New member- the amazing mama Ember

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
My foster kitty Ember is a sweet and loving mama kitty. In June, someone dumped her and her three 5-week old kittens at our feral colony and she carried them down a storm drain to save them from the coyotes. I was able to fish them all out using towels and a net and then discovered they all had horrible ringworm. So I've been fostering them since then, got them through the ringworm ordeal, and two of the kittens were adopted (yay!) so I just have Ember and her son Spark. I noticed that Ember was drinking lots of water so I took her to the vet last week and here we are. Her fructosamine was 543. He started her on 1unit of vetsulin and her numbers haven't been great (lots of 400s). Plus they don't seem to follow a pattern that makes sense! She's had two AMPS days now under 200 and that seems to me like the time that would be the highest. It's scary and I just want it all to make sense so I can stop worrying that she's going to keel over at any second. I just started testing a few days ago so I don't really have enough data to see any patterns yet (I was hoping my testing skills would improve quickly so her ears aren't completely filled with holes) but I hope to do a curve soon to try to get a better handle on things. I now know that vetsulin isn't good and I should try to get the vet to prescribe one of the longer-acting insulins, so I'm hoping to ask about that at my next appointment.
I must say that testing and shooting with a kitten "helping" has definitely added to the challenge. Spark jumped up and jammed the insulin needle into the back of my finger the other day (luckily my finger wasn't on the plunger) and when I'm testing he grabs the meter by the strip and drags it off and bats around the lancet pen. I've had to start putting him in a carrier when I'm working with his mom so he doesn't mess everything up. It's stressful enough without the added complication. I'll probably look back someday and think it's cute but right now I just want to cry. Hopefully he'll get adopted soon. I thought Ember would be an easy adoption too since she's so sweet and beautiful but now I doubt her chances of adoption are very good.
Ember&Spark.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Ember.jpg
    Ember.jpg
    128.8 KB · Views: 49
Welcome to FDMB, I couldn't help but laugh a bit at the challenge you are having with your other kitty trying to test the other, it will get better, and yes, it is a great idea to switch insulin, Vetsulin is harsh on the cat, the best insulins for a cat are Lantus and ProZinc they ae a 12 hour insulin and softer on the cat, you seem you have knowledge on feline diabetes you are testing that's a great start, also not to prick yourself, find a small sock put some rice in it to make a small ball, tie it, cut the left over sock, you use this to cup the ear, also as you test the capillaries will swell and it will be much easier, to get a pattern you should test before each shot and several time during the day, your babies are adorable, you are a good Mommie, please continue to post any concerns you may have, also it is important for a diabetic cat is the carb intake, diabetic cats need to have a wet can diet or raw between 0-10% carbs, most members give up to 5% and use Fancy Feast pates, if you are feeding kibbles please realize that the contain between 20-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs so the pancreas damage and more complications may occur, I free fed Corky since 8 weeks old on MeauMix,, he is now 12; 3 years ago he was diagnosed, I have another cat, so I changed them both on the same schedule, if you are feeding kibbles, please do not change foods without transitioning slowly, since it can upset their stomach as well as the BG. Let us know if you would like us to send you a Food list and if you would like us to assist your concerns and dosing. We can send you links to get you started, in the meantime on the Main menu mare sticky notes with valuable information, also if you are doing a curve, you do not need a vet for that and stress him, you can do that yourself, is just testing for 1 cycle (12 hours,) every two hours and save yourself the $$
 
Those first days/weeks/months are so stressful. I'm glad you found this page so you have folks to commiserate with. I don't think I've ever cried as much as I did the first couple months.

What a wild life poor Ember has had so far! Did the vet give you any idea how old she might be? She's beautiful

By the way -- stellar job setting up your signature, spreadsheet, getting her on the right food, learning to test, etc. I can tell you're really doing your reading!
 
Welcome Elaine and Ember. Your sweet kitties are adorable. Ember is a true heroine mama cat 😻
What a story of how she saved her babies ❤️‍🩹

You’re doing great and as Lauren noted, great job setting up your signature.
It helps us to help you much easier.
Hopefully if you can get her on Lantus (or Prozinc), better insulins for cats, she will do even better.

