New, very overwhelmed

Brittann

Member Since 2025
Hi
My 16 yr old cat Zelda’s bloodwork came back on Monday with a sugar Reading of 437 and I was told she’s diabetic. She had been losing weight for months but I thought it was due to old age and feel terrible I didn’t take her to the vet until she developed a URI and I had blood work done. I’m expecting the Lantus to be delivered today and I have purchased a relion premier with everything needed. My vet has instructed me to give 1/2 unit if she doesn’t eat or eat all her food and 1 unit if she eats, twice per day without home testing but to bring her back in 2 weeks from now to be tested and that didn’t sit right with me at all. I came here from googling and very glad I did so.

She’s hardly eaten since we went to the vet Saturday and doesn’t have much interest in food. Mostly laying around and sleeping. She’s wobbly with her back legs when walking around now.

I have always free fed my cats various dry foods and given wet food here and there as a treat. Zelda never had a ton of interest in wet food and would maybe eat a tablespoon or two but was mostly interested in the juice. Definitely prefers seafood flavors. I purchased two big boxes of the fancy feast classic pate hoping I’d be able to switch her completely over to that but I’m currently offering her nulo dry food still so she’ll eat something, hopefully.

I am feeling very overwhelmed with all the information I am reading here and what my vet is telling me. My schedule is crazy and I don’t know how this is going to work. I work from 6am to 6pm and I live an hour from my work. I also don’t always get off right at 6pm and can be as late as 630 before I get out of work. I don’t have an issue getting up super early to feed, check BG and give shot but I am worried that the night shot and next morning will be too close together. I’m sorry for the long and maybe unclear post but I hardly slept and I am a complete mess over here.

It took 3 attempts (poor cat) but I finally got my first BG reading for Zelda: 114 at 1:30 pm 4/10
What do I do with this information? Is that good or bad? She’s barely been eating so I’m assuming that’s why it’s lower than the results from the vet on Saturday?
 
Last edited:
Hi
My 16 yr old cat Zelda’s bloodwork came back on Monday with a sugar Reading of 437 and I was told she’s diabetic. She had been losing weight for months but I thought it was due to old age and feel terrible I didn’t take her to the vet until she developed a URI and I had blood work done. I’m expecting the Lantus to be delivered today and I have purchased a relion premier with everything needed. My vet has instructed me to give 1/2 unit if she doesn’t eat or eat all her food and 1 unit if she eats, twice per day without home testing but to bring her back in 2 weeks from now to be tested and that didn’t sit right with me at all. I came here from googling and very glad I did so.

She’s hardly eaten since we went to the vet Saturday and doesn’t have much interest in food. Mostly laying around and sleeping. She’s wobbly with her back legs when walking around now.

I have always free fed my cats various dry foods and given wet food here and there as a treat. Zelda never had a ton of interest in wet food and would maybe eat a tablespoon or two but was mostly interested in the juice. Definitely prefers seafood flavors. I purchased two big boxes of the fancy feast classic pate hoping I’d be able to switch her completely over to that but I’m currently offering her nulo dry food still so she’ll eat something, hopefully.

I am feeling very overwhelmed with all the information I am reading here and what my vet is telling me. My schedule is crazy and I don’t know how this is going to work. I work from 6am to 6pm and I live an hour from my work. I also don’t always get off right at 6pm and can be as late as 630 before I get out of work. I don’t have an issue getting up super early to feed, check BG and give shot but I am worried that the night shot and next morning will be too close together. I’m sorry for the long and maybe unclear post but I hardly slept and I am a complete mess over here.

