Info New Treatments for Feline Diabetes

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Many of our members have raised questions about newer forms of treatment for their cats. Below is information on several of the types of treatments and what we have been able to find in the research literature. Our goal is to help FDMB members make informed decisions.

Sodium-Glucose Cotransporter 2 Inhibitors (SGLT-2 Inhibitors): BEXACAT & SENVELGO

Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT-2) inhibitors developed for human use have garnered considerable attention in the last few years. Two of the drugs that have been widely publicized were both initially released for Type 2 diabetes treatment but have since been found to be effective for treating other conditions (e.g., heart failure, kidney disease) and have become very popular for helping with weight loss. These include Farxiga (dapaglifozin) and Jardiance (empaglifozin).

In December 2022 the FDA approved a new oral medication for the treatment of diabetes in cats. Bexacat (bexaglifozin) is an SGLT-2 inhibitor that prevents the kidneys from reabsorbing glucose allowing excess blood glucose to be excreted in the urine. The following August, the FDA also approved Senvelgo (velaglifozin) which is an oral liquid that is also an SGLT-2 inhibitor for the treatment of feline diabetes.

What is important to consider regarding Bexacat and Senvelgo is they are NOT indicated for cats that have already been treated with insulin. These are not drugs meant for treating cats who are insulin-dependent diabetics and neither drug is indicated if your cat has symptoms of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Both drugs increase the risk of DKA as well as euglycemic DKA in cats. Just like DKA, euglycemic DKA is a life-threatening emergency that is characterized by euglycemia (normal range blood glucose), metabolic acidosis, and ketoacidosis. Unlike DKA, euglycemic DKA may be overlooked due to the absence of hyperglycemia.

There were two 6-month field studies that demonstrated that Bexacat was over 80% effective in improving glycemic control in cats with diabetes. While these are very optimistic results, there were notable safety concerns.
  • Very careful screening of cats who are being considered for treatment with either of these drugs is imperative. Prior to initiating treatment with either Bexacat or Senvelgo, the veterinarian should ensure the cat is alert, active, eating, and drinking.
  • The veterinarian should conduct a physical examination, obtain a medical history, CBC, serum chemistry, serum fructosamine, and urinalysis including evaluation for ketonuria.
  • Laboratory values or physical assessment that indicates the presence of ketones, DKA, kidney or liver disease, or recurrent urinary tract infection (UTI) would preclude the use of either of these medications.
  • If there is a delay of more than a week between diagnosis of diabetes mellitus and initiation of either of these medications, the veterinarian should re-evaluate the cat with a full physical examination and updated history to ensure the cat still meets the criteria described above. A delay of more than a week between diagnosis and starting either Bexacat or Senvelgo may increase the risk of developing diabetic ketoacidosis since the cat’s diabetes would be untreated during this period.
  • Also crucial is diligent monitoring regardless of the duration of or the response to treatment, and the ability to and how to promptly recognize and intervene if there are serious and life-threatening adverse reactions.
  • Sudden onset of loss of appetite, anorexia, lethargy, dehydration, or weight loss should indicate the medication should be immediately discontinued and the cat should be assessed for DKA.
Administration

Both Bexacat and Senvelgo are orally administered.
  • Bexacat is a 15 mg tablet available in bottles containing 90 tablets. The same dose is administered regardless of blood glucose level.
  • Senvelgo is a clear to slightly yellow to brown liquid. The dose of Senvelgo is 0.45 mg/lb (or 1 mg/kg) of body weight regardless of blood glucose level. It should not be mixed into food. If a dose of Senvelgo is missed, it should be given as soon as possible on the same day. If a cat vomits within 30 min of dosing, the dose can be repeated. Senvelgo needs to be administered using the dosing syringe provided in the package. The dose should be rounded down to the nearest pound.
What are the Positives?
  • Both medications are taken orally.
    • Bexacat is a tablet and it can be crushed and mixed into food.
    • Senvelgo is a liquid and should NOT be mixed into a cat’s food.
  • They are administered once daily.
  • For caregivers who are uncomfortable with needles, it is an alternative treatment.
  • It is easier to find someone willing to care for you cat if an insulin injection is not involved or blood glucose testing is not needed. (The need for home testing is not mentioned in any of the manufacturer's materials. We would encourage home testing.)
  • The cost appears to be less expensive than insulin (although insulin prices have been changing).
  • Dosing:
    • There is only one dose of Bexacat so there is not the issue of correct dosing as when drawing insulin into a syringe.
    • This is not the case with Senvelgo since the dose is based on the cat’s weight. Changes in weight could necessitate a change in dose.
  • Caregivers have greater schedule flexibility although either medication should be given at approximately the same time of day.
  • There appears to be a lower potential for hypoglycemia.
What are the Negatives?
  • Cats who are 13 or older and, especially if not overweight prior to diagnosis, are more likely to be insulin dependent or have other medical problems. They are likely not good candidates.
  • This is not a medication recommended for an insulin-dependent diabetic cat.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo should not be used in cats that have either liver disease or reduced renal function.
  • Cats with symptoms of loss of or no appetite, weight loss (i.e., anorexia), dehydration, or lethargy at the time diabetes is diagnosed need to be very carefully screened. The presence of these symptoms require immediate discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo and assessment for DKA regardless of blood glucose levels.
  • Cats need to be monitored for urinary tract infections (UTI) as Bexacat may increase the risk of UTIs. The long-term use of Bexacat may increase the risk of urothelial carcinoma.
  • During treatment with Bexacat or Senvelgo, blood glucose, fructosamine, serum β-hydroxybutyrate (BHBA), serum feline pancreas-specific lipase (fPL), liver parameters, serum cholesterol and triglycerides; and body weight and clinical signs should be routinely monitored. (Note that the lab values below are US based and may involve different metrics in other countries.)
    • fPL or liver tests require prompt evaluation for pancreatitis and/or liver disease. Discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo may need to be considered.
    • fPL > 5.3 mcg/L, diagnostic imaging consistent with pancreatitis, a history of pancreatitis, or current clinical signs of pancreatitis need to be ruled out.
    • BHBA is the predominating ketoacid in DKA. Bexacat should be stopped if BHBA is not notably reduced after initiating treatment or if BHBA levels persistently rise after an initial reduction. BHBA > 37 mg/dL or if BHBA > 25 mg/dL in a cat with a history of renal disease or metabolic acidosis indicates the cat is not a good candidate for Bexacat or Senvelgo.
    • Cats with persistently elevated cholesterol and triglyceride levels may be at an increased risk for developing DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • During the first 8 weeks after starting Bexacat or Senvelgo, glycemic control and clinical improvement needs to be assessed.
    • A vet needs to complete a thorough physical examination, at least an 8-hour blood glucose curve, and a fructosame level. Glucose levels over 350 mg/dL or a fructosamine level indicating poor glycemic control suggests the SGLT-2 should be discontinued.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo may cause increased serum calcium concentrations. These levels need to be monitored.
  • Diarrhea is the most common adverse reaction to both drugs. Bexacat or Senvelgo should be discontinued in cats that develop diarrhea that is unresponsive to conventional treatment.
  • Inappropriate urination may occur.
  • Approximately 20 – 30% of cats have persistent excessive urination and/or water intake due to Bexacat-induced osmotic diuresis. This can be a risk factor for dehydration-induced DKA.
  • Cats should be evaluated for concurrent disease including pancreatitis, infectious disease, urinary tract infection, neoplasia, and hypersomatotropism (acromegaly) before initiating and while receiving either Bexacat or Senvelgo.
  • Cats with baseline creatinine between 1.6 and 2 mg/dL at treatment initiation should be closely monitored for signs of dehydration and weight loss. Renal function should be closely monitored.
  • Persistently low or worsening serum chloride values compared to pre-treatment levels may be indicative of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • When stopping either drug, cats should be closely monitored for the development of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
Research
  • 84 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 180-day multicenter effectiveness and safety study. 72 cats completed the study. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), vomiting, elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum fPL, diarrhea, anorexia, lethargy, and dehydration. Nine serious adverse events occurred including three cats who died or were euthanized.
  • 89 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 56-day multicenter pilot field effectives and safety study with continued use up to 180 days. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum feline pancreas-specific lipase, vomiting, diarrhea/loose stool, hyporexia/anorexia, lethargy, elevated serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and/or aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and urinary tract infections. Twenty cats (22%) had at least one blood glucose value < 65 mg/dL recorded during 8-hour blood glucose curves. No clinical signs of hypoglycemia were observed and bexagliflozin dosing was not adjusted in any cat due to documented hypoglycemia. Nine serious adverse reactions associated with bexagliflozin administration occurred during the study, including six cats who died or were euthanized. Of the six cats who died or were euthanized, five became clinically ill within receiving 5 doses of bexagliflozin (range 1 to 5 doses).
  • One hundred twenty-five cats with diabetes mellitus that had previously completed a bexagliflozin field study were enrolled in a multicenter extended use field study. Cats were enrolled in the study for a range of 7 to 1064 days, with a mean of 329 days. Safety data were evaluated for all 125 cats. Forty-nine of the 125 enrolled cats were withdrawn from the study due to adverse reactions, serious adverse reactions, death/euthanasia, lack of effectiveness, suspected diabetic remission, withdrawal of owner consent, or lost to follow up. The most common adverse reactions were similar to those noted in the previous field studies. Twenty serious adverse reactions associated with Bexacat administration occurred during the study, all resulting in death or euthanasia.
  • There are few published studies using velaglifozin in cats. A 2014 study focused on six non-diabetic obese cats that were otherwise healthy. A 2022 conference presentation involving 26 cats, half of which received velaglifozin and half insulin indicated that the cats receiving the SGLT-2 had a positive response. Any other references were the proprietary property of the drug manufacturer, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica.
Thoughts for consideration:
  • While there are advantages to using a drug that does not involve an injection, the lack of emphasis on home testing leaves caregivers at a loss as far as knowing how their cat is responding to treatment.
  • There is a clear need for thorough assessment both prior to starting an SGLT-2 drug and throughout the course of treatment. Medical problems common in diabetic cats such at UTIs or pancreatitis can be potentially more of an issue. Of particular concern is the use of either Bexacat or Senvelgo in cats that are prone to developing ketones. The use of either of these medications could be dangerous. The cost for veterinary appointments and regular monitoring and lab tests let along hospitalization for DKA can be prohibitive.
  • The lack of long-term studies makes the outcomes difficult to assess. There is no indication of whether doses are reduced especially if the cat is approaching remission. And without home testing, there is a limited means of knowing whether a cat is approaching remission.
  • There is no mention of keeping cats below renal threshold. Since the mechanism of action is that glucose is eliminated in the urine, it would seem this is a concern that needs to be further investigated.
  • SGLT-2 inhibitors can induce diuresis and lead to clinical polyuria. While this condition can be transient, it can also indicate the drug needs to be discontinued. If SGLT-2 inhibitors induce significant polyuria and polydipsia, it may limit their therapeutic potential since these are clinical signs of diabetic regulation (or lack thereof).
  • A 2023 article in Veterinary Clinics in North America underscored the need for further research into these treatments for feline diabetes.
A cautionary note: These are new medications. There is very limited research and even less research supporting their long-term use. There is more research on the use of Senvelgo in ponies than in cats. In addition, most of the research has been underwritten by the drug manufacturers, Elanco or Boehringer Ingelheim.

