New mum, Lantus costly, best way buy insulin, so much I don't know

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Maki (GA)

Member Since 2021
Hello,

Maki Kitty is our 11 year old spayed, and until now, very healthy and happy kitty! Then the diagnosis, emergency vet stay as her BG would not stay above 30, $2k later we are reeling trying to figure out how to get lantus for less than $300. She was on Prozinc and a week in had a major hypo episode that ended up with emergency vet. I feel like I need a pro diabetic cat parent to teach me the inside tips on how to manage all this (where to get insulin, insulin storage and use, what ifs, best food type, how to not feed her when she seems to be starving all day, etc.). Is there a Big sister, Little sister diabetic cat program. Anyone take me under you wing and teach me? I keep reading, watching videos, making phone calls. I have read my way through a lot of the threads here. Just soooo much and I learn better through talking or demonstration than just reading websites. Ok, thanks for listening. Y'all seem like a great group who are really on it for helping your cats.
Meow
Patricia
 
How much ProZinc were you giving? Are you testing the bg before each shot? If not that would be the next step. ProZinc is a great insulin but you need to test to make sure the bg is high enough.... Same with any insulin. My cat has been in it for several years.

Many who use lantus get it from Marks Marine pharmacy in Canada or use a rx code locally. ProZinc is a good price on chewy.com ($102).

All insulin should be stored in the refrigerator and by doing that it can last a good 4-5 months.

best food type, how to not feed her when she seems to be starving all day
Most here feed fancy feast classic or Friskies pate foods. I feed weruva foods. You want foods under 10 percent carb. Most of us feed several times a day. I feed morning, afternoon, dinnertime and before bed. Just no food 2 hours prior to the preshot test. No reason to let your cat be hungry. Here's a link to a food chart. https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
Is there a Big sister, Little sister diabetic cat program. Anyone take me under you wing and teach me?
Ha ha nothing so formal as that, but there are lots of helpful folks here to help anytime. :)


I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Hi Patricia,

I'm really sorry that yourself and Maki Kitty have had such a scary start to her treatment. :bighug:

Is there a Big sister, Little sister diabetic cat program.
You've just found yourself an entire worldwide family of diabetic cat caregivers! :)

As you've already discovered, there is an extraordinary wealth of information here at FDMB. It can all be quite overwhelming in the early days but it does get better and easier - and sooner than you might think right now.

You can post any time with specific questions you have or requests for help on any aspect of managing a diabetic cat: feeding, insulin response, testing, peeing, pooping, the works! :) It's helpful to start a new thread each time you have a new question or request.

There are many very experienced Prozinc and Lantus users here who can help you learn the ropes and also give input specific to your situation and your kitty's needs. To help us do this, we ask you to set up a spreadsheet for your kitty to record BG readings and insulin dosing details so that experienced members responding to your posts will have the information they need in order to make safe and effective suggestions tailored to your circumstances and your kitty's response to treatment. Here's a guide to getting started:

How you can help us to help you

Now, on to some of your specific areas of enquiry on this thread.

we are reeling trying to figure out how to get lantus for less than $300.
Many members here get a prescription from their vets and order Lantus from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada for a lot less. Here's a link to the latest info on pricing and how to order:

Buying insulin from Canada

Most members buy the box of 5 Lantus pens at a cost of $159.99 plus $25 for shipping (prices correct as at June 2020). Members use 0.3ml U100 syringes with half-unit markings to draw up the insulin doses from the cartridge inside the pen. The box of 5 is enough to last most kitties 12 months (some for even longer if they need very small doses).

insulin storage and use
There are lots of very helpful 'sticky' info posts at the top of the Lantus/Basaglar and Levemir support group's board which will help you learn more about how Lantus works and how to use it. The post you specifically need here is the following:

Insulin care and proper handling, syringe info, drawing up doses, etc.

best food type
The recommended diet for a diabetic cat is a wet food that has less than 10% of its calories coming from carbs. Here is a link to a list of commercial cat foods:

Dr. Lisa Pierson's Cat Food List

Low carb food is used for general feeding. Many members here feed Fancy Feast classic patés but anything on the food list under 10% kcals from carbs is suitable.

