New here, Need help

Done it
I have a question: if I fed him 50% dry food and 50% wet food, could it make it impossible for him to ever go into remission?
 
Even if it might have been a machine error
Absolutely. What machine are you using? What machine did the vet use?

Did the vet test the same drop of blood, at exactly the same time?

A 43 is not a hypo, but it is low enough that if it was my cat I would be lowering the dose, to 0.75 even if I was testing regularly, (5 or more times a day, and always before giving insulin)

Could you check him just before his insulin shot? At least you would know it was safe

I think that, In the interest of safety, lowering his dose a little now until you start the libre would be advisable.

And as @Suzanne & Darcy said it's really important to be able to double check those lower values experience on this site tells us that the libre is not reliable (many people, with many cats over a number of years)
Also the libre doesn't always last the two weeks and can come unstuck after a much shorter time, usually when it's least convenient.
have a question: if I fed him 50% dry food and 50% wet food, could it make it impossible for him to ever go into remission?

If the dry food is high in carbs it is unlikely.
George once in remission ate some dry food that I'd put down for the outside farm cats and his BG went from 68 to over 200 it took about 48 without dry food for him to go back to normal numbers.

I'm going to be direct, with Helios, you will need to adjust and accept that he will need to be on Low Carb wet diet for the rest of his life. If he gets into remission he is really just diet controlled, so overloading him with carbohydrate will pull him out of remission, his LC diet will still be crucial to keep him healthy and keep him in remission.There are some LC dry food, I'll look for a link for you.

A wet diet is much healthier for our cats. Other than the carbs it also protects their kidneys, urinary systems... On dry foods our cats are unnecessarily in a state of dehydration, and that stresses the kidneys and urinary tract.
Here's a link to Dr Lisa website where you can read some reliable and factual information on nutrition she's a feline nutrition specialist she's got PDFs in Spanish as well..

Dr Lisa's web page
 
Absolutely. What machine are you using? What machine did the vet use?

Did the vet test the same drop of blood, at exactly the same time?

A 43 is not a hypo, but it is low enough that if it was my cat I would be lowering the dose, to 0.75 even if I was testing regularly, (5 or more times a day, and always before giving insulin)

Could you check him just before his insulin shot? At least you would know it was safe

I think that, In the interest of safety, lowering his dose a little now until you start the libre would be advisable.

And as @Suzanne & Darcy said it's really important to be able to double check those lower values experience on this site tells us that the libre is not reliable (many people, with many cats over a number of years)
Also the libre doesn't always last the two weeks and can come unstuck after a much shorter time, usually when it's least convenient.


If the dry food is high in carbs it is unlikely.
George once in remission ate some dry food that I'd put down for the outside farm cats and his BG went from 68 to over 200 it took about 48 without dry food for him to go back to normal numbers.

I'm going to be direct, with Helios, you will need to adjust and accept that he will need to be on Low Carb wet diet for the rest of his life. If he gets into remission he is really just diet controlled, so overloading him with carbohydrate will pull him out of remission, his LC diet will still be crucial to keep him healthy and keep him in remission.There are some LC dry food, I'll look for a link for you.

A wet diet is much healthier for our cats. Other than the carbs it also protects their kidneys, urinary systems... On dry foods our cats are unnecessarily in a state of dehydration, and that stresses the kidneys and urinary tract.
Here's a link to Dr Lisa website where you can read some reliable and factual information on nutrition she's a feline nutrition specialist she's got PDFs in Spanish as well..

Dr Lisa's web page
I know wet food is better, but I’m having a lot of expenses right now. My cat depends entirely on my salary, and with all the vet visits, tests, and everything else, wet food is the most expensive part. But I’m very aware that the percentage of wet food should be higher than dry food — I just need some help, especially for when I leave the house so he always has food available, although I already bought an automatic feeder with refrigeration.

And honestly, even the insulin is very expensive. I need to see some kind of possibility that doesn’t make me feel like I’m going to go bankrupt… Helios is a big cat, he needs more food than an average cat. But of course, wet food will still be the largest percentage of his diet.

I think my glucose meter doesn’t work properly because it’s low quality. I bought it on Amazon, it’s called VeCheckGo, and I don’t think it measures correctly. I don’t know which machine the vet was using, but maybe a better human glucometer would work more accurately.

Tomorrow they’re putting the Freestyle on him.
 
Here are a couple of dry food that are less than 10% carbs if you really have to use them, as I said I would avoid them if at all possible especially while he's still on insulin let's 🙏 that he goes into remission soon.
Just the turkey and chicken flavours they are around 5%, carbohydrate.