American Animal Hospital Association information regarding Bexacat

ULTRA-LONG-ACTING INSULINS: TRESIBA & TOUJEO


This group of insulins has a duration of action greater than 24 hours in humans and is often used for basal-bolus treatment. The basal-bolus approach may not be practical for cat given the need for frequent BG measurements and multiple daily injections. They may, however, be useful as a single-agent therapy.

Two ultra-long-acting insulins have been investigated in cats (and dogs): insulin glargine U300 (Toujeo) and insulin degludec (Tresiba). Insulin glargine is the same insulin as glargine U100 but is three times more concentrated. Due to the increased concentration, it forms a denser subcutaneous depot which slows insulin release. Insulin degludec is a human insulin which facilitates the formation of a subcutaneous depot and increases protein binding. This method of action delays absorption, provides a flatter time-action profile, and reduces day-to-day variability in glucose concentrations.

The potential advantage of an insulin that requires a once a day or even less frequent dosing includes improved treatment compliance and quality of life for both diabetic cats and their caregivers. The concern is that despite ultra-long-acting insulin having been on the market for some time, there is limited research available. From the questions on FDMB, there does not appear to be many members who have cats that are prescribed either insulin.

Tresiba has a duration of 40 hours in humans. It has been studied in a small number of healthy cats and seems to have a considerably shorter duration (approximately 11 hours). The results of one study (Gilor et al., 2019) suggests that degludec is not adequate for once a day dosing. Toujeo has a longer duration – about 16 hours) along with a relatively flat curve, much like Lantus. However, the drawback to Toujeo is that it is not very potent causing the need for a higher daily dose making it cost prohibitive for some caregivers. There is a need for more research investigating the efficacy and effectiveness of the ultra-long acting insulins.

At present, there is no U300 syringe available. As a result, you must use the insulin pen in order to give an injection. One consideration is whether these insulins would be best suited for cats that need a large dose of insulin such as cats with acromegaly.

GLUCAGON-LIKE PEPTIDE 1-BASED THERAPIES: EXENATIDE ER (Bydureon)

Glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone secreted by L cells in the intestines in response to luminal nutrients, bacterial products, and secondary bile acids. GLP-1 acts as an “early warning system” to prepare the body for the nutrient load, particularly glucose that is about to arrive. It increases insulin secretion by sensitizing beta cells in the pancreas to glucose stimulation and decrease glucagon release by alpha cells. GLP-1 analogs have the highest therapeutic potential in diabetic cats however, the effects of GLP-1 analogs have been documented primarily in rodent models. The concern is that with GLP-1 analogs, diabetes is detected with the onset of clinical signs and symptoms which occur after there is widespread beta cell loss. Since GLP-1 maximized the function of the remaining beta cells, the use of this therapy may be limited to cats whose FD has been detected quite early. Based on the existing research, these drugs need to be combined with insulin to achieve glycemic control in cats.




From your Moderators
 
Last edited:
Hello, I am very new here, but just wanted to indicate that I believe recommendations for Senvelgo have been updated slightly and it can now be mixed with a little bit of food - this is what my leaflet of Senvelgo says. I am based in the UK, so I realise there may be a difference in recommendations based on where you're located.
 
My Nalahas been Senvelgo since last November, two weeks after she was diagnosed. She is now in remission. Her dosage is according to her weight. But can food is become too expensive for us and having to spend $270 every two months on Senvelgo is becoming too much. she goes through periods where she doesn’t want to eat the same home day and then the following day she is back to normal.
we currently have her and all our cats on fancy feast classic pate, they seem to like it although their poop seems very dry and in little balls. What other type of foods is recommended and are there any low carb kibble out in the market.
 
Thank you for all the details in this post. :bighug:

I was shocked the vet mentioned one of these newer meds for Leo as a possibility after 12/19 labs, especially considering he was orig diagnosed diabetic, late December 2021. I mentioned I thought these newer meds were for cats not already on insulin. She wasn't emphatic about it after that to further discuss knowing I wasn't going to push a risky move with Leo. Maybe all that's involved sounds so lucrative, though I don't think she's this way....
"The veterinarian should conduct a physical examination, obtain a medical history, CBC, serum chemistry, serum fructosamine, and urinalysis including evaluation for ketonuria."​
 
Hi I’m new and my name is Christye. I can’t for the life of me figure out how to introduce myself etc on the main page I was sent to! I guess I’ll just read and not interact
 
Hi I’m new and my name is Christye. I can’t for the life of me figure out how to introduce myself etc on the main page I was sent to! I guess I’ll just read and not interact
Go the the Main Health page. In the upper righthand corner, you will see a "Start New Thread Box." Click.

And welcome.
 
Hi I’m new and my name is Christye. I can’t for the life of me figure out how to introduce myself etc on the main page I was sent to! I guess I’ll just read and not interact
@christye57
Hi tap on this blue link here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-welcome-main-forum.28/
To the right it says Post new thread in blue letters, tap on that and you can introduce yourself and ask your question. You can put in the title
New Member , then underneath the title ask your question
We want you to interact :cat:
@christye57
 
Last edited:
Hi. Just as a caution for anyone considering to try the new meds on their cat. We waited for senvelgo to be authorised in ireland and as soon as it was, we had Holly started on it. It worked great in getting her sugar levels down but on day 3, she had ketones in her urine- which is one of the major side effects and we had to stop treatment. Understandably we know that the meds may not be suited for all cats and I went into this with caution. I had Holly at the vets for a few days to see how she copes with meds or if any side effects pops up. I understand that this may not be an option for many to do so but if it is possible at all, please have your cat’s ketones levels tested and monitored daily for atleast a week and then weekly for a couple of months- as a precaution. Some glucometers have dual functions now and you can get strips for ketone testing.
 
Orals being a hot topic lately amongst care givers and veterinary professionals arose a question in me. It's purely hypothetical at this point, but I'm curious about your thoughts.

Let's say an otherwise healthy
[1], insulin-dependent cat goes into strong remission[2], then relapses after a prolonged period... Could/would the cat be considered as a newly diagnosed diabetic[3] and be able to try orals as a first-line treatment?


[1] no other diseases, ketones, history of DKA etc.
[2] becomes diet controlled diabetic
[3] physiologically speaking, since its pancreas restored full function, albeit temporarily. historically and biologically speaking of course the cat has been a predisposed* diabetic all along
*unless the initial DM was induced by external factors, such as corticosteroids etc.
 
Orals being a hot topic lately amongst care givers and veterinary professionals arose a question in me. It's purely hypothetical at this point, but I'm curious about your thoughts.

Let's say an otherwise healthy
[1], insulin-dependent cat goes into strong remission[2], then relapses after a prolonged period... Could/would the cat be considered as a newly diagnosed diabetic[3] and be able to try orals as a first-line treatment?


[1] no other diseases, ketones, history of DKA etc.
[2] becomes diet controlled diabetic
[3] physiologically speaking, since its pancreas restored full function, albeit temporarily. historically and biologically speaking of course the cat has been a predisposed* diabetic all along
*unless the initial DM was induced by external factors, such as corticosteroids etc.
As I understood from my vet when my boy was on Bexacat, at no time in the cat's life can they have been on insulin. Doesn't matter if they went into remission, there can be absolutely no history of use of insulin in the animal.

Heather S.
NC
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) - Yes, and I stated that too.
I was just wondering about how future treatment would work, once the cat would relapse aka the pancreas would fail to produce enough insulin once again.

