New member, diagnosed 5 June

Cloe & Jake

Member
Hello!

Thanks for this wonderful resource, this disease would be so overwhelming without all you experts to provide advice and protocols.

My 17 year old baby Jake was diagnosed with diabetes on the 5th June with a BGL of 42 (765). Believe it or not, he had normal BGLs on his bloods 10 days and 4 weeks prior! He had had many blood tests due to extreme thirst and then developed wobbliness when he was finally diagnosed. He commenced on toujeo and has had a very poor, but variable response to this. On 3 units, he would consistently hypo due to the large overlap of doses (usually nadir around + 14 hrs) but with 2 units, we couldn't get him below 20 (360). He also has CKD with severe proteinuria (UPC 1.5), which complicates his treatment. His specialist vet wants to change to actrapid and/or senvelgo treatment, but these both seem high risk to me...

This week, I have changed Jake to Glargine U100 (optisulin) to allow syringe dosing with half units. The response has been variable, with some days having nadirs of 6-9 (110-160), and others not dropping below HI (500+). When there is a response, the curve seems more predictable for 12 hourly dosing though. While not perfect, this already seems better than the almost three months of Toujeo.

His diet is medium carb as I am juggling other health issues with him too. The wet (which is most of his diet) is 12% ME carbs, this is a renal diet and the best I could find for carbs with his kidney needs. The dry is 9% ME carbs, but the lower carb options were too high in phosphorus for his kidneys. I am hoping this is an okay compromise. He eats very little dry compared to wet.

I would really appreciate your input on his spreadsheet and dosing. He changed to glargine on the 21st Aug. Should I maintain the 2.5 unit dose as some days it has a good response or should I increase to 3 units? I wish to do the tight regulation dosing or as close to that as possible. He has CGM via freestyle libre, however I work outside of the home so it is hard for me to treat hypos promptly if I am at work so this needs to be taken into account. The vet gets me to administer glucose when BGL is below 5 (90).

Thanks!

Cloe & Jake
 
Welcome to FDMB!

I'm not sure why your vet suggested Senvelgo. If a cat has been previously treated with insulin, Senvelgo is contraindicated. Actrapid, which is a fast acting insulin, at least in the US, looks like it's only used for managing diabetic ketoacidosis. It's not used as a general treatment for feline diabetes.

I'm glad you made the switch to glargine. Frankly, there's not much research on the use of Toujeo in cats. We actually set up an insulin support group for it's use and the traffic on that board is nonexistent. The traffic on our Lantus board, on the other hand, is enormous. In fact, I'd encourage you to read the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. I think your having a broader understanding of how glargine works will be helpful. I'd strongly recommend you take a look at the post on dosing methods. Many of us more senior members here are old hands at TR. It's a great method for managing your cat's diabetes. We have the instructions laid out in the dosing methods post.

I have a couple of thoughts. Lantus/glargine dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (i.e., the nadir). You do not adjust the dose based on the pre-shot numbers unless the number is unexpectedly low. Typically, you hold the dose at least 3 days (if following Tight Regulation) or a week with Start Low Go Slow. You've been holding Jake's doses much longer. Holding a dose that isn't getting your cat into the blood glucose range that closer to normal can cause glucose toxicity. The name of this is awful but what it means is that your cat's body begins to treat the higher numbers as his new "normal."

The other thing I think is happening is that Jake is "bouncing." His body isn't used to spending time in closer to normal numbers. When he drops into lower numbers, drops into a range his body misinterprets, or his numbers drop fast, his liver and pancreas panic. They release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to spike upward. The bounce can last for several days.

Regarding food, if your cat is on a renal diet, have you given any thought to the use of a phosphorus binder? You cat could eat any canned food since th binder will prevent any problems with kidney issues. If you've not already found this site, Tanya's guide to feline kidney disease is a wonderful resource. Is there a reason you're feeding your cat any dry food?

I'm also tagging one of our members who's in Australia. Bron may be aware of additional resources. @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Welcome to FDMB!

I'm not sure why your vet suggested Senvelgo. If a cat has been previously treated with insulin, Senvelgo is contraindicated. Actrapid, which is a fast acting insulin, at least in the US, looks like it's only used for managing diabetic ketoacidosis. It's not used as a general treatment for feline diabetes.