Welcome to FDF, you are in the right place, we all have felt overwhelmed at one point or another about Feline diabetes, and do not feel bad, most of us never noticed until we start to see weight loss and excess water drinking, and still not knowing why, Feline Diabetes in cats are like a silent illness for them, the good thing is that you know now, 437 is very high, when my Corky was diagnosed he had 650BG, so you are good, diabetes is very manageable and you have been prescribed a great insulin Lantus, it is important to home test as well especially before each shot, you do not want to give insulin before knowing his glucose level to avoid hypoglycemia,: Diabetic cats need to consume a wet can diet between 0-10% carbs kibbles(dry food) contain a very high content of carbs between 25-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, most of us members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates between 0-10% carbs, they are USA made, so no waste goes into the food. In the meantime, we need to know more about Zelda, below are two links, one to create your signature, the other to create a spreadsheet, we are very numbers oriented so we need BG data in order to help your concerns and for dosing, In the Main Forum there are many sticky note with valuable information, I am also sending a Drs. Food chart and a Carb calculator to help you along, I buy the Fancy Feast at CHEWY.COM, better prices and flavors to choose from, so do not worry we are here for you, step back breath in and breath out, it will be ok! I will also tag a moderator knowledgeable with Lantus to help you with dosing :bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDF, you are in the right place, we all have felt overwhelmed at one point or another about Feline diabetes, and do not feel bad, most of us never noticed until we start to see weight loss and excess water drinking, and still not knowing why, Feline Diabetes in cats are like a silent illness for them, the good thing is that you know now, 437 is very high, when my Corky was diagnosed he had 650BG, so you are good, diabetes is very manageable and you have been prescribed a great insulin Lantus, it is important to home test as well especially before each shot, you do not want to give insulin before knowing his glucose level to avoid hypoglycemia, you can get a human monitor as the ReliON Premier and strips from Walmart, the monitor is $19.99 and the strips $9.00 for 50 $17.88 for 100 : Diabetic cats need to consume a wet can diet between 0-10% carbs ( no KIBLLES) these contain a very high content of carbs between 25-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, most of us members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates between 0-10% carbs, they are USA made, so no waste goes into the food. In the meantime, we need to know more about Zelda, below are two links, one to create your signature, the other to create a spreadsheet, we are very numbers oriented so we need BG data in order to help your concerns and for dosing, In the Main Forum there are many sticky note with valuable information, I am also sending a Drs. Food chart and a Carb calculator to help you along, I buy the Fancy Feast at CHEWY.COM, better prices and flavors to choose from, so do not worry we are here for you, step back breath in and breath out, it will be ok! I will also tag a moderator knowledgeable with Lantus to help you with dosing, also food transition should be done slowly, the dry food is one of the main reasons perhaps for the diabetes :bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
Welcome to FDF, you are in the right place, we all have felt overwhelmed at one point or another about Feline diabetes, and do not feel bad, most of us never noticed until we start to see weight loss and excess water drinking, and still not knowing why, Feline Diabetes in cats are like a silent illness for them, the good thing is that you know now, 437 is very high, when my Corky was diagnosed he had 650BG, so you are good, diabetes is very manageable and you have been prescribed a great insulin Lantus, it is important to home test as well especially before each shot, you do not want to give insulin before knowing his glucose level to avoid hypoglycemia,: Diabetic cats need to consume a wet can diet between 0-10% carbs kibbles(dry food) contain a very high content of carbs between 25-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, most of us members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates between 0-10% carbs, they are USA made, so no waste goes into the food. In the meantime, we need to know more about Zelda, below are two links, one to create your signature, the other to create a spreadsheet, we are very numbers oriented so we need BG data in order to help your concerns and for dosing, In the Main Forum there are many sticky note with valuable information, I am also sending a Drs. Food chart and a Carb calculator to help you along, I buy the Fancy Feast at CHEWY.COM, better prices and flavors to choose from, so do not worry we are here for you, step back breath in and breath out, it will be ok! I will also tag a moderator knowledgeable with Lantus to help you with dosing :bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
Thank you! I hope to soon have her switched completely to the ff classic line. I have filled out my signature the best to my ability as she's never received a shot yet as it only came a few hours ago. I also Set up the spreadsheet but don't have anything to add to it at the moment. Can anyone answer my questions about the schedule? I am unsure of what I am to do in the morning.
 
She’s hardly eaten since we went to the vet Saturday and doesn’t have much interest in food. Mostly laying around and sleeping. She’s wobbly with her back legs when walking around now.
It took 3 attempts (poor cat) but I finally got my first BG reading for Zelda: 114 at 1:30 pm 4/10
What do I do with this information? Is that good or bad? She’s barely been eating so I’m assuming that’s why it’s lower than the results from the vet on Saturday?

It's more important that she eats something at this moment. Cats don't do well without food. It wouldn't be advisible to change her whole diet today, even if she was feeling well, it can cause upset tummy. If she'll eat the kibbles, let her eat kibbles. When I was desperate for Kobe to eat I mixed a little water in to his pate and smeared a bit of pate on his food. I felt like a jerk, but he licked it off. Some cats aren't interested in eating because they are nauseated.

Here are signs of nausea that I found on an post made by @Suzanne & Darcy. Is Zelda showing any of these signs?

"Signs of nausea include:
1. Sniffing food and walking away
2. Sniffing at food and licking lips and then not eating / walking away
3. Licking the surface of the food (like licking gravy off the top) and walking away
4. Teeth grinding/chatteringsounds."

