StephF and Gizzy
Member
Hi. I just took a foster who is my first diabetic kitty. I'm looking for a printable chart to help simplify things for me and help me recognize patterns.
Thanks!
Thanks!
Thank you!Wonderful that you have taken on a diabetic foster. You'll find we are a small friendly group. If you post daily, we can help you with daily doses and issues. If you ever have an emergency, post on here and on Health,so you get more eyes.
I'd start with our Beginner's guide and Protocol. They are both in my signature in blue. And ask as many questions as you like.
I read the Beginner's Guide. This is a whole lot to learn. I'm afraid I'll make a mistake.Thank you!
Hi Sue,I agree with Rachel. The dry food is probably keeping him enough because of the high carbs. We try to feed under 8-10% carbs. This website by a vet explains why wet low carb is best, and there is a food chart. www.catinfo.org. But, yes, I would wait until you are very comfortable testing, and make the switch slowly to eliminate possible stomach issues. But eliminating the dry can reduce the numbers by 100 points (it did when we switched from dry to wet)
Just for reference: we generally consider a cat to be regulated if they are in the mid 250s at preshot and in low 100s or double digits at nadir (5-7 hours after the shot) but above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter.