New Thread - Continuing MPM

Rewster's Mom (Renee)

Member Since 2024
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy! Quick question for you.

Today's PMPS was 96. I stalled without feeding and tested again 20 mins later and it was 106. I waited another 10 minutes, tested again, and it was 111. At that time I administered the typical dose, with some 8% carb food mixed into her typical dinner. I'm going to retest in an hour.

My question is--could I have shot the 96, and if so would I have done the full dose? This was the first time I saw a green pre-shot and I froze. Thanks!
 
It’s kind of up to you as to whether you can stay up to monitor the cycle. She had a really great cycle last night, but it would be an option to try a half dose. You also have to take into consideration that she runs a little lower at night. What did you feed her last night while she was having those greens? I see she’s (not surprisingly) pink this morning, but she’s definitely making progress.
 
It’s kind of up to you as to whether you can stay up to monitor the cycle. She had a really great cycle last night, but it would be an option to try a half dose. You also have to take into consideration that she runs a little lower at night. What did you feed her last night while she was having those greens? I see she’s (not surprisingly) pink this morning, but she’s definitely making progress.

I mixed in about 3 tsp of 8% carb soulistic tender chicken into her typical 3oz 5% carb dinner. Then at +2 I gave her a Sheeba perfect portion (3%) and 2 tsp of the same Soulistic mixed in with some water in it. She snacked on that up until +3.
 
Thank you, @Suzanne & Darcy! I'm really jazzed about it. Hoping to keep it going! Have a great night.
Hey all!

May I request some feedback to see if I should be doing something different? We’ve been on the same dose for a long while now, and things have been really good!

I notice Rewster isn’t having strong drops in BG numbers like she did before, even though we’re on the same dose. Maybe I’ve just got the food mix down to avoid that? Doubting myself and want to check in.

Thank you
 
Right now, I think you should hold this dose and let’s look at things again in another week. She’s doing great! She’s made progress in the last 2-3 weeks with lower preshots, and I would like to see if anything else changes before deciding on dose changes. Okay?
 
P.S. I am so happy to see blue and so much green on Rewster’s spreadsheet! What a difference since you first joined. I bet she’s a much happier cat now.
Thank you! We will hold the dose until further notice.
She’s definitely way more comfortable and happy, and so am I! She’s totally stopped having any symptoms of diabetes except needing insulin. Hoping to continue this trend! I’ll keep you posted.

thank you as always!
 
First lime number today ever--43BG at +2.25. Snacking her with 6C carbs as we speak and monitoring. Dose decrease from 1F down to .75?
 
Last edited:
It’s good that you moved to the higher carb. If you have a lime green don’t wait - just go to some high carb 15 percent or higher. Then test every 20-30 minutes to ensure BG is rising.

Now the rule for high carb is that you need to keep testing for 2 hours after giving HC because you must make sure that the cat’s BG is rising or staying stable on its own.
 
And congratulations! This is great that she has earned a reduction down to .75. She’s been doing well on 1 unit for a long time, and let’s hope she does just as well on less insulin.
Thank you! I hope so. Thank you so much for your advice. She was 128 even with all the additional snacks which hopefully is A sign she isn’t going to go into a chaotic bounce cycle.
 
Hooray. Down to .5 units! :):):):D:D:D:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm so nervous and excited! She has been so comfortable and happy recently! Clearly the MPM regimen is working wonders. She has even been feeling up to working!https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lhQst7P3qvRzL3oBFykKcw6KDnJuc4ly/view?usp=share_link
view
LOL :D
 
Hello Renee. Rewster’s numbers have been fantastic! Your spreadsheet is not up to date though, so I hope everything is okay!
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy ! Thank you so much for the reminder. We have a whiteboard in the kitchen that we keep to analog track her numbers, and we forgot to update our sheet! We've been doing well but exceedingly busy. Balancing rewsty's beemies and our work/life calendars has been tricky but we're making it happen! Thanks as always for checking in on us!
 
I've noticed that Rewster's arthritis seems to be bothering her. The vet had told us that she had mild arthritis from an X-ray he did. We don't currently give her any supplements for arthritis, but I was wondering about giving her a supplement like this.