Many of us have prespcriptions for anti-nausea meds (Cerenia and Ondansetron) from our vets and an appetite stimulant too. (mirtazapine topical ointment) It wouldn't be a bad idea to have these on hand. If you had these meds on hand, a member with experience could advise you in their use.
 
Thank you! I hope to soon have her switched completely to the ff classic line. I have filled out my signature the best to my ability as she's never received a shot yet as it only came a few hours ago. I also Set up the spreadsheet but don't have anything to add to it at the moment. Can anyone answer my questions about the schedule? I am unsure of what I am to do in the morning.
It should be 2 main meals and several small ones during the day I use ProZinc and I know the feed schedule shot, is a bit different I will tag who can tell you exactly, perhaps, you should test first before shooting and you want to make sure the dose prescribed is accurate, and her BG IS OK TO SHOOT please transition from dry to wet slowly since if you change Drastically as it will play a roll on the BG let me tag someone to assist you
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Good job on the SS
It should be 2 main meals and several small ones during the day I use ProZinc and I know the feed schedule shot, is a bit different I will tag who can tell you exactly, perhaps, you should get the monitor first before shooting and you want to make sure the dose prescribed is accurate, and her BG IS OK TO SHOOT please transition from dry to wet slowly since if you change Drastically as it will play a roll on the BG let me tag someone to assist you
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
good job on the SS
 
I can't answer your question about the dose (I am still pretty new), but @CORKY tagged all of those people who can. If you could get the meds from your vet, and get some food in Zelda's tummy, it will help us help you.
 
It's more important that she eats something at this moment. Cats don't do well without food. It wouldn't be advisible to change her whole diet today, even if she was feeling well, it can cause upset tummy. If she'll eat the kibbles, let her eat kibbles. When I was desperate for Kobe to eat I mixed a little water in to his pate and smeared a bit of pate on his food. I felt like a jerk, but he licked it off. Some cats aren't interested in eating because they are nauseated.

Here are signs of nausea that I found on an post made by @Suzanne & Darcy. Is Zelda showing any of these signs?

"Signs of nausea include:
1. Sniffing food and walking away
2. Sniffing at food and licking lips and then not eating / walking away
3. Licking the surface of the food (like licking gravy off the top) and walking away
4. Teeth grinding/chatteringsounds."

Many of us have prespcriptions for anti-nausea meds (Cerenia and Ondansetron) from our vets and an appetite stimulant too. (mirtazapine topical ointment) It wouldn't be a bad idea to have these on hand. If you had these meds on hand, a member with experience could advise you in their use.

I got her to eat about 1oz of the ff about 30 mins ago and she drank some water this morning.
 
It should be 2 main meals and several small ones during the day I use ProZinc and I know the feed schedule shot, is a bit different I will tag who can tell you exactly, perhaps, you should test first before shooting and you want to make sure the dose prescribed is accurate, and her BG IS OK TO SHOOT please transition from dry to wet slowly since if you change Drastically as it will play a roll on the BG let me tag someone to assist you
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I am unable to provide small meals throughout the day as I am gone to work around 15 hours a day. I am still offering the dry food but she has no interest in it at all.
 
How many hours from now is she supposed to have her Lantus shot?
I am unsure, that's part of what I am trying to figure out. I leave for work at 5am and get home between 7 to 8 pm. My vet said that was fine but if Im giving her a shot around 9pm her next one would have to be around 4 to 430 am so I can be out the door at 5 and that seems too close together.
 
I am unable to provide small meals throughout the day as I am gone to work around 15 hours a day. I am still offering the dry food but she has no interest in it at all.

You might consider a wet food feeder many members that work use them you do not wat to leave any food or too much either for the appetite you may ask the vet to prescribe MIRATZ, it works wonders, a pin drop in the inner fold of ear once a day for 1 week alternating ears every day , works immediately:bighug::cat::cat: you can check these places for a wet food feeder, like CHEWY.COM or Walmart, Amazon
 
Last edited:
I am unable to provide small meals throughout the day as I am gone to work around 15 hours a day. I am still offering the dry food but she has no interest in it at all.


Solution: a programmable timed feeder :) Many FDMB members use one so their diabetic cats has small meals throughout the day. Canned food is a cooked product and is fine to leave out all day. Some people like to add a little water to keep the food moist. Others freeze food into portion sizes and put the frozen chunk into the feeder to slowly defrost. Some feeders have ice pack features. Buy a 5 meal feeder. That should be plenty of meals for a diabetic cat. Add another feeder if you need additional meals. There are microchip feeders but they may only have one compartment.

