New member 9/16/26

user47045

Member Since 2026
Hello, everyone. My beautiful 13-year-old boy, Beau, was just diagnosed with diabetes.

A little background: For several years Beau's been going to a local location of Bond Vet, a big corporate vet network, but he had a regular doctor there we really liked. However, she left suddenly in the spring, and we’ve seen a few different doctors since then.

Beau’s blood was tested last week, and we got the devastating news yesterday from a doctor I’ve never spoken to before. The bloodwork showed a significantly elevated blood sugar level of 362, and Beau’s urine also contained a high amount of sugar (3+). (His albumin and cholesterol were also elevated, not sure if that’s relevant.)

For about a year now, Beau has been on prednisolone to manage his gastrointestinal issues (vomiting) and mild pancreatitis. It's possible the prednisolone contributed to the development of diabetes. I’m not sure, I don’t know if there’s any way to determine that. He’s also on a hydrolyzed diet (wet + dry) for the gastro issues.

This new doctor is recommending Beau start on cyclosporine at 5 mg/kg once daily. The cyclosporine will take 2–3 weeks to begin working, so after the first week, I’d start to slowly taper down the prednisolone (over another 2–3 weeks.) This doctor would also like Beau to start insulin therapy right away—either injections or oral meds—and also have a glucose curve test where he’d be at Bond for blood testing for a full day.

I asked if perhaps we should wean him off prednisolone first to see if the diabetes goes into remission—especially if it was the prednisolone that cause the diabetes in the first place—but the doctor does not recommend this because he’s concerned Beau may develop diabetic ketoacidosis. I am concerned too, but I'm feeling overwhelmed by all the information. I’m wondering if I should act immediately with the Bond Vet’s plan or get a second opinion. I have reached out to another doctor (and have a third option to contact) but haven’t heard back yet.

I’m sorry if I made this post too early, but any advice, guidance, or insight while I wait is deeply appreciated. I’m scared and don’t know what to do. Beau is the love of my life. Thank you for this forum. It is good to be among people who understand how special cats are.
 
Welcome to FDMB
It is overwhelming all Beau is going thru, not to mention you, but the good news is that we have very experience members that can help on all your concerns. You do not mention if you are giving insulin, and if you are you home testing? home testing is very important, especially before each shot to avoid a hypoglycemic episode and testing several times during the day, most members use the ReliOn human monitor and strips (Walmart) inexpensive and effective, you do not need an expensive Pet Meter, also a diet between 0-10% carbs with 3-4 meals or snacks during the day plus the two main meals before each shot. a non-diabetic's cat glucose levels is between 50-120 I will tag a couple of members that can give you advice on your other illness concerns, and dosing advice,we are very numbers so we can all be on the same page we would like you to create your signature and Beau's spreadsheet, this will help us assist you better, links below, and no concern is a small one, so keep posting, also on our Main Menu there are sticky notes with a lot of information🫶
@Tim & Pookey
@squeem3

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Thank you so much for your reply, Maria, and may I say that Corky is a very dashing little tabby. 🤎

>You do not mention if you are giving insulin, and if you are you home testing?

Not yet—we just got the diagnosis yesterday and I'm confused about what to do next. I have ordered the recommended Cyclosporin to start getting Beau off prednisolone. Bond Vet is encouraging me to talk to an internal medicine specialist; I'm not sure if that's to arrange to do the ultrasound/glucose curve tests with a specialist or if I should let Bond do those things and then talk to the specialist afterward. I'm just trying to get a clear picture of next steps and how immediately they should be scheduled.

I also have a second-opinion call out to another/different vet who's highly recommended (Beau actually saw this doctor as a kitten), but I may not hear back from him until Monday (9/21). I should add that Beau seems fine at the moment—he's eating, drinking water, eliminating, and cuddling as usual—but I realize that this is very urgent.

> most members use the ReliOn human monitor and strips (Walmart) inexpensive and effective
> also a diet between 0-10% carbs with 3-4 meals or snacks during the day plus the two main meals before each shot

Thank you for the recommendations—I am learning a lot so at least I will be ready whenever things move forward. I've asked Bond Vet about when Beau's diet should change (and to what). I'll start a spreadsheet too. 🙏
 
Thank you so much for your reply, Maria, and may I say that Corky is a very dashing little tabby. 🤎

>You do not mention if you are giving insulin, and if you are you home testing?

Not yet—we just got the diagnosis yesterday and I'm confused about what to do next. I have ordered the recommended Cyclosporin to start getting Beau off prednisolone. Bond Vet is encouraging me to talk to an internal medicine specialist; I'm not sure if that's to arrange to do the ultrasound/glucose curve tests with a specialist or if I should let Bond do those things and then talk to the specialist afterward. I'm just trying to get a clear picture of next steps and how immediately they should be scheduled.

I also have a second-opinion call out to another/different vet who's highly recommended (Beau actually saw this doctor as a kitten), but I may not hear back from him until Monday (9/21). I should add that Beau seems fine at the moment—he's eating, drinking water, eliminating, and cuddling as usual—but I realize that this is very urgent.