Do you know by chance if that would that negatively impact the progress we've made with her diabetes?
 
Hi Renee. I gave my diabetic cat Cosequin with no impact on his numbers. It’s one of the supplements we recommend on this Board for people to try. I have a girl who has some arthritis that manifests in her back legs and we have been giving her Adequan injections at home. They are helping her. She started out with more frequent injections, but she’s on a monthly injection schedule now. I had previously tried Solensia injections and they helped (I believe she had 3) but after doing a lot of reading I decided to stop the injections. She did not appear to have any negative side effects from Solensia, but it’s still new in the U.S. and I will wait to see what’s happening with cats who are taking it after a couple of years. Adequan has been around a long time and has been used in cats for a long time.

I would start with the Cosequin and see if it helps.
 
Hi Renee. I gave my diabetic cat Cosequin with no impact on his numbers. It’s one of the supplements we recommend on this Board for people to try. I have a girl who has some arthritis that manifests in her back legs and we have been giving her Adequan injections at home. They are helping her. She started out with more frequent injections, but she’s on a monthly injection schedule now. I had previously tried Solensia injections and they helped (I believe she had 3) but after doing a lot of reading I decided to stop the injections. She did not appear to have any negative side effects from Solensia, but it’s still new in the U.S. and I will wait to see what’s happening with cats who are taking it after a couple of years. Adequan has been around a long time and has been used in cats for a long time.

I would start with the Cosequin and see if it helps.
Thanks! I’m going to try out the Cosequin and see how that goes. She’s been more hesitant to jump up on beds/from a chair to a table and yesterday she missed and fell (she seems okay).

In Feb 2023 she missed and fell and pulled her hip and had to be restricted to a small space for rest for a while. I’ve also noticed recently she doesn’t want to sit when we test her BG, she’s rather stand or she cries. Hoping to prevent anything like that moving forward.
Thank you as always!! :bighug:
 
Hi Renee. I gave my diabetic cat Cosequin with no impact on his numbers. It’s one of the supplements we recommend on this Board for people to try. I have a girl who has some arthritis that manifests in her back legs and we have been giving her Adequan injections at home. They are helping her. She started out with more frequent injections, but she’s on a monthly injection schedule now. I had previously tried Solensia injections and they helped (I believe she had 3) but after doing a lot of reading I decided to stop the injections. She did not appear to have any negative side effects from Solensia, but it’s still new in the U.S. and I will wait to see what’s happening with cats who are taking it after a couple of years. Adequan has been around a long time and has been used in cats for a long time.

I would start with the Cosequin and see if it helps.
Hi My cat Mac is on Adequan weekly for his arthritis. Do you think combining that with the Cosequin could be an additional help?
 
Hi My cat Mac is on Adequan weekly for his arthritis. Do you think combining that with the Cosequin could be an additional help?
Yes. We like the Adequan too. So you do weekly? We were on monthly injections but Sheba has had a few days where she looked stiff in the way she walked so I am increasing to weekly for a little while.
 
yes I do Adequan weekly. so you haven't had any side effects with the Cosequin? I am hoping the combo will help Mac a bit more. He is also in the 300-400 BG range the last 2 weeks and that always makes him slow moving too. Hoping to get some blue and greens in the next week or so as I increase his dose. Thanks!!
 
How is Rewster? I don’t see any mid-cycle tests for a long time. Her numbers look good at preshot times, but they also looked good on August 20 when you caught that lime green. I just want to make sure she doesn’t drop too low unnoticed. How’s the arthritis?
 
How is Rewster? I don’t see any mid-cycle tests for a long time. Her numbers look good at preshot times, but they also looked good on August 20 when you caught that lime green. I just want to make sure she doesn’t drop too low unnoticed. How’s the arthritis?
Hi Suzanne!

sorry I missed your message in this thread. She’s doing well. August was rough for us but we have a goal to do more +4/5 tests. Rewster is very good about eating when she needs, and I always leave out extra food for her until at least +7 just in case as an insurance policy.
That said—we gotta improve!!

arthritis is decent. We haven’t even needed to cosequin recently so that’s been a plus. Trying to keep her from over extending herself is key I’ve discovered.
 
Back
Top