I used them very occasionally in the hot summer once george was in remission, if I was going to be out for a long time because he wouldn't eat the wet food if it had been in the automated feeder for over 8hours, I would set up his feeders for the first 9 hours with wet food for every 3 yo 4 hours, then the rest of the snacks I would leave a small amount a table spoon perhaps of the dry for the following snacks.

So that he would eat little and often, just like they recommend a human diabetic to do

Feringa chicken

Ferringa turkey





know wet food is better, but I’m having a lot of expenses right now. My cat depends entirely on my salary, and with all the vet visits, tests, and everything else, wet food is the most expensive part.
I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.

Carbohydrate appropriate dry food, is not cheap, though possibly more economical than just wet, if you feed normal dry food then in this sites experience he is extremely unlikely to go into remission, that will mean continued vet visits, expensive medication, and more strain on your finances. That's the way I look at it, but... I truly do understand the strain on your finances and your personal life. Making the effort (esfuerzo) now may help you get him to remission quickly, saving you money and stress in the long term.

Honestly, I would save money by not using the libre and using a decent human metre, I know @xelo y sinver considered it but ruled it out due to expenses.

Back when George was diagnosed, and certainly dating back to the start of this site the libre wasn't an option, nor were pet meters. That's where I would save money. Of course this is just my point of view, looking at things with the benefit of my experience with my cat and with hundreds of other cats on the site. We each have to make choices which we feel work best for us and our individual situations, I will always try to keep an individual carers personal situation (where they share it) in mind and tailor any recommendations to their needs, while at the same time reminding them what we know to be the most recommended choice for the cat, it is a balance.

We understand that you are doing the best you can, the fact that you are here shows how much you care.
We have all felt like you do when we start on this diabetic journey with our beloved Mininos, so please understand that what I write I write with care, Love and empathy in my heart. There is no judgement.

Sending lots of hugs for strength and comfort. 🤗🤗🤗🤗
Gill
 
Here are a couple of dry food that are less than 10% carbs if you really have to use them, as I said I would avoid them if at all possible especially while he's still on insulin let's 🙏 that he goes into remission soon.
Just the turkey and chicken flavours they are around 5%, carbohydrate.

I used them very occasionally in the hot summer once george was in remission, if I was going to be out for a long time because he wouldn't eat the wet food if it had been in the automated feeder for over 8hours, I would set up his feeders for the first 9 hours with wet food for every 3 yo 4 hours, then the rest of the snacks I would leave a small amount a table spoon perhaps of the dry for the following snacks.

So that he would eat little and often, just like they recommend a human diabetic to do

Feringa chicken

Ferringa turkey






I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.

Carbohydrate appropriate dry food, is not cheap, though possibly more economical than just wet, if you feed normal dry food then in this sites experience he is extremely unlikely to go into remission, that will mean continued vet visits, expensive medication, and more strain on your finances. That's the way I look at it, but... I truly do understand the strain on your finances and your personal life. Making the effort (esfuerzo) now may help you get him to remission quickly, saving you money and stress in the long term.

Honestly, I would save money by not using the libre and using a decent human metre, I know @xelo y sinver considered it but ruled it out due to expenses.

Back when George was diagnosed, and certainly dating back to the start of this site the libre wasn't an option, nor were pet meters. That's where I would save money. Of course this is just my point of view, looking at things with the benefit of my experience with my cat and with hundreds of other cats on the site. We each have to make choices which we feel work best for us and our individual situations, I will always try to keep an individual carers personal situation (where they share it) in mind and tailor any recommendations to their needs, while at the same time reminding them what we know to be the most recommended choice for the cat, it is a balance.

We understand that you are doing the best you can, the fact that you are here shows how much you care.
We have all felt like you do when we start on this diabetic journey with our beloved Mininos, so please understand that what I write I write with care, Love and empathy in my heart. There is no judgement.

Sending lots of hugs for strength and comfort. 🤗🤗🤗🤗
Gill
Yes, I totally agree that diet is the most important thing. That’s why, since Helios was little, I always included wet food and high-protein food in his diet. But when he was diagnosed with IBD, I had to switch to a single dry food and a single type of wet food, even though I was completely against it, because it was recommended by my vet.

So now, with the diabetes, what I’ve done is increase the amount of wet food. Before I only gave him a little, but now I give him quite a lot, and I completely agree with everything I’ve read here.

But I do need some dry food precisely for support, not as the basis of his diet. I’ve been looking at several options and I found this one:
Virbac W1 Veterinary HPM Weight Loss & Diabetes para gatos ► ¡Cómpralo ya!

I don’t love it because it’s a veterinary dry food and I honestly hate those, but I checked the composition and it seems balanced.