Let's say [again, hypothetically speaking] a cat was always diabetic, but it was under control due to its diet, so it went unnoticed for years, and was only diagnosed when its pancreatic function weakened e.g. with ageing. The cat then could be considered to have been a diet controlled diabetic all its life. If it gets treated with orals then, goes into remission and becomes a diet controlled diabetic once again, then relapses, it could be treated with orals again.
However, if it achieved remission with insulin therapy, becomes a diet controlled diabetic again [like it was its whole life prior to diagnosis], then relapses - could the cat be treated with orals, or could it only be treated with insulin again?

I'm just curious about the physiology and its hows and whys.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) - Yes, and I stated that too.
I was just wondering about how future treatment would work, once the cat would relapse aka the pancreas would fail to produce enough insulin once again.

Let's say [again, hypothetically speaking] a cat was always diabetic, but it was under control due to its diet, so it went unnoticed for years, and was only diagnosed when its pancreatic function weakened e.g. with ageing. The cat then could be considered to have been a diet controlled diabetic all its life. If it gets treated with orals then, goes into remission and becomes a diet controlled diabetic once again, then relapses, it could be treated with orals again.
However, if it achieved remission with insulin therapy, becomes a diet controlled diabetic again [like it was its whole life prior to diagnosis], then relapses - could the cat be treated with orals, or could it only be treated with insulin again?

I'm just curious about the physiology and its hows and whys.
I can't tell you about the hows and whys, just that it could NOT be treated with Bexacat. I have no knowledge or experience with the other oral med(s). My vet, and the reading I've done since my cat went on it, was very clear that at no time in the cat's life can it have been given insulin. If it had, then it cannot be treated with Bexacat.
 
Thank you!

I do wonder why. Whether it's due to the simple reason the treatment would be ineffective, or something more serious e.g. altered hormones/chemical reactions/metabolisation and/or binding of the specific drugs etc. that deems the oral treatment dangerous after insulin has been used at any given point prior to those. [Guessing it's the latter, due to the explicity in statements you mention above.]

I'll do some digging, once I'm done with my current research project. I like to learn :bookworm:
 
Let's say an otherwise healthy[1], insulin-dependent cat goes into strong remission[2], then relapses after a prolonged period... Could/would the cat be considered as a newly diagnosed diabetic[3] and be able to try orals as a first-line treatment?
Hi,
In the UK (and I think Europe) the guidelines are different, and it's not specified that SGLT-2 inhibitors shouldn't be given to a cat that's previously been on insulin. The only warning is that there may be an increased risk of ketones [emphasis mine] in cats that have previously been on insulin. The fact of the guidelines being different depending on the country has caused some confusion and head-scratching, with people wondering what is and what is not 'safe'... 'Why' the different guidelines..? :confused:

This info is from the UK Senvelgo site:
"Q - Can I switch a cat from insulin to Senvelgo®?
A - Yes, cats can be transitioned from insulin to Senvelgo®, however we don’t recommend switching stable diabetic cats unless there are clinical or compliance reasons.
For cats previously treated with insulin/ another anti-diabetic medicinal product the dosing regime is the same as for newly diagnosed cats.
When transitioning from insulin, omit the insulin evening dose from the day before starting Senvelgo®.
Cats that are transitioned from insulin to Senvelgo® are at increased risk of developing diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) and euglycaemic diabetic ketoacidosis (eDKA) [emphasis mine] and must be closely monitored in the post-transition period for the presence of ketones."


For UK information see the UK Senvelgo site here. There's info for 'owners' and 'vet professionals'. If you look at the vet info there's also a 'webinar' you can watch. :bookworm:
https://senvelgo.co.uk/

My personal opinion (for what it's worth, haha!) is that the UK guidelines should be more stringent... The risk of DKA is a very real one.

Eliz
 
Last edited:
Thank you Eliz!

Your post at least explains why was my vet so enthusiastic when she found out about Senvelgo and why did she say to me that my cat could be transitioned, if I wanted him to. We agreed in unison not to anyway, on a basis of "let's not try to fix what isn't broken" [aka my cat's degludec therapy].

If anything, it definitely sounds like the US exercises more caution than the UK. I believe that is/was the case with Meloxicam/Metacam as well - we are being that given so freely, while they have [or just had?] a black box warning on that for a while.

I was wondering why is it so explicit that a cat can't be moved from insulin to orals, because I can't recall the reasons being stated anywhere. Nonetheless, upon doing some reading, I find the mechanism of SGLT-2 inhibitors very controversial.
  • Whereas "Insulin enables blood glucose to enter cells, where it’s used to produce energy." and "Increases glucose absorption from the blood by the liver and muscles."
  • Senvelgo "reduces blood glucose by preventing the reabsorption of glucose via the SGLT-2 transporter in the proximal tubule of the kidney. This causes urinary excretion of excess glucose and reduces hyperglycaemia."
I understand that this is the reason why the cat should be monitored closely for UTI and those that suffer from renal issues should not use this method of treatment all together, but isn't glucose excretion via the urine heavy on the otherwise healthy kidneys too?
Based on my understanding [and my cat's current predicament], if a cat is an uncontrolled diabetic for a prolonged time, due to glucose constantly passed in the urine via the kidneys, the cat is more likely to develop impaired glomerular filtration [GFR] which can lead to CKD.
So... Why promote something that could potentially do more severe damage [such as CKD - which is obviously irreversible] on the long run? Personally I find this a huge red flag. /insert unsolicited Big Pharma rant here
With that said though, my uderstanding/logic/reasoning may be faulty - someone more knowledgeable please correct me, if that was the case.
 
  • Whereas "Insulin enables blood glucose to enter cells, where it’s used to produce energy." and "Increases glucose absorption from the blood by the liver and muscles."
  • Senvelgo "reduces blood glucose by preventing the reabsorption of glucose via the SGLT-2 transporter in the proximal tubule of the kidney. This causes urinary excretion of excess glucose and reduces hyperglycaemia."
Yes, insulin and SGLT-2 inhibitors reduce the BG in completely different ways. And this is why cats on SGLT-2 inhibitors can be more prone to ketones... A cat on SGLT-2 inhibitor has to be producing enough insulin of its own in order to enable normal glucose metabolism (sufficient for the body's basic needs). If they can't do that then they're much more likely to break down body fat for ketones as an alternate energy source.

One of the reasons that some (including the RVC) have supported the introduction of SGLT-2 inhibitors for cats is because of the large numbers of cats that are PTS at diagnosis or soon after. Around 10% will be PTS at diagnosis, and many more within the following weeks and months. A lot of this is due to QoL issues, including the caregiver's QoL. ...The SGLT-2 inhibitors look to be a lot easier to use. It's a once a day treatment. And the suggestion is that there's little or no risk of hypo (not exactly true...).
I don't doubt that these drugs will be extremely profitable. They clearly have an appeal to caregivers. A recent poll of UK caregivers of diabetic cats showed that around 13% of those recently diagnosed cats are being prescribed Senvelgo rather than insulin. And, if I had my first diabetic cat diagnosed now, TBH, the idea of a once a day oral med would sound extremely appealing... However... I've been dealing with FD for over 17 years now. And if I take on another diabetic s/he will definitely be getting insulin... :rolleyes:

I think these new drugs will have their place. But I don't think it's yet clear exactly what that place will be. Everyone is still learning about it...
 
Last edited:
I wish that I had gotten this information from my vet or had been smart enough to heavily research before choosing to try Bexacat. My girl’s ketones were just above 3, she had a UTI, and was very dehydrated… and from what I understand that is all plenty of indication that she shouldn’t have been on it. Bexacat put her in a critical state with DKA and now jaundice and I’m just so so scared. On insulin now but if I had known better, I never would have let her be on Bexacat. I have made a full post about our situation in the main forum.

I wish I had found this forum before taking any advice from the vet. You are all amazing. Thank you for doing what you do.
 
Many of our members have raised questions about newer forms of treatment for their cats. Below is information on several of the types of treatments and what we have been able to find in the research literature. Our goal is to help FDMB members make informed decisions.

Sodium-Glucose Cotransporter 2 Inhibitors (SGLT-2 Inhibitors): BEXACAT & SENVELGO

Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT-2) inhibitors developed for human use have garnered considerable attention in the last few years. Two of the drugs that have been widely publicized were both initially released for Type 2 diabetes treatment but have since been found to be effective for treating other conditions (e.g., heart failure, kidney disease) and have become very popular for helping with weight loss. These include Farxiga (dapaglifozin) and Jardiance (empaglifozin).

In December 2022 the FDA approved a new oral medication for the treatment of diabetes in cats. Bexacat (bexaglifozin) is an SGLT-2 inhibitor that prevents the kidneys from reabsorbing glucose allowing excess blood glucose to be excreted in the urine. The following August, the FDA also approved Senvelgo (velaglifozin) which is an oral liquid that is also an SGLT-2 inhibitor for the treatment of feline diabetes.

What is important to consider regarding Bexacat and Senvelgo is they are NOT indicated for cats that have already been treated with insulin. These are not drugs meant for treating cats who are insulin-dependent diabetics and are neither drug is indicated if your cat has symptoms of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Both drugs increase the risk of DKA as well as euglycemic DKA in cats. Just like DKA, euglycemic DKA is a life-threatening emergency that is characterized by euglycemia (normal range blood glucose), metabolic acidosis, and ketoacidosis. Unlike DKA, euglycemic DKA may be overlooked due to the absence of hyperglycemia.

