New Member Introduction Post DKA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kobe (Dean and Lesley)

Member Since 2025
Happy New Year! We are new to the Message Board and wanted to introduce ourselves.

I'm Lesley and my husband is Dean. Our 13 year old boy, Kobe, was diagnosed with diabetes on November 14, 2024.

Kobe had stopped eating his prescription dry food (Royal Canin Fiber Response). Dean and I took him to the vet and found out he was in a ketoacidosis crisis. He spent about a week hospitalized where they got him stabilized and eating enough to come home.

Kobe has had a handful of Freestyle Libre continuous monitoring devices since he has been home, but has recently figured out that with enough time and perseverence, he can remove them himself. So we bought a ReliOn Meter and have begun testing his blood sugar with that.

His earlier data is all over the place because he wasn't consistently eating enough, and we were trying to get him to transition to wet food when that was that last thing he wanted.

Through all of the turmoil and uncertainty, my husband and I have come to rely on your message board and its members. You didn't know it, but you helped us realize that the insulin Kobe started on was not the best fit for him. You helped us implement a dosing regimen that has is working for him when the Vet's recommendation didn't make sense with Kobe's numbers and appetite. You helped us select a reliable glucose meter and taught us how to use it without traumatizing Kobe when we were nervous ourselves. You have provided invaluable support when we were so overwhelmed and thought we were going to lose our boy. We are very grateful to you for sharing your time, experience, stories, and compassion.

Recently, Kobe's weight has stabilized at around 11.7 lbs. His appetite has returned but not in the scary bottomless pit way that means he's really still starving. His energy and playful side are returning.

Daily Kobe is eating about 1.5 cans of FF Classic Pate (Chicken or Beef) and 5 grams (~0.5 tbsp) of Power Cat Low Carb Dry. We are phasing out the dry and seeing the benefits of the transition to wet. Dean and I would have had him on all wet from the start, but Kobe had different ideas and would refuse to eat at which point his medicine would become very dangerous.

Kobe is getting ~0.8 units of PZI in the AM and ~1.1 units in the PM. He is very sensitive to even micro adjustments in these doses.

We have data from his Freestyle Libres and Relion meter that I am going to see if I can get into one of your spreadsheets.

Thank you again for all of the time and work that you have put into this resource.

Kobe, Carmelo (Kobe's brother), Dean, and Lesley
 
Hello and welcome. So glad we could be of help already! Sounds like you are doing a great job so far. Dealing with DKA is a big first step!

Let us know how we can help you. We are quite data oriented here, so that spreadsheet and setting up your signature will help:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Welcome to FDF, and happy holidays, this is the best place to be, and you have definitely done your homework, Congratulations, you are a step ahead! I am sure that all he steps you are taking are smart ones for Kobe, here you will always find support with all your concerns no matter how small they are. and Yes, our cats have a mind of their own and love to keep us on our toes and guessing, they do love those carbs, the sooner you get him off them, the better his pancreas will began to heal, my Corky is also on ProZinc, and using the ReliOn, I had a nightmare with the Libre sensors myself, so I understand. Both of you and Kobe are in the right place:bighug::cat::cat:
 
Thank you for the warm welcome! If you have a chance, could you let me know if the link in the signature is functioning properly and you can see Kobe's data?
 
Thank you for the warm welcome! If you have a chance, could you let me know if the link in the signature is functioning properly and you can see Kobe's data?
I was able to see th SS but dada yet
I was able to see the signature as well I love orange cats, Kobe is beautiful:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Thank you for checking. You can't really see in his profile pic, but Kobe and Corky have matching white vests. I hope you don't mind, but I peeked at Corky's spreadsheet. So amazing to see it turn dark green over the last year. It gives me hope. :cat:
 
Thank you for checking. You can't really see in his profile pic, but Kobe and Corky have matching white vests. I hope you don't mind, but I peeked at Corky's spreadsheet. So amazing to see it turn dark green over the last year. It gives me hope. :cat:
Yes!! My Corky is a hero!! I always refer newbies to his SS for them to see that with a he help of this Forum, trust and the amazing members here , and our diligence it IS possible to turn things around:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:;)
 
Signature looks good. The only things I'd add is that you are using the Relion meter and that he had DKA on diagnosis. Some people use pet meters and they ready slightly differently so it's good if we know what type of meter you are using.

