Danny&Nelson
Member Since 2012
Hi ... i've been told by ppl in the main forum that i should start posting here. Quick info, Nelson my 16 y.o. burmese got very sick overnight approx 2 wks ago after just being a *bit* off the 12 hours previous to that. he really went right off a cliff and i took him to the vet as quickly as i could, with DKA as it turned out (a term i was unaware of at the time! .. feline diab never occurred to me!), he was there for 6 days on a fluid drip and for the first 3 was a very sorry creature. I visited daily after that and got him home on the 6th day (on 2U every 12h), piled high with needles, strips, lantus etc. and i'd bought an Accu Check Performa glucometer (same one my vet uses) for home testing. things were sort of ok for a couple days although he did spike into the low 30s (i hope my SS conversion works ok now) on a couple of PS's. then at 4 am on the 30th i got 2 readings that just said 'hi', which the manual told me was outside what the meter could read, so i panicked and took him off to the 24h vet hosp at Sydney University (which turned out to be absurdly expensive but leaving that aside, they *did* give him wonderful and detailed care/testing). he was at 37 on arrival there. they had him on short acting insulin in order to more closely monitor and make adjustments. and yesterday, after 3 days there, i got him home, now on 3U glargine every 12 hrs, and if you look at his SS he's responded pretty well! i'm happy so far .. was shocked in a good way to see the 4.1 last night so i tested an hour later and got 4.3 so at least it didn't look like it was going too low. today his amps was 17, so i'm hoping that doesn't mean his nadir will go too low at +4, +5, +6 but we'll see. anyway, with the help of ppl here and my vets, my knowledge of FD has escalated from 0 to well, a lot, in 2 weeks flat! and of course i'm *so* happy to have nelson home and seemingly well and purring after twice thinking i might lose him within 2 weeks. oh and i haven't even had time to peruse the Lantus TR protocol but i will. apparently this is not an impediment to posting here. danny.