New here. I have a few questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I tend to be a little more aggressive with dosing, and I think I would recommend a very small increase, although not in the morning since you work during the day. You always want to do increases during cycles when you can get a couple of tests in. Are you using u100 syringes and the conversion chart?
 
We are actually using the U40 syringes that matches the 40 units per ML listed on the insulin bottle, not the 100s. If we did increase at night, what would you suggest like 1.2U?

Wouldn't you think even a slight increase in the morning would be ok based on her numbers staying good based on the human meter results even when we were giving the 2.2 units. I know you can't know for sure without tests though obviously.

I tend to be a little more aggressive with dosing, and I think I would recommend a very small increase, although not in the morning since you work during the day. You always want to do increases during cycles when you can get a couple of tests in. Are you using u100 syringes and the conversion chart?
 
It seems like we've been getting dark blue and some yellow recently with the 1 unit dose. Or do you mean the dark greens at the +4 mark after the PMPS?

The 1 u dose has given you nice dark greens recently as well as an AMPS yesterday that was too low to shoot. I wouldn't increase right now.
 
Wait, if you're using u40's, how were you giving 2.2u before? Is that just your best guess of the dose?

And dosing is based off of the nadir value, not the pre-shot the value. The PS is important to make sure it's safe to administer the dose, but it's the low number in the cycle that tells you if you are giving enough, too much, or too little insulin.

No, I don't think it's a good idea to increase if you can't monitor at this point. She's in the greens already at nadir which is good. I think there is room for the small increase, but you don't have enough data to know how she responds to increases. Some cats are quite dramatic in the first cycle and you don't want her dropping when you aren't home. It's just one more cycle, and her numbers are already quite good, so at this point being cautious is important.
 
Ya, we were told by the vet that the 2.2 dose was just a tick above the 2.....so basically our best guess.

Wow, ok that makes a whole lot more sense then. I thought we were basing her dosage off of the PS number. So ideally then, we want the nadir value to be between 68-150? Do we want the Nadir value closer to the 68 or in between the 68-150?

That makes sense since we can't monitor her during the day right now to not increase. Is 1 cycle equal to 1 day (AMPS to PMPS) or is a cycle considered to be longer?

Also, if we're looking for the Nadir value, and most glucose curves are done during the day, doesn't that make the numbers a little inaccurate for nigh time shots since cats tend to run lower BG at night? I know it's harder to glucose curve over night but the numbers would be different overall from the day curve.

Lastly, since our last test at night has been at +4 lately, Oreo could be going a little lower during the Insulin's peak at +5-+7 I'd think, or shouldn't it drop that much after +4 to really matter? Over the weekend, we should be able to get a reading at + 6 PMPS.

Thanks again for all of the patience and answers! Just when you think you're picking up on everything, you learn new things!

Wait, if you're using u40's, how were you giving 2.2u before? Is that just your best guess of the dose?

And dosing is based off of the nadir value, not the pre-shot the value. The PS is important to make sure it's safe to administer the dose, but it's the low number in the cycle that tells you if you are giving enough, too much, or too little insulin.

No, I don't think it's a good idea to increase if you can't monitor at this point. She's in the greens already at nadir which is good. I think there is room for the small increase, but you don't have enough data to know how she responds to increases. Some cats are quite dramatic in the first cycle and you don't want her dropping when you aren't home. It's just one more cycle, and her numbers are already quite good, so at this point being cautious is important.
 
UPDATE - I was up and Oreo was in the living room so I tested her +6 PMPS (11PM) and her number was 127. That is up from 95 just 2 hours ago.

Is this common and what I should be seeing with her number raising at +6 if the insulin usually is working its best between +5 and +7?

Should her lowest number of the 12 hour cycle typically fall within the +5 - +7 range after insulin given? Or does her lowest number, the 95 at +4 make sense and is good?
 
Hey Matt! With Prozinc you dose based on both preshot AND nadir values...the nadir tells you how low she is likely to go, so you can get a better guess of where a preshot number will take her on a certain dose. As for cats running lower at night, that's true for MOST cats (we've had one or two who were opposite) but we just do the best we can. I wouldn't really worry about it too much...it shouldn't be so much lower that it affects them too much and really, we just have to do what we can do, which is to get tests during the day when possible and use nighttime nadirs the rest of the time.

