Newbie-Lantus preshot too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cleothecat

Member Since 2013
Hello, I am new to this board and feeling lost. My Kitty (12y, female) is on Lantus for 14 days. She was getting 1 unit (x2) but when her morning preshots got low 88 (7/22) 89 (7/21), I called the vet and he told me to reduce it to 1/2 unit. So I gave her 1/2 unit last night. However this morning her pre shot was still low, 85. The vet said I should go ahead and give her a dose even if it goes down to the 70’s because Lantus acts slowly and changing dose too quickly or stopping and re-shooting will mess up her pancreas. So I did give her 1/2 unit this morning again. He did mention that I should watch out for any signs of hypoglycemia. She seems to be tired, but I didn’t notice anything serious so far. I checked her blood again at about +6 hour, and it was 66. I gave her food as she usually eats around this time. I could recheck before her pm dose and decide, but I feel very conflicted. Should I keep shooting her with these numbers? I am afraid of not shooting because I don’t want to mess up her pancreas. Also a few nights ago when her pm dose leaked, the following morning number hiked up to 437, and I don’t know if it is okay. At the same time, I am afraid of shooting because the number seems low. I would appreciate your suggestions. Many Thanks!

Clara
 
cleothecat said:
Hello, I am new to this board and feeling lost. My Kitty (12y, female) is on Lantus for 14 days. She was getting 1 unit (x2) but when her morning preshots got low 88 (7/22) 89 (7/21), I called the vet and he told me to reduce it to 1/2 unit. So I gave her 1/2 unit last night. However this morning her pre shot was still low, 85. The vet said I should go ahead and give her a dose even if it goes down to the 70’s because Lantus acts slowly and changing dose too quickly or stopping and re-shooting will mess up her pancreas. So I did give her 1/2 unit this morning again. He did mention that I should watch out for any signs of hypoglycemia. She seems to be tired, but I didn’t notice anything serious so far. I checked her blood again at about +6 hour, and it was 66. I gave her food as she usually eats around this time. I could recheck before her pm dose and decide, but I feel very conflicted. Should I keep shooting her with these numbers? I am afraid of not shooting because I don’t want to mess up her pancreas. Also a few nights ago when her pm dose leaked, the following morning number hiked up to 437, and I don’t know if it is okay. At the same time, I am afraid of shooting because the number seems low. I would appreciate your suggestions. Many Thanks!

Clara

Can you eyeball 0.25 units? It'll be halfway between 0 and 0.5, as best as you can measure.

Also, sometimes if the glucose goes lower than the cat is accustomed, the liver releases compensatory hormones which boost it back up. This is called a bounce.

Just in case, instructions on How To Manage a Hypo
 
Thank you so much for responding. I just rechecked her glucose. It is 75. Should I try 0.25 this evening? I feel so lost. sigh.
 
Did you print out the "How to Manage a Hypo instructions" that BJM gave you?
Do you have plenty of test strips? at least 12
Do you have karo syrup or honey or maple syrup or pancake syrup?
Do you have some high carb wet food like Fancy Feast gravy lovers?

Where do you live in case she drops too low and someone needs to stay awake to support you through low numbers?
When is her normal shot time?
 
Deb & Wink said:
Did you print out the "How to Manage a Hypo instructions" that BJM gave you?
Do you have plenty of test strips? at least 12
Do you have karo syrup or honey or maple syrup or pancake syrup?
Do you have some high carb wet food like Fancy Feast gravy lovers?

Where do you live in case she drops too low and someone needs to stay awake to support you through low numbers?
When is her normal shot time?

Thank you for your response and support!

Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes.
(well, at least I am ready for the worst.)

I live in Florida.
Normally 7Am/PM, but this evening, I gave her 0.25 at 8PM as I was so worried and couldn't make up my mind. I messed it up. :cry:

She had her dinner and seems to be okay so far. BTW, do you use test strips to check glucose in kitty's urine? Is it possible to have high glucose in urine while blood glucose is low?
 
....BTW, do you use test strips to check glucose in kitty's urine? Is it possible to have high glucose in urine while blood glucose is low?

There are blood testing strips and urine test strips to check for ketones. Urine testing strips are much less expensive.

It would be unlikely for glucose to be in the urine with low blood glucose, but not impossible.
How: if the urine were more concentrated from dehydration (body re-absorbs needed water), the glucose had passed into the urine before the insulin kicked in, the blood glucose already dropped from said insulin, and the different tests were either not taken at the same time or both were tested after the insulin had kicked in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top