> most members use the ReliOn human monitor and strips (Walmart) inexpensive and effective
> also a diet between 0-10% carbs with 3-4 meals or snacks during the day plus the two main meals before each shot

Thank you for the recommendations—I am learning a lot so at least I will be ready whenever things move forward. I've asked Bond Vet about when Beau's diet should change (and to what). I'll start a spreadsheet too. 🙏
Also, SAVE YOUR MONEY, you do not need your vet to complete a curve, a curve is simply testing every 2 hours for 1 cycle (12 hours)
the glucose level for a curve is very expensive and the readings are normally incorrect, since Beau will be very stress during a 12 hour in a cage. if you have doubts about manually testing you can also look into the CGM (link below) however there are some faults, sometimes the sensor falls, or Beau can remove it, (no glue please) it also reads low number lower than reality, so this is where manually testing is required, the sensors last 14 days, and a bit costly, but it is effective if Beau is a rascal at testing time. below is a link on how to home test, and there are many tricks, like find a sock, fill the end with rice, like a golf size to fit the inner ear, tie it. this gives you a better handle on the ear, and no pricking thru the ear, place the palm of your hand softly but firm between the ears so the head does not move, test where he feels most comfortable, before you know it you will be a pro! in about a week of testing the capillaries will swell and it will be easier to draw blood

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-started-with-continuous-glucose-monitors-cgms-for-diabetic-cats.301950/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much for your reply, Maria, and may I say that Corky is a very dashing little tabby. 🤎

>You do not mention if you are giving insulin, and if you are you home testing?

Not yet—we just got the diagnosis yesterday and I'm confused about what to do next. I have ordered the recommended Cyclosporin to start getting Beau off prednisolone. Bond Vet is encouraging me to talk to an internal medicine specialist; I'm not sure if that's to arrange to do the ultrasound/glucose curve tests with a specialist or if I should let Bond do those things and then talk to the specialist afterward. I'm just trying to get a clear picture of next steps and how immediately they should be scheduled.

I also have a second-opinion call out to another/different vet who's highly recommended (Beau actually saw this doctor as a kitten), but I may not hear back from him until Monday (9/21). I should add that Beau seems fine at the moment—he's eating, drinking water, eliminating, and cuddling as usual—but I realize that this is very urgent.

> most members use the ReliOn human monitor and strips (Walmart) inexpensive and effective
> also a diet between 0-10% carbs with 3-4 meals or snacks during the day plus the two main meals before each shot

Thank you for the recommendations—I am learning a lot so at least I will be ready whenever things move forward. I've asked Bond Vet about when Beau's diet should change (and to what). I'll start a spreadsheet too. 🙏
DO NOT get sold on "prescribe/diabetic food" there's no such thing, these foods contain minimum 20-30% carbs and very expensive.

you should also have a HYPO KIT, this includes some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs, some high carb foods between 16-24% carbs, some honey or Karo syrup, this can be very helpful in case of a hypoglycemic episode, if you look at Corky's spreadsheet, you will see that I shoot on low numbers, Corky uses ProZinc, ( ProZinc and Lantus are the best insulins for cats, they are a 12 hour insulin and easy on the cats' system.) it take a long time to get there, but he is also very regulated, if you scroll the SS to the left you will see what, how, and when I feed so you can get an idea
0-10% LOW CARBS
11-15% MEDIUM CARBS
15-24% HIGH CARBS
also a wet food calculator is below, we are looking for DRY MATTER CARBS, place the nutrient of the food in the cells from the label

Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com
 
Maria, yes—the Bond Vet doctor is now saying Beau can wear a Freestyle Libre Device for blood testing, instead of being brought in for an all-day glucose curve test.

Just an update ... per Bond, I am ordering the Lantus insulin (U-100 Injectable, 10-mL vial), plus syringes. I'm not sure what the dosage is yet. When the meds arrive, I'll have a nurse walk me through the administration of it to Beau. I can ask her then about manually testing.

I decided to go ahead with insulin therapy since it will take a few days for the meds to arrive, I'm waiting to hear back from the second-opinion doctor anyway, and it's likely that the second doctor will recommend insulin therapy as well. We're not changing Beau's diet for now.

I'm still a bit concerned about him being on prednisolone, cyclesporine, and insulin all at once, even if it won't be forever for all three. I'm just so worried about my little man and can't stop crying. He is my family, my whole heart. 😿
 
DO NOT get sold on "prescribe/diabetic food" there's no such thing, these foods contain minimum 20-30% carbs and very expensive.

you should also have a HYPO KIT, this includes some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs, some high carb foods between 16-24% carbs, some honey or Karo syrup, this can be very helpful in case of a hypoglycemic episode, if you look at Corky's spreadsheet, you will see that I shoot on low numbers, Corky uses ProZinc, ( ProZinc and Lantus are the best insulins for cats, they are a 12 hour insulin and easy on the cats' system.) it take a long time to get there, but he is also very regulated, if you scroll the SS to the left you will see what, how, and when I feed so you can get an idea
0-10% LOW CARBS
11-15% MEDIUM CARBS
15-24% HIGH CARBS
also a wet food calculator is below, we are looking for DRY MATTER CARBS, place the nutrient of the food in the cells from the label

Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com

The doctor at Bond wants to keep Beau on the hydrolyzed diet for now. It is quite high-carb, however, per the calculator you linked. I will put it on the list to ask the nurse about. (Beau loves his nurse at Bond, so at least there's that.)

Thank you so much for responding.
 
Maria, yes—the Bond Vet doctor is now saying Beau can wear a Freestyle Libre Device for blood testing, instead of being brought in for an all-day glucose curve test.

