Absolutely. What machine are you using? What machine did the vet use?Even if it might have been a machine error
have a question: if I fed him 50% dry food and 50% wet food, could it make it impossible for him to ever go into remission?
I know wet food is better, but I’m having a lot of expenses right now. My cat depends entirely on my salary, and with all the vet visits, tests, and everything else, wet food is the most expensive part. But I’m very aware that the percentage of wet food should be higher than dry food — I just need some help, especially for when I leave the house so he always has food available, although I already bought an automatic feeder with refrigeration.Absolutely. What machine are you using? What machine did the vet use?
Did the vet test the same drop of blood, at exactly the same time?
A 43 is not a hypo, but it is low enough that if it was my cat I would be lowering the dose, to 0.75 even if I was testing regularly, (5 or more times a day, and always before giving insulin)
Could you check him just before his insulin shot? At least you would know it was safe
I think that, In the interest of safety, lowering his dose a little now until you start the libre would be advisable.
And as @Suzanne & Darcy said it's really important to be able to double check those lower values experience on this site tells us that the libre is not reliable (many people, with many cats over a number of years)
Also the libre doesn't always last the two weeks and can come unstuck after a much shorter time, usually when it's least convenient.
If the dry food is high in carbs it is unlikely.
George once in remission ate some dry food that I'd put down for the outside farm cats and his BG went from 68 to over 200 it took about 48 without dry food for him to go back to normal numbers.
I'm going to be direct, with Helios, you will need to adjust and accept that he will need to be on Low Carb wet diet for the rest of his life. If he gets into remission he is really just diet controlled, so overloading him with carbohydrate will pull him out of remission, his LC diet will still be crucial to keep him healthy and keep him in remission.There are some LC dry food, I'll look for a link for you.
A wet diet is much healthier for our cats. Other than the carbs it also protects their kidneys, urinary systems... On dry foods our cats are unnecessarily in a state of dehydration, and that stresses the kidneys and urinary tract.
Here's a link to Dr Lisa website where you can read some reliable and factual information on nutrition she's a feline nutrition specialist she's got PDFs in Spanish as well..
Dr Lisa's web page
I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.know wet food is better, but I’m having a lot of expenses right now. My cat depends entirely on my salary, and with all the vet visits, tests, and everything else, wet food is the most expensive part.
Yes, I totally agree that diet is the most important thing. That’s why, since Helios was little, I always included wet food and high-protein food in his diet. But when he was diagnosed with IBD, I had to switch to a single dry food and a single type of wet food, even though I was completely against it, because it was recommended by my vet.Here are a couple of dry food that are less than 10% carbs if you really have to use them, as I said I would avoid them if at all possible especially while he's still on insulin let'sthat he goes into remission soon.
Just the turkey and chicken flavours they are around 5%, carbohydrate.
I used them very occasionally in the hot summer once george was in remission, if I was going to be out for a long time because he wouldn't eat the wet food if it had been in the automated feeder for over 8hours, I would set up his feeders for the first 9 hours with wet food for every 3 yo 4 hours, then the rest of the snacks I would leave a small amount a table spoon perhaps of the dry for the following snacks.
So that he would eat little and often, just like they recommend a human diabetic to do
Feringa chicken
Ferringa turkey
I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.
Carbohydrate appropriate dry food, is not cheap, though possibly more economical than just wet, if you feed normal dry food then in this sites experience he is extremely unlikely to go into remission, that will mean continued vet visits, expensive medication, and more strain on your finances. That's the way I look at it, but... I truly do understand the strain on your finances and your personal life. Making the effort (esfuerzo) now may help you get him to remission quickly, saving you money and stress in the long term.
Honestly, I would save money by not using the libre and using a decent human metre, I know @xelo y sinver considered it but ruled it out due to expenses.
Back when George was diagnosed, and certainly dating back to the start of this site the libre wasn't an option, nor were pet meters. That's where I would save money. Of course this is just my point of view, looking at things with the benefit of my experience with my cat and with hundreds of other cats on the site. We each have to make choices which we feel work best for us and our individual situations, I will always try to keep an individual carers personal situation (where they share it) in mind and tailor any recommendations to their needs, while at the same time reminding them what we know to be the most recommended choice for the cat, it is a balance.
We understand that you are doing the best you can, the fact that you are here shows how much you care.
We have all felt like you do when we start on this diabetic journey with our beloved Mininos, so please understand that what I write I write with care, Love and empathy in my heart. There is no judgement.
Sending lots of hugs for strength and comfort.
Gill
I don't like either of those, they have simple carbs listed as third ingredient. I would guess they are pretty high in carbs. I'll calculate the approximate carbs for youBut I do need some dry food precisely for support, not as the basis of his diet. I’ve been looking at several options and I found this one:
Virbac W1 Veterinary HPM Weight Loss & Diabetes para gatos ► ¡Cómpralo ya!