We also recommend that you create a 'hypo toolkit' with some cans of higher carb foods around the 15% mark and also in the 20-30% range (e.g. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, Temptations treats) and honey/karo. These are used to raise BG levels in cats that are running low. More info here:

Hypo toolkit

How to treat hypos (recommended to print out a copy of this and store it with your hypo kit supplies).

how to not feed her when she seems to be starving all day
When a cat is not yet regulated, its body doesn't utilise nutrients properly and that drives the incessant hunger, and they may need extra food until their BG moves into a better range (especially if they need to regain weight).

I'm assuming that you've already started Lantus here. Many members give a main feed just before administering the Lantus dose and then give some smaller meals between shot time and about +6 hours after the dose was administered. Timed feeders like the Petsafe 5 are very helpful and can be used to dispense wet food meals during the night, when the caregiver is at work, etc. The only time food should be withheld is in the two hours prior to the preshot blood test so it won't be food-influenced (unless in the situation where a cat is running low and needs food to raise it's BG level).

VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTE:

If Maki Kitty is currently on a higher carb diet it is vital for safety that you are home testing before you make any change to a lower carb food. The reason for this is that the reduction in carb load may result in a big drop in overall BG range and the insulin dose may need to be reduced. I very much recommend reading the following page which covers how to safely transition a cat on insulin to a lower carb diet:

catinfo.org - Feline Diabetes page

As I said above, ask away with any questions you have. We recommend initially posting on the main Feline Health board till you get the basics down. Thereafter you could post on the support group board for Lantus users.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Now, I wish the vet had told me even half of what y'all did in your quick responses. Would have saved Maki Kitty from the horrifying seizures a week ago, I believe.

So the emergent vet said she was reacting to the Prozinc, but based on what you wrote about the potential food change, I believe that's why she plummeted into 20-40s for BG. They gave us glycobalance wet and dry food and we switched her instantly. So the 2 units of Prozinc with the food change sent her hypo?

This site actually may have saved her life that night.

I had read here to have honey on hand and rub it on her gums. So did that as soon as we found her twitching and then the racing drive to the vet.

Thank you for the food info. I had read that section and the dosing, syringes, testing sections over past two weeks. I think we'll put her back in FF pate if that's an approved one. She ate that before and loved it. Not so thrilled with the glyco.

So are you saying I can feed her at like 7 am, give her insulin (lantus) and then still feed her during day before 7 pm feeding? She lost a lot of weight and needs some back plus she is just acting starved even eating a can and a half a day. Can she eat dry food during the afternoon?

I have not started testing yet. Vet said they'd teach me, but haven't yet. Going to watch the video and test at home myself.
 
Now, I wish the vet had told me even half of what y'all did in your quick responses. Would have saved Maki Kitty from the horrifying seizures a week ago, I believe.

So the emergent vet said she was reacting to the Prozinc, but based on what you wrote about the potential food change, I believe that's why she plummeted into 20-40s for BG. They gave us glycobalance wet and dry food and we switched her instantly. So the 2 units of Prozinc with the food change sent her hypo?

This site actually may have saved her life that night.

I had read here to have honey on hand and rub it on her gums. So did that as soon as we found her twitching and then the racing drive to the vet.

Thank you for the food info. I had read that section and the dosing, syringes, testing sections over past two weeks. I think we'll put her back in FF pate if that's an approved one. She ate that before and loved it. Not so thrilled with the glyco.

So are you saying I can feed her at like 7 am, give her insulin (lantus) and then still feed her during day before 7 pm feeding? She lost a lot of weight and needs some back plus she is just acting starved even eating a can and a half a day. Can she eat dry food during the afternoon?

I have not started testing yet. Vet said they'd teach me, but haven't yet. Going to watch the video and test at home myself.
Welcome!

Believe me, you're not the first with those sentiments!

So it wasn't a reaction to the ProZinc itself...it was a reaction to too high of a dose. Which yes, then caused the hypo. And you absolutely did the right thing with the honey and such, very well could have saved her life! As an FYI for the future, cats are usually very sensitive to insulin after a symptomatic hypo, so ideally the vet should have had you drop the dose for a few days while testing for ketones

I would not make any food changes until you have some testing data...you don't want to drop carbs and have too high of a dose, and end up with another hypo.