We look forward to helping you both.
Give those kitties some extra kisses from all of us 😻🥰🐈‍⬛🐈
 
Welcome to the FDMB, Elaine and hero-mama Ember!

I'm going to take a second to jump on the "switch/ditch Vetsulin" bandwagon, and to provide you with some research, in case you need it to support your rationale for switching. As has been mentioned earlier, Vetsulin is typically an insulin given to dogs. According to the Journal of American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA), Glargine (Lantus) or Prozinc are the preferred insulin choices for cats. In the link to the journal, you'll see these guidelines about insulin specifically mentioned under "Treatment for Cats."

I had Jude on Vetsulin at the beginning of his diagnosis (because the vet didn't have any Lantus in his clinic at the time), but we switched him quickly to Lantus and began to see good results.

Good luck with Ember's treatment!
 
Last edited:
Those first days/weeks/months are so stressful. I'm glad you found this page so you have folks to commiserate with. I don't think I've ever cried as much as I did the first couple months.

What a wild life poor Ember has had so far! Did the vet give you any idea how old she might be? She's beautiful

By the way -- stellar job setting up your signature, spreadsheet, getting her on the right food, learning to test, etc. I can tell you're really doing your reading!
Thank you! I'm trying to read as much as I can but I'm so afraid that something will happen before I know what to do about it! It's very overwhelming. When Ember was spayed the vet thought she was around 2, but the vet that diagnosed her with diabetes last week said she might be 6 since it's unusual for 2-year old cats to get diabetes. So I'll just call her a young adult, I guess.
 
Welcome to the FDMB, Elaine and hero-mama Ember!

I'm going to take a second to jump on the "switch/ditch Vetsulin" bandwagon, and to provide you with some research, in case you need it to support your rationale for switching. As has been mentioned earlier, Vetsulin is typically an insulin given to dogs. According to the Journal of American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA), Glargine (Lantus) or Prozinc are the preferred insulin choices for cats. In the link to the journal, you'll see these guidelines about insulin specifically mentioned under "Treatment for Cats."

I had Jude on Vetsulin at the beginning of his diagnosis (because the vet didn't have any Lantus in his clinic at the time), but we switched him quickly to Lantus and began to see good results.

Good luck with Ember's treatment!
Thanks for sharing that AAHA link! The vet actually told me to check out the AAHA page when I asked for more information at my appointment, so hopefully when I ask to switch he'll be supportive. Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices? I suppose it depends on which one works best with each individual cat, but in general is one preferred?
 
Thanks for sharing that AAHA link! The vet actually told me to check out the AAHA page when I asked for more information at my appointment, so hopefully when I ask to switch he'll be supportive. Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices? I suppose it depends on which one works best with each individual cat, but in general is one preferred?
Only Pros as for me Corky’s has been on ProZinc since diagnosed January 2023, just check out his SS. He is doing amazing, it’s so easy on the cats system as well as Lantus they are both just as great, I am not too familiar with the protocol for Lantus, with ProZinc is simple test, feed, shoot, I shoot Corky while he’s eating, feeding 4 meals during the day, I’m an obsessive tester. But testing at least 3 times during the day and AMPS/PMPS is good and of course both insulina are a 12 hour insulin
 
And your vet should not object to switching insulin, you might want to ask or make sure he is familiar with Feline Diabetic especially because of the insulin he prescribed, a lot of vets are not familiar with FD and do not update themselves about it much, so they treat FD as it were a dog, and there is a big difference, besides, you know your cat better than your vet, do not feel intimidated on asking and requesting what’s best for him!
 
Are there any pros/cons to Lantus vs Prozinc or are they equally good choices?

In many cases it depends on your lifestyle, personal preference, and the cat.

I suggest you wander on over to the Prozinc forum and the Lantus forum and read the “Stickies” (yellow starred posts) to help dip your toes into the details (just don’t get overwhelmed, there’s a lot of info there!).