Just an update ... per Bond, I am ordering the Lantus insulin (U-100 Injectable, 10-mL vial), plus syringes. I'm not sure what the dosage is yet. When the meds arrive, I'll have a nurse walk me through the administration of it to Beau. I can ask her then about manually testing.

I decided to go ahead with insulin therapy since it will take a few days for the meds to arrive, I'm waiting to hear back from the second-opinion doctor anyway, and it's likely that the second doctor will recommend insulin therapy as well. We're not changing Beau's diet for now.

I'm still a bit concerned about him being on prednisolone, cyclesporine, and insulin all at once, even if it won't be forever for all three. I'm just so worried about my little man and can't stop crying. He is my family, my whole heart. 😿
I do not give dosing advice, but the norm is to start with a low dose, it takes several cycles to see results, normally most members start with 1 unit, you should already have the CGM placed, please, if the vet is placing the first sensor make sure he does not apply glue it will damage the sensor, giving you erroneous BG levels, plus it will irritate Beau's skin, and always have at least 2 sensors handy, if it malfunctions, AABOTT will replace them (do not throw away the box of sensor placed) make sure when you call ABBOT, do say is for your cat, otherwise they will not replace it. for the sensor change you do not need the vet for that, the instruction are very easy you can place it yourself, self, saving the vets' visit placement and sensor) get a prescription for many sensors take it to your pharmacy (Walmart pharmacy has the best prices)
 
Maria, yes—the Bond Vet doctor is now saying Beau can wear a Freestyle Libre Device for blood testing, instead of being brought in for an all-day glucose curve test.

Just an update ... per Bond, I am ordering the Lantus insulin (U-100 Injectable, 10-mL vial), plus syringes. I'm not sure what the dosage is yet. When the meds arrive, I'll have a nurse walk me through the administration of it to Beau. I can ask her then about manually testing.

I decided to go ahead with insulin therapy since it will take a few days for the meds to arrive, I'm waiting to hear back from the second-opinion doctor anyway, and it's likely that the second doctor will recommend insulin therapy as well. We're not changing Beau's diet for now.

I'm still a bit concerned about him being on prednisolone, cyclesporine, and insulin all at once, even if it won't be forever for all three. I'm just so worried about my little man and can't stop crying. He is my family, my whole heart. 😿
when you begin diet change, it has to be a slow process since rapid change can cause stomach upset and a sudden low on glucose levels
 
I do not give dosing advice, but the norm is to start with a low dose, it takes several cycles to see results, normally most members start with 1 unit, you should already have the CGM placed, please, if the vet is placing the first sensor make sure he does not apply glue it will damage the sensor, giving you erroneous BG levels, plus it will irritate Beau's skin, and always have at least 2 sensors handy, if it malfunctions, AABOTT will replace them (do not throw away the box of sensor placed) make sure when you call ABBOT, do say is for your cat, otherwise they will not replace it. for the sensor change you do not need the vet for that, the instruction are very easy you can place it yourself, self, saving the vets' visit placement and sensor) get a prescription for many sensors take it to your pharmacy (Walmart pharmacy has the best prices)

Thank you—I'll make sure to get two, I can't imagine Beau Bear won't try to remove the first one, ha ha.

I'm sure his diet will change eventually. It's good to have this time to get informed, at least.
 
.... make sure when you call ABBOT, do say is for your cat, otherwise they will not replace it. for the sensor change you do not need the vet for that, the instruction are very easy you can place it yourself, self, saving the vets' visit placement and sensor) get a prescription for many sensors take it to your pharmacy (Walmart pharmacy has the best prices)
Just to clarify since there's a typo here-- do NOT say it is for your cat.

But there are two different dosing methods people use to determine the dosing initially and then going forward (here). I want to say as someone who is still pretty new, it's scary and overwhelming at first, but the diabetes does become more routine. And please feel free to ask this group questions, even if you think it's dumb!! I gave Crowley's first shots at a trace amount because I thought the 0 line was the .5 line. 😫
 
Does your cat have a specific GI issue? IBD is common and, yes, steroid use can result in diabetes. A switch to a different steroid to manage the GI issue can be helpful. Budesonide is a common one but there are others.

Most cats who have GI issues and diabetes can eat a novel protein canned food diet. No prescription food is needed at all. It's ok to disagree with the vet about food. Some suitable low carb novel protein foods are Rawz, Koha, and Rayne.

Use the 10 ml bottle of Lantus for now but next time ask the vet for the Lantus pens. A box of five pens is at least a year's supply you will have on hand. Each 3ml pen is good to the last drop. There's a coupon to get the box of pens for $35: Info - Sourcing Insulin More Economically

Handle the bottle like liquid gold. Keep it in the fridge and on a shelf, not on the door. For extra protection from accidental drops, put bubble wrap around the bottle. The pens are a bit sturdier and should also be handled gently. Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

You'll want U100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. These are the ideal ones for cats. You can buy these from Amazon with no prescription. Other web sites like Chewy may ask for a prescription. Some brands are listed here: Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Start at no more than 1 unit twice a day. Starting low and not seeing any effect on levels is safer than starting too high and risking a hypo.

FYI, a CGM is expensive and needs to be replaced every 2 weeks but sometimes more often that that. They are known to fall off a cat or malfunction. A member recently had to manually test her spicy cat's blood glucose levels because the levels were too low for the CGM to read. Even with a CGM, you still need to know how to manually test as a back up. Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats
 
He's a little crimeboy but he's so sweet and good at the testing!! He can't use the CGMs because he's a wild child but I investigated them for a bit and I saw ppl talking about how they won't help if you admit because they're being used for cats because it's "off label."

It is funny how much stuff we use for our cats that human diabetics use. I have a friend who is diabetic and I sent her my kit and she was like ???? that is the exact same as like what I would use (except the freeze dried chicken breast)
 
Does your cat have a specific GI issue? IBD is common and, yes, steroid use can result in diabetes. A switch to a different steroid to manage the GI issue can be helpful. Budesonide is a common one but there are others.

Most cats who have GI issues and diabetes can eat a novel protein canned food diet. No prescription food is needed at all. It's ok to disagree with the vet about food. Some suitable low carb novel protein foods are Rawz, Koha, and Rayne.

Use the 10 ml bottle of Lantus for now but next time ask the vet for the Lantus pens. A box of five pens is at least a year's supply you will have on hand. Each 3ml pen is good to the last drop. There's a coupon to get the box of pens for $35: Info - Sourcing Insulin More Economically

Handle the bottle like liquid gold. Keep it in the fridge and on a shelf, not on the door. For extra protection from accidental drops, put bubble wrap around the bottle. The pens are a bit sturdier and should also be handled gently. Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

You'll want U100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. These are the ideal ones for cats. You can buy these from Amazon with no prescription. Other web sites like Chewy may ask for a prescription. Some brands are listed here: Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Start at no more than 1 unit twice a day. Starting low and not seeing any effect on levels is safer than starting too high and risking a hypo.

FYI, a CGM is expensive and needs to be replaced every 2 weeks but sometimes more often that that. They are known to fall off a cat or malfunction. A member recently had to manually test her spicy cat's blood glucose levels because the levels were too low for the CGM to read. Even with a CGM, you still need to know how to manually test as a back up. Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

Thank you so much for all of this wonderful information. I'm still overwhelmed and worried for my boy, but I feel worlds better than if I had been left alone to parse only the information I was given by the vet.

Beau does have IBD, although he gets his prednisolone in his food (liquid) and sometimes he doesn't eat all his food (probably because of the diabetes). I feel like many days he may not even be getting his full 5ml dose, more like 3–4ml, but the IBD vomiting has not returned. I really wish we could see if getting off prednisolone alone would make his diabetes go into remission, but I'm told if he's crossed over into diabetic then insulin is necessary ASAP. Regardless, I would like to get him off the hydrolyzed food.
 
Two good web sites for IBD:

Feline IBD - Healing can happen!
IBDKitties – Helping Save Lives…One Paw at a Time

You don't need the vet's permission or approval to feed YOUR cat what YOU want. Food is one thing you and the vet can disagree on. Most vets have little education on nutrition and often push the expensive prescription food for various reasons.

My now GA cat was a steroid induced diabetic. He was taking pred for the IBD which resulted in diabetes. The vet switched him to budesonide which is supposed to not affect blood glucose levels but it can for some cats like mine. I fed a freeze dried raw diet in rabbit. It was low in carbs for the diabetes and the novel protein helped with the IBD. While some cats can come off steroids for the IBD, they may still be diabetic and need insulin and diet. Others may always need some steroid to help with the IBD. Not every cat can go into remission and that's ok.

Is your cat able to take pills? 5 ml of liquid pred is a lot and most cats hate liquid meds. Pills can be hidden in a Pill Pocket or Churu or something. There may even be a capsule or transdermal gel option that a compounding pharmacy can make.
 
Two good web sites for IBD:

Feline IBD - Healing can happen!
IBDKitties – Helping Save Lives…One Paw at a Time

You don't need the vet's permission or approval to feed YOUR cat what YOU want. Food is one thing you and the vet can disagree on. Most vets have little education on nutrition and often push the expensive prescription food for various reasons.

My now GA cat was a steroid induced diabetic. He was taking pred for the IBD which resulted in diabetes. The vet switched him to budesonide which is supposed to not affect blood glucose levels but it can for some cats like mine. I fed a freeze dried raw diet in rabbit. It was low in carbs for the diabetes and the novel protein helped with the IBD. While some cats can come off steroids for the IBD, they may still be diabetic and need insulin and diet. Others may always need some steroid to help with the IBD. Not every cat can go into remission and that's ok.

Is your cat able to take pills? 5 ml of liquid pred is a lot and most cats hate liquid meds. Pills can be hidden in a Pill Pocket or Churu or something. There may even be a capsule or transdermal gel option that a compounding pharmacy can make.

I agree about the food, and I don't understand why the Bond Vet doctor wouldn't want to start changing Beau's diet now; the hydrolyzed food he's on is very high carb. I may buy some Fancy Feast paté to start and see if Beau likes it, and then transition him slowly over to a better diet myself. I am also more than happy to cook for him. I may also try some slippery elm. And we're seeing the second-opinion doctor Monday morning; I'll see what he says. (btw, what does "GA cat" mean?)

I should have mentioned that Beau Bear was on the liquid pred, but he was a little finicky on some days and not eating all the food that contained the med, so the Bond doctor had us switch to pills earlier this month. I'm supposed to give him 1-1/4 pills a day, but they're so tiny and very hard to cut into quarters, so I've been giving him 1 pill a day (so 4ml). I crush it and half goes into a Churu he eats first thing in the morning, and the other half goes into his hydrolyzed wet food, which he's mostly eating.