As for the feeding, she can eat however she much except in the 2 hr time frame before each shot. We want the AM and PM BG tests to not be influenced by food, at least right now. No dry food because it's too high of carbs, I'd continue to feed her as much of her current wet food as she'll eat. Someone above linked a post about the timing of meals and the automatic feeders. After you get some test data in, we can look at safely transitioning to a low carb wet food (also linked in a post above).

What is your current dose of Lantus? Can you get a test in before her shot tonight?
 
Maki is now on 2 units lantus am & pm. She was on one unit for a week past the crisis. She was there all day Monday for a glucose curve and they increased her to two units. So this is day 4 of 2 units twice daily.

Ok. I will not change food. Thanks for making the clear. I appreciate all the direction I can get. Just want to give her a happy life again.

I will do my first test around 6 pm before feeding her at 7 pm and Lantus right after. If that's not right, just spell it out for me.
 
Maki is now on 2 units lantus am & pm. She was on one unit for a week past the crisis. She was there all day Monday for a glucose curve and they increased her to two units. So this is day 4 of 2 units twice daily.

Ok. I will not change food. Thanks for making the clear. I appreciate all the direction I can get. Just want to give her a happy life again.

I will do my first test around 6 pm before feeding her at 7 pm and Lantus right after. If that's not right, just spell it out for me.

Don't worry, you'll get there. We all feel the same way, just want them to feel better.

Do you by chance have the results of the curve you could share?

With Lantus you can test right before you feed. So if shot time is 7pm, your schedule would be this:
- 5pm remove food
- 6:50p start test (I'm giving wiggle room because it might take you a few tries to get the hang of it and get a reading).
-7p feed and shoot, can be at the same time
- 9/10p a "before bed test" just to see how she's reacting to the shot

The 2U of insulin makes me a bit cautious given the past hypo, and that the curve was done at the vet where values are usually a bit higher from stress. @Critter Mom do you know who might be around tonight to advise on dose? Or can you advise on dose? I'm not yet familiar with everyone on the Lantus forum.

@Patricia A Gray in the meantime, please be sure to read through all of the linked stuff above. Most importantly getting your spreadsheet and signature set up, putting together a hypo tool box, and then ordering ketone testing supplies if you don't already have them.
 
Hi Melissa.

Critter Mom do you know who might be around tonight to advise on dose? Or can you advise on dose? I'm not yet familiar with everyone on the Lantus forum.
I'd suggest tagging: 'tiffmaxee' (Elise); 'Christie and Maverick'; the moderators. FYI, if ever you're looking for someone to help when America's asleep, Bron is in Australia and she has very good Lantus experience ('Bron and Sheba (GA)'). If ever you're stuck, post on the Lantus board to let experienced members know that someone on FH quickly needs dosing advice and include a link to the thread on FH. Also, Bhooma is in India ('Bandit's Mom'). She also has good Lantus experience (although I'm not sure how much she does WRT dosing input).

I'm in the UK so won't be around, but I'm loath to say much on dosing in the absence of data (unless it's where I consider a cat to be potentially in imminent danger and a dose reduction/skip is indicated).


Mogs
.
 
So the 2 units of Prozinc with the food change sent her hypo?
Yes. The recommended starting dose is only 1 unit.... The food she was on was high carb... It would have been a good idea to test a few days after the food change to see if she even needed insulin. If it was still elevated, then start on just 1 unit.

So are you saying I can feed her at like 7 am, give her insulin (lantus) and then still feed her during day before 7 pm feeding? She lost a lot of weight and needs some back plus she is just acting starved even eating a can and a half a day. Can she eat dry food during the afternoon?
Yes. I feed four times a day. Just no food 2 hours prior to the preshot test so the number is not food influenced. I would avoid the dry if you can. Giving a few as a treat for testing is ok, but I wouldn't make a meal of it.

You aren't alone, we are here to help
 
-7p feed and shoot, can be at the same time
Just a little safety addendum to the above:

If the preshot BG reading is under 200, DO NOT FEED OR GIVE INSULIN. Instead, post a new thread with the following title 'MM/DD Maki Kitty - PMPS under 200 - Stalling: Need Help ASAP With Lantus Dosing"

Test again in 20-30 minutes to see whether Maki's blood glucose (BG) has risen over 200. Hopefully by that time you'll have had members reply to your request for help.

Question: Has Maki ever tested positive for ketones?


Mogs
.
 
