New Member- Meet Rex

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne+Rex

Member Since 2022
Hello to all,

First, just wanted to say how grateful I am for having a resource like this message board. I was lost and overwhelmed on Feb 8 when Rex was diagnosed with diabetes and pancreatitis, and I have learned so much by reading your posts.

Rex had a short stint after that in the kitty ER where they monitored his electrolyte levels, and he started on 1 unit of Vetsulin. He is monitored continuously with the Freestyle Libre. After reading many posts on here, we are making the switch to Lantus- this evening will be his first shot of that at 1 unit. We have found a really great vet to work with nearby that I trust (YAY!).

Anyway, just wanted to post to introduce ourselves and to ask if anyone has any special advice when making the switch to Lantus and also if anyone wouldn’t mind checking to see that I’ve set up my signature and spreadsheet correctly- just wanted to be prepared in case I ever need to get quick assistance.

Thanks Again
 
Hi and welcome to the best club you never wanted to join. My buddy Hendrick was diagnosed on 1/5/22 so I am very new to this whole thing as well. I am fairly certain I have seen specific advice given by @FrostD regarding a change from Vetsulin to Lantus, as far as avoiding an overlap issue if I recall correctly. I am far too new to try and relay it so I will leave it to Melissa or another expert :)

But I just wanted to comment and say welcome, this place is great and has saved my sanity and helped my boy so much. I am sure you are in the right place.
 
Welcome Suzanne and Rex
Great job setting up your signature and spreadsheet
Here is a link to read all about lantus and the 2 dosing methods we use to choose one
Oops just saw you are going to follow TR

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings , we increase and decrease by 0.25 units
If not here is a link to get them
The more tests you get the better so we can see how the lantus is working for Rex and how low he's dropping, cats usually drop lower at night so it's important to get some night time readings such as +3, +6 and +9 for both cycles

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/5739/ulticare-u100-vet-rx-half-unit-syringes-31g-3-10cc-60ct

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Last edited:
Hello to all,

First, just wanted to say how grateful I am for having a resource like this message board. I was lost and overwhelmed on Feb 8 when Rex was diagnosed with diabetes and pancreatitis, and I have learned so much by reading your posts.

Rex had a short stint after that in the kitty ER where they monitored his electrolyte levels, and he started on 1 unit of Vetsulin. He is monitored continuously with the Freestyle Libre. After reading many posts on here, we are making the switch to Lantus- this evening will be his first shot of that at 1 unit. We have found a really great vet to work with nearby that I trust (YAY!).

Anyway, just wanted to post to introduce ourselves and to ask if anyone has any special advice when making the switch to Lantus and also if anyone wouldn’t mind checking to see that I’ve set up my signature and spreadsheet correctly- just wanted to be prepared in case I ever need to get quick assistance.

Thanks Again
I am new too so I can’t give any good advice but all your new friends will be by soon I’m sure! Everyone here helped me a lot, I never would have made it through this first month without them! Welcome, guys!
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Can you tell us what Rex was in the ER for when he was having his electrolytes monitored?
Was it DKA ….diabetic ketoacidosis? Or ketones?
 
He was there for pancreatitis- I took him back to the vet the following week and then again this week. His electrolyte levels are stable, but the vet says he is still tender around his pancreas when she touched him. Hoping we don’t end up in that position again because I won’t be able to afford the $2000 that it cost. The most important thing is that he is eating well and no vomiting, just going to watch him closely and try to catch it earlier.
 
He was there for pancreatitis- I took him back to the vet the following week and then again this week. His electrolyte levels are stable, but the vet says he is still tender around his pancreas when she touched him. Hoping we don’t end up in that position again because I won’t be able to afford the $2000 that it cost. The most important thing is that he is eating well and no vomiting, just going to watch him closely and try to catch it earlier
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
A lot of cats that get pancreatitis can be managed at home, especially if it is caught early.
The main treatment, which you can do at home is Sub Q fluids, pain medications, antinausea medications. You may also need to assist feed and use an appetite Stimulant at times if your kitty is not eating. Most of us that have cats that get pancreatitis make sure we have the subQ fluids, some pain meds and an antinausea such as cerenia or ondansetron at home so we can start it straight away.
Here is a link to A PRIMER ON PANCREATITIS which will give you lots of information.
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet and saw Rex dropped to 45 today at +3, you are following TR
TR says
Reducing the dose:


The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
I'm going to tag a few members about the dose
@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy

Just to let you know her kitty was hospitalized with pancreatitis , see #1 and #7
I was just worried about seeing that 45

Thanks ladies

I hope @Suzanne+Rex comes back on
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne+Rex
You need to reduce the dose to 0.75 units following the BG 45. Please do it at the next dose.
Did you test again after the 45?
It’s very important if you get a low number under 50 that you feed some higher carb food and test again 20 minutes later to see the BG is rising and to keep Rex safe
 
@Suzanne+Rex
You need to reduce the dose to 0.75 units following the BG 45. Please do it at the next dose.
Did you test again after the 45?
It’s very important if you get a low number under 50 that you feed some higher carb food and test again 20 minutes later to see the BG is rising and to keep Rex safe

Hi, I didn’t see the last two replies until just now, luckily I did read the protocol, and I reduced the dose, fed the high-carb food and retested to make sure his BG went back up. Just posted on the Lantus forum to inquire about the bouncing I’m seeing in his readings. I’m constantly checking him since we just started Lantus. Thank you both for checking in on Rex, and helping me out with this
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet and saw Rex dropped to 45 today at +3, you are following TR
TR says
Reducing the dose:


The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
I'm going to tag a few members about the dose
@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy

Just to let you know her kitty was hospitalized with pancreatitis , see #1 and #7
I was just worried about seeing that 45

Thanks ladies

I hope @Suzanne+Rex comes back on

Hi, I just saw your reply. Thanks so much for checking in on my kitty. Reduced dose and just seeing a lot of bouncing in his readings.
 
anything at the .25 increments is a crapshoot imo. I do my best to get the plunger line right in between the half and full marking but there's no way it is accurate and consistent.
 
I agree! I’m decreasing his dose again by .25 today because he went down to 49 nadir.
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet and saw Rex dropped to 45 today at +3, you are following TR
TR says
Reducing the dose:


The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
I'm going to tag a few members about the dose
@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy

Just to let you know her kitty was hospitalized with pancreatitis , see #1 and #7
I was just worried about seeing that 45

Thanks ladies

I hope @Suzanne+Rex comes back on

Hi Diane,

His BG dropped to below 50 again today after his AM shot. Should I decrease by another .25 for his PM shot? So down to .5 units, right, as long as he is in a safe range by then? His BG bounced back up shortly after.

Warmly,

Suzanne
 
Yes I would reduce the dose to 0.5 units. It is 4 cycles since the last reduction so the depot should have settled again.
Try using a magnifying glass when drawing up the dose. I always used one and make sure you are in a good light.
 
Yes I would reduce the dose to 0.5 units. It is 4 cycles since the last reduction so the depot should have settled again.
Try using a magnifying glass when drawing up the dose. I always used one and make sure you are in a good light.

Got it! Will do that, thank you
 
Yes, I see Hendricks is dealing with that a little, too. I just have so much anxiety around how much the tiny dose he’s on drops him so steeply. Hard to imagine reducing the dose much further. It’s hard to measure .75 accurately.
I’ve been doing .10U. Let me tell you how fun that is….
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top