Nadir is USUALLY about 5-7 hours post shot...but we've had cats nadir at +3 or +10...one even nadired (I'm pretty sure that's not a word...I just made it up) AT preshot time. It's hard to tell with Oreo...the curves you've done have stayed pretty flat. It's possible Oreo nadirs at +4 or +5 based on last night, but nadir is a moving target...it can change over time. As for when the nadir SHOULD be...it's fine whenever. You just get better info on when to test based on when nadir is.

Did I miss any questions? Just let us know!!!
 
My cat has typically hit nadir sometime around +3. He's just recently started to shift to a more typical time. So don't worry about the rise you saw. The 95 and 127 aren't really that far apart, it just looks like a bigger deal because of the color coding. :)

As for if it's better to be lower, mid, or high in the 68-150 range -- it depends. If you are around to monitor, you can aim for cycles that are a little lower, but for folks who are gone at work all day, we tend to recommend aiming a little higher for the sake of safety. The reasoning for that is that no matter how careful and consistent we are, sometimes cats just drop lower for a cycle, so it's nice to have a little safety margin.

Oh, and a cycle is 12 hours. So there are two cycles each day. AM and PM. The data you are getting in the PM cycle may be a bit lower than what you would find during the AM cycle, but that's okay since it will give you the more cautious numbers. If we only saw the AM numbers we could end up slightly overdosing at night.

Also, don't worry too much about curves. It's nice to get them, but if you look at my spreadsheet, you'll see i've almost never don't a full curve. I usually just grab mid-cycle numbers here and there, and those work together to build a picture of how Sam is responding. I tend to focus them around his nadir time, but once in awhile will grab tests outside of that window to make sure there isn't something strange happening that I haven't noticed.
 
Hi Rachel! Thanks for answering all of my questions. That really makes a lot more sense than what I initially thought I was looking at. You are right, it is way harder to get tests mid cycle during the week.

Hey Matt! With Prozinc you dose based on both preshot AND nadir values...the nadir tells you how low she is likely to go, so you can get a better guess of where a preshot number will take her on a certain dose. As for cats running lower at night, that's true for MOST cats (we've had one or two who were opposite) but we just do the best we can. I wouldn't really worry about it too much...it shouldn't be so much lower that it affects them too much and really, we just have to do what we can do, which is to get tests during the day when possible and use nighttime nadirs the rest of the time.

Nadir is USUALLY about 5-7 hours post shot...but we've had cats nadir at +3 or +10...one even nadired (I'm pretty sure that's not a word...I just made it up) AT preshot time. It's hard to tell with Oreo...the curves you've done have stayed pretty flat. It's possible Oreo nadirs at +4 or +5 based on last night, but nadir is a moving target...it can change over time. As for when the nadir SHOULD be...it's fine whenever. You just get better info on when to test based on when nadir is.

Did I miss any questions? Just let us know!!!
 
Makes a lot of sense when around to aim for lower numbers and when not around you play it safe. Speaking of that, last night when we tested Oreo +4 PMPS she was pretty low again at 64. She was down from 192 PMPS. The past couple days at +4, she was at a good number at 95 for 3 straight days. I guess with her being that low at +4 last night is just something that happens sometimes even if prior days were fine at that time after the same insulin dose. The 64 on the chart is still in dark green but I'm in the process of having that scale changed so it shows lime green. It won't let me manually change the color but I'm working on it!

We gave her the snack at that time though. Tried to get another test 30 mins later but she wasn't having it one bit.



My cat has typically hit nadir sometime around +3. He's just recently started to shift to a more typical time. So don't worry about the rise you saw. The 95 and 127 aren't really that far apart, it just looks like a bigger deal because of the color coding. :)

As for if it's better to be lower, mid, or high in the 68-150 range -- it depends. If you are around to monitor, you can aim for cycles that are a little lower, but for folks who are gone at work all day, we tend to recommend aiming a little higher for the sake of safety. The reasoning for that is that no matter how careful and consistent we are, sometimes cats just drop lower for a cycle, so it's nice to have a little safety margin.

Oh, and a cycle is 12 hours. So there are two cycles each day. AM and PM. The data you are getting in the PM cycle may be a bit lower than what you would find during the AM cycle, but that's okay since it will give you the more cautious numbers. If we only saw the AM numbers we could end up slightly overdosing at night.

