nwfisher
Member
Hi guys. I'm Nathan the new prozinc user who needed help in the main forum the other day. This is our boy Spider (in my lap like the sweetie he is). Here is kind of a recap and an update on where we are.
We had noticed excessive water drinking and peeing for a month or so ("good grief is that a grown man peeing in the litter box!") so we took Spider to the vet (this is maybe 10 days ago). His BG at the vet on the first visit was 600 so they admitted him and kept him for 3 days. They were able to get him down to a low of about 130 between shots using 4 units of prozinc and sent him home. For the first 4 days days home we followed the protocol they put him on of 4 units 12 hours apart. We wanted to home test (how could you not) so we got a Relion and had a rough go for a couple of days, but I think finally we have the testing down to a point where we can do it.
Our first incident was the other night. We were pre-shot testing maybe 45 minutes after meal time and he came back as 109. With advice from you guys we skipped his 4 units. He had a vet visit scheduled the next day. We got up the following morning and he tested at 251 so we gave him 3 units and took him to the vet.
The vet looked at us like we had 3 heads when we told him we wanted to home test, but recommended staying with the 3 units.
Last night before meal time (maybe 11 hours from a 3 unit shot) we had a very rough time getting blood so we went ahead fed him and gave the 3 units (now 12 hours from the prior 3 units).
Well, this morning he tested at 46. No hypo symptoms, seems totally normal. Needless to say we skipped the AM shot, fed him and are watching him closely. We are going to test again early evening. If he is over 200 and shootable tonight we going down to 2 units. Should we maybe go all the way to 1 unit?
We had noticed excessive water drinking and peeing for a month or so ("good grief is that a grown man peeing in the litter box!") so we took Spider to the vet (this is maybe 10 days ago). His BG at the vet on the first visit was 600 so they admitted him and kept him for 3 days. They were able to get him down to a low of about 130 between shots using 4 units of prozinc and sent him home. For the first 4 days days home we followed the protocol they put him on of 4 units 12 hours apart. We wanted to home test (how could you not) so we got a Relion and had a rough go for a couple of days, but I think finally we have the testing down to a point where we can do it.
Our first incident was the other night. We were pre-shot testing maybe 45 minutes after meal time and he came back as 109. With advice from you guys we skipped his 4 units. He had a vet visit scheduled the next day. We got up the following morning and he tested at 251 so we gave him 3 units and took him to the vet.
The vet looked at us like we had 3 heads when we told him we wanted to home test, but recommended staying with the 3 units.
Last night before meal time (maybe 11 hours from a 3 unit shot) we had a very rough time getting blood so we went ahead fed him and gave the 3 units (now 12 hours from the prior 3 units).
Well, this morning he tested at 46. No hypo symptoms, seems totally normal. Needless to say we skipped the AM shot, fed him and are watching him closely. We are going to test again early evening. If he is over 200 and shootable tonight we going down to 2 units. Should we maybe go all the way to 1 unit?