The DKA means we need to be a bit more aggressive (but safe) to keep away those ketones. And it also means we are going to ask about ketone test results regularly, so it's best to put them in the Remarks column besides the day that you did the testing. Are you using a ketones blood meter with him at home? I'm going by the 1.5 your spreadsheet says he saw two days ago.

If you haven't been there already, we have lots of information about Prozinc/PZI and dosing with it in the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum Prozinc / PZI
 
It looks like Kobe's numbers dropped below 90 last evening. A drop below 90 warrants a dose reduction.

I want to tag two members to get some input on where you need to reduce the dose to. Ordinarily, we make dose changes in 0.25u increments. I'm wondering whether it would make more sense to have you dose 0.8u at AM and PM shot times.
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
I'd like to hear from Suzanne on the dosing. I agree the same dose AM and PM might be better, but also being aware that ketones of 1.5 were seen a couple days ago.

Have you done ketones tests since the 30th?
 
Hi and welcome Lesley, Dean and Kobe.
Would you mind putting ‘post DKA’ into your subject line at the top please of the thread so we are aware Kobe had DKA…thanks?
And also into the signature. It can make a difference to our approach if the cat has had DKA.

Here is a list of things you need to be doing for Kobe now that he is at home.
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Kobe normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If Kobe won’t eat the low carb food, feed him whatever he will eat as eating any food is better than not eating,
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help.
  • Test daily for ketones. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all.
  • Give antinausea medication if needed such as ondansetron or cerenia. A lot of post DKA kitties are nauseated
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication
  • Give extra fluids. If Kobe will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.
 
I should have posted sooner. I changed the title of the thread to reflect that Kobe is post DKA. I didn't realize we needed to be testing for Ketones every day, or that we could test his blood. I have not been testing for ketones. We have a follow up appointment at the vet for Monday, which I now understand is NOT soon enough. Message received. If the device below is sufficient I will go get it and start testing tonight. If this device is not right, I am open to recommendations.
Kobe will be thrilled with the introduction of snacks. Thank you all for the feedback and direction.
upload_2025-1-1_21-32-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-1_21-31-34.png
    upload_2025-1-1_21-31-34.png
    96.4 KB · Views: 132
  • upload_2025-1-1_21-32-20.png
    upload_2025-1-1_21-32-20.png
    55.1 KB · Views: 343
I should have posted sooner. I changed the title of the thread to reflect that Kobe is post DKA. I didn't realize we needed to be testing for Ketones every day, or that we could test his blood. I have not been testing for ketones. We have a follow up appointment at the vet for Monday, which I now understand is NOT soon enough. Message received. If the device below is sufficient I will go get it and start testing tonight. If this device is not right, I am open to recommendations.
Kobe will be thrilled with the introduction of snacks. Thank you all for the feedback and direction.
View attachment 72164
I should have posted sooner. I changed the title of the thread to reflect that Kobe is post DKA. I didn't realize we needed to be testing for Ketones every day, or that we could test his blood. I have not been testing for ketones. We have a follow up appointment at the vet for Monday, which I now understand is NOT soon enough. Message received. If the device below is sufficient I will go get it and start testing tonight. If this device is not right, I am open to recommendations.
Kobe will be thrilled with the introduction of snacks. Thank you all for the feedback and direction.
View attachment 72164

Corky never had Ketones so I am not familiar just read a lot about it but I cannot advise I will tag another member that can assist you :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Hi and welcome Lesley, Dean and Kobe.
Would you mind putting ‘post DKA’ into your subject line at the top please of the thread so we are aware Kobe had DKA…thanks?
And also into the signature. It can make a difference to our approach if the cat has had DKA.

