didn’t see your last post, sorry. Next time tag me or someone to make sure we see it.
re your questions:
You can see how much information we get when you test during the cycles and how little we get when you don’t.
When you are doing SLGS you reduce the dose any time the BG drops under 90 (5). Charlie dropped to 76 on 17/10 at +3 in the pm cycle.
And that earned him a reduction to 0.75 units. I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units and stay at that dose unless he drops under 90 again or has a failed reduction.
Since then he has had preshots of yellow, pink and blue but no tests during the cycles. I suspect he has been dropping lower into greens and this is why you are seeing all theses colours.
My suggestions is to try and get at least one test in every cycle to see what is happening. Otherwise you/we are just guessing. And it’s the only way to keep him safe. It doesn’t have to be a +7. It can be a +4 or a +5 or a +6. And try and get that before bed test in as well. That is where you caught the 76.
And if you do see a green BG, always test again an hour later to see that it is not dropping further. And give some food.
Are you giving snacks during the first half of all cycles.?
If you get a preshot less than 8.3 (150) you can stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the preshot is rising.
Here is what the SLGS method says
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.