I'm glad you made the switch to glargine. Frankly, there's not much research on the use of Toujeo in cats. We actually set up an insulin support group for it's use and the traffic on that board is nonexistent. The traffic on our Lantus board, on the other hand, is enormous. In fact, I'd encourage you to read the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. I think your having a broader understanding of how glargine works will be helpful. I'd strongly recommend you take a look at the post on dosing methods. Many of us more senior members here are old hands at TR. It's a great method for managing your cat's diabetes. We have the instructions laid out in the dosing methods post.

I have a couple of thoughts. Lantus/glargine dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (i.e., the nadir). You do not adjust the dose based on the pre-shot numbers unless the number is unexpectedly low. Typically, you hold the dose at least 3 days (if following Tight Regulation) or a week with Start Low Go Slow. You've been holding Jake's doses much longer. Holding a dose that isn't getting your cat into the blood glucose range that closer to normal can cause glucose toxicity. The name of this is awful but what it means is that your cat's body begins to treat the higher numbers as his new "normal."

The other thing I think is happening is that Jake is "bouncing." His body isn't used to spending time in closer to normal numbers. When he drops into lower numbers, drops into a range his body misinterprets, or his numbers drop fast, his liver and pancreas panic. They release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to spike upward. The bounce can last for several days.

Regarding food, if your cat is on a renal diet, have you given any thought to the use of a phosphorus binder? You cat could eat any canned food since th binder will prevent any problems with kidney issues. If you've not already found this site, Tanya's guide to feline kidney disease is a wonderful resource. Is there a reason you're feeding your cat any dry food?

I'm also tagging one of our members who's in Australia. Bron may be aware of additional resources. @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks for the welcome :)
I had been following the vet’s advice on dosing but I’m frustrated with the lack of results so I have decided to do my own thing now and look at the protocols and evidence instead, which seem to suggest different things to what she is telling me to do. When I asked about the senvelgo, she just told me specialists know more than me and she doesn’t have time to go through the evidence… though the manufacturers guidelines clearly say it is not for use with insulin dependent diabetics! Anyway, that is why I had been holding doses for long periods.
If Jake is bouncing now, should I hold his current 2.5 dose and wait that out, or should I increase it anyway?
As for diet, unfortunately it’s more the protein content that is the issue with his severe proteinuria rather than phosphorus otherwise a binder would be much easier! He only has minimal dry and it’s mainly there incase he runs low while I’m not home. The vet did tell me he must have dry food access at all times for this but mainly a wet diet otherwise, which is what I’ve done.
Thanks for your help
 
Hi and Welcome Cloe and Jake.
I agree with everything Sienne was said. My Sheba was a real bouncer and it can be frustrating and confusing as to what to do with the dose until you understand what bouncing is. As Sienne said, glargine dosing is based on the nadir, so if Jake is getting blue BGs on 2.5 units, I would wait at least 10 cycles before increasing. Try not to be freaked out with the higher numbers that the bouncing is creating.

What dry food are you feeding? All dry food in Australia is high carb. The lowest carb would be Hills diabetic which is around 17% carbs which is high carb but not nearly as high as most other dry foods.

What wet food are you feeding?
What stage CRD is he? Oh I see stage 3. Unless he is very advanced, the current thinking is nit to restrict the protein.
What medications is he on?
I’m glad you found us
 
Hi and Welcome Cloe and Jake.
I agree with everything Sienne was said. My Sheba was a real bouncer and it can be frustrating and confusing as to what to do with the dose until you understand what bouncing is. As Sienne said, glargine dosing is based on the nadir, so if Jake is getting blue BGs on 2.5 units, I would wait at least 10 cycles before increasing. Try not to be freaked out with the higher numbers that the bouncing is creating.

What dry food are you feeding? All dry food in Australia is high carb. The lowest carb would be Hills diabetic which is around 17% carbs which is high carb but not nearly as high as most other dry foods.