Another one I looked at was this:
OBESITY & DIABETIC

But this one is very difficult to find except online.

I’ll try to buy a human glucose meter once they remove the Freestyle, because obviously I can only afford to use it once.

Thank you, and thank you for everything.

I cannot see your links but I know Feringa, it is a great brand
 
FYI, the Libre CGM is way more expensive than a blood glucose meter and it needs to be replaced every 2 weeks if not sooner. It is known to malfunction or fall off a cat. You'll need a few on hand to replace yourself. Looks like a single Libre might cost as much as $90 US (€70 or so in Spain).

Amazon has many brands of Human blood glucose meters. I suggest going to your local pharmacy first to see what brands of meters are available. Then buy a meter and related supplies from Amazon. This way you have the option of buying test strips at the local pharmacy if you forget to order more online or you have a few strips left and your order won't arrive in time or is delayed.
 
But I do need some dry food precisely for support, not as the basis of his diet. I’ve been looking at several options and I found this one:
Virbac W1 Veterinary HPM Weight Loss & Diabetes para gatos ► ¡Cómpralo ya!

I don’t love it because it’s a veterinary dry food and I honestly hate those, but I checked the composition and it seems balanced.Ferringa prensado oavo

Another one I looked at was this:
OBESITY & DIABETIC
I don't like either of those, they have simple carbs listed as third ingredient. I would guess they are pretty high in carbs. I'll calculate the approximate carbs for you
Here are the links hope they work
Ferringa prensado pollo
https://www.zooplus.es/shop/tienda_gatos/pienso_gatos/feringa_pienso_gatos/prensado_frio/988727

Turkey and chicken flavours,
 
Have you got the list for low carb foods in Europe it says UK but we can get most of them here in Spain, it's regularly updated by volume here on the forum.

Food Info for UK

Of the dry food listed I have only used the ferringa and the thrive, I like that the only protein source is animal, and not from peas (vegetable protein, prom legumes and peas, is not great for cats they can't make use of it, but it's cheaper than meat protein, if I am honest I'd rather Have sub productos animales than vegetable protein)

Having IBD does make food more challenging, what are his dietary needs for that, we have and have had many members here who have had kitties with IBD, but haven't had to have dry food because of it.

Has he got intolerance to something?
 
But I do need some dry food precisely for support, not as the basis of his diet. I’ve been looking at several options and I found this one:
Virbac W1 Veterinary HPM Weight Loss & Diabetes para gatos ► ¡Cómpralo ya!
About 18% again too high.


Another one I looked at was this:
OBESITY & DIABETIC

Between 25 to 30% carbs. Depending on moisture content , which manufacturers don't post for dry but it's typically between 5 and 10%. I've given you the range, either way far too high for a diabetic cat

On the carbohydrate front both are not suitable.

Is Helios a bit too fluffy? (Gordito?). Is that why you are looking at the obesity food?

Hope the list helps
 
Soft foods that are better priced and good quality, animonda carny, cats love (all my 11 cats like this one, that's a first! Y los gatos de xelo tb)., and Leonardo (Leonardo has got subproductos)
They are all grain free, no peas or unnecessary starches, and are feline appropriate. Animonda does some single protein as well..

Look on the link for the ones that are low on carbohydrates, anything under 10%. Is good.

Also looking at the dry food you posted both ferringa prensado and the thrive dry are better value and better ingredients for a cat than the two you posted.

(I agree with you on the vet diet thing, it's just a marketing ploy, and my cat on obesity/diab for 4 years because he was fat and poor guy couldn't loose weight on 65 g of the dry, I'm sure the vet thought I was giving him treats, I wasn't, I am convinced that the hills Rx diet he was on was in part responsible for his diabetes.
Interestingly when he moved to a low carb wet diet, he got to a healthy weight and wasn't hungry all the time) George was also a big cat, 7.65kg at a healthy weight. He was with us till he was 25.
 
Last edited:
Look into freeze dried and air dried raw foods. These are low carb and healthier than regular dry food. Air dried can be fed straight from the bag. Freeze dried raw should be rehdyrated before serving. Maybe ZooPlus or other similar pet supply web site available in Europe have some brands listed. Looks like Ziwi Peak is available: Ziwi Peak Air Dried Deer | zooplus

I came across a raw pet food web site for Spain but it budget is a concern, it's probably not an option. Best Raw Pet Food In Spain - Customized Meal Plans | Raw pet food Most products are just the meat itself to be used as part of a recipe but there are a few complete diets including rabbit.
 
Here are a couple of dry food that are less than 10% carbs if you really have to use them, as I said I would avoid them if at all possible especially while he's still on insulin let's 🙏 that he goes into remission soon.
Just the turkey and chicken flavours they are around 5%, carbohydrate.