Do you live alone? Do you have family or friends who can do the PM blood glucose check and insulin shot? I think @Sienne and Gabby (GA) had a similar work schedule and was able to work it out for her cat.
 
Solution: a programmable timed feeder :) Many FDMB members use one so their diabetic cats has small meals throughout the day. Canned food is a cooked product and is fine to leave out all day. Some people like to add a little water to keep the food moist. Others freeze food into portion sizes and put the frozen chunk into the feeder to slowly defrost. Some feeders have ice pack features. Buy a 5 meal feeder. That should be plenty of meals for a diabetic cat. Add another feeder if you need additional meals. There are microchip feeders but they may only have one compartment.

Do you live alone? Do you have family or friends who can do the PM blood glucose check and insulin shot? I think @Sienne and Gabby (GA) had a similar work schedule and was able to work it out for her cat.
I probably wouldn’t be able to afford one until next month but I think that’s a great idea. I have 3 other cats so I’ll have to probably confine her to a bathroom while I’m gone so they don’t eat it unfortunately. It’s me and my boyfriend but we ride together and have the same work schedule for that reason. I only work 3 days a week currently but that doesn’t help since it needs to be consistent.
 
You might consider a wet food feeder many members that work use them you do not wat to leave any food or too much either for the appetite you may ask the vet to prescribe MIRATZ, it works wonders, a pin drop in the inner fold of ear once a day for 1 week alternating ears every day , works immediately:bighug::cat::cat: you can check these places for a wet food feeder, like CHEWY.COM or Walmart, Amazon
I’m gonna call my vet tomorrow and ask for that. Is that just to help them regain their appetite and then hopefully they’ll resume eating normally after a week? I’ll look into the feeders but probably can’t afford one until next month.
 
I probably wouldn’t be able to afford one until next month but I think that’s a great idea. I have 3 other cats so I’ll have to probably confine her to a bathroom while I’m gone so they don’t eat it unfortunately. It’s me and my boyfriend but we ride together and have the same work schedule for that reason. I only work 3 days a week currently but that doesn’t help since it needs to be consistent.
I’m sure you’ll work it out any other thing or concern that we can help you please posts us I’m sure there will alway be someone available to step in, we are here to help, we have all been in your shoes for one thing or another and this Forum and its members are Guardian Angels they saved my Corky, my Hero, well aside from his sister Coco of course:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I’m gonna call my vet tomorrow and ask for that. Is that just to help them regain their appetite and then hopefully they’ll resume eating normally after a week?
The Mirtazapene Transdermal Ointment is great, but you can't give it if your cat is nauseated.

Here are signs of nausea that I found on an post made by @Suzanne & Darcy. Is Zelda showing any of these signs?

"Signs of nausea include:
1. Sniffing food and walking away
2. Sniffing at food and licking lips and then not eating / walking away
3. Licking the surface of the food (like licking gravy off the top) and walking away
4. Teeth grinding/chatteringsounds."

Many of us have prespcriptions for anti-nausea meds (Cerenia and Ondansetron) from our vets. If Zelda is nauseated, you need these before appetite stimulant.
 
I’m gonna call my vet tomorrow and ask for that. Is that just to help them regain their appetite and then hopefully they’ll resume eating normally after a week? I’ll look into the feeders but probably can’t afford one until next month.
Yes the MIRATZ is to stimulate appetite, its awesome it worked on my babies immediately, but you continue giving it di as long as the prescription requires, I keep it handy always just in case is needed, sometimes I change their food flavor and they don’t want to eat no matter how many cans I open, so that little tiny pin drop works wonders:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Yes the MIRATZ is to stimulate appetite, its awesome it worked on my babies immediately, but you continue giving it di as long as the prescription requires, I keep it handy always just in case is needed, sometimes I change their food flavor and they don’t want to eat no matter how many cans I open, so that little tiny pin drop works wonders:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
I see I did not know this about the nausea vs MIRATZ thanks for advising
 
Some folks just put out the frozen food cubes to thaw without the timed feeder. Just let them thaw to room temp right next to the rest of the food. If your other cats are opportunistic, Zelda might need her own room so the others don't eat all her food. Then you'll be able to see how much she's eating too.
 
The Mirtazapene Transdermal Ointment is great, but you can't give it if your cat is nauseated.

Here are signs of nausea that I found on an post made by @Suzanne & Darcy. Is Zelda showing any of these signs?

