New here, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like he is surfing... Another test in an hour?

Still trying to get eyes here so please check back in 30.

I am only playing it safe since he dropped quite fast and we don't know how he will behave. Go figure he does it at bedtime.. But many of them do.

If you didnt make the syrup then it would be a good idea to pick up some karo, as well as a few cans of high carb gravy food for hypo emergencies as soon as you can.

Wendy
 
Wendy asked me to pop in. If he's at 95 at +4.5, you can test in an hour. Are you giving him a little low carb food?
 
Tell me about it, I am up at 6... But fortunately this isn't an every day occurrence..

Marje is asking more about when was the last time you fed him tonite?
 
If you think of his shot time as 0 and each hour after shot time as +1 (1 hour), +2 (2 hours), +3 (3 hours), etc, when did he last eat in reaction to his shot?
 
Thank you. How about testing on the half hour which should be about +5.5.

Please let me know if the following is correct and what his PMPS was:

PMPS: ?
+3.5: 118
+4: 95
+4.5: 94
 
Yes, thats correct.. and I'm sorry, PMPS? pre monitor pre shot? If its that, it was 328 ( I believe). It was my very first test, so I may be wrong, but it was in the 300's. I was just so excited that I got the test.
 
PMPS = p.m. Preshot

AMPS = a.m. Preshot

Good job on the test. That's a pretty good drop so hopefully, he has slowed down. Please let me know when you get the next test.

PMPS: 328
+3.5: 118
+4: 95
+4.5: 94
 
+5.5 110

I'm really bothering him with the testing right now too. He almost bit me on this last one, and it took me like 4 pricks to get blood (hence why he probably wanted to bite me).
 
Please be sure and post here in the morning for help if he is below 200.

Also, if he is above 200 and you shoot, you might want to get a +2 test. It's not very often that I've seen a cat drop like that on their very first shot of insulin but 1u is a fine dose for him.

You are using U100, 3/10 cc syringes, right? And you double checked the dose of 1u? Sorry to ask but we have had accidents happen including using U40 syringes and accidentally shooting 5u.
 
Couldn't get blood for the +7.5. I'm also very overtired, and now mildly depressed.

I can't do a +2 in the morning. I need to work.
 
I know its probably a lot of first day jitters, but upon staying awake and thinking a lot, I'm concerned that he's already getting used to the taking of the blood on his ear thing, and he's getting skittish toward me. Is there any other option besides that? Does that have to be done every time?

I'm going through an emotional rollorcoaster right now. I have a new business, I have two very young children, I have an aging parent, and... I dunno, my stress levels are pretty high as it is right now. I'm having some trouble remaining positive about this, especially when he's growling or getting mad at me for poking him... and on the outlook of all of these changes and spending the time on it. Its precious time that I used to have when I was younger and only had cats.. but since I've had Maggy, Ive gotten married, and had 2 kids.

I'm bearing this to you people because I'm being honest with myself.. I'm not trying to be cruel or mean. I know everyone has their story, but this is mine.

--stressed--
--mixed up--
 
Now he won't sit still for the blood test and he's attempting to bite/scratch at seeing me near him. I'm so torn about all of this right now.

I feel like I'm going to get thrown out of this group for the thoughts I'm having about it all.

My vet was probably right when she said (and I also figured) that my cat wouldn't stand for blood testing. Once I got that first one or two and he was ok with it, I figured she (and I) was wrong. --apparently not-- He's starving, and angry. And I have limited time right now.

______


Just tried again and he freaked out ... he never freaks out on me. And I went into it with a clear head, not rushing, and not emotional.

To shoot, or not to shoot
 
Hi there

You did great last night. He could well have dropped low and if you hadn't tested it could have been really bad. The good news is that he is responding great to the insulin already and I have high hopes for him so don't give up! It's tough emotionally at first and its a lot to learn... They way you are feeling is totally normal.

And last night is not an every day occurence. And now you have some great data so next time he is 300 say at preshot, you know you can probably wait till +5 or +6 for a quick spot check. Always get a preshot test because as he gets regulated or (hopefully!) into remission he may start to show very low preshot numbers and as newbie you don't want to shoot under 200. If at any point he drops under 50, you reduce the dose by 0.25.

It will get easier as you get better at testing. Lets double check your tehnique:

1. are u warming the ear first?
2. always always give a treat whether successful or not. Try 2 pricks beside each other.
3.What size lancets are u using? Bigger ones ie 28g will make it easier to get blood first time so that he isn't bothered as much.
4. What are you holding behind the ear to press against?

What was his am preshot?
Wendy
 
I can't get a preshot right now. I havent fed him yet cuz I dont know if I should shoot him or not since I can't get his blood glucose. As I said , he's pretty angry at me, even with treats and petting and loving words and using that technique. Im warming his ear, caressing it, etc. He's just done with the blood thing right now.
 