There were two 6-month field studies that demonstrated that Bexacat was over 80% effective in improving glycemic control in cats with diabetes. While these are very optimistic results, there were notable safety concerns.
  • Very careful screening of cats who are being considered for treatment with either of these drugs is imperative. Prior to initiating treatment with either Bexacat or Senvelgo, the veterinarian should ensure the cat is alert, active, eating, and drinking.
  • The veterinarian should conduct a physical examination, obtain a medical history, CBC, serum chemistry, serum fructosamine, and urinalysis including evaluation for ketonuria.
  • Laboratory values or physical assessment that indicates the presence of ketones, DKA, kidney or liver disease, or recurrent urinary tract infection (UTI) would preclude the use of either of these medications.
  • If there is a delay of more than a week between diagnosis of diabetes mellitus and initiation of either of these medications, the veterinarian should re-evaluate the cat with a full physical examination and updated history to ensure the cat still meets the criteria described above. A delay of more than a week between diagnosis and starting either Bexacat or Senvelgo may increase the risk of developing diabetic ketoacidosis since the cat’s diabetes would be untreated during this period.
  • Also crucial is diligent monitoring regardless of the duration of or the response to treatment, and the ability to and how to promptly recognize and intervene if there are serious and life-threatening adverse reactions.
  • Sudden onset of loss of appetite, anorexia, lethargy, dehydration, or weight loss should indicate the medication should be immediately discontinued and the cat should be assessed for DKA.
Administration

Both Bexacat and Senvelgo are orally administered.
  • Bexacat is a 15 mg tablet available in bottles containing 90 tablets. The same dose is administered regardless of blood glucose level.
  • Senvelgo is a clear to slightly yellow to brown liquid. The dose of Senvelgo is 0.45 mg/lb (or 1 mg/kg) of body weight regardless of blood glucose level. It should not be mixed into food. If a dose of Senvelgo is missed, it should be given as soon as possible on the same day. If a cat vomits within 30 min of dosing, the dose can be repeated. Senvelgo needs to be administered using the dosing syringe provided in the package. The dose should be rounded down to the nearest pound.
What are the Positives?
  • Both medications are taken orally.
    • Bexacat is a tablet and it can be crushed and mixed into food.
    • Senvelgo is a liquid and should NOT be mixed into a cat’s food.
  • They are administered once daily.
  • For caregivers who are uncomfortable with needles, it is an alternative treatment.
  • It is easier to find someone willing to care for you cat if an insulin injection is not involved or blood glucose testing is not needed. (The need for home testing is not mentioned in any of the manufacturer's materials. We would encourage home testing.)
  • The cost appears to be less expensive than insulin (although insulin prices have been changing).
  • Dosing:
    • There is only one dose of Bexacat so there is not the issue of correct dosing as when drawing insulin into a syringe.
    • This is not the case with Senvelgo since the dose is based on the cat’s weight. Changes in weight could necessitate a change in dose.
  • Caregivers have greater schedule flexibility although either medication should be given at approximately the same time of day.
  • There appears to be a lower potential for hypoglycemia.
What are the Negatives?
  • Cats who are 13 or older and, especially if not overweight prior to diagnosis, are more likely to be insulin dependent or have other medical problems. They are likely not good candidates.
  • This is not a medication recommended for an insulin-dependent diabetic cat.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo should not be used in cats that have either liver disease or reduced renal function.
  • Cats with symptoms of loss of or no appetite, weight loss (i.e., anorexia), dehydration, or lethargy at the time diabetes is diagnosed need to be very carefully screened. The presence of these symptoms require immediate discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo and assessment for DKA regardless of blood glucose levels.
  • Cats need to be monitored for urinary tract infections (UTI) as Bexacat may increase the risk of UTIs. The long-term use of Bexacat may increase the risk of urothelial carcinoma.
  • During treatment with Bexacat or Senvelgo, blood glucose, fructosamine, serum β-hydroxybutyrate (BHBA), serum feline pancreas-specific lipase (fPL), liver parameters, serum cholesterol and triglycerides; and body weight and clinical signs should be routinely monitored. (Note that the lab values below are US based and may involve different metrics in other countries.)
    • fPL or liver tests require prompt evaluation for pancreatitis and/or liver disease. Discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo may need to be considered.
    • fPL > 5.3 mcg/L, diagnostic imaging consistent with pancreatitis, a history of pancreatitis, or current clinical signs of pancreatitis need to be ruled out.
    • BHBA is the predominating ketoacid in DKA. Bexacat should be stopped if BHBA is not notably reduced after initiating treatment or if BHBA levels persistently rise after an initial reduction. BHBA > 37 mg/dL or if BHBA > 25 mg/dL in a cat with a history of renal disease or metabolic acidosis indicates the cat is not a good candidate for Bexacat or Senvelgo.
    • Cats with persistently elevated cholesterol and triglyceride levels may be at an increased risk for developing DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • During the first 8 weeks after starting Bexacat or Senvelgo, glycemic control and clinical improvement needs to be assessed.
    • A vet needs to complete a thorough physical examination, at least an 8-hour blood glucose curve, and a fructosame level. Glucose levels over 350 mg/dL or a fructosamine level indicating poor glycemic control suggests the SGLT-2 should be discontinued.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo may cause increased serum calcium concentrations. These levels need to be monitored.
  • Diarrhea is the most common adverse reaction to both drugs. Bexacat or Senvelgo should be discontinued in cats that develop diarrhea that is unresponsive to conventional treatment.
  • Inappropriate urination may occur.
  • Approximately 20 – 30% of cats have persistent excessive urination and/or water intake due to Bexacat-induced osmotic diuresis. This can be a risk factor for dehydration-induced DKA.
  • Cats should be evaluated for concurrent disease including pancreatitis, infectious disease, urinary tract infection, neoplasia, and hypersomatotropism (acromegaly) before initiating and while receiving either Bexacat or Senvelgo.
  • Cats with baseline creatinine between 1.6 and 2 mg/dL at treatment initiation should be closely monitored for signs of dehydration and weight loss. Renal function should be closely monitored.
  • Persistently low or worsening serum chloride values compared to pre-treatment levels may be indicative of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • When stopping either drug, cats should be closely monitored for the development of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
Research
  • 84 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 180-day multicenter effectiveness and safety study. 72 cats completed the study. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), vomiting, elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum fPL, diarrhea, anorexia, lethargy, and dehydration. Nine serious adverse events occurred including three cats who died or were euthanized.
  • 89 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 56-day multicenter pilot field effectives and safety study with continued use up to 180 days. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum feline pancreas-specific lipase, vomiting, diarrhea/loose stool, hyporexia/anorexia, lethargy, elevated serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and/or aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and urinary tract infections. Twenty cats (22%) had at least one blood glucose value < 65 mg/dL recorded during 8-hour blood glucose curves. No clinical signs of hypoglycemia were observed and bexagliflozin dosing was not adjusted in any cat due to documented hypoglycemia. Nine serious adverse reactions associated with bexagliflozin administration occurred during the study, including six cats who died or were euthanized. Of the six cats who died or were euthanized, five became clinically ill within receiving 5 doses of bexagliflozin (range 1 to 5 doses).
  • One hundred twenty-five cats with diabetes mellitus that had previously completed a bexagliflozin field study were enrolled in a multicenter extended use field study. Cats were enrolled in the study for a range of 7 to 1064 days, with a mean of 329 days. Safety data were evaluated for all 125 cats. Forty-nine of the 125 enrolled cats were withdrawn from the study due to adverse reactions, serious adverse reactions, death/euthanasia, lack of effectiveness, suspected diabetic remission, withdrawal of owner consent, or lost to follow up. The most common adverse reactions were similar to those noted in the previous field studies. Twenty serious adverse reactions associated with Bexacat administration occurred during the study, all resulting in death or euthanasia.
  • There are few published studies using velaglifozin in cats. A 2014 study focused on six non-diabetic obese cats that were otherwise healthy. A 2022 conference presentation involving 26 cats, half of which received velaglifozin and half insulin indicated that the cats receiving the SGLT-2 had a positive response. Any other references were the proprietary property of the drug manufacturer, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica.
Thoughts for consideration:
  • While there are advantages to using a drug that does not involve an injection, the lack of emphasis on home testing leaves caregivers at a loss as far as knowing how their cat is responding to treatment.
  • There is a clear need for thorough assessment both prior to starting an SGLT-2 drug and throughout the course of treatment. Medical problems common in diabetic cats such at UTIs or pancreatitis can be potentially more of an issue. Of particular concern is the use of either Bexacat or Senvelgo in cats that are prone to developing ketones. The use of either of these medications could be dangerous. The cost for veterinary appointments and regular monitoring and lab tests let along hospitalization for DKA can be prohibitive.
  • The lack of long-term studies makes the outcomes difficult to assess. There is no indication of whether doses are reduced especially if the cat is approaching remission. And without home testing, there is a limited means of knowing whether a cat is approaching remission.
  • There is no mention of keeping cats below renal threshold. Since the mechanism of action is that glucose is eliminated in the urine, it would seem this is a concern that needs to be further investigated.
  • SGLT-2 inhibitors can induce diuresis and lead to clinical polyuria. While this condition can be transient, it can also indicate the drug needs to be discontinued. If SGLT-2 inhibitors induce significant polyuria and polydipsia, it may limit their therapeutic potential since these are clinical signs of diabetic regulation (or lack thereof).
  • A 2023 article in Veterinary Clinics in North America underscored the need for further research into these treatments for feline diabetes.
A cautionary note: These are new medications. There is very limited research and even less research supporting their long-term use. There is more research on the use of Senvelgo in ponies than in cats. In addition, most of the research has been underwritten by the drug manufacturers, Elanco or Boehringer Ingelheim.

