Cloe & Jake
New Member
Hello!
Thanks for this wonderful resource, this disease would be so overwhelming without all you experts to provide advice and protocols.
My 17 year old baby Jake was diagnosed with diabetes on the 5th June with a BGL of 42 (765). Believe it or not, he had normal BGLs on his bloods 10 days and 4 weeks prior! He had had many blood tests due to extreme thirst and then developed wobbliness when he was finally diagnosed. He commenced on toujeo and has had a very poor, but variable response to this. On 3 units, he would consistently hypo due to the large overlap of doses (usually nadir around + 14 hrs) but with 2 units, we couldn't get him below 20 (360). He also has CKD with severe proteinuria (UPC 1.5), which complicates his treatment. His specialist vet wants to change to actrapid and/or senvelgo treatment, but these both seem high risk to me...
This week, I have changed Jake to Glargine U100 (optisulin) to allow syringe dosing with half units. The response has been variable, with some days having nadirs of 6-9 (110-160), and others not dropping below HI (500+). When there is a response, the curve seems more predictable for 12 hourly dosing though. While not perfect, this already seems better than the almost three months of Toujeo.
His diet is medium carb as I am juggling other health issues with him too. The wet (which is most of his diet) is 12% ME carbs, this is a renal diet and the best I could find for carbs with his kidney needs. The dry is 9% ME carbs, but the lower carb options were too high in phosphorus for his kidneys. I am hoping this is an okay compromise. He eats very little dry compared to wet.
I would really appreciate your input on his spreadsheet and dosing. He changed to glargine on the 21st Aug. Should I maintain the 2.5 unit dose as some days it has a good response or should I increase to 3 units? I wish to do the tight regulation dosing or as close to that as possible. He has CGM via freestyle libre, however I work outside of the home so it is hard for me to treat hypos promptly if I am at work so this needs to be taken into account. The vet gets me to administer glucose when BGL is below 5 (90).
Thanks!
Cloe & Jake
Thanks for this wonderful resource, this disease would be so overwhelming without all you experts to provide advice and protocols.
My 17 year old baby Jake was diagnosed with diabetes on the 5th June with a BGL of 42 (765). Believe it or not, he had normal BGLs on his bloods 10 days and 4 weeks prior! He had had many blood tests due to extreme thirst and then developed wobbliness when he was finally diagnosed. He commenced on toujeo and has had a very poor, but variable response to this. On 3 units, he would consistently hypo due to the large overlap of doses (usually nadir around + 14 hrs) but with 2 units, we couldn't get him below 20 (360). He also has CKD with severe proteinuria (UPC 1.5), which complicates his treatment. His specialist vet wants to change to actrapid and/or senvelgo treatment, but these both seem high risk to me...
This week, I have changed Jake to Glargine U100 (optisulin) to allow syringe dosing with half units. The response has been variable, with some days having nadirs of 6-9 (110-160), and others not dropping below HI (500+). When there is a response, the curve seems more predictable for 12 hourly dosing though. While not perfect, this already seems better than the almost three months of Toujeo.
His diet is medium carb as I am juggling other health issues with him too. The wet (which is most of his diet) is 12% ME carbs, this is a renal diet and the best I could find for carbs with his kidney needs. The dry is 9% ME carbs, but the lower carb options were too high in phosphorus for his kidneys. I am hoping this is an okay compromise. He eats very little dry compared to wet.
I would really appreciate your input on his spreadsheet and dosing. He changed to glargine on the 21st Aug. Should I maintain the 2.5 unit dose as some days it has a good response or should I increase to 3 units? I wish to do the tight regulation dosing or as close to that as possible. He has CGM via freestyle libre, however I work outside of the home so it is hard for me to treat hypos promptly if I am at work so this needs to be taken into account. The vet gets me to administer glucose when BGL is below 5 (90).
Thanks!
Cloe & Jake