Reading "Alex's Story" over at IBDKitties is heartbreaking. Beau was adopted as one of a bonded pair of littermate kittens. We lost his dear sister Minnie to cancer in November 2024, and while our experience was not as extreme as what Alex and her mom went through, I recognize the desperation, the rushing to visit one doctor or clinic after another, and all the things that vets try that don't work (or cause new problems) and start to make you feel that your cat is a science experiment. Beau and I have not really been the same since Minnie died. They loved each other so much, and I loved my little family. I'm so afraid of being in a state like that again, where my cat is sick and I'm trying to get her better but nothing works and I feel helpless. I find it hard to trust doctors but I don't know what else to do sometimes. Like right now I've ordered cyclesporine, insulin, and needles and I'm waiting for the doctor to just approve it already so it will ship. I may not have the insulin until Monday which feels like a lifetime away, I feel like I'm just sitting here wasting time when I could be doing something to make Beau better. I haven't been able to think about anything else for days.

Thank you so much for the help 🙏
 
Last edited:
Just go ahead and change the diet :) You don't need to tell the vet. Lots of members have had to change the diet from high carb dry food to low carb canned food without telling their vet.

IBD cats have sensitive tummies and often can no longer eat chicken, beef, and other common proteins.. A food that is pretty bland with no fillers and is a novel proteins works. Fancy Feast might not work for your cat's IBD.

Personally I'm not a fan of of the corporate chains that are buying up local independent vets. The vet care just seems so impersonal and "by the book". Is your second opinion vet an independent one?

A pill cutter helps. You can't exactly cut a tiny pill into a quarter so you do the best you can. What is the strength of the pred? 5mg?

GA is gone ahead, or a cat who is now at the Bridge.
 
Just go ahead and change the diet :) You don't need to tell the vet. Lots of members have had to change the diet from high carb dry food to low carb canned food without telling their vet.

IBD cats have sensitive tummies and often can no longer eat chicken, beef, and other common proteins.. A food that is pretty bland with no fillers and is a novel proteins works. Fancy Feast might not work for your cat's IBD.

Personally I'm not a fan of of the corporate chains that are buying up local independent vets. The vet care just seems so impersonal and "by the book". Is your second opinion vet an independent one?

A pill cutter helps. You can't exactly cut a tiny pill into a quarter so you do the best you can. What is the strength of the pred? 5mg?

GA is gone ahead, or a cat who is now at the Bridge.

I can pick up some Stella & Chewy's Rabbit Morsels today to at least start the transition. I don't mind cooking for Beau at all, but I'll need to find out where to source rabbit meat (and then probably need to add a meal completer to it). If you have suggestions (or links) for good canned food, I'd love to hear them. And Beau's pred tablets are 5mg, yes. I can't wait until he is off the pred.

I definitely don't like the corporate chains either, although I have had some truly bad experiences at independent vets too. Bond is a 5-minute walk from our apartment, which is amazing, as it greatly reduces the stress of travel (and costs for cabs/Ubers—I live in the city and don't have a car). For a year at Bond, Beau and I had a doctor we really liked and trusted, but she abruptly left and there was no outreach/explanation for it, which felt extremely corporate. And in retrospect I feel she did not warn us sufficiently that Beau could very well become diabetic from the prednisolone. The doctor on Monday is completely independent. He's a bit further away, but he treated my first cat and I believe he cares about animals deeply.

"Gone ahead," I love that. I have had two cats who have GA and there isn't a single day that I don't miss my girls.
 
Squeem3 is correct, the vet does not need to know, besides, the high carbs will only keep the BG high, which will result in the vet increasing the dose, and of course the Vet will want more exams, "more expenses" Beau's pancreas, kidneys and other organs damage with diabetes and high levels if not treated, starting with the correct insulin, not missing shots, and shots can be stalled, by giving tsps. of food, testing until safe to shoot, we can guide you in this process if needed , skip shots only if necessary, keeping the same dose for several cycles, since it takes 2-3 days for the giving dose to take effect in the system
and of course the correct diet, just make sure that the transition from high carbs to low carbs is a slow process, taking away the high carb replacing the low carbs little bits at a time in each meal until he is eating only low carbs, during this process is important to test 2-3 hours after shot and 3-4 times during the day and the pre-shot, the change from high to low carbs tends to have an effect on the BG by lowering the glucose levels 🫶
 
Squeem3 is correct, the vet does not need to know, besides, the high carbs will only keep the BG high, which will result in the vet increasing the dose, and of course the Vet will want more exams, "more expenses" Beau's pancreas, kidneys and other organs damage with diabetes and high levels if not treated, starting with the correct insulin, not missing shots, and shots can be stalled, by giving tsps. of food, testing until safe to shoot, we can guide you in this process if needed , skip shots only if necessary, keeping the same dose for several cycles, since it takes 2-3 days for the giving dose to take effect in the system
and of course the correct diet, just make sure that the transition from high carbs to low carbs is a slow process, taking away the high carb replacing the low carbs little bits at a time in each meal until he is eating only low carbs, during this process is important to test 2-3 hours after shot and 3-4 times during the day and the pre-shot, the change from high to low carbs tends to have an effect on the BG by lowering the glucose levels 🫶

Will do. I'm starting this transition now, while we're waiting for the insulin to be approved and ship.

I just ran out to get Beau Stella & Chewy freeze dried duck/goose ... I came home, mixed a portion with some water, and gave him a teaspoon of it. Happy to report, he LOVES it. He's marching around the kitchen right now making little chirps to ask where it came from and how he can get more. 😹 I wish I could give him a whole dish of it (the package says a cat his size can eat a cup a day) but I want to take it very slowly.
 