Also, don't worry too much about curves. It's nice to get them, but if you look at my spreadsheet, you'll see i've almost never don't a full curve. I usually just grab mid-cycle numbers here and there, and those work together to build a picture of how Sam is responding. I tend to focus them around his nadir time, but once in awhile will grab tests outside of that window to make sure there isn't something strange happening that I haven't noticed.
 
Last edited:
Hi Matt,

Some more tips on treating hypos for you.

Then at plus 4 she dropped dramatically to 34. We tested again right away to make sure the BG test wasn't wrong and she was at 33. We immediately fed her an 1/8 cup kibble and put a little syrup on it. She then improved to 35 BG at +5 and then at +5.5-6 she went up to 74.
Re the recent low numbers, you need to get BG numbers up faster if Oreo goes low again (and I really hope she doesn't!). Please check the following link for recommended supplies for treating hypos:

Hypo Tool Box

Granted you gave Oreo some syrup and dry food when you got the 20 January PM+4 low but as you can see from the low number again at +5:

- honey/syrup/glucose may raise BG quickly but it also wears off really quickly and numbers can fall back again.

- it takes quite a long time for dry food carbs to raise BG levels.

For future reference, the gravy from higher carb food (e.g. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) can get carbs into the blood stream faster than dry food - and they keep levels up longer than honey/syrup. If you do get a low again, feed gravy and honey/syrup if required (the lower the BG the more critical the honey/syrup) and test every 15 minutes to make sure numbers come up above 68 (Alphatrak) and stay above 68 (and with lower numbers you need to force the issue, even if Oreo is not as co-operative as one might wish). If they haven't come up enough - or if they drop back again - feed more gravy and syrup as required to keep numbers up. Jot down what you feed after each test result as you go along as this will help you to keep track of what you fed and when to keep numbers up. (Once things calm down, it's a good idea to also record this info in the spreadsheet for future reference.)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
My view on low numbers differs a bit from most folks on here. I try to avoid administering carbs as much as possible. I would first try giving her regular low carb food and testing again in 20-30 minutes. If the second test shows that the number is continuing to decline, then I would consider the high-carb food. If the number is holding steady or rising, I would continue to give small snacks of low carb food until you are past the nadir.

In this case, our best guess is that Oreo hits nadir around +4 which is where you were when you saw the 64, so odds are she was due to start rising soon anyway. Another reason why high carbs may not be necessary at that time, but a snack would definitely be in order. Also, 64 is within meter variation of 68, and 68 is a safe number. That being said, hypos can be serious, so you do want to stay up a bit longer and get a second or even a third test to make sure she is rising and not falling at that point. Especially since we aren't positive she's an early nadir all the time since there isn't a ton of data yet.

If she hits a lime green before nadir (+2, +3), then you might need to be more aggressive with the carbs since at that point the insulin is still lowering her BG.

Also, anytime she hits a lime green, you should lower the dose a little. So her dose now should be 0.75u. You have to kind of eyeball that on the syringe. It might help to take a syringe, pull up some colored water to what you think is 0.75u, and use that as your guide for future doses. It's more important to be consistent than it is to be exactly accurate about it it's precisely 0.75u or not.
 
PS @Kris & Teasel was right - back when we were talking about holding the dose or increasing and she said not to increase yet. :) Where is our eating crow emoji? :smuggrin:

Those yellows may be bounces from daytime lows that we can't see, instead of an indication that she needs more insulin. Sometimes impatience gets the better of me. ;)
 
@Djamila -

With numbers just below the hypo threshold I'd follow the test, feed small amount of low carb, test again, rinse 'n' repeat till numbers came up and stayed up (e.g. Oreo's recent 64 Alphatrak result).

However, if a cat's Alphatrak reading was in the 30s slap bang in the middle of a cycle (as was the case with Oreo a few nights ago) then I would be much more aggressive with interventions to get numbers up and to keep them up.

Horses for courses (as with so many things in life). :)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
@Critter Mom - Yes, I absolutely agree about any number that is really below the 68 line! Thank you for clarifying that.

What I wrote was only intended to refer to numbers that are really close to the line like last night. I'm so sorry I didn't make that clear. I certainly don't want anyone to put their kitty in danger thinking all low numbers are the same!
 
