critterlover
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone
I'm Dawn and my sweet boy Max was diagnosed just before Christmas. I found Felinediabetes.com almost immediately and the information there has been invaluable. I just registered to the message board last week. There is so much information here, it's awesome.
Max is 13 and I took him in for a checkup because he lost a lot of weight quickly. That's how I found out it was diabetes. His BG on the intial bloodwork was 22 (I'm Canadian). We started him on Lantus and I switched him to canned Purina DM immediately. I've since switched him to Merrick Gourmet Entrees (approx 2 weeks now) after reading about nutrition and Blinkys page.
I've had no problem with the injections and I'm home testing as well. His numbers are all over the place, I certainly don't know enough yet to know what is going on and what to do about it. Initially his numbers both amps and pmps were in the 20's but lately his amps is quite low. There were a couple of times that I wasn't sure what to so so I skipped his shot. I just read the posts on dealing with low preshot numbers and that has helped me a bit. Just this morning he was 4.6 so I waited before giving insulin ( I did feed him 1/2 can, his normal breakfast). I tested 1/2 later and BG was 3.9, 1/2 hour later was 4.3. Since it was on the rise I did give him his 1 unit of insulin. He's been fine all day and now at +8 he's up to 21.3. I really don't know what to make of it.
I finally figured out the spreadsheet and have it up to date. I found a post with a link to a Canadian version but the link didn't work so I was able to change the formatting in the cells to make the colors match the numbers correctly. Any input or suggestions would be appreciated.
Max and I thank you for being here.
I'm Dawn and my sweet boy Max was diagnosed just before Christmas. I found Felinediabetes.com almost immediately and the information there has been invaluable. I just registered to the message board last week. There is so much information here, it's awesome.
Max is 13 and I took him in for a checkup because he lost a lot of weight quickly. That's how I found out it was diabetes. His BG on the intial bloodwork was 22 (I'm Canadian). We started him on Lantus and I switched him to canned Purina DM immediately. I've since switched him to Merrick Gourmet Entrees (approx 2 weeks now) after reading about nutrition and Blinkys page.
I've had no problem with the injections and I'm home testing as well. His numbers are all over the place, I certainly don't know enough yet to know what is going on and what to do about it. Initially his numbers both amps and pmps were in the 20's but lately his amps is quite low. There were a couple of times that I wasn't sure what to so so I skipped his shot. I just read the posts on dealing with low preshot numbers and that has helped me a bit. Just this morning he was 4.6 so I waited before giving insulin ( I did feed him 1/2 can, his normal breakfast). I tested 1/2 later and BG was 3.9, 1/2 hour later was 4.3. Since it was on the rise I did give him his 1 unit of insulin. He's been fine all day and now at +8 he's up to 21.3. I really don't know what to make of it.
I finally figured out the spreadsheet and have it up to date. I found a post with a link to a Canadian version but the link didn't work so I was able to change the formatting in the cells to make the colors match the numbers correctly. Any input or suggestions would be appreciated.
Max and I thank you for being here.