What wet food are you feeding?
What stage CRD is he? Oh I see stage 3. Unless he is very advanced, the current thinking is nit to restrict the protein.
What medications is he on?
I’m glad you found us
Hi Bron, thanks for your reply. I will hold on increasing for a few more days and see how we go. I am feeling optimistic with the glargine so hopefully we can break through the bouncing. The food is the Hills M/D - the website says 15% carbs dry matter and when I worked out the calories from carbs percentage I thought it was 9% but perhaps I miscalculated. He was on K/D before that so it’s a huge improvement but it is high in protein so not ideal but these sugars would be destroying his kidneys anyway so I’m trying to compromise. The wet food is Purina Pro Plan Vet Renal Advanced pouches. I think the thinking is to reduce protein due to his severe proteinuria as this has very poor prognosis regardless of CKD stage sadly. He isn’t on any medications as they can’t start him on one for the proteinuria until he is stable with his diabetes and dehydration etc. His electrolytes are improving thankfully so hopefully with the new insulin we can get everything looking a bit more positive :)
 
He isn’t on any medications as they can’t start him on one for the proteinuria until he is stable with his diabetes and dehydration etc. His electrolytes are improving thankfully so hopefully with the new insulin we can get everything looking a bit more positive :)
My Sheba was on benazapril for proteinuria and she was certainly not stable at the time. I’m going to ask @Wendy&Neko and @Suzanne & Darcy to comment on that.
A good protein which is a pure protein and low in phosphorus is cooked egg white. I used to give it to Sheba. I would hard boil the eggs and mash the egg white in her food and she ate it ok.
 
The vet did tell me he must have dry food access at all times for this but mainly a wet diet otherwise,
Huh? That's the first time I've ever heard that. Wet food is best for kidney cats.

My Neko had stage 3 CKD, as well as the diabetes and heart disease and small lymphoma. And was put on benazapril when her UPCR hit 1.0. It did get as high as 1.4. You really do want to treat for the proteinuria now or the kidney disease will progress more quickly. Telmisartan is an alternative medication sometimes used for proteinuria now. Any chance you can get a referral to an internal medicine vet. Seems Jake may be out of your vets wheelhouse now. IM vets are great for complicated cases, and prioritizing issues and balancing meds. An aside, Neko's IM vet said her raw diet was the best thing she could be on.

A favour to ask on the spreadsheet, could you put a blank line between the days you stopped using Toujeo and started using Lantus (good move). And label it "start Lantus". That blank line makes it easier for us to see the change. Typically starting doses are held for 5-7 days to build the Lantus depot. It looks like you just held for 3.5 days?
 
Huh? That's the first time I've ever heard that. Wet food is best for kidney cats.

My Neko had stage 3 CKD, as well as the diabetes and heart disease and small lymphoma. And was put on benazapril when her UPCR hit 1.0. It did get as high as 1.4. You really do want to treat for the proteinuria now or the kidney disease will progress more quickly. Telmisartan is an alternative medication sometimes used for proteinuria now. Any chance you can get a referral to an internal medicine vet. Seems Jake may be out of your vets wheelhouse now. IM vets are great for complicated cases, and prioritizing issues and balancing meds. An aside, Neko's IM vet said her raw diet was the best thing she could be on.

A favour to ask on the spreadsheet, could you put a blank line between the days you stopped using Toujeo and started using Lantus (good move). And label it "start Lantus". That blank line makes it easier for us to see the change. Typically starting doses are held for 5-7 days to build the Lantus depot. It looks like you just held for 3.5 days?
This advice is all from an internal medicine specialist! Honestly, I thought the general vet’s advice to change to a low carb food and glargine rather than Toujeo was more logical than the specialist’s plan to add actrapid and senvelgo so I have done that instead… but they are just following the specialist on the kidney stuff. I’ll fix the spreadsheet. I went up after six doses as I thought that’s what the TR post said to do if having nadirs over 300 but now I see that is bouncing. I’ve held on with the 2.5 now and haven’t increased further.
 
If all the numbers are above 300, you can go up after six doses, but he did see some numbers below 200 on the 2.0 units. Think about answering the question "how low can this dose take my cat?". Numbers under 200 mean you increase by 0.25 units, but after 6-10 cycles. You'd hold longer for low 100's (blues), less for high blues. So far he's see a 133 on this dose.