"Signs of nausea include:
1. Sniffing food and walking away
2. Sniffing at food and licking lips and then not eating / walking away
3. Licking the surface of the food (like licking gravy off the top) and walking away
4. Teeth grinding/chatteringsounds."

Many of us have prespcriptions for anti-nausea meds (Cerenia and Ondansetron) from our vets. If Zelda is nauseated, you need these before appetite stimulant.
I don’t think she is. Taking her to the vet two Saturdays in row stressed her out to the max. She hasn’t been the same since we returned home this past Saturday. I currently have her in my bedroom so the other cats don’t bother her. She ate about 1oz of ff wet food around 430 and went back to sleep.
 
Does anyone know how you take the vial out of the pens? My vet said I would need to but never explained how and I'm afraid I'll break it.
 
I leave my pen in one piece. I just take off the cap. Don't inject air or insulin into the pen. I stored mine in fridge so that it would last longer. Don't shake the pen. You got this! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Absolutely! I feel bad enough that I had to poke her ears 6 times today to get 2 readings.
It happens to me still after 3 years, nothing to worry about as soon as the capillaries in ear where you poke it will be a breeze, I always suggest what I do, I have a small flashlight I can put in my mouth to have free hands to test, this way I can see the droplet of blood better at first I would look at the other side to see the veins better, you can make a small ball of rice with a sock tie it to fit the inside of the ear this way you have a better handle on the ear to poke:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
It happens to me still after 3 years, nothing to worry about as soon as the capillaries in ear where you poke it will be a breeze, I always suggest what I do, I have a small flashlight I can put in my mouth to have free hands to test, this way I can see the droplet of blood better at first I would look at the other side to see the veins better, you can make a small ball of rice with a sock tie it to fit the inside of the ear this way you have a better handle on the ear to poke:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Thank you! I will definitely try that the next time.
 
you can make a small ball of rice with a sock tie it to fit the inside of the ear this way you have a better handle on the ear to poke:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

Warm up the rice sock in microwave for a few seconds, not too hot! You want it to help blood flow, not burn. Just nice and warm. warm hands help too, for when you gently rub the ear
 
upload_2025-4-10_21-59-39.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-10_21-59-39.png
    upload_2025-4-10_21-59-39.png
    175.2 KB · Views: 313
Just to clarify… you got those blue BG readings that I see on your spreadsheet without giving her any insulin? Can you check her BG tonight?
 
I see I did not know this about the nausea vs MIRATZ thanks for advising
Yes. You definitely don’t want to give Mirataz to a nauseated cat, Maria. You have to first treat the nausea with something like Ondansetron or, at minimum, Cerenia, before giving the appetite stimulant. If you make a nauseated cat hungry you can really create food aversion because they remember feeling sick while eating.
 
Just to clarify… you got those blue BG readings that I see on your spreadsheet without giving her any insulin? Can you check her BG tonight?

Yes she’s yet to have any, it came in the mail this afternoon. she’s been kinda off her food since Saturday though, she’s eaten probably 1.5 oz maybe a little less of the ff wet. Has no interest in her dry and I’ve only seen her drink once this morning. I have nothing to do so I definitely can, she just ate maybe a tablespoon of the wet food, how long should I wait to test?
 
Yes she’s yet to have any, it came in the mail this afternoon. she’s been kinda off her food since Saturday though, she’s eaten probably 1.5 oz maybe a little less of the ff wet. Has no interest in her dry and I’ve only seen her drink once this morning.
Did the vet test her for ketones?
 
I would not give a cat who is having BG in the 100s (the blue numbers) .5 units. I would start with a smaller dose of .25 units. I am really afraid that the half unit dose could drop her too low. Even more so since she is alone for so many hours of the day…. And also you say she’s eating very little.
 
I have no idea, I can ask them in the morning. How long should I wait to retest her if she just ate about a table spoon of wet food?
It was FF wet pate she ate? You can test her any time… wait 15 minutes maybe. It doesn’t matter. Where would she be in her cycle (if she had insulin at what time? 5:30 your time? How many hours past what will be her shot time?
 
I would not give a cat who is having BG in the 100s (the blue numbers) .5 units. I would start with a smaller dose of .25 units. I am really afraid that the half unit dose could drop her too low. Even more so since she is alone for so many hours of the day…. And also you say she’s eating very little.

I was also debating on giving her a shot, I don’t want to give her something she doesn’t need. If her numbers are good then she doesn’t need insulin, right?
 
Back
Top