Does your cat have a specific GI issue? IBD is common and, yes, steroid use can result in diabetes. A switch to a different steroid to manage the GI issue can be helpful. Budesonide is a common one but there are others.

Most cats who have GI issues and diabetes can eat a novel protein canned food diet. No prescription food is needed at all. It's ok to disagree with the vet about food. Some suitable low carb novel protein foods are Rawz, Koha, and Rayne.

Use the 10 ml bottle of Lantus for now but next time ask the vet for the Lantus pens. A box of five pens is at least a year's supply you will have on hand. Each 3ml pen is good to the last drop. There's a coupon to get the box of pens for $35: Info - Sourcing Insulin More Economically

Handle the bottle like liquid gold. Keep it in the fridge and on a shelf, not on the door. For extra protection from accidental drops, put bubble wrap around the bottle. The pens are a bit sturdier and should also be handled gently. Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

You'll want U100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. These are the ideal ones for cats. You can buy these from Amazon with no prescription. Other web sites like Chewy may ask for a prescription. Some brands are listed here: Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Start at no more than 1 unit twice a day. Starting low and not seeing any effect on levels is safer than starting too high and risking a hypo.

FYI, a CGM is expensive and needs to be replaced every 2 weeks but sometimes more often that that. They are known to fall off a cat or malfunction. A member recently had to manually test her spicy cat's blood glucose levels because the levels were too low for the CGM to read. Even with a CGM, you still need to know how to manually test as a back up. Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats
Oh shoot, we've been keeping our insulin in the door. Is this a temperature control issue?
 
The temperature on the door fluctuates whenever you open the fridge. Keep the Lantus at the back of the fridge on an interior shelf where temperature is more stable. Put the bottle in something sturdy and padded so it doesn't get rattled around too much.

A good butcher shop will have rabbit meat, maybe lamb and venison too. I've seen alligator meat at Whole Foods before. You don't want pre-ground meat unless you plan to cook the meat before mixing it with supplements. Buy whole cuts and cut it up yourself. Hare-Today.com is a reputable online source to get all sorts of novel proteins and organs and bones for pet food use.

Good canned food brands for IBD and diabetes are Koha, Rawz, Rayne, and Canada Fresh. An independent pet store would have these brands. You can also buy online either directly from the company or from Chewy.

Stella and Chewy's freeze dried raw is good if it doesn't bother the IBD. My GA cat was super sensitive to the useless fillers in the food. I fed Vital Essentials which is as bland a good as you can get. I later fed him Small Batch frozen rabbit, another good bland food.

Wedgewood Pharmacy has 5 mg pred in a catnip scented tiny pill form, red-melt tablets, flavored chew treats, and a transdermal gel. Those may be easier to give. You can ask the vet about those.
 
Hi all, thanks again for all your help and suggestions. I’ve learned so much these past few days. Anyway, we’re all ready to start insulin right after we visit the second vet first thing Monday morning. I now have:

Accu-Chek Lancing Device Kit (the pen + 10 lancets)
Accu-Chek Softclix Lancets (100)
CVS Advanced Blood Glucose Meter
CVS Advanced Glucose Meter Test Strips, 100 CT
Lantus (insulin glargine injection) U-100 Injectable, 10-mL vial (safely in the fridge—top shelf)
UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringe U-100 12.7mmx29G, 0.3-cc, 100

I realized too late that the vet-recommended syringes don’t have half-unit markings. Also, I’m not sure if that CVS meter is the greatest, but the recommended ReliOn + strips would have taken until Tuesday from Walmart. I’ll get it right the next time.

Regarding dosage, the vet says “administer 1 unit subcutaneously every 12 hours until otherwise directed. Glucose monitoring recommended 10 days after starting therapy.” I am interested to hear what the second doctor says about the dosage, and I’m almost certain I’ll keep him home and do the glucose curve myself by ear, not the Libre (I have 10 days to get the hang of it). I have this weekend to get the emergency hypoglycemia kit together. Thank you for all the food recs squeem3, I’m taking it super slow but at least that gives me a little time to source the best diet.

It’s been a really exhausting few days but I just wanted to check in and to say I’m so grateful you all are here, I would have almost no idea how to do this without this site. I have to get some real sleep tonight but I’m sure I’ll be back this weekend to ask about feeding times and things like that.
 
Now is time rest! You’ve done a great job you are and great mommie to Beau, from now on it will be a breeze, we are here for you 24/7 I’m not sure what you mean by “glucose therapy” but testing in necessary every day at least 2-3 times minimum during the day, and especially before shot to avoid hypoglycemia and the protocol is TEST-FEED-SHOOT
 
Oh definitely. Test-feed-shoot every single time from day 1. The glucose curve testing is on day 10—that's where I am supposed to bring Beau to the vet to be hospitalized for the day and have his blood tested every 2 hours. But I would rather test that myself at home and let them know. I'm nervous about all this but I know it's less scary for him for me to do it and that's what matters.
 
Oh yes, certainly! You can do that at home yourself. I do them most days when I'm home just to have as much data as possible. The numbers are more accurate at home too because their glucose will be higher from stress in office!
 
Just eyeball half units for now as needed with the syringes you have. Do get half unit marked syringes when you are able to. Human insulin syringes are just fine. You can buy half unit marked insulin syringes from Amazon without a prescription.