Here is a list of things you need to be doing for Kobe now that he is at home.
  • you need to give one and a half times as many calories as Kobe normally eats. Offer snacks every couple of hours during the day and evening as well as the 2 main meals. Food is like a medicine and helps keep ketones away. If Kobe won’t eat the low carb food, feed him whatever he will eat as eating any food is better than not eating,
  • Don’t skip any doses of insulin as insulin helps keep ketones away. If the BG is not high enough to give the dose…stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help.
  • Test daily for ketones. Put the results of the tests into the remarks column of the SS so we can see. Please report any trace ketones at all.
  • Give antinausea medication if needed such as ondansetron or cerenia. A lot of post DKA kitties are nauseated
  • Give appetite stimulant if needed after the antinausea medication
  • Give extra fluids. If Kobe will tolerate warm water in the food, put a teaspoon into each snack..
  • Ask the vet about subQ fluids
  • Set up a spreadsheet and test the BG frequently
  • Post daily with updates and ask for help as often as needed.

I think I saw in another post you wrote that the anti nausea meds might be Cerenia and Ondansetron. I cannot find the post again. Is this correct? Thank you!
 
I think I saw in another post you wrote that the anti nausea meds might be Cerenia and Ondansetron. I cannot find the post again. Is this correct? Thank you!
Yes this is correct. Ondansetron is better for nausea and can be given 3 or 4 times a day. And cerenia is better for vomiting and is given once a day. They can be given together as they work on different pathways in the body. The ondansetron is bought at a human pharmacy and you will Need a script from the vet for that. The cerenia you get from the vet.
 
Last edited:
Based on his ketones, BG, smaller appetite and decreased energy last night, I took Kobe to the Vet around 1 am. He is going to be at the Vet for a couple of days. Thank you again for the information and direction. I hadn't realized how serious the Ketones were for him.

I entered his bloodwork from this morning into his spreadsheet. I had order a Ketone Meter for blood testing, but we should have it by the time he comes home.

I am finding that neither Ondansetron nor Cerenia should be used for more than 5 days. So, just for a crisis, but not indefinitely.

He has had a prescription for an appetite stimulant, and I think that was no more than 3 days.
 
Hoping that Kobe gets getter soon.:bighug::bighug:
I am finding that neither Ondansetron nor Cerenia should be used for more than 5 days. So, just for a crisis, but not indefinitely.
The no Cerenia past 5 days is an old standard. No problem with giving ondansetron longer either. Table 9, page 232 of this paper gives the latest. Maropitant is the generic for Cerenia. (2016) ISFM Consensus Guidelines: Diagnosis & Management of Feline Chronic Kidney Disease

If he's getting an appetite stimulant, give the anti nausea first. You don't want to give an appy stimulant to a nauseous cat. Do you know which appetite stimulant they are giving? Ask for Mirataz, it's a cream you put on the inside of their ear. Much easier to give for a cat that doesn't want to eat. And it's a tube, much more than 3 days worth.
 
What a relief! He has prescriptions for the Maropitant and Mirataz. In the consensus guidelines on pg. 231, I saw Mirtazapine given orally for 3 weeks, does that apply to his Mirataz cream for the ear?
 
What a relief! He has prescriptions for the Maropitant and Mirataz. In the consensus guidelines on pg. 231, I saw Mirtazapine given orally for 3 weeks, does that apply to his Mirataz cream for the ear?
The Mirataz is placed on the top of the inner ear interchanging ear each day, the tube is very small but you only need a pin drop it works like right away is a game changer Corky was prescribed for 1,week I alway have a tube handy in case his appetite were to decrease, but he really eats very very well I’ve used it on my other cat Coco as well:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Im sorry to hear Kobe is back in hospital. Please keep us updated.
I’m glad Wendy gave you the updated information on using the antinausea medications.
 
Mirataz is gentler than mirtazapine, but my package says to use for 14 days. Not sure if that's the limit. I've never used it daily that long, once you get nausea controlled, you can step back the appetite stimulant.
 
Abbott also has a Blood Ketone meter called the Abbott Freestyle Optium Neo Blood glucose and Ketone monitor

Thank you for this recommendation. This one will take a long time to ship to me. The one I ordered came today, so I would have something at least while I wait.

My vet recommended one made by CentriVet, but the I can't get the device or it's strips on Amazon, which makes me a little nervous.

This ships faster. Does anybody whose cat has ketones know if this one is accurate?

upload_2025-1-3_16-21-52.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-3_16-21-52.png
    upload_2025-1-3_16-21-52.png
    130.6 KB · Views: 297
  • upload_2025-1-3_16-26-5.png
    upload_2025-1-3_16-26-5.png
    83.7 KB · Views: 133
Thank you for this recommendation. This one will take a long time to ship to me. The one I ordered came today, so I would have something at least while I wait.

