Christie & Maverick
Member Since 2017
Catia, can you please get another test? You want him comfortably above 50, and when you intervene with syrup, numbers wobble around a little, as the syrup wears off quickly.
yes i will do one right now and put it on the spreadsheetCatia, can you please get another test? You want him comfortably above 50, and when you intervene with syrup, numbers wobble around a little, as the syrup wears off quickly.
That's the key is make sure he's not too low before shooting. You may need to skip tonight. They can be very insulin sensitive after a major hypo event.This is very helpful thank you so much. i will see what his numbers are later tonight before he eats and i will give him 2 units if its not too low
What about tomorrow morning? What level should he be at that you would recommend giving him insulin?I’m just awake and catching up.
I agree with Janet.
I would skip the dose tonight.
i got his kevels to work earlier. i am going to check now again and i would probably need your advice to see if i should give him any insulin or not todayOkay, I might be worrying for nothing, but if you can give him either some more syrup, or a little HC food just to be on the safe side. When Maverick gets to low numbers, I often have a hard time getting a proper blood drop, so I'm just a bit worried that Poopers is still hanging in lower numbers.
i just checked and hes at 9.4mmol/L (169.2mg/dl)If you reread post 57 @JanetNJ, who uses caninsulin, said not to shoot if the BG is under 200 (11). We suggest this, at least until you have more data on how Poopers reacts to the dose of insulin given.
I would skip the dose as @JanetNJ recommended as he is under 200. It won’t hurt him to miss one doseHey just updated my spreadsheet. Poopers is at 9.4mmol/L (169.2mg/dl). Do you think we should give any insulin at all? If so how many units would you recommend?
For tomorrow morning, would you recommend we skip as well if its under 200 or just give him 2 units as well?I would skip the dose as @JanetNJ recommended as he is under 200. It won’t hurt him to miss one dose
Let’s see how he goes this cycle with no insulin. If you could get a couple of tests in during the cycle that would be very helpful.For tomorrow morning, would you recommend we skip as well if its under 200 or just give him 2 units as well?
For tomorrow morning, would you recommend we skip as well if its under 200 or just give him 2 units as well?I agree, I would skip.
OK that sounds great! Thank you for your help. I will update you in the morningLet’s see how he goes this cycle with no insulin. If you could get a couple of tests in during the cycle that would be very helpful.
Then I would get a +11 so we can see what the BGs is for the morning coming up to AMPS and post and ask for help. How does that sound?
Keep feeding him the snacks and meals as normal.
We usually feed him at 8AM so we would check his levels around 7:40AM to see what its at. So if he is close to 200 i should just test him again after 20 minutes and then feed him afterwards? A little bit confused, just trying to understand itJust to add...don’t feed him for the 2hours before the AMPS in the morning so the BG isn’t food influenced.
If he is close to 200 at AMPS you might be advised to stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Does that make sense?
Yes you can check him at 7.40am and then stall, don’t feed and see if he has come up to 200 by 8 am. I would post and ask advice. You may need to stall a bit longer so don’t feed until you can talk to someone. When a decision is made you can feed him. Hopefully once you get him on Lantus everything will settle down.We usually feed him at 8AM so we would check his levels around 7:40AM to see what its at. So if he is close to 200 i should just test him again after 20 minutes and then feed him afterwards? A little bit confused, just trying to understand it
Ok i will definitely do that. Thank you for your help. Would you recommend i post it here or make a new thread about it?Yes you can check him at 7.40am and then stall, don’t feed and see if he has come up to 200 by 8 am. I would post and ask advice. You may need to stall a bit longer so don’t feed until you can talk to someone. When a decision is made you can feed him. Hopefully once you get him on Lantus everything will settle down.
Probably good to start a new thread as this is getting long. Link this thread to the new thread for continuity please. Then we can go back and check things if needed.Ok i will definitely do that. Thank you for your help. Would you recommend i post it here or make a new thread about it?