I don’t love it because it’s a veterinary dry food and I honestly hate those, but I checked the composition and it seems balanced.Ferringa prensado oavo
Another one I looked at was this:
OBESITY & DIABETIC
Thanks Suzanne For Lisa's post
About 18% again too high.But I do need some dry food precisely for support, not as the basis of his diet. I’ve been looking at several options and I found this one:
Virbac W1 Veterinary HPM Weight Loss & Diabetes para gatos ► ¡Cómpralo ya!
Another one I looked at was this:
OBESITY & DIABETIC
I had to choose between putting him on a diet or giving him good food. I chose to give him good food and make the sacrifice of taking his measurements. Once you get to know the cat, you'll know if his weight will increase or decrease significantly. Besides, you'll always have help here on the forum; you don't have to be afraid to give him soft food, just dry food, for fear that he might lose weight. When I started, I had the same problem as you: vet bills took all my savings, and I barely had enough to buy everything my cat needed. I was unemployed and went through some tough times, but there's affordable, low-carb wet food available. And you only have one cat—think about it: I have my diabetic cat, four other cats, one of whom is paralyzed and needs extra care, a 15-year-old dog, and a 5-year-old child. Imagine! And now that I'm working, I support everything myself. Now you have to make sacrifices if you really want to. I don't travel, of course, and I don't have the time or the money. But anyway, I'm relieved my animals have everything they need. The free glucose meters cost 75 to 80 euros every 15 days, they're not entirely reliable and sometimes they don't last the full 15 days, especially for pets. I have a human glucose meter that requires very little blood and gives you two refills, and the strips are quite affordable. If you have any questions, feel free to write to me.Here are a couple of dry food that are less than 10% carbs if you really have to use them, as I said I would avoid them if at all possible especially while he's still on insulin let'sthat he goes into remission soon.
Just the turkey and chicken flavours they are around 5%, carbohydrate.
I used them very occasionally in the hot summer once george was in remission, if I was going to be out for a long time because he wouldn't eat the wet food if it had been in the automated feeder for over 8hours, I would set up his feeders for the first 9 hours with wet food for every 3 yo 4 hours, then the rest of the snacks I would leave a small amount a table spoon perhaps of the dry for the following snacks.
So that he would eat little and often, just like they recommend a human diabetic to do
Feringa chicken
Ferringa turkey
I totally understand, I have 11 cats, and one of them has just been hospitalised at the vets for almost two weeks. I don't usually have many vet bills aside from the regular checkups, with upto 13 rescued cats I might have just been lucky, but in all honesty I think the diet is really important thing we can control to keep them healthy and avoid expensive vet visits/medication and if it keeps them healthy, in the end is cheaper and easier than having to deal with the consequences of vets and medications.
Carbohydrate appropriate dry food, is not cheap, though possibly more economical than just wet, if you feed normal dry food then in this sites experience he is extremely unlikely to go into remission, that will mean continued vet visits, expensive medication, and more strain on your finances. That's the way I look at it, but... I truly do understand the strain on your finances and your personal life. Making the effort (esfuerzo) now may help you get him to remission quickly, saving you money and stress in the long term.
Honestly, I would save money by not using the libre and using a decent human metre, I know @xelo y sinver considered it but ruled it out due to expenses.
Back when George was diagnosed, and certainly dating back to the start of this site the libre wasn't an option, nor were pet meters. That's where I would save money. Of course this is just my point of view, looking at things with the benefit of my experience with my cat and with hundreds of other cats on the site. We each have to make choices which we feel work best for us and our individual situations, I will always try to keep an individual carers personal situation (where they share it) in mind and tailor any recommendations to their needs, while at the same time reminding them what we know to be the most recommended choice for the cat, it is a balance.
We understand that you are doing the best you can, the fact that you are here shows how much you care.
We have all felt like you do when we start on this diabetic journey with our beloved Mininos, so please understand that what I write I write with care, Love and empathy in my heart. There is no judgement.
Sending lots of hugs for strength and comfort.
Gill
It's a good idea, but it's on a tight budget.Look into freeze dried and air dried raw foods. These are low carb and healthier than regular dry food. Air dried can be fed straight from the bag. Freeze dried raw should be rehdyrated before serving. Maybe ZooPlus or other similar pet supply web site available in Europe have some brands listed. Looks like Ziwi Peak is available: Ziwi Peak Air Dried Deer | zooplus
I came across a raw pet food web site for Spain but it budget is a concern, it's probably not an option. Best Raw Pet Food In Spain - Customized Meal Plans | Raw pet food Most products are just the meat itself to be used as part of a recipe but there are a few complete diets including rabbit.