New-Need chart

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephF and Gizzy

Member Since 2016
Hi. I just took a foster who is my first diabetic kitty. I'm looking for a printable chart to help simplify things for me and help me recognize patterns.
Thanks!
 
Wonderful that you have taken on a diabetic foster. You'll find we are a small friendly group. If you post daily, we can help you with daily doses and issues. If you ever have an emergency, post on here and on Health,so you get more eyes.

I'd start with our Beginner's guide and Protocol. They are both in my signature in blue. And ask as many questions as you like.
 
Wonderful that you have taken on a diabetic foster. You'll find we are a small friendly group. If you post daily, we can help you with daily doses and issues. If you ever have an emergency, post on here and on Health,so you get more eyes.

I'd start with our Beginner's guide and Protocol. They are both in my signature in blue. And ask as many questions as you like.
Thank you!
 
You don't need to learn everything at once. Start with a good insulin (check) and home testing. We suggest a beginning dose of 0.5 or one unit. Test before each shot (to be sure the dose you are planning to give is safe) and midcycle, whenever you can (to see how low the insulin takes him/her. A wet low carb diet is important too, but if you are already feeding dry, I'd get testing down before I switched food.
 
The shelter vet only had her for a few days, she was brought in as a stray. When I picked her up she was on 3 units. Seems like a really high dose. But she's been staying right around 250 so I guess we're doing ok for now. Also, the vet gave me wet and dry with instructions of 1 can and 1/4 cup of dry twice/day. nothing in between. I've changed that to spreading it throughout the day rather than just twice. Same amount of food just spread out.
 
Hi! Bless you for taking in a diabetic foster.

It is a pretty steep learning curve, but we're most certainly here to help

What kind of food did the vet give? Generally, prescription food is too high in carbs (especially dry). As Sue said, though, I'd wait until you're home testing to change food, especially at 3 units. It should be fine to spread the food out through the day...we just say to pick it up 2 hours before AM and PM testing.

What kind of questions can we help with?
 
She gave me Purina Vet Diet/Dietary Management wet and Purina Pro Plan DM dry. I'm testing before each meal. About every 3 hours. She staying right around 250 each time.
 
I agree with Rachel. The dry food is probably keeping him enough because of the high carbs. We try to feed under 8-10% carbs. This website by a vet explains why wet low carb is best, and there is a food chart. www.catinfo.org. But, yes, I would wait until you are very comfortable testing, and make the switch slowly to eliminate possible stomach issues. But eliminating the dry can reduce the numbers by 100 points (it did when we switched from dry to wet)

Just for reference: we generally consider a cat to be regulated if they are in the mid 250s at preshot and in low 100s or double digits at nadir (5-7 hours after the shot) but above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter.
 
Gertie ate at midnight and threw up just now, an hour later. Mostly water but some wet food. She had 3units at 10 and measured now at 215. Should I be concerned?
 
I agree with Rachel. The dry food is probably keeping him enough because of the high carbs. We try to feed under 8-10% carbs. This website by a vet explains why wet low carb is best, and there is a food chart. www.catinfo.org. But, yes, I would wait until you are very comfortable testing, and make the switch slowly to eliminate possible stomach issues. But eliminating the dry can reduce the numbers by 100 points (it did when we switched from dry to wet)

Just for reference: we generally consider a cat to be regulated if they are in the mid 250s at preshot and in low 100s or double digits at nadir (5-7 hours after the shot) but above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter.
Hi Sue,
I'm over in Lantus but I know Steph through our CH cats. I was helping Steph and Gertie yesterday before they were able to get onto the FDMB. I didn't want Steph to be too overwhelmed since she was learning to test I figured let her get a hang of that and then we can start talking food. I figured she could keep her with the Purina DM and 3u the vet started her with while she gets a hang of testing to see where Gertie is at. I briefly mentioned switching food but didn't want Gertie to then drop her BG possibly with the switch.
I'm glad Steph was able to get on the FDMB and in this group so fast. I know she's in good hands.
 
Sorry, Steph, that you didn't get an answer last night. I hope she is feeling better this morning. If you ever have an emergency and no one is around here, post on Health. We are a small group and sometimes no one is on this forum. Even in the middle of the night, there may be European members on Health.

We'll try to take good care of Steph and Gertie, Jennifer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top