American Animal Hospital Association information regarding Bexacat

ULTRA-LONG-ACTING INSULINS: TRESIBA & TOUJEO

This group of insulins has a duration of action greater than 24 hours in humans and is often used for basal-bolus treatment. The basal-bolus approach may not be practical for cat given the need for frequent BG measurements and multiple daily injections. They may, however, be useful as a single-agent therapy.

Two ultra-long-acting insulins have been investigated in cats (and dogs): insulin glargine U300 (Toujeo) and insulin degludec (Tresiba). Insulin glargine is the same insulin as glargine U100 but is three times more concentrated. Due to the increased concentration, it forms a denser subcutaneous depot which slows insulin release. Insulin degludec is a human insulin which facilitates the formation of a subcutaneous depot and increases protein binding. This method of action delays absorption, provides a flatter time-action profile, and reduces day-to-day variability in glucose concentrations.

The potential advantage of an insulin that requires a once a day or even less frequent dosing includes improved treatment compliance and quality of life for both diabetic cats and their caregivers. The concern is that despite ultra-long-acting insulin having been on the market for some time, there is limited research available. From the questions on FDMB, there does not appear to be many members who have cats that are prescribed either insulin.

Tresiba has a duration of 40 hours in humans. It has been studied in a small number of healthy cats and seems to have a considerably shorter duration (approximately 11 hours). The results of one study (Gilor et al., 2019) suggests that degludec is not adequate for once a day dosing. Toujeo has a longer duration – about 16 hours) along with a relatively flat curve, much like Lantus. However, the drawback to Toujeo is that it is not very potent causing the need for a higher daily dose making it cost prohibitive for some caregivers. There is a need for more research investigating the efficacy and effectiveness of the ultra-long acting insulins.

At present, there is no U300 syringe available. As a result, you must use the insulin pen in order to give an injection. One consideration is whether these insulins would be best suited for cats that need a large dose of insulin such as cats with acromegaly.

GLUCAGON-LIKE PEPTIDE 1-BASED THERAPIES: EXENATIDE ER (Bydureon)

Glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone secreted by L cells in the intestines in response to luminal nutrients, bacterial products, and secondary bile acids. GLP-1 acts as an “early warning system” to prepare the body for the nutrient load, particularly glucose that is about to arrive. It increases insulin secretion by sensitizing beta cells in the pancreas to glucose stimulation and decrease glucagon release by alpha cells. GLP-1 analogs have the highest therapeutic potential in diabetic cats however, the effects of GLP-1 analogs have been documented primarily in rodent models. The concern is that with GLP-1 analogs, diabetes is detected with the onset of clinical signs and symptoms which occur after there is widespread beta cell loss. Since GLP-1 maximized the function of the remaining beta cells, the use of this therapy may be limited to cats whose FD has been detected quite early. Based on the existing research, these drugs need to be combined with insulin to achieve glycemic control in cats.




From your Moderators
Good Day Moderators and FDM Forum,
Mrs. Jones is continuing to do well on Senvelgo. Our situation may be unique. We are moving into month 3! She was previously on Lantus for a few months but after our vet completed additional continuing education on diabetes management and consulted with an expert, we made the decision to move to Senvelgo. We understand there are caveats to Senvelgo use if a cat has been on insulin previously. We followed a very specific protocol including bloodwork and urinalysis prior. Ketone testing with an actual calibrated cat ketone reader every second day initially. Then, readings were weekly. Now we are biweekly ketone testing. Ketone readings are at 0.4. We had been doing bloodwork weekly then biweekly, now it is monthly. There seems to be a significant financial investment with the all the initial testing and follow-up testing. However, for Mrs. Jones, it is worth it. She's been doing so well since the start of July. We also appreciate this could change at any time. However, if Senvelgo fails to work, we are eligible for a credit to use for Prozinc,if needed. As a healthcare professional (although not in veterinary medicine), I appreciated the studies quoted above. Again, perhaps Mrs. Jones is a unique case but it may be worth it for pet parents to ask their vet about this protocol we are using. Wishing everybody the best in their feline diabetes management journey!
 
Many of our members have raised questions about newer forms of treatment for their cats. Below is information on several of the types of treatments and what we have been able to find in the research literature. Our goal is to help FDMB members make informed decisions.

Sodium-Glucose Cotransporter 2 Inhibitors (SGLT-2 Inhibitors): BEXACAT & SENVELGO

Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT-2) inhibitors developed for human use have garnered considerable attention in the last few years. Two of the drugs that have been widely publicized were both initially released for Type 2 diabetes treatment but have since been found to be effective for treating other conditions (e.g., heart failure, kidney disease) and have become very popular for helping with weight loss. These include Farxiga (dapaglifozin) and Jardiance (empaglifozin).

In December 2022 the FDA approved a new oral medication for the treatment of diabetes in cats. Bexacat (bexaglifozin) is an SGLT-2 inhibitor that prevents the kidneys from reabsorbing glucose allowing excess blood glucose to be excreted in the urine. The following August, the FDA also approved Senvelgo (velaglifozin) which is an oral liquid that is also an SGLT-2 inhibitor for the treatment of feline diabetes.

What is important to consider regarding Bexacat and Senvelgo is they are NOT indicated for cats that have already been treated with insulin. These are not drugs meant for treating cats who are insulin-dependent diabetics and are neither drug is indicated if your cat has symptoms of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Both drugs increase the risk of DKA as well as euglycemic DKA in cats. Just like DKA, euglycemic DKA is a life-threatening emergency that is characterized by euglycemia (normal range blood glucose), metabolic acidosis, and ketoacidosis. Unlike DKA, euglycemic DKA may be overlooked due to the absence of hyperglycemia.

There were two 6-month field studies that demonstrated that Bexacat was over 80% effective in improving glycemic control in cats with diabetes. While these are very optimistic results, there were notable safety concerns.
  • Very careful screening of cats who are being considered for treatment with either of these drugs is imperative. Prior to initiating treatment with either Bexacat or Senvelgo, the veterinarian should ensure the cat is alert, active, eating, and drinking.
  • The veterinarian should conduct a physical examination, obtain a medical history, CBC, serum chemistry, serum fructosamine, and urinalysis including evaluation for ketonuria.
  • Laboratory values or physical assessment that indicates the presence of ketones, DKA, kidney or liver disease, or recurrent urinary tract infection (UTI) would preclude the use of either of these medications.
  • If there is a delay of more than a week between diagnosis of diabetes mellitus and initiation of either of these medications, the veterinarian should re-evaluate the cat with a full physical examination and updated history to ensure the cat still meets the criteria described above. A delay of more than a week between diagnosis and starting either Bexacat or Senvelgo may increase the risk of developing diabetic ketoacidosis since the cat’s diabetes would be untreated during this period.
  • Also crucial is diligent monitoring regardless of the duration of or the response to treatment, and the ability to and how to promptly recognize and intervene if there are serious and life-threatening adverse reactions.
  • Sudden onset of loss of appetite, anorexia, lethargy, dehydration, or weight loss should indicate the medication should be immediately discontinued and the cat should be assessed for DKA.
Administration