Some key differences between Lantus and Prozinc:

- Lantus is a depot-type insulin whereas Prozinc is more of an in-and-out insulin. What that means is that Lantus builds up in the system and the impact of each injection can carry over into the following 12-hour cycle(s). Prozinc, on the other hand, is primarily out of the system after each 12 hour cycle with no (or minimal) carryover into the next cycle.

- Lantus does best with a pretty strict 12/12 hour shot schedule, whereas Prozinc can be a bit more forgiving.

Lantus tends to be more strict on shot timing because of its depot/carryover nature. Therefore, those who have unusual work schedules and can’t strictly shoot a 12/12 hour schedule sometimes go with Prozinc.

- The concentrations (“strengths”) are different — Lantus is a U-100 insulin (100 units/ml) whereas Prozinc is U-40 (40 units/ml). When comparing prices, keep in mind, for example, that a 10ml vial of Lantus contains 1000 units of insulin whereas a 10ml vial of Prozinc contains 400 units. Also, you’ll either need to use u-40 syringes with Prozinc or use u-100 syringes with a conversion chart.

- Lantus is a human insulin so typically sold by human pharmacies (not often carried by vet clinics, at least where I live) whereas Prozinc is a pet insulin so typically sold by vet clinics/online (and not as often available in human pharmacies).

Both are good insulins. As for this message board, the Lantus forum is busier and probably has more active users daily. But you will find support here regardless of which insulin you choose.
 
Welcome to FDMB!!

Your description of Spark "helping" made me giggle!! One thought.... maybe testing Ember in the bathroom and shutting the door so Spark isn't able to be helpful might be a consideration.

You've gotten some good information, especially about the basics comparing Lantus to Prozinc. I was a Lantus user and despite it being quite expensive at the time Gabby was diagnosed (it was still relatively new and it wasn't available as a generic/biosimilar), I found a great deal of support here and the dosing methods were well-researched and published in a leading veterinary journal. The costs are now far more reasonable since it has been around long enough to be available as a generic/biosimilar (i.e., glargine). Chances are that your vet prescribed Vetsulin because you're fostering and it's a less expensive insulin.

Looking at Ember's spreadsheet, I suspect that what you're seeing is what we refer to as a "bounce." Ember drops into lower numbers that her body isn't used to. As a result, her liver and pancreas overreact and release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes her blood glucose numbers to spike upward. It's annoying but not dangerous.

I'd suggest getting some tests between shot times. Vetsulin can cause numbers to drop hard and fast. Given that. you've seen some lower numbers at shot time, I'd want to be sure that Ember is in safe numbers.. We recommend getting a minimum of 4 tests daily -- your two pre-shot tests and at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. It's important to know how low the dose of insulin is dropping Ember's numbers.

Just to correct some information... A cat's ears do not have a great number of blood vessels (i.e., capillaries). This is functional since if cats are fighting or in an environment where they can get their ears injured, they will bleed. However, when you continue to test, the capillaries respond by increasing -- you're building up the capillary bed. Once the capillaries build up, it's easier to get a drop of blood. We recommend a low carb diet -- less than 10% carbs -- although most members feed their cats a diet that's in the neighborhood of 5% carb. There are a very small number of dry foods that are low in carbs. However, cats have a limited thirst drive and in the wild, consume much of the moisture in their diet from live prey. This is why a canned or raw food diet is preferred along with a greater number of low carb canned foods than dry. Having more liquid in their diet is also good for kidney health. Carbohydrates do not damage the pancreas -- if they did, pretty much every human would have problems with their pancreas. The pancreas regulates carbohydrate metabolism by releasing insulin and glucagon. Cats are adapted to a high protein diet and have lower levels of digestive enzymes. They are able to digest carbohydrates but not large amounts. The lower levels of pancreatic enzymes do make cats prone to diabetes, pancreatitis, and some other conditions.
 
In many cases it depends on your lifestyle, personal preference, and the cat.

I suggest you wander on over to the Prozinc forum and the Lantus forum and read the “Stickies” (yellow starred posts) to help dip your toes into the details (just don’t get overwhelmed, there’s a lot of info there!).