What size lancets are you using? What are u using behind the ear to press against?

He will get used to testing, its for his own good. I have seen so so many newbies go through this you wouldn't believe!!

Please try .. If you get a test and shoot then he has a great chance of remission and he will feel better soon.

If you don't test then shoot anyway but leave the dry out all day to prevent a hypo. This will not help his diabetes on the long run and remission will be unlikely if you do this on a regular basis.

It's up to you but I wanted to let you know the impacts of your choices. You have a six month remission window.

The way i personally think about it is that my cats are totally spoiled. Unlike wild cats they never worry about where their next meal is coming from. They have no worries. They spend their days sleeping and playing. The least they can do is tolerate a poke in the ear. It isn't going to kill them. And it doesn't even hurt!! The ear has few nerve endings and it is much less painful than pricking your finger.. What he doesn't like is you holding and playing with his ear etc when he would rather sleep or something.

And seriously he will get used to it. But also do the three strike rule, if u don't succeed after three tries then wait 30mins and try again.

Wendy
 
I'm using size 30 lancets.

I finally got it. It was 315.

I am normally just putting my finger behind his ear, mostly due to his love for tissues and toilet paper, or anything soft like that, he wants to eat it or lick it

That was a long hour right there to get that. :/

I understand the risks and concerns... I just really really hope he levels off with his anger toward the blood testing.

Im having trouble with my middle cat , bones. She only eats when she wants to, and if the others scare her, she just runs away. If I switch them all to wet food, she wont eat when they do, and they'll eat hers. Thoughts?
 
Ok cool- I have two tips to help a lot..

1. Get bigger lancets 28 or 29g will be better
2. Use something hard behind the ear like a pill bottle lid or small flashlight (I got mine on eBay). But use a cotton ball after to help press against the wound to seal it. And apply neosporin pain trlief after to help any pain.

Do u want to try and transition her to wet? I have tips or you could give a low carb dry both can eat.. I can give u brands later when I get home from work.
 
I used to test Gobbles in his back paw pad a lot at first and then occasionally to give his ears a rest. There is nothing wrong with testing there, BUT if you do, be sure to put lots of the triple antibiotic ointment on his paw pad, even if you don't get blood.
 
Sorry I just re read your post about bones. I have a cat like that too. I feed her in a separate room at feeding time, or I guard her while she eats. Unlike my diabetic boys who free feed this means she only gets fed twice a day.
 
I'm a bit late jumping on this train but WELCOME! I know this isn't where us kitty owners want to be, but with all these fantabulously wonderful people here to help you, it's the best place of all! From what i've read, you're doing wonderfully, it's a bit of a shock to the system to learn all this stuff, but it's best to know it from day one and not a year in like me :lol:.

Hope you and the sugar kitty are doing are well, all these strange new things start to become second nature and before long you won't realise you're doing it!

Have the most fantastic day!

Bebe and Milo
 
Steve

The first few days are hard but when you have everything going on that you do, it makes you feel like you are in a tailspin. I am sorry....life's stresses can be enough without throwing this in there, too.

I have an extra contact lens case and I took the lid off one side and that's what I hold under Gracie's ear when I test. It's a nice, strong platform. Since you have young children, maybe you already have baby washcloths? When I get ready to test, I run one under cool tap water and then wring it out well. Immediately after I test, I hold it to her ear where I poked and press down. I think the cool of the cloth helps with the sting and it also helps to prevent bruising.

Here's a post I wrote on Testing and Shooting Tips which might help.

If he's really fighting you, try and burrito him in a towel, if possible, and IF you think that will help. Some cats immediately calm down when you burrito them. I volunteered in a cat shelter for years and that is how we handled feral cats to give them vaccinations or any treatment they needed. Be sure when you wrap the towel, the open ends are on his back ...then fold them over.

In the time I've been here, I believe even the most fractious cats learned to accept the testing with time and especially once the ear learns to bleed.

We are a support group for the caregiver ....we offer you help in managing FD but we are also a place for you to vent and share your anxieties about this. Let us know how we can help.
 
Hi everyone , if anyone is on or sees this, I just did a test at 6:30 before his 3rd scheduled insulin shot (first one last night, 2nd one this AM, and now this one), and his BG was 169. Should I be shooting him ? ?
 
Heres some info to add to this..

Ever since yesterday afternoon when I got home from work, and I knew that I was starting the insulin, I went down in the basement and put the dry "grazing food" that all 3 cats used to eat, away. I've been feeding Maggy the wet food for a few weeks, BUT, I think he goes down and sneaks it all the time. I just never saw him do it, and, for whatever reason, I just didnt think of getting rid of it completely until yesterday. So, since yesterday at 5pm, he hasn't had one bit of dry food. Could this have something to do with it?
 