Both Bexacat and Senvelgo are orally administered.
  • Bexacat is a 15 mg tablet available in bottles containing 90 tablets. The same dose is administered regardless of blood glucose level.
  • Senvelgo is a clear to slightly yellow to brown liquid. The dose of Senvelgo is 0.45 mg/lb (or 1 mg/kg) of body weight regardless of blood glucose level. It should not be mixed into food. If a dose of Senvelgo is missed, it should be given as soon as possible on the same day. If a cat vomits within 30 min of dosing, the dose can be repeated. Senvelgo needs to be administered using the dosing syringe provided in the package. The dose should be rounded down to the nearest pound.
What are the Positives?
  • Both medications are taken orally.
    • Bexacat is a tablet and it can be crushed and mixed into food.
    • Senvelgo is a liquid and should NOT be mixed into a cat’s food.
  • They are administered once daily.
  • For caregivers who are uncomfortable with needles, it is an alternative treatment.
  • It is easier to find someone willing to care for you cat if an insulin injection is not involved or blood glucose testing is not needed. (The need for home testing is not mentioned in any of the manufacturer's materials. We would encourage home testing.)
  • The cost appears to be less expensive than insulin (although insulin prices have been changing).
  • Dosing:
    • There is only one dose of Bexacat so there is not the issue of correct dosing as when drawing insulin into a syringe.
    • This is not the case with Senvelgo since the dose is based on the cat’s weight. Changes in weight could necessitate a change in dose.
  • Caregivers have greater schedule flexibility although either medication should be given at approximately the same time of day.
  • There appears to be a lower potential for hypoglycemia.
What are the Negatives?
  • Cats who are 13 or older and, especially if not overweight prior to diagnosis, are more likely to be insulin dependent or have other medical problems. They are likely not good candidates.
  • This is not a medication recommended for an insulin-dependent diabetic cat.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo should not be used in cats that have either liver disease or reduced renal function.
  • Cats with symptoms of loss of or no appetite, weight loss (i.e., anorexia), dehydration, or lethargy at the time diabetes is diagnosed need to be very carefully screened. The presence of these symptoms require immediate discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo and assessment for DKA regardless of blood glucose levels.
  • Cats need to be monitored for urinary tract infections (UTI) as Bexacat may increase the risk of UTIs. The long-term use of Bexacat may increase the risk of urothelial carcinoma.
  • During treatment with Bexacat or Senvelgo, blood glucose, fructosamine, serum β-hydroxybutyrate (BHBA), serum feline pancreas-specific lipase (fPL), liver parameters, serum cholesterol and triglycerides; and body weight and clinical signs should be routinely monitored. (Note that the lab values below are US based and may involve different metrics in other countries.)
    • fPL or liver tests require prompt evaluation for pancreatitis and/or liver disease. Discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo may need to be considered.
    • fPL > 5.3 mcg/L, diagnostic imaging consistent with pancreatitis, a history of pancreatitis, or current clinical signs of pancreatitis need to be ruled out.
    • BHBA is the predominating ketoacid in DKA. Bexacat should be stopped if BHBA is not notably reduced after initiating treatment or if BHBA levels persistently rise after an initial reduction. BHBA > 37 mg/dL or if BHBA > 25 mg/dL in a cat with a history of renal disease or metabolic acidosis indicates the cat is not a good candidate for Bexacat or Senvelgo.
    • Cats with persistently elevated cholesterol and triglyceride levels may be at an increased risk for developing DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • During the first 8 weeks after starting Bexacat or Senvelgo, glycemic control and clinical improvement needs to be assessed.
    • A vet needs to complete a thorough physical examination, at least an 8-hour blood glucose curve, and a fructosame level. Glucose levels over 350 mg/dL or a fructosamine level indicating poor glycemic control suggests the SGLT-2 should be discontinued.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo may cause increased serum calcium concentrations. These levels need to be monitored.
  • Diarrhea is the most common adverse reaction to both drugs. Bexacat or Senvelgo should be discontinued in cats that develop diarrhea that is unresponsive to conventional treatment.
  • Inappropriate urination may occur.
  • Approximately 20 – 30% of cats have persistent excessive urination and/or water intake due to Bexacat-induced osmotic diuresis. This can be a risk factor for dehydration-induced DKA.
  • Cats should be evaluated for concurrent disease including pancreatitis, infectious disease, urinary tract infection, neoplasia, and hypersomatotropism (acromegaly) before initiating and while receiving either Bexacat or Senvelgo.
  • Cats with baseline creatinine between 1.6 and 2 mg/dL at treatment initiation should be closely monitored for signs of dehydration and weight loss. Renal function should be closely monitored.
  • Persistently low or worsening serum chloride values compared to pre-treatment levels may be indicative of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • When stopping either drug, cats should be closely monitored for the development of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
Research
  • 84 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 180-day multicenter effectiveness and safety study. 72 cats completed the study. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), vomiting, elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum fPL, diarrhea, anorexia, lethargy, and dehydration. Nine serious adverse events occurred including three cats who died or were euthanized.
  • 89 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 56-day multicenter pilot field effectives and safety study with continued use up to 180 days. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum feline pancreas-specific lipase, vomiting, diarrhea/loose stool, hyporexia/anorexia, lethargy, elevated serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and/or aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and urinary tract infections. Twenty cats (22%) had at least one blood glucose value < 65 mg/dL recorded during 8-hour blood glucose curves. No clinical signs of hypoglycemia were observed and bexagliflozin dosing was not adjusted in any cat due to documented hypoglycemia. Nine serious adverse reactions associated with bexagliflozin administration occurred during the study, including six cats who died or were euthanized. Of the six cats who died or were euthanized, five became clinically ill within receiving 5 doses of bexagliflozin (range 1 to 5 doses).
  • One hundred twenty-five cats with diabetes mellitus that had previously completed a bexagliflozin field study were enrolled in a multicenter extended use field study. Cats were enrolled in the study for a range of 7 to 1064 days, with a mean of 329 days. Safety data were evaluated for all 125 cats. Forty-nine of the 125 enrolled cats were withdrawn from the study due to adverse reactions, serious adverse reactions, death/euthanasia, lack of effectiveness, suspected diabetic remission, withdrawal of owner consent, or lost to follow up. The most common adverse reactions were similar to those noted in the previous field studies. Twenty serious adverse reactions associated with Bexacat administration occurred during the study, all resulting in death or euthanasia.
  • There are few published studies using velaglifozin in cats. A 2014 study focused on six non-diabetic obese cats that were otherwise healthy. A 2022 conference presentation involving 26 cats, half of which received velaglifozin and half insulin indicated that the cats receiving the SGLT-2 had a positive response. Any other references were the proprietary property of the drug manufacturer, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica.
Thoughts for consideration:
  • While there are advantages to using a drug that does not involve an injection, the lack of emphasis on home testing leaves caregivers at a loss as far as knowing how their cat is responding to treatment.
  • There is a clear need for thorough assessment both prior to starting an SGLT-2 drug and throughout the course of treatment. Medical problems common in diabetic cats such at UTIs or pancreatitis can be potentially more of an issue. Of particular concern is the use of either Bexacat or Senvelgo in cats that are prone to developing ketones. The use of either of these medications could be dangerous. The cost for veterinary appointments and regular monitoring and lab tests let along hospitalization for DKA can be prohibitive.
  • The lack of long-term studies makes the outcomes difficult to assess. There is no indication of whether doses are reduced especially if the cat is approaching remission. And without home testing, there is a limited means of knowing whether a cat is approaching remission.
  • There is no mention of keeping cats below renal threshold. Since the mechanism of action is that glucose is eliminated in the urine, it would seem this is a concern that needs to be further investigated.
  • SGLT-2 inhibitors can induce diuresis and lead to clinical polyuria. While this condition can be transient, it can also indicate the drug needs to be discontinued. If SGLT-2 inhibitors induce significant polyuria and polydipsia, it may limit their therapeutic potential since these are clinical signs of diabetic regulation (or lack thereof).
  • A 2023 article in Veterinary Clinics in North America underscored the need for further research into these treatments for feline diabetes.
A cautionary note: These are new medications. There is very limited research and even less research supporting their long-term use. There is more research on the use of Senvelgo in ponies than in cats. In addition, most of the research has been underwritten by the drug manufacturers, Elanco or Boehringer Ingelheim.

American Animal Hospital Association information regarding Bexacat

ULTRA-LONG-ACTING INSULINS: TRESIBA & TOUJEO

This group of insulins has a duration of action greater than 24 hours in humans and is often used for basal-bolus treatment. The basal-bolus approach may not be practical for cat given the need for frequent BG measurements and multiple daily injections. They may, however, be useful as a single-agent therapy.

Two ultra-long-acting insulins have been investigated in cats (and dogs): insulin glargine U300 (Toujeo) and insulin degludec (Tresiba). Insulin glargine is the same insulin as glargine U100 but is three times more concentrated. Due to the increased concentration, it forms a denser subcutaneous depot which slows insulin release. Insulin degludec is a human insulin which facilitates the formation of a subcutaneous depot and increases protein binding. This method of action delays absorption, provides a flatter time-action profile, and reduces day-to-day variability in glucose concentrations.

The potential advantage of an insulin that requires a once a day or even less frequent dosing includes improved treatment compliance and quality of life for both diabetic cats and their caregivers. The concern is that despite ultra-long-acting insulin having been on the market for some time, there is limited research available. From the questions on FDMB, there does not appear to be many members who have cats that are prescribed either insulin.

Tresiba has a duration of 40 hours in humans. It has been studied in a small number of healthy cats and seems to have a considerably shorter duration (approximately 11 hours). The results of one study (Gilor et al., 2019) suggests that degludec is not adequate for once a day dosing. Toujeo has a longer duration – about 16 hours) along with a relatively flat curve, much like Lantus. However, the drawback to Toujeo is that it is not very potent causing the need for a higher daily dose making it cost prohibitive for some caregivers. There is a need for more research investigating the efficacy and effectiveness of the ultra-long acting insulins.

At present, there is no U300 syringe available. As a result, you must use the insulin pen in order to give an injection. One consideration is whether these insulins would be best suited for cats that need a large dose of insulin such as cats with acromegaly.

GLUCAGON-LIKE PEPTIDE 1-BASED THERAPIES: EXENATIDE ER (Bydureon)

Glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone secreted by L cells in the intestines in response to luminal nutrients, bacterial products, and secondary bile acids. GLP-1 acts as an “early warning system” to prepare the body for the nutrient load, particularly glucose that is about to arrive. It increases insulin secretion by sensitizing beta cells in the pancreas to glucose stimulation and decrease glucagon release by alpha cells. GLP-1 analogs have the highest therapeutic potential in diabetic cats however, the effects of GLP-1 analogs have been documented primarily in rodent models. The concern is that with GLP-1 analogs, diabetes is detected with the onset of clinical signs and symptoms which occur after there is widespread beta cell loss. Since GLP-1 maximized the function of the remaining beta cells, the use of this therapy may be limited to cats whose FD has been detected quite early. Based on the existing research, these drugs need to be combined with insulin to achieve glycemic control in cats.




From your Moderators
Apologies, I'm uncertain how to reply without quoting the original post. Thank you so much for including the detail and the link out to the AAHA, and associated Letter to Veterinarians from the FDA. I have much to think about, and the first step at this point is to confirm Mijo is actually diabetic. So much to think about.
 
Apologies, I'm uncertain how to reply without quoting the original post. Thank you so much for including the detail and the link out to the AAHA, and associated Letter to Veterinarians from the FDA. I have much to think about, and the first step at this point is to confirm Mijo is actually diabetic. So much to think about.
Thank you for keeping this post active. Mrs. Jones continues to do exceptionally well on Senvelgo. We are going into month 5 after her previous and brief treatment with Lantus (4 months). She was considered an appropriate candidate for Senvelgo as our vet indicated she was still producing insulin and she passed the other criteria noted in the Moderator's post. Indeed, she may be one of the first cats to go on Senvelgo after being on insulin. She has early CKD so we are keeping her on a low phos wet food. Thank you to this forum for helping me transition her from being a dry food junkie to wet food. Each cat is unique but these are the pros and cons for us and Mrs. Jones:

Pros:
-one dose per day
-rarely has vomited it (3 times since we started)
-blood gluc is "perfect" as noted with the last bloodwork (last week)
-great weight
-ketones hover at 0.2-0.3 fairly consistently
-less cranky without the needles, monitor and assist feeds
-no hypos or DKAs!
-we are more relaxed

Cons:
-a lot of prep work in the beginning (i.e., bloodwork, urinalysis)
-at home ketone testing frequently in the beginning
-going through more litter due to increased urination

Our monitoring in month 5 includes ketone testing with an at home reader and strips, specifically for cats, every second week. We also do bloodwork every 6 weeks now. Thanks!
 