Some key differences between Lantus and Prozinc:

- Lantus is a depot-type insulin whereas Prozinc is more of an in-and-out insulin. What that means is that Lantus builds up in the system and the impact of each injection can carry over into the following 12-hour cycle(s). Prozinc, on the other hand, is primarily out of the system after each 12 hour cycle with no (or minimal) carryover into the next cycle.

- Lantus does best with a pretty strict 12/12 hour shot schedule, whereas Prozinc can be a bit more forgiving.

Lantus tends to be more strict on shot timing because of its depot/carryover nature. Therefore, those who have unusual work schedules and can’t strictly shoot a 12/12 hour schedule sometimes go with Prozinc.

- The concentrations (“strengths”) are different — Lantus is a U-100 insulin (100 units/ml) whereas Prozinc is U-40 (40 units/ml). When comparing prices, keep in mind, for example, that a 10ml vial of Lantus contains 1000 units of insulin whereas a 10ml vial of Prozinc contains 400 units. Also, you’ll either need to use u-40 syringes with Prozinc or use u-100 syringes with a conversion chart.

- Lantus is a human insulin so typically sold by human pharmacies (not often carried by vet clinics, at least where I live) whereas Prozinc is a pet insulin so typically sold by vet clinics/online (and not as often available in human pharmacies).

Both are good insulins. As for this message board, the Lantus forum is busier and probably has more active users daily. But you will find support here regardless of which insulin you choose.
This was SO HELPFUL! I'm going to go check out both forums to get more info, but that's super helpful to know that Prozinc might be better for my icky work schedule-- I start at 5am, so if Lantus might be more likely to cause situations where I'd have to stall in the morning, then I may need to go with Prozinc (assuming it works well for Ember, of course.) Although it looks like Prozinc is way more expensive....
So much to figure out!!! I really appreciate that wonderful summary of so many different factors!
 
Welcome to FDMB!!

Your description of Spark "helping" made me giggle!! One thought.... maybe testing Ember in the bathroom and shutting the door so Spark isn't able to be helpful might be a consideration.

You've gotten some good information, especially about the basics comparing Lantus to Prozinc. I was a Lantus user and despite it being quite expensive at the time Gabby was diagnosed (it was still relatively new and it wasn't available as a generic/biosimilar), I found a great deal of support here and the dosing methods were well-researched and published in a leading veterinary journal. The costs are now far more reasonable since it has been around long enough to be available as a generic/biosimilar (i.e., glargine). Chances are that your vet prescribed Vetsulin because you're fostering and it's a less expensive insulin.

Looking at Ember's spreadsheet, I suspect that what you're seeing is what we refer to as a "bounce." Ember drops into lower numbers that her body isn't used to. As a result, her liver and pancreas overreact and release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes her blood glucose numbers to spike upward. It's annoying but not dangerous.

I'd suggest getting some tests between shot times. Vetsulin can cause numbers to drop hard and fast. Given that. you've seen some lower numbers at shot time, I'd want to be sure that Ember is in safe numbers.. We recommend getting a minimum of 4 tests daily -- your two pre-shot tests and at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. It's important to know how low the dose of insulin is dropping Ember's numbers.

Just to correct some information... A cat's ears do not have a great number of blood vessels (i.e., capillaries). This is functional since if cats are fighting or in an environment where they can get their ears injured, they will bleed. However, when you continue to test, the capillaries respond by increasing -- you're building up the capillary bed. Once the capillaries build up, it's easier to get a drop of blood. We recommend a low carb diet -- less than 10% carbs -- although most members feed their cats a diet that's in the neighborhood of 5% carb. There are a very small number of dry foods that are low in carbs. However, cats have a limited thirst drive and in the wild, consume much of the moisture in their diet from live prey. This is why a canned or raw food diet is preferred along with a greater number of low carb canned foods than dry. Having more liquid in their diet is also good for kidney health. Carbohydrates do not damage the pancreas -- if they did, pretty much every human would have problems with their pancreas. The pancreas regulates carbohydrate metabolism by releasing insulin and glucagon. Cats are adapted to a high protein diet and have lower levels of digestive enzymes. They are able to digest carbohydrates but not large amounts. The lower levels of pancreatic enzymes do make cats prone to diabetes, pancreatitis, and some other conditions.
Thank you! I think you're right about Ember's vet prescribing Vetsulin since it's cheaper for the rescue. He said there were three choices but he didn't recommend the oral medication because it has much higher risk factors and that there was the most-commonly-used cheaper insulin and a way more expensive one. He neglected to mention that the more expensive one was a way better choice, and I didn't know anything about it yet so I just went along with it. I will be MUCH better prepared at my next appointment! I did ask him about switching between insulins if I changed my mind later and he said it's not easy. I'm not sure what that means. Is it hard on their system to switch? Hopefully she'll be ok.
Now that I'm not having to make 4 or 5 holes to get one drop of blood, I'm going to start testing more often and hopefully I can get a better handle on how low she's going.
 