A note about the World version of the spreadsheet, it doesn't translate "Hi" to the US version, so you have to manually go and replace those on the US tab.
 
If all the numbers are above 300, you can go up after six doses, but he did see some numbers below 200 on the 2.0 units. Think about answering the question "how low can this dose take my cat?". Numbers under 200 mean you increase by 0.25 units, but after 6-10 cycles. You'd hold longer for low 100's (blues), less for high blues. So far he's see a 133 on this dose.

A note about the World version of the spreadsheet, it doesn't translate "Hi" to the US version, so you have to manually go and replace those on the US tab.
It is so hard to do nothing when he is running high :( especially as he is much more symptomatic with that than he is with any hypos, which so far have been easily controlled with glucose. On high days, he sits over his water bowl and drenches himself with how much he drinks and stumbles badly when he walks from the neuropathy. It is amazing how quickly he is back to normal when we can get it down but very hard to hold doses knowing he is suffering :( I have increased by 0.25 (to 2.75) this morning after 7 days on 2.5 units. He hasn’t dropped below HI and is having a very bad day so I am tempted to jump to a 0.5 unit increase tonight instead (3 units).
 
If there is any way you can transition Jake to a fully canned food diet, you can follow the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol. This would allow you to raise the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. One of the guidelines for TR is that the cat is on a low carb, canned food diet since this is what the research was based on.

The rationale for holding doses is that Lantus is a depot type of insulin. Every time you give an injection, the insulin forms microcrystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. Most of the crystals dissolve over the course of the 12-hour cycle. However, not all dissolve and there is carryover into the next cycle. This gives Lantus is long duration and gentle action. It also means that you need to give your cat's system a chance for the depot to stabilize with any change in dose. If you make back to back changes, you can end up with wonky numbers.
 
Cloe -
I was discussing Jake's spreadsheet with the other moderators. No offense but his spreadsheet is ugly. I hate all of those high numbers as much as you do. Ideally, if you can switch him to a canned food diet that would be best. A transition can take time, though. I'd like to suggest that you follow the dosing guidelines for Tight Regulation and consider dose increases after 3 days/6 cycles. We are suggesting "fast tracking" Jake's dosing. Please don't get overly zealous with dose increases, though.

I'm going to ask some of our more experienced members to keep an eye out for your posts. I work during the week and I'm not always able to check on the Board. I'd like to have some eyes on Jake's progress.
 
Cloe -
I was discussing Jake's spreadsheet with the other moderators. No offense but his spreadsheet is ugly. I hate all of those high numbers as much as you do. Ideally, if you can switch him to a canned food diet that would be best. A transition can take time, though. I'd like to suggest that you follow the dosing guidelines for Tight Regulation and consider dose increases after 3 days/6 cycles. We are suggesting "fast tracking" Jake's dosing. Please don't get overly zealous with dose increases, though.

I'm going to ask some of our more experienced members to keep an eye out for your posts. I work during the week and I'm not always able to check on the Board. I'd like to have some eyes on Jake's progress.
Thank you so much for your help. I am getting very worried about him as his neuropathy is getting worse too. I’m giving him Vitamin B12 but only a small amount due to the kidneys. He is still eating so I assume no DKA currently. Should I be checking ketones even if he is not symptomatic (good appetite, no vomiting etc)?
 
Is it methyl B12 you are giving?

Testing ketones when in high numbers is a good habit to get into.
 
There are several forms of B12. The more commonly available form is cyanocobalamin. For diabetic neuropathy, you want to get a different form -- methylcobalamin or methyl-B12. You need to check the label to be sure what form it is that you're getting. While not the least expensive product, Zobaline is a methyl-B121 that's been formulated for diabetics -- there's no sugar in the capsules.

I agree with Wendy. Testing for ketones is a good idea. You can get urine test strips (e.g., Ketostix or a similar brand) at most pharmacies.
 
There are several forms of B12. The more commonly available form is cyanocobalamin. For diabetic neuropathy, you want to get a different form -- methylcobalamin or methyl-B12. You need to check the label to be sure what form it is that you're getting. While not the least expensive product, Zobaline is a methyl-B121 that's been formulated for diabetics -- there's no sugar in the capsules.