My Nalahas been Senvelgo since last November, two weeks after she was diagnosed. She is now in remission. Her dosage is according to her weight. But can food is become too expensive for us and having to spend $270 every two months on Senvelgo is becoming too much. she goes through periods where she doesn’t want to eat the same home day and then the following day she is back to normal.
we currently have her and all our cats on fancy feast classic pate, they seem to like it although their poop seems very dry and in little balls. What other type of foods is recommended and are there any low carb kibble out in the market.
My girl eats Young Again Zero Carb Mature and Ziwi Prime air dried kibble. Neither are cheap but I think they are cheaper than canned. I feed both, and my Faith has a fountain to encourage water intake (I’ve used it since she got a UTI 5 years ago).
 
My girl eats Young Again Zero Carb Mature and Ziwi Prime air dried kibble. Neither are cheap but I think they are cheaper than canned. I feed both, and my Faith has a fountain to encourage water intake (I’ve used it since she got a UTI 5 years ago).
I've transitioned Mijo to Dr. Elsey's Clean protein kibble at 4.6% total carb (carb is the fiber type to support gut health), from Cat Chow 40% carb. Mijo likes the chicken and Turkey flavors very much- interesting he eats exactly the amount recommended on the bag (70g). I always offer Friskies pate too, his favorite is salmon (about 12% carb). I know- some view friskies as c*ap food, but this allows him to join the other kitties for snack time, which encourages him to eat. He remains underweight now. He has a little URI from all the vet/food change temporary stress, but he is still eating the Elsey's. I feel good about their ingredients too.
 
PS. I know Mijo does not LOOK underweight in the profile pic, it's only because he's curled up and lying on something. His body condition is definitely underweight.
 
How is remission handled on these meds? Are there any stats of cats going into remission?
 
@Panic - I've not seen anything on remission. There are not a great number of studies yet. We've likewise had questions about remission. I'm tagging one of our members from the UK. I think these meds have been available there longer than in the US.

@Elizabeth and Bertie
 
Hello, I am very new here, but just wanted to indicate that I believe recommendations for Senvelgo have been updated slightly and it can now be mixed with a little bit of food - this is what my leaflet of Senvelgo says. I am based in the UK, so I realise there may be a difference in recommendations based on where you're located.
I’m in the US and it can be mixed into a small amount of food. I mix it in to a bit of a delectables mousse-style treat and my cat licks it up. The day of his second dose, his BG had decreased from 255 to 187. He’s due for a fructosamine test on 3/21.
 
Many of our members have raised questions about newer forms of treatment for their cats. Below is information on several of the types of treatments and what we have been able to find in the research literature. Our goal is to help FDMB members make informed decisions.

Sodium-Glucose Cotransporter 2 Inhibitors (SGLT-2 Inhibitors): BEXACAT & SENVELGO

Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT-2) inhibitors developed for human use have garnered considerable attention in the last few years. Two of the drugs that have been widely publicized were both initially released for Type 2 diabetes treatment but have since been found to be effective for treating other conditions (e.g., heart failure, kidney disease) and have become very popular for helping with weight loss. These include Farxiga (dapaglifozin) and Jardiance (empaglifozin).

In December 2022 the FDA approved a new oral medication for the treatment of diabetes in cats. Bexacat (bexaglifozin) is an SGLT-2 inhibitor that prevents the kidneys from reabsorbing glucose allowing excess blood glucose to be excreted in the urine. The following August, the FDA also approved Senvelgo (velaglifozin) which is an oral liquid that is also an SGLT-2 inhibitor for the treatment of feline diabetes.

What is important to consider regarding Bexacat and Senvelgo is they are NOT indicated for cats that have already been treated with insulin. These are not drugs meant for treating cats who are insulin-dependent diabetics and are neither drug is indicated if your cat has symptoms of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). Both drugs increase the risk of DKA as well as euglycemic DKA in cats. Just like DKA, euglycemic DKA is a life-threatening emergency that is characterized by euglycemia (normal range blood glucose), metabolic acidosis, and ketoacidosis. Unlike DKA, euglycemic DKA may be overlooked due to the absence of hyperglycemia.

There were two 6-month field studies that demonstrated that Bexacat was over 80% effective in improving glycemic control in cats with diabetes. While these are very optimistic results, there were notable safety concerns.
  • Very careful screening of cats who are being considered for treatment with either of these drugs is imperative. Prior to initiating treatment with either Bexacat or Senvelgo, the veterinarian should ensure the cat is alert, active, eating, and drinking.
  • The veterinarian should conduct a physical examination, obtain a medical history, CBC, serum chemistry, serum fructosamine, and urinalysis including evaluation for ketonuria.
  • Laboratory values or physical assessment that indicates the presence of ketones, DKA, kidney or liver disease, or recurrent urinary tract infection (UTI) would preclude the use of either of these medications.
  • If there is a delay of more than a week between diagnosis of diabetes mellitus and initiation of either of these medications, the veterinarian should re-evaluate the cat with a full physical examination and updated history to ensure the cat still meets the criteria described above. A delay of more than a week between diagnosis and starting either Bexacat or Senvelgo may increase the risk of developing diabetic ketoacidosis since the cat’s diabetes would be untreated during this period.
  • Also crucial is diligent monitoring regardless of the duration of or the response to treatment, and the ability to and how to promptly recognize and intervene if there are serious and life-threatening adverse reactions.
  • Sudden onset of loss of appetite, anorexia, lethargy, dehydration, or weight loss should indicate the medication should be immediately discontinued and the cat should be assessed for DKA.
Administration