Thank you! I think you're right about Ember's vet prescribing Vetsulin since it's cheaper for the rescue. He said there were three choices but he didn't recommend the oral medication because it has much higher risk factors and that there was the most-commonly-used cheaper insulin and a way more expensive one. He neglected to mention that the more expensive one was a way better choice, and I didn't know anything about it yet so I just went along with it. I will be MUCH better prepared at my next appointment! I did ask him about switching between insulins if I changed my mind later and he said it's not easy. I'm not sure what that means. Is it hard on their system to switch? Hopefully she'll be ok.
Now that I'm not having to make 4 or 5 holes to get one drop of blood, I'm going to start testing more often and hopefully I can get a better handle on how low she's going.
Love your determination, Congratulations you are doing awesome, some vets do not want to give us options or they want what they want,keep doing what you’re doing asking and reaserching, this forum is very thorough and has so many knowledgeable members, and they have saved many many cats and we have many happy cat mommies, I am one of them
 
I agree with your vet about the newer oral insulins. The veterinary costs mount up because you need careful monitoring and lab work. I would also be wary given that you don't have a longer term handle on Ember's history. We have a post at the top of this section of the board on these insulins if you're interested.

I suspect your vet was referring to Lantus (glargine) when he mentioned cost. The costs have become much more affordable now that it's available as a generic/biosimilar. There are also coupons available that help with cost. One of our members can provide you with the link. I think that Lantus and Prozinc cost roughly the same. The accessibility differs, though. Lantus is a human insulin and widely available at any pharmacy. Prozinc is available only through a vet, provided they stock it, or online (e.g., from Chewy) which means you have to deal with whether they have it in stock, the mail system, etc. Both are very good for feline diabetes.

Honestly, switching insulin is not a big deal. People here do it all the time. The insulins for feline diabetes do not interact with one another. As an example, Vetsulin is out of your cat's system in under 12 hours. That being the case, you can switch at the next shot time. We do NOT recommend starting at your original starting insulin dose. You can reduce the dose by a small amount since some cats do have a marked response to an insulin change but that typically self-adjusts in a cycle or two.
 
I purchase ProZinc from Chewy,com for $129.09 since is a refrigerated product is mailed FedEx within 24 hours after the vet has emailed the prescription to Chewy.com,; they usually have their email address, you may want to ask for at least 2 refills, Corkys takes 1.5u and the vial lasts about 3 1/2 months , if you keep the same dose give or take, it should last you for a while
 
Welcome to you and Ember to FDMB. It was amazing of you to rescue her and her kittens and care for them. I hope Spark gets adopted soon.

As Sienne said, members here change insulins all the time and we can easily help you do that if you decide to do so. If you are fostering her through an organization, sometimes they won’t pay for the higher cost insulins so be sure you check with them whether they will and if they won’t, if they are ok with you changing it as long as you pay for it.

While Lantus does not have as much flexibility as Prozinc, we have had several situations where it can be used on a more flexible schedule than a straight 12/12 so don’t let that put you off.

Just keep asking questions and let us know how we can help you both. There is a lot of info here but I’d like to just link our Testing and Shooting Tips because it can make things go easier if you are having any issues other than Spark helping. :)
 
I agree with your vet about the newer oral insulins. The veterinary costs mount up because you need careful monitoring and lab work. I would also be wary given that you don't have a longer term handle on Ember's history. We have a post at the top of this section of the board on these insulins if you're interested.

