cleothecat
Member Since 2013
Hello, I am new to this board and feeling lost. My Kitty (12y, female) is on Lantus for 14 days. She was getting 1 unit (x2) but when her morning preshots got low 88 (7/22) 89 (7/21), I called the vet and he told me to reduce it to 1/2 unit. So I gave her 1/2 unit last night. However this morning her pre shot was still low, 85. The vet said I should go ahead and give her a dose even if it goes down to the 70’s because Lantus acts slowly and changing dose too quickly or stopping and re-shooting will mess up her pancreas. So I did give her 1/2 unit this morning again. He did mention that I should watch out for any signs of hypoglycemia. She seems to be tired, but I didn’t notice anything serious so far. I checked her blood again at about +6 hour, and it was 66. I gave her food as she usually eats around this time. I could recheck before her pm dose and decide, but I feel very conflicted. Should I keep shooting her with these numbers? I am afraid of not shooting because I don’t want to mess up her pancreas. Also a few nights ago when her pm dose leaked, the following morning number hiked up to 437, and I don’t know if it is okay. At the same time, I am afraid of shooting because the number seems low. I would appreciate your suggestions. Many Thanks!
Clara
Clara