Ok going to follow your test, feed, inject schedule. I was a bit worried at 2 units also given the PZI fiasco.

I just watched the ketone testing video, general testing, and insulin administration. Will order ketone strips and get my spreadsheet setup tonight/ tomorrow. Will request glucose curve from vets office Monday.

Thank you for holding my hand. When she stiffened up and yelled on the car ride to the vets my heart broke. Then she went limp as I raced her up the ramp at the vets office. Still having recurrent nightmares of that.

Truly grateful for y'all taking us in and teaching!
 
I have not started testing yet. Vet said they'd teach me, but haven't yet. Going to watch the video and test at home myself.
Lots of help with testing:

Home testing links and tips

Testing and injection tips

One of the best tips - especially in the early days - is to warm the ear much more and much longer than you think might be needed (helps to increase the blood supply to the ear). The following diagram shows you the optimum place to do the poke (the 'sweet spot'):

QhIbBpEQ4xLGQYkG6XRvsLf-cVQ230_bP_1EfAqwcYelvOP3hv0vo5b3Ayp8JTlrq_Q53QGrt3QwEmO_O7MNxrjyVWIZGz_PlAETI6HDIMhbglBvGKBHNpZiJ8UWdmdea2DhfNxf




Mogs
.
 
Hi Melissa.


I'd suggest tagging: 'tiffmaxee' (Elise); 'Christie and Maverick'; the moderators. FYI, if ever you're looking for someone to help when America's asleep, Bron is in Australia and she has very good Lantus experience ('Bron and Sheba (GA)'). If ever you're stuck, post on the Lantus board to let experienced members know that someone on FH quickly needs dosing advice and include a link to the thread on FH. Also, Bhooma is in India ('Bandit's Mom'). She also has good Lantus experience (although I'm not sure how much she does WRT dosing input).

I'm in the UK so won't be around, but I'm loath to say much on dosing in the absence of data (unless it's where I consider a cat to be potentially in imminent danger and a dose reduction/skip is indicated).


Mogs
.

Thanks! That's kind of where I'm at right now...I'm far too new to Lantus to say.

@tiffmaxee @Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Bron and Sheba (GA)

Question here on dosing - Maki Kitty was started on 2U ProZinc, and had a symptomatic emergent hypo a few days in. After the hypo, it was reduced to 1U for a week. After a curve at the vet on Monday, they increased him back up and switched to 2U Lantus, and he's been at that dose since. Patricia will try her first test tonight. Can someone advise on dose? Perhaps it's ok to stick with 2U if above 200, I just wanted to raise the question.
 
on the car ride to the vets my heart broke
I am so sorry that the two of you went through that, but in the circumstances you did everything right, Patricia. If you had been online here that night and Maki was showing those clinical signs we would have advised you to get to the ER as fast as possible, and that's exactly what you did. You saved your dear girl's life. You did good.

(((Patricia and Maki Kitty)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Question here on dosing - Maki Kitty was started on 2U ProZinc, and had a symptomatic emergent hypo a few days in. After the hypo, it was reduced to 1U for a week. After a curve at the vet on Monday, they increased him back up and switched to 2U Lantus, and he's been at that dose since. Patricia will try her first test tonight. Can someone advise on dose? Perhaps it's ok to stick with 2U if above 200, I just wanted to raise the question.
When a cat was on a previous insulin, we take that dose into consideration when suggesting a starting Lantus dose. You do not "start over". Having said that, once we've got some spreadsheet data with tests, we'll be able to make some concrete dose suggestions. In general, we do not determine the dose based on the preshot value, but rather the nadir, or how low the dose takes the cat. Which is why we recommend getting some tests between the shots.
 
When a cat was on a previous insulin, we take that dose into consideration when suggesting a starting Lantus dose. You do not "start over". Having said that, once we've got some spreadsheet data with tests, we'll be able to make some concrete dose suggestions. In general, we do not determine the dose based on the preshot value, but rather the nadir, or how low the dose takes the cat. Which is why we recommend getting some tests between the shots.
Thank you. So you'd advise keeping the 2U Lantus dose for tonight as long as pre shot is above 200?
 
Thank you for saying that. I thought I'd killed her by giving her too much insulin. May no other Kitty or any pet guardian go through that.