I suspect your vet was referring to Lantus (glargine) when he mentioned cost. The costs have become much more affordable now that it's available as a generic/biosimilar. There are also coupons available that help with cost. One of our members can provide you with the link. I think that Lantus and Prozinc cost roughly the same. The accessibility differs, though. Lantus is a human insulin and widely available at any pharmacy. Prozinc is available only through a vet, provided they stock it, or online (e.g., from Chewy) which means you have to deal with whether they have it in stock, the mail system, etc. Both are very good for feline diabetes.

Honestly, switching insulin is not a big deal. People here do it all the time. The insulins for feline diabetes do not interact with one another. As an example, Vetsulin is out of your cat's system in under 12 hours. That being the case, you can switch at the next shot time. We do NOT recommend starting at your original starting insulin dose. You can reduce the dose by a small amount since some cats do have a marked response to an insulin change but that typically self-adjusts in a cycle or two.
We go back to the vet tomorrow for our first recheck and I'm going to ask to switch!
I'm leaning toward Prozinc, but I'm going to see if the vet carries it or if he was referring to Lantus. You advised not to to start at the same dose, so if she's on 1 unit of vetsulin, I should shoot less than 1 unit of whatever the new one is? I should probably get some needles with half units-- someone donated a bunch to me but they only have full units.
 
We go back to the vet tomorrow for our first recheck and I'm going to ask to switch!
I'm leaning toward Prozinc, but I'm going to see if the vet carries it or if he was referring to Lantus. You advised not to to start at the same dose, so if she's on 1 unit of vetsulin, I should shoot less than 1 unit of whatever the new one is? I should probably get some needles with half units-- someone donated a bunch to me but they only have full units.
If you get ProZinc you should send a post in the ProZinc main Forum to @Suzanne & Darcy , before you give the first shot, she is the best for ProZinc dosing, I’ve been with her from the start of Corky’s journey, and yes you need syringes with 1/2 markings. Wishing you the best, insist on ProZinc, he can send the prescription to CHEWY.COM, you will get the insulin within 24 hours, it needs to be refrigerated.
 
I should probably get some needles with half units-- someone donated a bunch to me but they only have full units.
You need to be very, very careful regarding what syringes you use with what insulin. There are different “types” of syringes and they are not interchangeable.

Please list what insulin syringes you’re using currently with the Vetsulin. The exact wording on the package would be great.

Please also list the exact wording on the package that was donated to you (I assume you’re not using them yet).

When you choose a new insulin, regardless of whether Lantus or Prozinc, please check back here so we can make sure you have the correct syringes. It’s critical to get this correct — syringe mistakes aren’t uncommon, especially in the early days, and it can result in underdosing or overdosing. Especially in the latter case, it can be life threatening.
 
You need to be very, very careful regarding what syringes you use with what insulin. There are different “types” of syringes and they are not interchangeable.

Please list what insulin syringes you’re using currently with the Vetsulin. The exact wording on the package would be great.

Please also list the exact wording on the package that was donated to you (I assume you’re not using them yet).

When you choose a new insulin, regardless of whether Lantus or Prozinc, please check back here so we can make sure you have the correct syringes. It’s critical to get this correct — syringe mistakes aren’t uncommon, especially in the early days, and it can result in underdosing or overdosing. Especially in the latter case, it can be life threatening.
I'm using mVet U-40 1CC / 29 G x 1/2 syringes. I've been using the donated ones but I had the vet check them before we started using them. He said they were ok for her current 1-unit dose but that I would need to buy different ones if we needed to adjust by half units.
 
I'm using mVet U-40 1CC / 29 G x 1/2 syringes. I've been using the donated ones but I had the vet check them before we started using them. He said they were ok for her current 1-unit dose but that I would need to buy different ones if we needed to adjust by half units.
So the “U-40” designation represents the concentration (“strength”) of the insulin. Vetsulin is a U-40 insulin (meaning 40 units of insulin per ml), so a U-40 syringe is appropriate to use with Vetsulin.