Just tell the vet that you will be doing a curve at home yourself and will send the results in. Be firm about it. Vet done curves are expensive and inaccurate because many stressed out cats will have super high blood glucose levels.
 
All, I’m worried I already went too fast with the diet changes. Beau had almost 1/3 cup of Stella & Chewy’s yesterday, alongside his regular (hydrolyzed) wet/dry. He pooped overnight, which is good because he didn’t at all yesterday. But now Beau does not really want to eat.

Around 6:30 a.m., I first tried to get him to eat his Churu, where I hide his daily prednisolone, but he wasn’t interested. Usually he loves it. I put out a little of his wet/dry hydrolyzed food too, but he wouldn’t touch it.

At around 7:20 a.m., he had a second poop.

At 9:00 a.m., he spit up a little bit of foamy white/clear liquid (indicating an empty stomach).

At 9:30 a.m., I gave him ½ prednisolone tablet orally with a little water (syringe).

At 11:00 a.m., he ate a (plain) Churu, so he has eaten something today, and he drank a little water earlier, but he mostly slept this morning.

It's now 1 p.m. and he's up and walking around—he was actually sitting here with me on my desk a moment ago—but still he's not eating any of his food. (I've put out the hydrolyzed wet food only now, with a little pumpkin, and no more Stella & Chewy's.) He is drinking water.

I’m very worried, especially given his new diabetes diagnosis. Is there anything I should do in this moment? Gently feed him Churus every few hours? Am I OK until we get to the doctor on Monday morning? I don’t need to be anywhere and can stay with him around the clock.
 
Yes, the quick change from high carbs to low carbs, will cause stomach upset, as long as he does not have diarrhea, also the wet can food low carbs soon Beau will probably will not be pooping as often as with the other foods, since the wet food does not have much waste, perhaps Beu will poop every other day. I tagged Squeem3 to assist you further about your concern

@squeem3
 
Thank you so much. Also, Beau just ate a tiny bit of wet food, finally! I hope we're OK and it was just a bad morning.
 
Hi again everyone, happy Sunday. Just an update, Beau didn’t eat much all of yesterday—I had to hand-feed him two Churus—but by 9 p.m. he had eaten about a teaspoon of hydrolyzed wet/dry. He ate another teaspoon of both overnight, and another teaspoon of both this morning, plus a tiny bit of Stella & Chewy’s today (about 8 pellets). So I think we’re on the mend. 🤞

Now I’m getting us ready for the second-opinion doctor’s appointment first thing tomorrow morning. I expect that we’ll start insulin right away after this visit. These are the questions I have left, although I’m sure I’ll have more later! Thanks in advance.

Feeding times: Do I feed him 4x a day? No more grazing? (I was a free-feeder, I’m afraid, but I will stop that.) I plan to give insulin at 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. if that helps to know.

Food amounts: I test-feed-shoot, but how much does Beau need to have eaten before it’s OK to shoot?

Personality changes: Should I expect them? Beau is my lovebug. We have a brushing session every morning after breakfast is served, during the day between naps he always comes to my desk to sit and be cuddled, and every night he sleeps on my pillow (or he’s my little spoon). I’ll understand if he’s not in the mood for cuddles while he’s adjusting to insulin, but will he eventually feel like himself again?

Beau’s comfort: Likewise, will the start of insulin be uncomfortable for him? And if so, is there anything I can do to alleviate that?

Leaving him at home by himself: I work from home which is ideal, but is it OK to leave him alone for a few hours during these early weeks on insulin treatment? I had some dental work scheduled for this week that I canceled when I got the diabetes news, but eventually I’ll need to get it taken care of. Should I wait until after the first month before leaving him alone for, say, four hours?
 
Shelly started on insulin in early August. We have found that she has actually returned more to her old self again. She has more energy she is much more playful. We are still figuring out the right cadence for feeding, but she does best on multiple meals a day. She usually has the equivalent of two larger meals and two smaller portions as a snack.
 
Shelly started on insulin in early August. We have found that she has actually returned more to her old self again. She has more energy she is much more playful. We are still figuring out the right cadence for feeding, but she does best on multiple meals a day. She usually has the equivalent of two larger meals and two smaller portions as a snack.

That's so good to hear! Beau will also be on Lantus. PS Shelly is just beautiful! 🐈‍⬛
 