My vet recommended one made by CentriVet, but the I can't get the device or it's strips on Amazon, which makes me a little nervous.

This ships faster. Does anybody whose cat has ketones know if this one is accurate?

View attachment 72191
Most of. The members including myself US the ReliOn Premier Human monitor and strips it very inexpensive and accurate especially the strips you can get it Walmart if you are live in the US the monitor is $18.99 and the strips are $9.00 for &50 and $17.99 for 100
 
I have a ReliOn Blood Glucose Meter. does the Premier measure ketones? I am not seeing that in the description anywhere.
 
Kobe is home from the Hospital! On Friday, 01/03 his Ketones were as high as 4.7 while at the clinic in town. History of Ketones is updated in right-hand column of SS as directed.

Well, after that I took him to the Emergency Hospital where they could monitor him overnight. They started him on Glargine. When his plasma was clear of Ketones at 5pm on Saturday 01/04, they let me come get him.

I have incomplete information about his curves from the Vets at this point. I will update the spreadsheet when they email me the curves. They should have to send me the curves, right? I bought them! Why wouldn't they send them? o_O
 
I’m glad to hear Kobe is home again. Please reread post 11 above for the care you need to be giving him now he is home.
Yes the curves are yours if you paid for them.
I can see the BG dropped under 50 and you reduced the dose of glargine. I would have gone to 1.75 unit not 1.5
How is his appetite?
What are you feeding him now?

I see in the SS he was given PZI yesterday am dose. Was that in the hospital and was it just a one off?
 
I’m glad to hear Kobe is home again. Please reread post 11 above for the care you need to be giving him now he is home.
Yes the curves are yours if you paid for them.
I can see the BG dropped under 50 and you reduced the dose of glargine. I would have gone to 1.75 unit not 1.5
How is his appetite?
What are you feeding him now?

I see in the SS he was given PZI yesterday am dose. Was that in the hospital and was it just a one off?
Glad to hear Kobe is back:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I’m glad to hear Kobe is home again. Please reread post 11 above for the care you need to be giving him now he is home.
Yes the curves are yours if you paid for them.
I can see the BG dropped under 50 and you reduced the dose of glargine. I would have gone to 1.75 unit not 1.5
How is his appetite?
What are you feeding him now?

I see in the SS he was given PZI yesterday am dose. Was that in the hospital and was it just a one off?

PZI in the AM on Friday 01/03/25 before he transferred to the Emergency Hospital. All shots before that one were also PZI. He just got switched to Glargine. I tried to note on the SS when he switched on Friday.

Looking at the 381 we just got 8 hours after his shot, 1.75 units you are right about the 1.75. I will do my best to get 1.75 for the AM. Thanks for the advice. (The syringes from the vet are not great. Better ones coming Thursday)

He is eating FF Classic Pate Beef and the PowerCat kibble. Appetite is pretty good in spite of the stress. He's on the Maropitant. We also got the Ondansetron, but haven't used it yet. He had some at the vet. Not seeing signs of nausea. Haven't used the appetite stimulant yet because I can tell it was used at vet, but no one could tell me when. Figured I'd wait a bit so I don't accidentally OD him on Mirataz, especially since he's eating.

Post 11 has been very helpful! I will test for ketones tomorrow morning. I got the bag of sub q fluids. Have the hypo kit assembled minus the bulb syringe.

Thanks for checking in with us. We appreciate it!
 
PZI in the AM on Friday 01/03/25 before he transferred to the Emergency Hospital. All shots before that one were also PZI. He just got switched to Glargine. I tried to note on the SS when he switched on Friday.

Looking at the 381 we just got 8 hours after his shot, 1.75 units you are right about the 1.75. I will do my best to get 1.75 for the AM. Thanks for the advice. (The syringes from the vet are not great. Better ones coming Thursday)

He is eating FF Classic Pate Beef and the PowerCat kibble. Appetite is pretty good in spite of the stress. He's on the Maropitant. We also got the Ondansetron, but haven't used it yet. He had some at the vet. Not seeing signs of nausea. Haven't used the appetite stimulant yet because I can tell it was used at vet, but no one could tell me when. Figured I'd wait a bit so I don't accidentally OD him on Mirataz, especially since he's eating.