I used them very occasionally in the hot summer once george was in remission, if I was going to be out for a long time because he wouldn't eat the wet food if it had been in the automated feeder for over 8hours, I would set up his feeders for the first 9 hours with wet food for every 3 yo 4 hours, then the rest of the snacks I would leave a small amount a table spoon perhaps of the dry for the following snacks.

So that he would eat little and often, just like they recommend a human diabetic to do

Feringa chicken

Ferringa turkey






I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.

Carbohydrate appropriate dry food, is not cheap, though possibly more economical than just wet, if you feed normal dry food then in this sites experience he is extremely unlikely to go into remission, that will mean continued vet visits, expensive medication, and more strain on your finances. That's the way I look at it, but... I truly do understand the strain on your finances and your personal life. Making the effort (esfuerzo) now may help you get him to remission quickly, saving you money and stress in the long term.

Honestly, I would save money by not using the libre and using a decent human metre, I know @xelo y sinver considered it but ruled it out due to expenses.

Back when George was diagnosed, and certainly dating back to the start of this site the libre wasn't an option, nor were pet meters. That's where I would save money. Of course this is just my point of view, looking at things with the benefit of my experience with my cat and with hundreds of other cats on the site. We each have to make choices which we feel work best for us and our individual situations, I will always try to keep an individual carers personal situation (where they share it) in mind and tailor any recommendations to their needs, while at the same time reminding them what we know to be the most recommended choice for the cat, it is a balance.

We understand that you are doing the best you can, the fact that you are here shows how much you care.
We have all felt like you do when we start on this diabetic journey with our beloved Mininos, so please understand that what I write I write with care, Love and empathy in my heart. There is no judgement.

Sending lots of hugs for strength and comfort. 🤗🤗🤗🤗
Gill
I had to choose between putting him on a diet or giving him good food. I chose to give him good food and make the sacrifice of taking his measurements. Once you get to know the cat, you'll know if his weight will increase or decrease significantly. Besides, you'll always have help here on the forum; you don't have to be afraid to give him soft food, just dry food, for fear that he might lose weight. When I started, I had the same problem as you: vet bills took all my savings, and I barely had enough to buy everything my cat needed. I was unemployed and went through some tough times, but there's affordable, low-carb wet food available. And you only have one cat—think about it: I have my diabetic cat, four other cats, one of whom is paralyzed and needs extra care, a 15-year-old dog, and a 5-year-old child. Imagine! And now that I'm working, I support everything myself. Now you have to make sacrifices if you really want to. I don't travel, of course, and I don't have the time or the money. But anyway, I'm relieved my animals have everything they need. The free glucose meters cost 75 to 80 euros every 15 days, they're not entirely reliable and sometimes they don't last the full 15 days, especially for pets. I have a human glucose meter that requires very little blood and gives you two refills, and the strips are quite affordable. If you have any questions, feel free to write to me.
 
Look into freeze dried and air dried raw foods. These are low carb and healthier than regular dry food. Air dried can be fed straight from the bag. Freeze dried raw should be rehdyrated before serving. Maybe ZooPlus or other similar pet supply web site available in Europe have some brands listed. Looks like Ziwi Peak is available: Ziwi Peak Air Dried Deer | zooplus

I came across a raw pet food web site for Spain but it budget is a concern, it's probably not an option. Best Raw Pet Food In Spain - Customized Meal Plans | Raw pet food Most products are just the meat itself to be used as part of a recipe but there are a few complete diets including rabbit.
It's a good idea, but it's on a tight budget. :rolleyes:
 
Hello everyone,

He has had the Freestyle on for 1 day now. The cat has improved a lot, he has much more energy. I know the device isn’t 100% reliable, but it catches my attention that his glucose levels are staying pretty well within the normal range, and sometimes even low. It’s only one day of data, but it gives me hope.

On the other hand, he has started licking himself nonstop and now he has a bald patch in one area. I don’t know why, just when he seems to be getting better, something else starts...
 
Hello again. Today I’m very worried. The Freestyle has been showing very low glucose values, below 70 all day, so I decided not to give him the second insulin dose this evening. I know it’s not perfectly accurate, but that still doesn’t seem normal.

On top of that, he hasn’t eaten much today, and I’m extremely worried. I don’t know if it’s because of the low glucose or because he’s feeling unwell. He had been eating well for more than a week… I don’t understand anything, I’m really worried.
 
Hi how are you?

Maybe you need to look at reducing the dose? @Suzanne & Darcy

Normal values for a cat are between 50-80 measured with a normal human metre (2.7 to 4.5 approx).

How are is the licking situation going?
 
Back
Top