The “1cc” portion of the label tells how much the syringe holds volume-wise, in this case 1cc (1ml). At a strength of 40 units/ml, that means those syringes hold 40 units. While technically correct for Vetsulin, the syringes aren’t very practical given the smallish doses cats typically require and the small dosage tweaks (1/4 unit at a time) we tend to make. It’s really hard, if not impossible, to make those tweaks by eyeballing it on a 1cc syringe. So I agree with your vet that you’ll want different syringes to make smaller dosage changes. In reality, 3/10cc U-40 syringes with 1/2 unit markings are what you’ll want.

So here’s the important point I want to make:
Prozinc is also a U-40 insulin. So whatever syringes you use with Vetsulin will work for Prozinc. Lantus is NOT a U-40 insulin. It is much more concentrated (2.5 times to be exact). So if you go to Lantus, just know that you MUST use different syringes.

(Sorry if this is info overload!!)
 
So the “U-40” designation represents the concentration (“strength”) of the insulin. Vetsulin is a U-40 insulin (meaning 40 units of insulin per ml), so a U-40 syringe is appropriate to use with Vetsulin.

The “1cc” portion of the label tells how much the syringe holds volume-wise, in this case 1cc (1ml). At a strength of 40 units/ml, that means those syringes hold 40 units. While technically correct for Vetsulin, the syringes aren’t very practical given the smallish doses cats typically require and the small dosage tweaks (1/4 unit at a time) we tend to make. It’s really hard, if not impossible, to make those tweaks by eyeballing it on a 1cc syringe. So I agree with your vet that you’ll want different syringes to make smaller dosage changes. In reality, 3/10cc U-40 syringes with 1/2 unit markings are what you’ll want.

So here’s the important point I want to make:
Prozinc is also a U-40 insulin. So whatever syringes you use with Vetsulin will work for Prozinc. Lantus is NOT a U-40 insulin. It is much more concentrated (2.5 times to be exact). So if you go to Lantus, just know that you MUST use different syringes.

(Sorry if this is info overload!!)
I feel like my life is info overload right now! I would absolutely much rather have more info than less. Thank you!
 
You "can" start at the same dose of either Lantus or Prozinc as you had been giving with Vetsulin. Sorry if I was unclear. If you had made a change in Ember's dose by the time you were switching, you don't have to go back to whatever the dose was that was the amount you started out at. If, for example, you had started out at 1.0u and were now at a dose of 3.0u, you would not drop the dose back to 1.0u. Given that Ember is still at her original dose, you can continue with that amount or if you're concerned, drop it back a tiny bit (e.g., 0.75u).
 
You "can" start at the same dose of either Lantus or Prozinc as you had been giving with Vetsulin. Sorry if I was unclear. If you had made a change in Ember's dose by the time you were switching, you don't have to go back to whatever the dose was that was the amount you started out at. If, for example, you had started out at 1.0u and were now at a dose of 3.0u, you would not drop the dose back to 1.0u. Given that Ember is still at her original dose, you can continue with that amount or if you're concerned, drop it back a tiny bit (e.g., 0.75u).
Ember had her 2-week checkup today and her vet decided he didn't need to test her glucose in-office since I brought in a copy of her spreadsheet! I asked him about switching to Lantus or Prozinc and he recommended Lantus since it has a better chance of remission. I expressed my concerns with my work schedule and not being able to stall the AM shot more than once and he said I could always shoot a reduced dose if needed. So I have a prescription for Lantus and he wants me to get better U-100 needles before I start, maybe from Chewy or Costco. So once I fill it and get good needles we should be good to switch. He said to stay on 1 unit of Vetsulin until then and start at 1 unit of Lantus. He recommended starting in the morning on a day off so I can keep an eye on her BG. I asked about ketones (since I vaguely remembered him saying something about ketones at her initial diagnosis but was too overwhelmed to remember everything), and she had a trace amount that day. He said to do weekly urine tests to keep an eye on that. Does having ketones at diagnosis mean she'll always be at high risk of DKA?
 
her vet decided he didn't need to test her glucose in-office since I brought in a copy of her spreadsheet!
I'm sure that felt very empowering!