Post 11 has been very helpful! I will test for ketones tomorrow morning. I got the bag of sub q fluids. Have the hypo kit assembled minus the bulb syringe.

Thanks for checking in with us. We appreciate it!
I am happy for you and Kobe, about the Miratz, it is used for 14 days every day in the top inner ear, just a tip of a pin amount, rub on the ear exchanging ear daily, the small tube goes a long way, and you can use any time his appetite decreases, I always have a tube handing for both my cats:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I did my best to get 1.75 units. The syringes from the Hospital are not 3/10 cc. They are 1 cc and go up to 100 units. No half marks. Very difficult to use. They would be great if Kobe was an actual lion and needed 90 units of insulin. I have ordered U 100 3/10 cc syringes with half unit marks. They are expected Thursday. :nailbiting: I just have to do my best until then.
 
Call the vet and tell them that you need the 3/10cc syringes. Alternatively, depending on where you live, your local pharmacy may not need a prescription for syringes. Call the pharmacy and ask. If you need a prescription, have the vet call it in. The vet should know what an insulin syringe is! They may be assuming you'll use the pen to dispense the insulin and don't realize that it only dispenses in 1.0u amounts and you waste a unit of insulin every time you have to give a shot.
 
Call the vet and tell them that you need the 3/10cc syringes. Alternatively, depending on where you live, your local pharmacy may not need a prescription for syringes. Call the pharmacy and ask. If you need a prescription, have the vet call it in. The vet should know what an insulin syringe is! They may be assuming you'll use the pen to dispense the insulin and don't realize that it only dispenses in 1.0u amounts and you waste a unit of insulin every time you have to give a shot.

They gave me what they had. They know we are using syringes with the pen. I will call around and see if I can find them from another vet.

2 hours after his AM shot, Ketones were 0.3. The two previous shots were not big enough, so I am not surprised that they are making an appearance. I am hoping that the larger dose will eliminate Ketones. I will check again tonight.

Administered appetite stimulant to ear to make sure he keeps eating.
 
They gave me what they had. They know we are using syringes with the pen. I will call around and see if I can find them from another vet.

2 hours after his AM shot, Ketones were 0.3. The two previous shots were not big enough, so I am not surprised that they are making an appearance. I am hoping that the larger dose will eliminate Ketones. I will check again tonight.

Administered appetite stimulant to ear to make sure he keeps eating.

Those Yellows! seems to start looking Good. Good Job Kobe!! I am sure once you get the right syringes you can administer the correct dose, and in a week or so we might see some Blues, Good for you too!! before you know it You will be a pro and be able to be on a next level of happiness!!, Do as you are doing right now, post, post post, no concern of yours is ever small.!! Good Work, we love those Fur babies to death, don't we?? I depend of 100% on this Forum and members, financially I cannot afford Vet bills, and according to some members my Corky is the most ProZinc regulated cat here, but a lot of fears sweat & tears have fallen in the process!! but I know Corky knows with his purrs, when he sees me with the monitor, he immediately positions himself for me and still after 3 years it breaks my heart when I pinch him, but it has all been worth it, he will be 12 on Oct 15 and he could not be healthier and I owe every moment to this amazing Forum and the members, giving their time and their knowledge to every Newby and beyond I will tag one of the member to send you a diagram on the syringe you are using and the markings of where
Kobe is at right now, perhaps that could help :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Could you send Kobe a diagram of the syringe he is using with the marking of his dose, it may be of help while he waits for his shipment of the correct syringe?
 
Those Yellows! seems to start looking Good. Good Job Kobe!! I am sure once you get the right syringes you can administer the correct dose, and in a week or so we might see some Blues, Good for you too!! before you know it You will be a pro and be able to be on a next level of happiness!!, Do as you are doing right now, post, post post, no concern of yours is ever small.!! Good Work, we love those Fur babies to death, don't we?? I depend of 100% on this Forum and members, financially I cannot afford Vet bills, and according to some members my Corky is the most ProZinc regulated cat here, but a lot of fears sweat & tears have fallen in the process!! but I know Corky knows with his purrs, when he sees me with the monitor, he immediately positions himself for me and still after 3 years it breaks my heart when I pinch him, but it has all been worth it, he will be 12 on Oct 15 and he could not be healthier and I owe every moment to this amazing Forum and the members, giving their time and their knowledge to every Newby and beyond I will tag one of the member to send you a diagram on the syringe you are using and the markings of where
Kobe is at right now, perhaps that could help :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Could you send Kobe a diagram of the syringe he is using with the marking of his dose, it may be of help while he waits for his shipment of the correct syringe?