Maki is a funny story. I was a dog person all my life, but really am an animal person. I would have adopted every creature if I could. Maki is my first cat and she was a birthday present. You know they say don't get pets as presents. Well imagine my surprise when I got a cat and all the fixings. After my last dog I just couldn't bring myself to get another dog. A friend saw how much I had to give to a pet so she rescued Maki from a marina litter. All her litter mates had fallen in the ocean and drowned. She was clinging to life. Lo and behold 10 years ago she popped out of a birthday package and has stolen or hearts as the funniest (supersonic Kitty mode), sweetest (I am disabled and when really sick she stays with me close), smarty pants, and so much more.
 
No, I'm suggesting setting up a spreadsheet and getting more data.

I understand that, but all we'd have is a pre shot value for tonight since this is first day home testing. That's why I asked the question about dose for tonight...no data to go off, plus the hypo and changing dose over the past week. I wasn't sure what the best path would be (I..e holding the 2U, perhaps dropping to 1.75U etc) until there is more data.
 
Yippee. Got first test in. So helpful all the videos tips.

She was 217 just now. Now feeding her.

No, I did no home testing on the Prozinc. I just didn't even know that was a thing or needed. Vet never mentioned. This why I am now refusing to be ignorant and risk her health.

So first data point 2/5 @ 1915 BG=217 utilizing a contour test meter
 
As Wendy said it’s hard to figure out a dose without data. I would not shoot 2.0 given that prozinc caused a hypo on that dose. Congrats on getting your first test.
 
Ok. Will get another data point in 2 hours? What is standard for testing to get best spreadsheet?
I have 1.5U.
Will watch and stay with her now thru night. She can have a snack in 2 hours after her next test?
 
Ok. Will get another data point in 2 hours? What is standard for testing to get best spreadsheet?
I have 1.5U.
Will watch and stay with her now thru night. She can have a snack in 2 hours after her next test?
Good job!

She can eat whenever she wants now, just remove the food again 2 hours before her AM shot. The only "fasting" tests are AMPS and PMPS.

I would get a +2/3 test (so 2 or 3 hrs after the shot), and a +5/6 (5 or 6 hours after the shot). If the +2/3 is lower than 150 ish I'd keep a closer eye on her.

Over the next few days I would continue to do the +2/3 and +5/6 each day, and "fill in the blanks" as you can. So here and there get a +1, or a +7, +10, etc.
 
Team Maki,
I can't say enough how your hand holding and step-by-step instructions are helping me. I just couldn't retain all I was reading.

Ok. She's good right now. Seems happy and active. I am getting the idea on all the acronyms here, the data needed.

Thank you from the bottom of our so-happy-to-be-hers hearts.
 
It will take a week for the depot to build. Feel free to post on the LLB forum if you need help and nobody is around here. Are you feeding her both the wet and dry foods? Any medications? When you get a chance to start a signature you can put all this info there so you won’t get asked the same questions over and over. I see you are using the Contour human meter so that will go there too.
 
  • when you get a chance ,It would be helpful if you can set up your signature so we don't have to ask you the same questions over again. Members will look at this first . Members would have to look up your previous posts to see what insulin you are using
  • It appears after each post in gray, look at mine,



  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save ,
Welcome to the best place you could ever be and an awesome group of people
You can also add where you live in your profile, not your signature

This is at the bottom of every ones post in gray
 
Morning,
Not successful with last evening late and this mornings testing. Maki ran and hid. From what I read and watched I shouldn't chase her so she doesn't feel cornered or associate testing with bad things happening. So I let it go? Was that the right thing to do? The other factor is when my partner hold her on a counter for me, I do a better job. Tried alone between my knees and it was all wrong.

So fed her now and will test in 2+ and 5+. If that's the right lingo. I was so intimidated at first on the site with all the acronyms, numbers, it looked like secret code for a military operation. Now I know it's Kitty code for meet my Kitty and their history in one snapshot.

So she ate
 
Morning,
Not successful with last evening late and this mornings testing. Maki ran and hid. From what I read and watched I shouldn't chase her so she doesn't feel cornered or associate testing with bad things happening. So I let it go? Was that the right thing to do? The other factor is when my partner hold her on a counter for me, I do a better job. Tried alone between my knees and it was all wrong.