So, since yesterday at 5pm, he hasn't had one bit of dry food. Could this have something to do with it?

In that case, I'm telling you to skip the shot tonight.

I was thinking of having you test again in 30 minutes to see if the BG was rising. It may still be dropping. So skip that 30 minute test and do a test in 1 hour.

Are you able to get a test in one hour please?

ETA: Wanted to get you a quick answer on the shoot/no shoot. Here is why you are skipping the shot tonight. The change to low-carb food can have a dramatic impact on the BG levels. Cats are known to drop 100 points or more on the switch from a high carb food to a low carb food. It's not really the switch from dry to wet that is making a difference. It's the change from high to low carb.

Do you have karo syrup in the house? or honey? or maple syrup? or another simple sugar?

I'd like to see where Maggy is in one hour. If he is still dropping, we may want you to feed some low carb wet food like the Fancy Feast classic pate. Just a teaspoon.
 
If you can give the AM shot at 12 hours from when you give the shot tonight, you could go ahead and shoot. I don't think you have enough test data yet to do this, to know how he will react.

I'd prefer if you skipped the shot tonight.

Tomorrow, I'd like you to reduce the shot to 0.5U. With the food change, I think 1U is too much for him.

If you skip the shot, expect his BG's to be high tomorrow morning.

What time do you usually test and shoot in the morning?
 
Yes, fine to go ahead and feed Maggy. Sorry Maggy for making you wait to eat. :sad: I forgot to tell you it was ok to feed if you were skipping the insulin.

No need to add any Karo to the food since we are not trying to raise his numbers. They are going up on their own.

Feed normally and have a good night. I'll be around tomorrow morning by 7 am.
 
I agree - not only because we want to be careful but also because Steve needs a good night sleep and Maggy could probably do with a rest from testing;)


Maggy is doing great - I think having seen tonites preshot number you now probably understand the importance of testing. Imagine if you hadnt tested and shot anyway.. if Maggy had dropped as much as last night he would have been in hypo territory.

I love the fact you got rid of the dry and I agree with Deb that you try a lower dose and see how it goes .. give the new dose three days unless Maggy drops below 50 in which case you reduce the dose further. But that will probably mean a midcycle test as well as your usual preshots.

Hows the testing going? Maggy warming up to it any?
Wendy
 
Yes he's doing a bit better with it. I also read some tips on it. I have some frozen plain cooked chicken I use as a little treat for him after each sticking. I also changed my lancet angle.

I'll do a bg test at 7 am and report back . I can't do a mid day one due to working though...
 
Are you freehanding the lancet or using the lancet pen? Lancet pen goes perpendicular to the ear. Freehanding, lancet goes at about a 45 degree angle.

It's only been a couple of days with the testing. But it sounds like the test and treat routine is going well.

The Natural Dog has some little packages of freeze dried fish flavors and some turkey, chicken type flavors. You might want to try those if you get up to Newburyport.
 
before shot reading is 243 right now

I spoke with my vet this morning and she said that I should get the syringes that are measured by half or quarter units. I'm waiting on a pharmacy to open, but she said that I should do a half unit. I just did VERY VERY CAREFULLY use the syringes that I have, and put in one unit, and then squeezed out half of it... possibly a tiny bit more than that.. so I was able to put half or less into it, and gave it to him. I knew that I couldn't get to the store and all that by the time I had to get my kids shuffled out to daycare and me to work, etc.

sorry im in a rush but im going to get the correct syringes hopefully today
 
Walmart Relion syringes have the 3/10 CC syringes with the 1/2 unit markings. You'll need a prescription from the vet if you go up to NH to buy them. Never bought any in MA.

"Eyeballing" the 1/2 unit dose is how a lot of people do it. Some people use calipers to measure.

I expected the higher reading after you skipped last night. Have a good day at work.


ETA: There are no syringes that are marked with the 1/4 unit markings.
 
Just an update.

Maggy's BG was 270 this evening, before his shot. I gave him an eyeballed 1/2 unit again. I'll try and test him later on before I go to bed.

I'm going to attempt a curve on Sunday. I'll do a test before his shot in the AM, then I'll test every 4 hours to see how low he gets.

I have to go pick up my new 1/2 unit marked syringes at Walmart tomorrow as well.


Can someone please recommend a dry food that would be good for Maggy to be able to eat if/when he doesn't have his wet food available? My middle cat, Bones, just won't eat wet food, so its really hard getting her to eat at all, because she's skittish as it is anyways, so she hardly eats when the other cats are around. I've been able to put her in the bathroom with her dry food a few times, but she just eats like 10 pieces, and she wants to come out. I feel bad for her. I'd rather be able to put out a dry food and leave it there so she can get it when she wants, but not be afraid of Maggy eating it.

Also, what are the Friskies Pates that are alright and that other people use? Oh, I forgot, I can check that list.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top