1- feeding schedule should be 3-4 small meals or snacks plus the two main meals before shot the protocol is TEST-FEED-SHOOT, Beau should NOT HAVE ANY FOOD 2 hours prior test -feed, no grazing! if beau grazes you will never get a correct BG reading. make sure your vet start you on a low dose, this way you can be comfortable at the beginning> I do not give dosing advice but most members start with 1.0 unit, I will Tag Wendy she can walk you thru with dosing
2- most members shoot while their cat is eating
3- once Beua becomes more regulated with the insulin, he will become more comfortable, Once Corky came back from the hospitalization, he has become glue to me, it was totally the opposite before.
4- There is no reaction or side effect once you shoot, on the contrary as the BG lowers the more comfortable Beau will be
5- It would be wise for you to try to stay the first couple of days, some cats BGs can have a quick effect and you want to be home if you can to test at +2 (2hours after shot) that's when usually the insulin kicks in. it will take several cycles to begin to see results in Beau's system, Lantus is a Depot insulin, if you need to be away during feeding times you can purchase a wet feeder, you can program it for 3 meals some have chips and cameras, Chewy.com and Walmart has good prices on feeder. I personally make all my appointments or errand between 1-4PM this is a safe time for Corky,
6- If you go on Corky's spreadsheet, and scroll to the left, you will get an idea of the schedule of meals, what I feed and how much. Corky is a very large cat, not overweigh as per the vet, and I feed him 1/2 can in each meal, both cats are like an alarm clock 10 minutes before feeding they Xray me waiting for me to get up to feed them, All cats are different of course, but for experience having cats, they are like OCD they do the same things the same way all the time.
A non-diabetic cats' glucose level is between 50-120, Corky uses ProZinc and I use the MPM dosing method , I slowly learned to shoot on low numbers, it took a couple of years to be comfortable with that.
7- Once you begin insulin, you have ready a HYPO KIT, this should contain some medium carb food between 11-15% carbs, some high carb foods between 16-24%, some KARO syrup or honey, this is in case Beau's BG lowers to unsafe numbers. We like to raise the BG first with low carb foods, feeding 1/2 tsp every 1/2-1 hour testing and repeat, the med/high carbs, his BG continues to go lower, The Karo/honey is only a quick fix, if you come across this issues we can help you thru it. below is a wet food calculator, you insert the nutrients on the label in each cell to determine the carb %
We are looking for DRY CARB MATTER
Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com


0-10% low carbs
11-15% medium carbs
16-24% high carbs
@Wendy&Neko
 
I recommend to find a sock fill the end with rice to the size of his inner ear tie it cut the rest of the left over sock, this way you have more control testing and holding the ear and you prick side ways not to prick thru the ear, once the capillaries begin to swell it will be easier for the ear to bleed
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6257.jpeg
    IMG_6257.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 15
  • IMG_6258.png
    IMG_6258.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 10
1- feeding schedule should be 3-4 small meals or snacks plus the two main meals before shot the protocol is TEST-FEED-SHOOT, Beau should NOT HAVE ANY FOOD

Thank you so much for all this, Maria, it will really help me to make a schedule. We will stop grazing immediately! And I will look into wet feeders.

Beau’s first doctor recommended he start at 1.0 unit, I am interested to see if the second doctor tomorrow will suggest .5, but either way a low dose.

And I have my emergency kit ready with Karo syrup, plus cans of food at 13.9%, 14.7%, and 17.8% dry matter carbs. The 13.9% one is Fancy Feast Salmon Feast in Gravy, though, which I understand will work in a hypo kit because of the ingredients? The ash percentage is a little confusing but I think we’re OK on the food for right now. I'll research this more later and try to have a full range available. I also have plenty of hydrolyzed wet food left (it has 37% dry carbs).

I’m glad that this probably won’t affect Beau’s mood too much. I don’t mind if he’s a little cranky, it’s a lot for him to go through and he is a lamb. 💚
 
Some cats are very sensitive to carbs, so in case you need to hike up the BG start first with feeding 1/2 tsp of low carbs wait 1/2 hour test and repeat process until you are comfortable with the numbers that's when you see 2-digit BGs, if the BG continues to lower then use the medium carbs, repeat process. Normally after Beau eats his BG will rise, so giving high carbs on the get go is not good, only, if necessary, remember I'll repeat, a non-diabetic cats' glucose level is between 50-120, it will take a while for you to get used to low numbers, so take it slow. you want to stabilize Beau's BG and regulate it, Normally cats BG's are lower at night but is good to always test at +2 and +4 before going to sleep
 
We just got back from the second opinion doctor (Dr. K).

I'm happy to report that Dr. K is in agreement with me: that the prednisolone Bond Vet put Beau on caused the diabetes, that the hydrolyzed diet is no good, and that Beau needs insulin therapy plus a low-carb, no-dry-food diet as we continue to taper him from the prednisolone (he's been getting a half-dose since Friday).

Here's the most amazing thing, though: Beau's BG this morning at Dr. K's was 223.

That's an over 100-point drop since Bond Vet tested him two weeks ago at 362 and can only be explained by 1) halving the pred dose and 2) introducing the Stella & Chewy's into his diet.

Given this new number, Dr. K is only recommending that Beau get 1 unit of Lantus per day (not the 1 unit/2x per day recommended by Bond). We're not putting him on cyclosporine. If Beau's IBS symptoms return after weaning him off pred, we may try budesonide, but we're hopeful the insulin and new diet will make this unnecessary.

So I'll start Beau on insulin first thing tomorrow (Dr. K says it's best to administer insulin in the morning when it's 1x a day) but test his blood at least 2x a day. Dr. K recommends doing the glucose curve in the beginning of treatment, so I'll probably be testing his blood every 2 hours one day later this week. And then I'll bring Beau back for a fructosamine test in about 10 days.

This feels very promising. I'm so grateful for everything I have learned here this past week, and I'm so happy my boy seems to be doing a little better even before he starts insulin. Now the only hurdle I have before tomorrow is getting the Accu-Chek pen to work!
 
Good morning, I opened Beau's spreadsheet and is blank with no data, can you check it?
 
Good morning, I opened Beau's spreadsheet and is blank with no data, can you check it?

It's blank because I haven't entered any data into it yet! I was going to start tomorrow morning with the first insulin dose?
 
We also want to keep our post to 50 posts, so you can start a new thread and title it "Continuation Beau new member"
 
Back
Top