I agree with Wendy. Testing for ketones is a good idea. You can get urine test strips (e.g., Ketostix or a similar brand) at most pharmacies.
Yes he is taking methylcobalamin but a much smaller dose than Zobaline due to the risk of toxicity with impaired kidney function. I give him 1000mcg every second day and he has been having it for about 2 months. I believe this is the max dose that can be given with CKD? Jake is notably worse in the past few days while his sugars have been persistently high. He is falling over and can’t jump onto the bed or couch today. This is what he was like the day he was diagnosed when I rushed him into the emergency vet (despite normal glucose on his bloods ten days prior). He didn’t have DKA then and his sudden onset wobbliness improved with some diabetic control though it’s been limited control. This is the first time it has really got bad again. I will start testing for ketones. I am getting very worried and reconsidering the vet’s idea to give actrapid at home.
 
I know it's hard but please give the insulin time to work. Lantus doesn't have an immediate impact. The depot needs to stabilize given the dose increase. It can take a few cycles.
 
When my Neko's spreadsheet of red and black (including many a "Hi") at the beginning, I felt the desperation you may be feeling too. The feeling of just needing to do something, anything to help my cat. You need to trust the process. The Lantus depot can take 5-6 cycles before you start seeing the results of a given dose. You've just started cycle 4.

Testing ketones is a good idea, some tips here: Tips to catch and test a urine sample

Using a fast acting insulin, or actrapid, is an advanced technique that we sometimes do, but mostly for caregivers who have a good understanding of how their cat uses the basal insulin, in this case Lantus. The fast acting insulin is layered on top of that and should only be used with guidance. It is quite easy to make the situation worse, not better, with fast acting insulin in the picture. There is a lot to learn about using fast acting insulin, and even more about when not to use it. Ketones present are one of the use cases for fast acting insulin. In North America we use something called R or Regular insulin - so keep that in mind if I accidentally use that term instead.
 
At what point should I take him to the emergency vet for an Act Rapid shot? He has been high for many days now and is not doing well symptomatically. I did take him to the local vet yesterday and they suggested increasing the dose to 6 units on Monday when they are around to monitor him. They also mentioned acromegaly testing and abdominal ultrasound. Euthanasia was mentioned if we can’t improve his sugars soon. They said he would be feeling very unwell and I need to consider his quality of life. I am worried about him! There are no ketones but he seems off. Should I be taking him to the emergency vet instead of waiting until monday?
 
I am glad to hear there are no ketones. That is very good indeed. That makes this less urgent that if there was. I have seen some cats be in high numbers much longer than Jake has been. It's just a week and a half since he saw numbers under 200.

Going to 6 units is a big jump in dose. But 2 units of a U-300 insulin which is what he was on, is the same as 6 units of a U-100 insulin. Is that the vet's thinking for that dose suggestion? Typically when going from one depot style insulin to another, we'll go at 70% of the previous insulin dose to start, in case there is a strong reaction to the change. I've not seen enough Toujeo to Glargine switches to see what dose is best to switch to. With glargine and determir (Levemir) there is plenty of data to suggest a good switching dose (70% to start). And thinking more of it, the initial under 200's he saw on glargine were probably the influence of the Toujeo depot. That depot has been depleted and the 4 units of glargine is likely not enough.

I think if you do 4 cycles total at 4.0 units and are seeing nothing below 400, you can go to 5.0 units. Note to any lurkers, this is a special case for Chloe & Jake only. Jake was started on the second insulin at too low a dose and he could have some secondary condition that make dosing more challenging.

Acromegaly is not a reason to euthanize. My girl lived 5 years with it. And there are better treatments available now. I am glad they are suggesting that you test for it. The sooner treatment is started, the better.

Regarding the fast acting insulin, I think you can wait as long as you test daily for ketones, and there are none. What do you mean by "seems off"?
 
I am glad to hear there are no ketones. That is very good indeed. That makes this less urgent that if there was. I have seen some cats be in high numbers much longer than Jake has been. It's just a week and a half since he saw numbers under 200.