Both Bexacat and Senvelgo are orally administered.
  • Bexacat is a 15 mg tablet available in bottles containing 90 tablets. The same dose is administered regardless of blood glucose level.
  • Senvelgo is a clear to slightly yellow to brown liquid. The dose of Senvelgo is 0.45 mg/lb (or 1 mg/kg) of body weight regardless of blood glucose level. It should not be mixed into food. If a dose of Senvelgo is missed, it should be given as soon as possible on the same day. If a cat vomits within 30 min of dosing, the dose can be repeated. Senvelgo needs to be administered using the dosing syringe provided in the package. The dose should be rounded down to the nearest pound.
What are the Positives?
  • Both medications are taken orally.
    • Bexacat is a tablet and it can be crushed and mixed into food.
    • Senvelgo is a liquid and should NOT be mixed into a cat’s food.
  • They are administered once daily.
  • For caregivers who are uncomfortable with needles, it is an alternative treatment.
  • It is easier to find someone willing to care for you cat if an insulin injection is not involved or blood glucose testing is not needed. (The need for home testing is not mentioned in any of the manufacturer's materials. We would encourage home testing.)
  • The cost appears to be less expensive than insulin (although insulin prices have been changing).
  • Dosing:
    • There is only one dose of Bexacat so there is not the issue of correct dosing as when drawing insulin into a syringe.
    • This is not the case with Senvelgo since the dose is based on the cat’s weight. Changes in weight could necessitate a change in dose.
  • Caregivers have greater schedule flexibility although either medication should be given at approximately the same time of day.
  • There appears to be a lower potential for hypoglycemia.
What are the Negatives?
  • Cats who are 13 or older and, especially if not overweight prior to diagnosis, are more likely to be insulin dependent or have other medical problems. They are likely not good candidates.
  • This is not a medication recommended for an insulin-dependent diabetic cat.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo should not be used in cats that have either liver disease or reduced renal function.
  • Cats with symptoms of loss of or no appetite, weight loss (i.e., anorexia), dehydration, or lethargy at the time diabetes is diagnosed need to be very carefully screened. The presence of these symptoms require immediate discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo and assessment for DKA regardless of blood glucose levels.
  • Cats need to be monitored for urinary tract infections (UTI) as Bexacat may increase the risk of UTIs. The long-term use of Bexacat may increase the risk of urothelial carcinoma.
  • During treatment with Bexacat or Senvelgo, blood glucose, fructosamine, serum β-hydroxybutyrate (BHBA), serum feline pancreas-specific lipase (fPL), liver parameters, serum cholesterol and triglycerides; and body weight and clinical signs should be routinely monitored. (Note that the lab values below are US based and may involve different metrics in other countries.)
    • fPL or liver tests require prompt evaluation for pancreatitis and/or liver disease. Discontinuation of Bexacat or Senvelgo may need to be considered.
    • fPL > 5.3 mcg/L, diagnostic imaging consistent with pancreatitis, a history of pancreatitis, or current clinical signs of pancreatitis need to be ruled out.
    • BHBA is the predominating ketoacid in DKA. Bexacat should be stopped if BHBA is not notably reduced after initiating treatment or if BHBA levels persistently rise after an initial reduction. BHBA > 37 mg/dL or if BHBA > 25 mg/dL in a cat with a history of renal disease or metabolic acidosis indicates the cat is not a good candidate for Bexacat or Senvelgo.
    • Cats with persistently elevated cholesterol and triglyceride levels may be at an increased risk for developing DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • During the first 8 weeks after starting Bexacat or Senvelgo, glycemic control and clinical improvement needs to be assessed.
    • A vet needs to complete a thorough physical examination, at least an 8-hour blood glucose curve, and a fructosame level. Glucose levels over 350 mg/dL or a fructosamine level indicating poor glycemic control suggests the SGLT-2 should be discontinued.
  • Bexacat and Senvelgo may cause increased serum calcium concentrations. These levels need to be monitored.
  • Diarrhea is the most common adverse reaction to both drugs. Bexacat or Senvelgo should be discontinued in cats that develop diarrhea that is unresponsive to conventional treatment.
  • Inappropriate urination may occur.
  • Approximately 20 – 30% of cats have persistent excessive urination and/or water intake due to Bexacat-induced osmotic diuresis. This can be a risk factor for dehydration-induced DKA.
  • Cats should be evaluated for concurrent disease including pancreatitis, infectious disease, urinary tract infection, neoplasia, and hypersomatotropism (acromegaly) before initiating and while receiving either Bexacat or Senvelgo.
  • Cats with baseline creatinine between 1.6 and 2 mg/dL at treatment initiation should be closely monitored for signs of dehydration and weight loss. Renal function should be closely monitored.
  • Persistently low or worsening serum chloride values compared to pre-treatment levels may be indicative of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
  • When stopping either drug, cats should be closely monitored for the development of DKA or euglycemic DKA.
Research
  • 84 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 180-day multicenter effectiveness and safety study. 72 cats completed the study. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), vomiting, elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum fPL, diarrhea, anorexia, lethargy, and dehydration. Nine serious adverse events occurred including three cats who died or were euthanized.
  • 89 cats with newly diagnosed diabetes were enrolled in a 56-day multicenter pilot field effectives and safety study with continued use up to 180 days. The most common adverse reactions included elevated blood urea nitrogen (BUN), elevated urine specific gravity (USG), elevated serum feline pancreas-specific lipase, vomiting, diarrhea/loose stool, hyporexia/anorexia, lethargy, elevated serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and/or aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and urinary tract infections. Twenty cats (22%) had at least one blood glucose value < 65 mg/dL recorded during 8-hour blood glucose curves. No clinical signs of hypoglycemia were observed and bexagliflozin dosing was not adjusted in any cat due to documented hypoglycemia. Nine serious adverse reactions associated with bexagliflozin administration occurred during the study, including six cats who died or were euthanized. Of the six cats who died or were euthanized, five became clinically ill within receiving 5 doses of bexagliflozin (range 1 to 5 doses).
  • One hundred twenty-five cats with diabetes mellitus that had previously completed a bexagliflozin field study were enrolled in a multicenter extended use field study. Cats were enrolled in the study for a range of 7 to 1064 days, with a mean of 329 days. Safety data were evaluated for all 125 cats. Forty-nine of the 125 enrolled cats were withdrawn from the study due to adverse reactions, serious adverse reactions, death/euthanasia, lack of effectiveness, suspected diabetic remission, withdrawal of owner consent, or lost to follow up. The most common adverse reactions were similar to those noted in the previous field studies. Twenty serious adverse reactions associated with Bexacat administration occurred during the study, all resulting in death or euthanasia.
  • There are few published studies using velaglifozin in cats. A 2014 study focused on six non-diabetic obese cats that were otherwise healthy. A 2022 conference presentation involving 26 cats, half of which received velaglifozin and half insulin indicated that the cats receiving the SGLT-2 had a positive response. Any other references were the proprietary property of the drug manufacturer, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica.
Thoughts for consideration:
  • While there are advantages to using a drug that does not involve an injection, the lack of emphasis on home testing leaves caregivers at a loss as far as knowing how their cat is responding to treatment.
  • There is a clear need for thorough assessment both prior to starting an SGLT-2 drug and throughout the course of treatment. Medical problems common in diabetic cats such at UTIs or pancreatitis can be potentially more of an issue. Of particular concern is the use of either Bexacat or Senvelgo in cats that are prone to developing ketones. The use of either of these medications could be dangerous. The cost for veterinary appointments and regular monitoring and lab tests let along hospitalization for DKA can be prohibitive.
  • The lack of long-term studies makes the outcomes difficult to assess. There is no indication of whether doses are reduced especially if the cat is approaching remission. And without home testing, there is a limited means of knowing whether a cat is approaching remission.
  • There is no mention of keeping cats below renal threshold. Since the mechanism of action is that glucose is eliminated in the urine, it would seem this is a concern that needs to be further investigated.
  • SGLT-2 inhibitors can induce diuresis and lead to clinical polyuria. While this condition can be transient, it can also indicate the drug needs to be discontinued. If SGLT-2 inhibitors induce significant polyuria and polydipsia, it may limit their therapeutic potential since these are clinical signs of diabetic regulation (or lack thereof).
  • A 2023 article in Veterinary Clinics in North America underscored the need for further research into these treatments for feline diabetes.
A cautionary note: These are new medications. There is very limited research and even less research supporting their long-term use. There is more research on the use of Senvelgo in ponies than in cats. In addition, most of the research has been underwritten by the drug manufacturers, Elanco or Boehringer Ingelheim.

American Animal Hospital Association information regarding Bexacat

ULTRA-LONG-ACTING INSULINS: TRESIBA & TOUJEO


This group of insulins has a duration of action greater than 24 hours in humans and is often used for basal-bolus treatment. The basal-bolus approach may not be practical for cat given the need for frequent BG measurements and multiple daily injections. They may, however, be useful as a single-agent therapy.

Two ultra-long-acting insulins have been investigated in cats (and dogs): insulin glargine U300 (Toujeo) and insulin degludec (Tresiba). Insulin glargine is the same insulin as glargine U100 but is three times more concentrated. Due to the increased concentration, it forms a denser subcutaneous depot which slows insulin release. Insulin degludec is a human insulin which facilitates the formation of a subcutaneous depot and increases protein binding. This method of action delays absorption, provides a flatter time-action profile, and reduces day-to-day variability in glucose concentrations.

The potential advantage of an insulin that requires a once a day or even less frequent dosing includes improved treatment compliance and quality of life for both diabetic cats and their caregivers. The concern is that despite ultra-long-acting insulin having been on the market for some time, there is limited research available. From the questions on FDMB, there does not appear to be many members who have cats that are prescribed either insulin.

Tresiba has a duration of 40 hours in humans. It has been studied in a small number of healthy cats and seems to have a considerably shorter duration (approximately 11 hours). The results of one study (Gilor et al., 2019) suggests that degludec is not adequate for once a day dosing. Toujeo has a longer duration – about 16 hours) along with a relatively flat curve, much like Lantus. However, the drawback to Toujeo is that it is not very potent causing the need for a higher daily dose making it cost prohibitive for some caregivers. There is a need for more research investigating the efficacy and effectiveness of the ultra-long acting insulins.

At present, there is no U300 syringe available. As a result, you must use the insulin pen in order to give an injection. One consideration is whether these insulins would be best suited for cats that need a large dose of insulin such as cats with acromegaly.

GLUCAGON-LIKE PEPTIDE 1-BASED THERAPIES: EXENATIDE ER (Bydureon)

Glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) is an incretin hormone secreted by L cells in the intestines in response to luminal nutrients, bacterial products, and secondary bile acids. GLP-1 acts as an “early warning system” to prepare the body for the nutrient load, particularly glucose that is about to arrive. It increases insulin secretion by sensitizing beta cells in the pancreas to glucose stimulation and decrease glucagon release by alpha cells. GLP-1 analogs have the highest therapeutic potential in diabetic cats however, the effects of GLP-1 analogs have been documented primarily in rodent models. The concern is that with GLP-1 analogs, diabetes is detected with the onset of clinical signs and symptoms which occur after there is widespread beta cell loss. Since GLP-1 maximized the function of the remaining beta cells, the use of this therapy may be limited to cats whose FD has been detected quite early. Based on the existing research, these drugs need to be combined with insulin to achieve glycemic control in cats.




From your Moderators
Oh my! That’s a scary lot of information. So I ask, how do I catch urine to test for ketones? And thank you for all of this because I will make notes to ask the vet.
Are the ketones from a very low carb diet ( like Atkins for humans?)
 
We worry about ketones in cats because it can throw their metabolism/electrolytes out of balance. Unlike with humans, they can't fix it themselves or they aren't reliable about letting us know that something is off. If ketone levels are high enough, it can be a life threatening situation. This is the case for humans, as well. With normal metabolism, food is converted to glucose and that is the fuel upon which our body and our cat's bodies operate. With Atkins, the goal is for a low level of ketosis to help burn fat stores. In diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) human and cats are burning more glucose and instead are burning fat which becomes fatty acids, build up and cause all sorts of problems. This is a link to info on ketones.

There are two ways to test for ketones -- urine and blood. Urine testing involved getting Ketostix which are a strip that has a bit of treated filter paper on the end. You swipe the treated end through your cat's urine, wait the amount of time specified in the instructions then compare the color on the strip to the color coding on the container. There's a picture in the link. Anything above a trace level is a trip to the vet. There are other ways to get a urine sample but the key issue is that it needs to be a fresh sample.

You can test for blood ketones Sith a ketone meter. It's almost identical to a glucometer except it's calibrated to test for ketones. The urine test strips are inexpensive vs the meter strips which are about $1.00 each. Not all cats like the idea of your stalking them to the litter box.
 
Back
Top