Thank you so much for the answers and help! I tried to respond to each question within your question Djamila but it wouldn't let me post that way for some reason. When I tried to quote your post it said it contained spam like content or inappropriate elements.

1. Oreo has lost weight overall. At one point she was around 13 lbs about 2 years ago and we realized she had to lose some weight so we changed her diet and made sure she was playing a lot more. She seemed to be losing weight prior to the diabetes diagnoses. She is now 10 lbs and we think that is a healthy weight. 10 lbs is a good weight correct? As for the food, this may be a dumb question, but how do you figure out Protein, fat, carbs based on the food label? For example, the wet DM on the label says crude protein is 12.5%, crude fat is 4%, fiber is 1%. I'm guessing some math is involved but I'm just not sure how to figure that out. Grocery stores don't seem to have a great selection for foods high in protein but low in carbs. Where do most people buy from? At Walmart though, I found the Meow Mix - Tender favorites Tuna and shrimp and based on your chart it appears to be a good one to use. Is that correct? I have a lot of the DM cans left, do you think it's ok to finish them and then switch or would you recommend going to a lower carb wet food right away also? I also heard in the past that fish type foods weren't always good to serve and chicken/turkey was better?

2. This makes a lot of sense. I don't want to stress her out any more than she needs to be but doing all this testing seems overwhelming at first. But I want to do what's in her best interest obviously.

3. At Walmart today, I picked up a ReliOn Prime GC meter, 50 test strips, and lancing device. I am still a little nercous about doing this at home but let me make sure I have this correct. I first use the lancer to prick her ear and then use the meter to test? I don't think she'll sit still and let us lance her ear. She's good with shots because while she's eating we give it to her. Is there not a device that I just stick to her ear and it automatically pricks, instead of a single needle I have to use? Maybe it's really easy but obviously never having done it, it seems hard. Also, I read that I need to call the number and have them send me the control solution to make sure the meter is accurate. Should I wait to test anything until I get the solution. Also, should I wait to start testing when I can be home for the whole day?

5. Once I start testing, I will definitely get this set up!

8. I picked up the ketones testing strips also and she should let me test this without any issues.

Hi and welcome!
Looks like some great people have already responded. These people are awesome!
I'm super late chiming in. When I was new(er) in the group I had just purchased a bunch of fancy Veterinary recommended stuff (DM, Hills and Royal Canin--I was able to return for and get either a credit to my vet account, or credited back to my bank card. The dry kibble was even used too.

Something to look into maybe?
 
@Djamila @Critter Mom @Teenuh @Kris & Teasel

Thank you so much again for the help and information. I will definitely get a hypo kit put together. I didn't realize I had all of these responses since I last checked since I didn't get any notifications this time!

I was actually coming on to ask if you all thought we should decrease her insulin do to the lower numbers PMPS +4. She was at 95 for 3 days but then the past 2, shes been at 33 and last night, 74 which is close to the dreaded 68. If we give .75 at night, do we also give .75 during the day? Her numbers at 1 unit in the past have held up ok. We gave 1 unit this morning, should we still give the .75 starting tonight?

Are you also saying then if we go through a cycle or two and her nadir number is getting higher again, do we increase the next cycle back to 1 or just hold at .75 for awhile?

Thanks!
 
Yes, give 0.75u at night. And we don't actually know how she's doing during the AM cycle. There may be some low numbers hiding in there that we just can't see. Or those cycles might be higher and flatter as a result of the low PM numbers, but if the dose is lower, those cycles might be more responsive too - everything kind of works together - it's not just each cycle being its own unique thing.

So yes, I would lower both AM and PM doses to 0.75 starting tonight, and then try to get those extra tests in (both Saturday and Sunday if you can). It doesn't have to be a full curve, but if you could get a +4 and a +6 or a +3 and +5, that would be great. Of course any others besides that are great too, but I know it can be hard to stay home for a whole weekend.

And yes, if you reduce and her numbers start climbing, you can increase again, but I'd give it a little time to see were she settles out with the new dose.
 
Ok great thanks! Ya I guess I was basing the morning numbers after the very limited numbers I had which doesn't help for the recent days.

We'll be able to get more tests in this weekend for sure so we have a better idea.

Thanks again!

Yes, give 0.75u at night. And we don't actually know how she's doing during the AM cycle. There may be some low numbers hiding in there that we just can't see. Or those cycles might be higher and flatter as a result of the low PM numbers, but if the dose is lower, those cycles might be more responsive too - everything kind of works together - it's not just each cycle being its own unique thing.