Going to 6 units is a big jump in dose. But 2 units of a U-300 insulin which is what he was on, is the same as 6 units of a U-100 insulin. Is that the vet's thinking for that dose suggestion? Typically when going from one depot style insulin to another, we'll go at 70% of the previous insulin dose to start, in case there is a strong reaction to the change. I've not seen enough Toujeo to Glargine switches to see what dose is best to switch to. With glargine and determir (Levemir) there is plenty of data to suggest a good switching dose (70% to start). And thinking more of it, the initial under 200's he saw on glargine were probably the influence of the Toujeo depot. That depot has been depleted and the 4 units of glargine is likely not enough.

I think if you do 4 cycles total at 4.0 units and are seeing nothing below 400, you can go to 5.0 units. Note to any lurkers, this is a special case for Chloe & Jake only. Jake was started on the second insulin at too low a dose and he could have some secondary condition that make dosing more challenging.

Acromegaly is not a reason to euthanize. My girl lived 5 years with it. And there are better treatments available now. I am glad they are suggesting that you test for it. The sooner treatment is started, the better.

Regarding the fast acting insulin, I think you can wait as long as you test daily for ketones, and there are none. What do you mean by "seems off"?
Thank you so much. I didn’t realise the doses worked like that. I thought the Toujeo and Glargine switch was equal with the Toujeo just being a smaller more concentrated volume. His Toujeo was always very long lasting (it was problematic for dosing tbh) so it makes sense that those first days of Glargine only worked well due to the impact of Toujeo’s depot! I will follow that dosing plan, sounds good to me.

I am also very against euthanizing him as he is still eating, greeting me at the door every day, cuddling and following me around the house. His neuropathy is very bad though and he can no longer jump onto the couch or bed but I have ordered some pet stairs for him. I am hoping we can reverse it with better diabetic control. The vet said he is putting on a brave face but is probably feeling rotten with those high sugars, but I’m still hopeful with dose increases and maybe an acro diagnosis that we can improve it. Cabergoline is a promising option if he has acro. He is still fighting hard and showing some good signs so I won’t give up on him yet. Thank you for your help ❤️
 
I might have jumped the gun. I should have asked you what you were using to inject the insulin. Pens needles or syringes and you did switch when you went from Toujeo to glargine? We had one case of someone who was donated a pen and kept using her syringes to shoot the new pen, to find her cat mired in higher numbers was suddenly looking good to the point of needing dose reductions. Turns out the new "pen" was Toujeo that she was measuring using the U-100 Lantus syringes. That cat was getting 3 times the previous insulin amount.

In Australia, there is also someone doing the hypophysectomy surgery that was trained by the Royal Vet Clinic (gold standard treatment if done by experienced surgeon). We've also had some great stories of cabergoline here too, but it works best if the tumour is smaller. Neko had radiation therapy, the only treatment available at the time.
 
I might have jumped the gun. I should have asked you what you were using to inject the insulin. Pens needles or syringes and you did switch when you went from Toujeo to glargine? We had one case of someone who was donated a pen and kept using her syringes to shoot the new pen, to find her cat mired in higher numbers was suddenly looking good to the point of needing dose reductions. Turns out the new "pen" was Toujeo that she was measuring using the U-100 Lantus syringes. That cat was getting 3 times the previous insulin amount.

In Australia, there is also someone doing the hypophysectomy surgery that was trained by the Royal Vet Clinic (gold standard treatment if done by experienced surgeon). We've also had some great stories of cabergoline here too, but it works best if the tumour is smaller. Neko had radiation therapy, the only treatment available at the time.
I was using a pen for Toujeo but now syringes for Glargine. Unfortunately that surgeon is 1300km away from us as the vet did mention that. The nearest clinic for radiation is there too so we really only have medical treatment as an option.
 
We are going into a big drop tonight. It’s 1:40am here, Jake had his insulin at 10pm. I gave the insulin dose as previously on Glargine it rises rapidly from +12 to +14 and the Libre said BGL 14 (252) with a quick rising arrow. I have woken to a hypo alarm and fed him some high carb wet food and glucose 1ml. It is only +3 hrs so I think we are in for a long night. Very unexpected.
 
