Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Very Active Member
Yesok, so greenies go in the hypo kit, thanks

Yesok, so greenies go in the hypo kit, thanks
Any dry food or treat pretty much is high in carb. The best treats are freeze dried like PureBites and VitaEssential. The flakes are good too, mainly protein like you saidok, so greenies go in the hypo kit, thanks
With the gaps in tests, it's a bit hard to say. But given the +9 value, I'd say 1.5 should be ok. I'd also just hold that dose for a few days for consistency (and until the tests are more reliable).Ok. Best laid plans. Tried her 3 times for PMPS... Got nothing. Error codes on meter possibly due to too little blood or too slow uptake in strip. So stopped torturing her and gave up. Think I am just not skilled at the prick and milking it So no new BG.
1933 2/6 : Fed and gave 1.5 U lantus to play it safe? Gave her treats, 1/2 can of wet and 1/2 cup dry food. Am I feeding her too much food?
Edit: *Hold the dose unless you get a preshot below 200, or any test at all below 100. In that case stall and post here or in Lantus forum.
Those error codes are the band of all.our existenceMaki is resting on her bed and I keep checking her to make sure no behavioral changes. I have left her food ball down for the night with the glycobalance dry food in it.
I tired a 1+ and got another error (E2 & E3). I am not getting enough blood in the strip. Bad news that used up my last strip. Can't find others. (We sold our house and are packing so things are 'missing'.)
That leads to a side question. I've tried searching on Kitty stress. With us packing and moving, Maki scans every room every day as more and more furniture and stuff disappears. Maybe this is a long shot, but does that possibly effect her BG?
Thanks so much for you continued dialogue with us.
Insulin? Was that a typo, or are you getting a new vial/changing insulin?Yes I plan to get strips and insulin tomorrow morning. I seriously thought I had a whole container of them. Voila.. No idea where.
Should I still feed and shoot 7 am? Stores won't be open until 9 ish. We live in a rural area of PA.
Thank you AleAny dry food or treat pretty much is high in carb. The best treats are freeze dried like PureBites and VitaEssential. The flakes are good too, mainly protein like you said
Diane, just a quick note -You should really try to take away the kibble slowly, and just feed wet
But you have to monitor Maki thru the day , taking away the kibble will drop her BG
You want to make sure she isn't going to low
Is there any reason why you are not feeding Fancy Feast Classics Pate?
The Relion Premier is fine to use
How's Minnie doing Ale?And when you have a chance, we’d love to see a picture of Maki![]()
Thanks for letting me know , I'm going to delete my post, thanks so much MelissaDiane, just a quick note -
We did let her know about the lower carb food, but the advice given on this thread was to not make food changes until the testing was more reliable (especially given the hypo), plus we knew she would be running out of strips soon.
Hi Diane! Minnie has been doing amazingly well. My little Amazon warrior princess has even had a few encounters with a neighbors outdoor cat who decided he likes our backyard and she’s chased him off. Thank you for thinking of her auntie Diane!How's Minnie doing Ale?
You don’t need the Lantus via. You can get the pen and use the syringe to draw from it just as you would with the vialI am hoping this will make sense.
The Vet started Maki on 2U prozinc bid. The vet put her immediately on wet and dry Glycobalance. All this time I was very unsure when to feed, how much or not, snacks. It was a great deal of change all at once. After ~9 days she had the hypo attack and we nearly lost her. The emergency vet after the second day said no more Prozinc. So Lantus 1U is what they prescribed. They sent us back to our regular vet for a glucose curve and future management. Glucose curve was last Monday and the vet increased her to 2U bid. Through all this I came in knowing next to nothing about diabetes, testing, insulin, the whole gig. SO I scrambled to read, watch videos, learn any way I could fast. The vet left us with the impression that this should be nothing. Not suggesting we test or check anything, just give 2U bid after meals.
So my decreasing from Lantus 2 to 1.5U came as I got more nervous that the return to the 2U bid might send her hypo again. Meanwhile, I had started testing using my old contour meter. Then ran out yesterday of strips after multiple failed tests. This morning, we ran out in the snow and Walmart only had a Relion meter and strips. The contour shelves were bare. So got a premier relion and strips and picked up ketone test strips. Will watch video about Ketones now and figure out testing (why, when, how). Wasn't looking to buy a new meter as I purposedly went looking for AlphaTrak since it required less blood and some of my testing failures seemed to be due to insufficient blood. So the supplies is an area I am trying to navigate on a budget.
Along with this, the tiny special vial of Lantus the emergency vet had us get is running low. So I just started pricing and trying to find Lantus. Called the 'local' pharmacies and they did not have any Lantus vials. So tried again today but Walmart pharmacy not open yet today (Sunday, snow, rural PA). So have enough left for probably 2 days. I am not changing types of insulin, just needed a new vial of the Lantus to keep going.
2/7 Maki's AMPS=268 with the new Relion Premier. She ate from her food ball on and off all night and I got up every hour to check on her. She wouldn't sleep with us or even come upstairs which is very unlike her. Did all my stress and failed testing scare her or create a negative association? How do I keep that from becoming an issue?
She has not eaten her wet food as of 1030. Not sure if that's due to eating kibble throughout night or she is just not hungry due to stress? So I have not given her insulin this morning yet. Needless to say I am now all confused on what I do.
Could you not get one on eBay?My little Amazon warrior princess
Wishing yourself and Maki the very best over in the Lantus group. (I have PTSD. That board is very 'busy' and I find it overwhelming so I rarely visit or post on it.)Ok. This is my last post here as I have noted the requests to move to the lantus area, start a new thread and tag a person. All things I will learn as I shift over to new thread.
Oh Ale I'm happy to hear Minnie is doing well. You go there Minnie, that's your backyardHi Diane! Minnie has been doing amazingly well. My little Amazon warrior princess has even had a few encounters with a neighbors outdoor cat who decided he likes our backyard and she’s chased him off. Thank you for thinking of her auntie Diane!![]()
Awwww thank you so much Mogs. I was just talking to my sister and saying that as long as she’s herself and has quality of life, I don’t mind getting up at 7am on weekends and holidays to test and give insulin and give her all the other daily meds she’s on. I promised when she was a kitten that I’d take care of her not just when it’s easy, but when it’s hard tooCould you not get one on eBay?
(I'll get me coat...)
On a serious note, Ale, I am absolutely delighted to hear that Minnie is doing so well!You're great a kitty mama, you've done wonders looking after your girl, and she's blessed to have you.
(((Ale and Minnie)))
Mogs
.
I will and you too!! You know me, I’d have posted a photo of I didn’t keep getting that annoying error messageOh Ale I'm happy to hear Minnie is doing well. You go there Minnie, that's your backyard. Nice to hear from you Ale and give Minnie a kiss for me .
Hope you have a good day![]()
Awwww! (((Ale and Minnie)))I promised when she was a kitten that I’d take care of her not just when it’s easy, but when it’s hard too
Glad to help a bit, Patricia.Thanks for getting us to this point.
As you gather more readings for Maki, you'll start getting a much better feel for her pattern of response to the Lantus. All going well, that should start to give you more peace of mind. You'll get lots of help on the Lantus board. Also, if ever you're worried about Maki's numbers being on the low side you'll be able to post for help. There is usually someone online in the Lantus group and they'll be able to support you and guide you on when to test and feed to keep Maki safe.Nighttime worries me so I keep getting up throughout the night.