Newbie needing to take charge after Hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Bron :) Just done four days of +7 and +3 testing and his numbers are still rainbows so interesting should I keep doing this for a week or those numbers help gauge where he is at

:)
 
Ally just sent me this PM and I will answer here.

Hi, So Charlie has been like a rainbow on his spreadsheet but we are becoming pros at testing!
Few questions to ensure we are on the right track
* I've done a curve and also a week of +7 and +3 to see if the 1 unit is best for him yet his number still bounce around.

Should we keep doing what we are doing and he could just be a bouncer :bookworm:
Or continue to try do +7 when possible?
Also when his numbers are below 8.3 I've read I can feed then test after a few hours then do his shot if I held the shot would I then have to alter his next shot time and future? He isn't impressed at all if we test and he doesn't get fed (he is just here for the food!)

Thanks so much for all your guidance for this newbie


Hi Ally, I didn’t see your last post, sorry. Next time tag me or someone to make sure we see it.
re your questions:
You can see how much information we get when you test during the cycles and how little we get when you don’t.

When you are doing SLGS you reduce the dose any time the BG drops under 90 (5). Charlie dropped to 76 on 17/10 at +3 in the pm cycle.
And that earned him a reduction to 0.75 units. I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units and stay at that dose unless he drops under 90 again or has a failed reduction.
Since then he has had preshots of yellow, pink and blue but no tests during the cycles. I suspect he has been dropping lower into greens and this is why you are seeing all theses colours.
My suggestions is to try and get at least one test in every cycle to see what is happening. Otherwise you/we are just guessing. And it’s the only way to keep him safe. It doesn’t have to be a +7. It can be a +4 or a +5 or a +6. And try and get that before bed test in as well. That is where you caught the 76.
And if you do see a green BG, always test again an hour later to see that it is not dropping further. And give some food.

Are you giving snacks during the first half of all cycles.?
If you get a preshot less than 8.3 (150) you can stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the preshot is rising.
Here is what the SLGS method says
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.

  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
Hi Bron, thanks so much for getting back to me and no need for sorry you have been absolutely amazing for me helping Charlie get on track.
The smallest dosage on his needles is 1 there's nothing in between or am I missing other needles I use the BD ultrafine 0,3ml.

Will keep aiming for those extra tests, is there anything that can go on his ears they look a little sore from pricking not bad though =)
I've been trying to offer him a teaspoon of food in the mids of the cycles sometimes which he generally will eat but if im not home he won't come in looking for it.

Hopefully soon we can have lots of numbers to get him sorted as I go away for a few days in a months time =)

thanks again for your magical help guiding me on this rocky path:bighug:
 
Evening =) I'm not sure where the reply went in here but I got the email about @Diane Tyler's Mom reply and yours @Bron and Sheba (GA) thank you both.
I have both needles and pen and I also have the insulin in the pen form :bookworm: I switched from pen as I felt it wasn't giving him the proper dose but who knows as I wasn't testing during that time.
I didn't think we had the half shot needles in AUS :cat:
 
@Charlie’s Mumma
Hi Ally I remembered that I saw a recent post from a member from Australia that found a place to order U-100 syringes with the half unit markings
I copied it for you and here is/what she said

Really great news! My half unit syringes arrived today in one piece and they’re exactly what I need for mum.

This means there is now a way to get these into the country.

Here is the link for where I bought them from:
https://au-healthcare4all.glopalstore.com/bd-micro-fine-syringes-demi-u100-0-3ml-30g-x-8mm-x100

They are from the HealthCare4All site and they use Glopal to ship to Australia. It only took one week to get to me as I ordered it last Saturday. I did pay the £55 international express post though and it arrived via FedEx just a moment ago.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) not sure if there’s a sticky note for Aussies looking for this type of equipment but feel free to add if there is. Eureka thank god there’s a way to get these half unit syringes!

Hope that helps you all! I
bd_microfine_insulin_syringes_demi_0-3ml_lg.webp


Here is the post where I found this information
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newbie-to-shoot-or-not-to-shoot.282693/#post-3115676


@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hi Bron I read in the post I linked above that you will add these to the Aussie Information Page
The place that is listed now on the Aussie Information page I read on other threads that they not might be shipping anymore as far as you know do you know if that's still the case

This is the place on the Aussie Information page now
The company website is Hyperdrug.co.uk. Here is the direct link to the page to order the 1/2 unit (Demi) U100 0.3ml syringes:https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Micr...03ml-pack-of-100/productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/.

Thanks Bron :cat:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top