He said to do weekly urine tests to keep an eye on that.
If you haven't found it already, this is our page with ketones/DKA resources: Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters. It includes a link to tips for catching a urine sample. I got a cheap ladle from the grocery store and hold it under his 'stream', doesn't seem to bother him but he likes using the box with people around--that made it easy. We also have a handheld blood ketone meter (purchased on Amazon) which is nice as it gives you a discrete number. But it's definitely a little pricier, a package of Ketostix (the urine test) are very cheap and will do the job as long as you follow the instructions for timing.

Hopefully someone else can answer your question re: ketones at diagnosis vs. risk of DKA. I have noticed that some cats seem more ketone prone than others.
 
It's not one single factor that contributes to a risk for ketones. Frankly, my cat was in full blown DKA at the time of diagnosis and was hospitalized. She never had another episode. Some cats are more prone to ketones, though. Also, ketones are a risk for DKA -- they are not the same thing. A cat can have ketones but not have all of the deranged lab values that occur with DKA. The reason to test is to make sure that ketones stay at a trace level or are nonexistent. If they are small, it's best to talk to your vet. If larger, they are an emergency.
 
Totally relate to having a "helper" at shot times! Sparks hijinks made me giggle (although I'm sure with how overwhelmed you must be he makes you want to pull your hair out); I had to start locking me and Guppy in the bathroom at shot time because my younger guy Seaweed thinks it's just so helpful to play with his tail while he gets poked.

I personally use a blood ketone meter for Guppy, as he was DKA at diagnosis and I am a little too neurotic/overthinky to try to determine what color the urine strip ACTUALLY is after the 15 second waiting period, and the number value is helpful to me. When testing them I try to poke a section of his ear that I know usually produces a big drop (difficult when you're first starting out and the capillaries haven't formed yet-definitely had plenty of tears trying to test him when he was first diagnosed), I'll use the large drop of blood for both a ketone test and glucose test so I don't have to poke him an extra time. I know saving money is essential in rescue work, just thought I'd share my experience with ketone tests.

I'm still working on getting Guppy regulated, but the resources and experienced members here helped immensely in understanding Guppy's cycles and gaining confidence to shoot lower numbers given enough data. You're doing fantastic, and the resources here are endlessly helpful, good luck starting Lantus!
 
So the “U-40” designation represents the concentration (“strength”) of the insulin. Vetsulin is a U-40 insulin (meaning 40 units of insulin per ml), so a U-40 syringe is appropriate to use with Vetsulin.

The “1cc” portion of the label tells how much the syringe holds volume-wise, in this case 1cc (1ml). At a strength of 40 units/ml, that means those syringes hold 40 units. While technically correct for Vetsulin, the syringes aren’t very practical given the smallish doses cats typically require and the small dosage tweaks (1/4 unit at a time) we tend to make. It’s really hard, if not impossible, to make those tweaks by eyeballing it on a 1cc syringe. So I agree with your vet that you’ll want different syringes to make smaller dosage changes. In reality, 3/10cc U-40 syringes with 1/2 unit markings are what you’ll want.

So here’s the important point I want to make:
Prozinc is also a U-40 insulin. So whatever syringes you use with Vetsulin will work for Prozinc. Lantus is NOT a U-40 insulin. It is much more concentrated (2.5 times to be exact). So if you go to Lantus, just know that you MUST use different syringes.

(Sorry if this is info overload!!)
IMG_2827.jpegThese are the needles I’m planning to use for the new lantus prescription. (We had several types and brands donated and there are a few packages of these.) I was going to buy some but apparently I need a prescription for them at Costco.
 
View attachment 74604These are the needles I’m planning to use for the new lantus prescription. (We had several types and brands donated and there are a few packages of these.) I was going to buy some but apparently I need a prescription for them at Costco.
I use this brand, I like them! 31 gauge needles are definitely the easiest to work with. You can get them here UltiCare Insulin Syringes U-100 31G 3/10cc 5/16in 100ct | ADW Diabetes
As long as you live in a state that allows sellers to sell them without a prescription (and it looks like you do), you should be good to just order them. You can get them from Chewy as well, but they do require a prescription (you can just input your vet's office and they'll contact them directly for approval)
 
Back
Top