So fed her now and will test in 2+ and 5+. If that's the right lingo. I was so intimidated at first on the site with all the acronyms, numbers, it looked like secret code for a military operation. Now I know it's Kitty code for meet my Kitty and their history in one snapshot.

So she ate

I was very intimidated too! All those numbers, signs.. then I found the dictionary :D
Don't you worry, we've all been new to this, felt stupid and not understanding what's going on, or even been able to read what the heck someone is writing :woot:
I'm also challenged by not having English as a first language. But you'll get the hang of it before you know it!:bighug:

And it's actually very handy once you understand everything, it means quick response and we can easily see what's happening and what you need of help, once your spreadsheet is up. My spreadsheet is really like my new best friend :D

And welcome!:bighug:
I really hope your journey from now on is without any trouble!
 
I am keeping this thread going because I can read back a click on the links yet again. Trying to drill this into my head.

So tested just now 0950, partner held Maki and it went smoothly.

159 BG after feeding at 0730 and 2U lantus.
 
Hi Patricia,

Not successful with last evening late and this mornings testing. Maki ran and hid. From what I read and watched I shouldn't chase her so she doesn't feel cornered or associate testing with bad things happening. So I let it go? Was that the right thing to do?
Yep. Spot on. :)

Here's a great vid on behavioural training. Its focus is on giving injections, but the techniques are equally applicable to home testing:




As you correctly observe, the idea is to associate a designated testing station with nice things happening, so that the actual poke becomes coincidental in the kitty's mind.

Another thing to keep a handle on is one's own anxiety about testing because our little ones are so good at picking up on our own emotional states. This tendency can actually be turned to human advantage because if we can make a good fist of pretending that all is cool and wonderful with the world and testing is just how it is, no biggie, it may help to reassure and calm the cat. Try singing something silly or cheerful, or talking in a sing-songy voice. (Serious suggestion - it can help relax both cat and human.)


Mogs
.
 
Good job catching that 134, Patricia.

While it's not possible to say for certain - especially for kitties that are just starting to be monitored at home - as a general guide, the lowest BG level (nadir) in a 12-hour cycle for a Lantus cat is more likely to occur in the period between +4 and +6 hours after the dose was administered but there's no guarantee of that: it may occur earlier or later, and there can be variability from day to day, from cycle to cycle. As you gather more data for Maki, it will help you get a better feel for her particular style of response.

For today, that 134 is in a good safe range for +5 hours into the cycle. (Note: If BG drops to 50 or below on a human meter that's when you need to start giving high carb food, maybe syrup/honey too, to bring numbers up into a safe range and keep them there. Remember you can always post for help here - use the 911 thread title prefix - if you need urgent assistance.)

I'd suggest getting another test at +6. If Maki's BG hasn't started coming up at that stage, test again at +7. Post for help at any time if you're worried about her BG level or how she's acting.

Is she due a feed at all?


Mogs
.
 
Those are some pretty nice numbers!

And the spreadsheet is correct that you gave 2U this morning?
 
All numbers today are accurate for BG and dose.

9+ is 330. I obviously missed the low, i guess?
Now she had fish flakes as a snack and we PMPS at 1910 this evening. I will run out of test strips in the next day or two.
Not a big deal. Just want to decide on a meter that works best for us. I had the contours from my own BG testing 2+ years ago.
SO thinking ahead on next strips.
 
Most of us here use Walmart’s Relion which has the most affordable test strips (100 for about $17) and as you can see, that’s where most of the money goes since you go through them pretty fast.

did anyone mention about positive association and always giving a treat immediately after testing so she knows she’ll get a reward?
 
Yes on the positive association for testing and insulin. Hence, at 1620 when I did get BG (330) I gave her fish flakes after... Immediately. She loves those things and I think they work cause they are basically protein.

I am still reading about carbs and food s. Don't quite get it yet so trying to figure out if her greenies are too high carb treats?

This had been a crash course so sure I am doing things wrong still.
 
Yes on the positive association for testing and insulin. Hence, at 1620 when I did get BG (330) I gave her fish flakes after... Immediately. She loves those things and I think they work cause they are basically protein.

I am still reading about carbs and food s. Don't quite get it yet so trying to figure out if her greenies are too high carb treats?

This had been a crash course so sure I am doing things wrong still.
Greenies are very high in carbs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top