Perhaps you might want to start a new thread titled "Kobe" Continuation to Introduction Post DKA:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
is eating FF Classic Pate Beef and the PowerCat kibble. Appetite is pretty good in spite of the stress. He's on the Maropitant. We also got the Ondansetron, but haven't used it yet. He had some at the vet. Not seeing signs of nausea. Haven't used the appetite stimulant yet because I can tell it was used at vet, but no one could tell me when. Figured I'd wait a bit so I don't accidentally OD him on Mirataz, especially since he's eating.
Cerenia is given one a day and ondansetron can be given up to 4 times a day. And they can be given at the same time as they work on different pathways. Always give the appetite stimulant after you have given the anti nausea medication as you don’t want to be giving an appetite stimulant to a nauseated cat.
got the bag of sub q fluids
How much sub Q fluids did the vet say to give each time?
2 hours after his AM shot, Ketones were 0.3
A reading of 0.3 on the blood ketone meter is nothing to be concerned about. Is a good result. Keep checking daily.
 
I picked up the fluids on a Saturday when there was no one really available to ask about it. I can call on Monday to ask. Have any of you had to give the subcutaneous fluids?

I made sure to do the anti-nausea before the appetite stimulant. We aren't really seeing signs of nausea, it's hard to tell if he's just not nauseated or if the medication is working.
 
picked up the fluids on a Saturday when there was no one really available to ask about it. I can call on Monday to ask. Have any of you had to give the subcutaneous fluids?
A lot of us have given sub Q fluids.
I would not give more than 50 or 75 mls a day unless the vet suggests more. And you need to make sure the fluids have bean absorbed before you give the next lot. They run through very quickly. It only takes a minute it two so be aware. I used to mark the bag with a texta how much I wanted to give.
Here is a link to how to give the SubQ fluids
 
Well, I don't think I really understood that the subcutaneous fluids are a non-emergency part of home-care after hospitalization for DKA. I guess I assumed that if I got them, we'd be less likely to need them, and they could be stored at the bottom of the hypo kit. I am going to need to use them, aren't I? Should I have been doing it already? Internet says a couple times a week, so I think it's okay that I skipped today.

I feel dumb. Didn't realize it was a normal part of home-care. Thought it was for the diabetic apocalypse. Okay. I am just adjusting to this reality.

And there's different kinds!? I just asked for sub q fluids. I hope they knew which ones Kobe needs. We got 1000 mL of 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection USP.

I'm not panicking, but I'm getting there.
 
Sub Q fluids are used at home most frequently for cats with kidney disease. We have quite a few cats here that have diabetes and kidney disease.
The reason you would give the subQ fluids to a post DKA kitty would be if they were dehydrated or had ketones. Fluids can help flush the ketones out. But first you need a clearance from your vet as any cats with heart issues should not be getting sub Qfluids. Overloading a cat with subQ fluids can be dangerous.
And ask the vet if the type of fluids you were given is what he wants you to use. You may not need to give them at all.

SubQ fluids are not given to cats when the BG drops very low at all. Honey and high carb food is given in that situation.
 
A suggestion for your spreadsheet, to reduce the amount of typing you have to do. After the last day he got PZI, put a blank line in the spreadsheet and label it "start Lantus". After that, your Units just have to be numbers of units given, not type of insulin.
 
A suggestion for your spreadsheet, to reduce the amount of typing you have to do. After the last day he got PZI, put a blank line in the spreadsheet and label it "start Lantus". After that, your Units just have to be numbers of units given, not type of insulin.

When you reach 50 posts, Perhaps you might want to start a new thread perhaps titled
"Kobe" 'Continuation to Introduction Post DKA' - :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:, :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top