Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
Let’s see where he is tomorrow. Sorry for the pinks.same old. . . . pink, pink, pink. . . this is the third cycle since the bounce
Let’s see where he is tomorrow. Sorry for the pinks.same old. . . . pink, pink, pink. . . this is the third cycle since the bounce
Tomorrow morning after the requisite 6 cycles. He's so high that I do not worry about any bounce breaks or anything. I think we need to just plow ahead following MPM. Agreed?no we didn't start a new vial, we keep thinking each time will be the end but it seems to go on. . . we will start a new one tonight just in case
I suppose it is a possibility of other health issues but let's not say so just yet ok? let's rally onwards. . . when do you think the increase should be?
Have you started a new vial of Prozinc yet? I remember you mentioning your current vial was/is almost 5 months old & just about done - trying to rule out any possible culprits.
It looks like he tends to start breaking his little bounces by PMPS so he tends to drift down. Good luck with the increase! I’m rooting for your Opie and will check up on his spreadsheet tonight and tomorrow.so we opened the new vial and he is again at 278, can you believe how he goes down at PMPS ? anyway, we will do 3 units in the AM and thanks again. . .
No. Do not increase tomorrow morning. Since he is having blue numbers, hold this dose for a few more days. Let’s see what happens tonight and tomorrow.went down to 131 and this is still at 2.5! I think the new bottle of insulin might have made a difference though I never thought it did before. Do I still go with the increase tomorrow AM? I still have to see his numbers from tonight but will wait on you in the morning. . . and we were told that the insulin could still be used for months and didn't matter how old it was, this being told to him from a diabetes seminar for vets. . . .
Also, how long does this forum recommend keeping and using insulin before throwing it out?
Some say they have used 5 to 6 months. I never went longer than 3.Also, how long does this forum recommend keeping and using insulin before throwing it out?
You watch the spreadsheet and if they start creeping up could be a sign it's losing it's efficacy. It was a little hard to tell with Opie because we didn't know what was going on at night, but with the extra testing over the last week you can kinda see it - he was so darn flat!I think the new bottle of insulin might have made a difference though I never thought it did before.
You will hold this dose for longer. We typically hold doses with blue and green nadirs for 10 cycles. And really since he just started getting blues (and even a green) last night after starting the new vial I would probably start the count with last night’s dose.so we are on 8 cycles with 2.5. Do we keep this for awhile more or do we increase? Will the preshot numbers begin to go down as he gets adjusted and regulated? Sorry, don't really know what is common or not, so don't know what to look for and expect. The goal is being in the green but that is scary because my vet had a goal of 150 which is quite different. At least right now he isn't flat in pink. . .
it is nice knowing that you are there checking in on his progressRight. Sorry. It's hard for me to keep straight everybody's feeding schedules. There are so many different people who are feeding so many different things. It's just that if I was trying to ensure a smooth cycle I would probably bring the food over to him at certain points to see if he would munch it when I wanted him to instead of relying on him to eat it whenever. Then I would put the food back in its usual place.As I mentioned, he eats all day long and only LCW. . . by MC do you mean high carb food if he drops low? If I fed him something like that he would only want that and I would have a difficult time with him. . . but if he gets hypo I will of course use it.
Glad you think he is doing good. I like to hear that.