New Member Hunter 10-28 AMPS 457

Status
Not open for further replies.

JENNof2

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-10-24-hunter-amps-309-4-166.270012/#post-3011094


New member, so I hope I linked yesterdays post and ss and signature are updated correctly.

Hunters numbers were in 100s range all afternoon yesterday, and vet advised if PMPS was below 250, no shot, so NS was given as his PMPS was 173.

this morning, his AMPS was 485, the highest it has been. gave dose and at +1 he is at 359. was this a bounce?
have a call in to vet to ask about altering dose later today instead of eliminating?

does feeding small amounts during the day effect this at all, and what about over night?

vet called and advises to stay with 2 u if over 250 for a few days to help regulate.
 
Last edited:
I posted all the info on your previous thread. He was higher this am because he had no insulin last night so that’s normal. I continue to disagree with your vet on the 2 units starting dose. I believe it’s too high and he should be at 1 unit twice a day to start. As I said before, smaller meals throughout the day are totally fine. That’s what most of us do. If you have him at a dose that’s too high and you keep having to skip doses because he goes too low, it’s harder to get him regulated as insulin needs consistency. I believe that’s the main issue here, but would love to hear other members feedback.

In addition, most vets dose by the preshot numbers as evidenced by what your vet said. We here dose by the nadir, or the lowest your cat goes in a cycle. The 98 you got yesterday an hour after feeding is an indication he would have gone even lower without the food. I would go down to at least 1.5 units. Do you have 1/2 unit marked syringes?

lastly, if you could do us a huge favor and use the “like” feature to indicate that you’ve read our posts, that would be great. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-10-24-hunter-amps-309-4-166.270012/#post-3011094


New member, so I hope I linked yesterdays post and ss and signature are updated correctly.

Hunters numbers were in 100s range all afternoon yesterday, and vet advised if PMPS was below 250, no shot, so NS was given as his PMPS was 173.

this morning, his AMPS was 485, the highest it has been. gave dose and at +1 he is at 359. was this a bounce?
have a call in to vet to ask about altering dose later today instead of eliminating?

does feeding small amounts during the day effect this at all, and what about over night?

vet called and advises to stay with 2 u if over 250 for a few days to help regulate.

@FrostD
Let's see what Melissa thinks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top