You don't need to feed glucose at 99 (5.5) or even high carb food. Some regular low carb food should be good enough at that point. Try not to fill him up, as you may need him to be hungry later when the high carbs wears off. I see that the spreadsheet Remarks says he saw 3.1. Always best to mention/record the lows, as we dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.

Do you have any way of doing a manual test with a hand held blood glucose meter? Often the Libre registers quite a bit lower than the hand held in the under 100 range.

Looks like you don't need to increase the dose after all! Cats tend to react to a threat to increase the dose, by going lower. 🤣
 
You don't need to feed glucose at 99 (5.5) or even high carb food. Some regular low carb food should be good enough at that point. Try not to fill him up, as you may need him to be hungry later when the high carbs wears off. I see that the spreadsheet Remarks says he saw 3.1. Always best to mention/record the lows, as we dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.

Do you have any way of doing a manual test with a hand held blood glucose meter? Often the Libre registers quite a bit lower than the hand held in the under 100 range.

Looks like you don't need to increase the dose after all! Cats tend to react to a threat to increase the dose, by going lower. 🤣
I treated at 3.1 (55). I’ve changed the spreadsheet so it reflects that better now. The vet told me to treat under 5 so I’m still adjusting and learning with the TR protocol. Jake and I just went for a bit of a drive to the 24 hr pharmacy and I’ve picked up a manual machine, strips and lancets should we need them. It looks like we are in the clear now. I was worried he would drop a lot further. What does this mean for his morning dose? Thanks so much for your help.
 
When following TR, you reduce if their BG (blood glucose) goes under 50 (2.8). He came close, but did not. Stay with 4.0 units for now unless you see under 50. The first time he sees under 100 with TR, you stay with that dose for 5 days/10 cycles. He may bounce higher for a few days, but that 10 days gives us time to see if he can come back down to under 100 again.
 
When following TR, you reduce if their BG (blood glucose) goes under 50 (2.8). He came close, but did not. Stay with 4.0 units for now unless you see under 50. The first time he sees under 100 with TR, you stay with that dose for 5 days/10 cycles. He may bounce higher for a few days, but that 10 days gives us time to see if he can come back down to under 100 again.
Okay thank you. Looking at it now, it looks like that was a low number as the morning dose was probably still working and the night dose kicked in. The rest of the night was more what I would expect without any overlapping effect. It is hovering around 20 now and the next dose is due in 30 mins. I have work from +3 to +12 today so I won’t know what’s going on (I’ll get the data when I get home but it won’t be real time so I can’t respond to hypos). But we are starting at a higher AMPS than last nights PMPS so I’m hoping it’ll be okay.
 
This is a post that has information on bouncing. Bouncing is not a formally recognized term and it's likely that if you mention it to your vet, the vet will think you're talking about Somogy rebound. The link has information that debunks Somogy.

Bounces are a normal phenomenon -- annoying but normal. Most of the time, they begin to taper off once your cat becomes more accustomed to spending time in lower blood glucose numbers. However, some cats just like to bounce. A bounce typically runs its course in 3 days or less.
 
We are up to the tenth cycle on 4u. Should I hold this dose for a while longer or increase to 4.25u? It looked like we broke the bounce yesterday but numbers still aren’t ideal.
 
Hi, I’m just after some advice please regarding giving shots early and dose changes. I work one week a month of night shifts, which requires me to change the time of Jake’s dose for that week. Usually I would slowly change it by 15-30 mins each dose but I haven’t been able to do that this time with my roster. I usually shoot at 10/10. I will need to give tomorrow night’s dose at 8:30pm. He had his usual 10pm dose tonight. I am thinking of giving the morning dose at 9:15am to split the time change into two 45 min blocks rather than one dose 1.5 hours early. Should I also give a reduced dose? I think he has earned himself another dose increase (provided he stays above 200 tonight), which is worth taking into account. I struggled with the 1/4 unit dosing so I increased by 1/2 unit. My vet recommends to increase by full units at this point. Either way, he has earned a dose of 4.75 at the least by tomorrow night. Keeping that in mind, should I give him a smaller dose if it’s 45 mins early? Thanks!
 
Back
Top