So yes, I would lower both AM and PM doses to 0.75 starting tonight, and then try to get those extra tests in (both Saturday and Sunday if you can). It doesn't have to be a full curve, but if you could get a +4 and a +6 or a +3 and +5, that would be great. Of course any others besides that are great too, but I know it can be hard to stay home for a whole weekend.

And yes, if you reduce and her numbers start climbing, you can increase again, but I'd give it a little time to see were she settles out with the new dose.
 
So we just tested Oreo PMPS 5PM and she's only at 153. That's the lowest she's been in a while PMPS and we know she usually drops pretty low at +4. We decided not to give her a shot because we figured even the new dose of 0.75 would take her well below the 68 eventually. We then considered a lower dose tonight like 0.25 but figured we shouldn't risk yet. We think we made the right call but let us know your thoughts!

We'll test her later tonight and see where she's at.
 
Last edited:
Most kitties don't show symptoms until they get really low. All of this testing and snacking is just in service of keeping her away from the dangerous lows.

That makes sense that the nighttime snack is just her habit. I like a bedtime snack too :D.

Have you tried Young Again Zero Carb? It can be ordered online and lots of folks around here use it if they can't get their cats off of kibble. It's lower in digestible carbs than any other kibble, so for most cats it doesn't mess with their BG as much. It's expensive, but most cats only eat about 1/4c per day (and less if it's just fed as a snack) so apparently a bag lasts a long time.
Does Young Again put on weight? I need something that my cat will gain weight on and wet food doesn’t have enough calories.
 
Does Young Again put on weight? I need something that my cat will gain weight on and wet food doesn’t have enough calories.
Hi Jena- It sounds like you have a few questions. Have you made a thread for Abby? (I haven't finished working through the list yet tonight, so I might have just not reached it yet). If not, you might find it helpful to start a thread so you can keep your questions and responses all in one place and not lose them in the middle of other people's threads. Harder to find later if you want to refer back.

That being said, YAZ is calorie dense, so it may help with weight gain, however dry food is not recommended as it can cause a number of other health problems. You might consider one of the kitten foods as they tend to be higher in calories. Also, getting Abby's BG in better control will be necessary before she's going to hold her weight well, so let's work on that aspect as well to hopefully help her gain a bit. :)
 
So we just tested Oreo PMPS 5PM and she's only at 153. That's the lowest she's been in a while PMPS and we know she usually drops pretty low at +4. We decided not to give her a shot because we figured even the new dose of 0.75 would take her well below the 68 eventually. We then considered a lower dose tonight like 0.25 but figured we shouldn't risk yet. We think we made the right call but let us know your thoughts!

We'll test her later tonight and see where she's at.

@mattm1124 - Oreo's workin' that insulin! Because you monitor the evening cycle until her (maybe) nadir, I think you could have tried 0.25u on that and then collected the data to see how she responds and steered her a bit with food if it was too much. That being said, the I think given the number you're seeing, the NS was okay too. Plus, you all get to enjoy a worry-free evening now which is kind of nice too.
 
Quick update..just tested at +4 and she climbed a little to 174.

Ya I really thought we could give her the 0.25 tonight and then monitor her but wasn't 100% sure so thought it was safer not to give any...still learning! Hypothetically, if we would have given her the 0.25 tonight would we have then went back to trying the 0.75u tomorrow morning?

Also, guessing her AMPS number will be slightly higher after NS tonight, you are still recommending 0.75 in the morning or do we go with 1 again if higher but 0.75 tomorrow night? Is the overall goal to keep morning and night shots the same if possible or do am and pm shots just go by the numbers in the cycle and ok to be a little different?

@mattm1124 - Oreo's workin' that insulin! Because you monitor the evening cycle until her (maybe) nadir, I think you could have tried 0.25u on that and then collected the data to see how she responds and steered her a bit with food if it was too much. That being said, the I think given the number you're seeing, the NS was okay too. Plus, you all get to enjoy a worry-free evening now which is kind of nice too.
 
Yes, if you had given the 0.25u tonight, you would have gone back to 0.75u in the morning (assuming the numbers allowed it).

And yes, I would recommend sticking with the 0.75u tomorrow regardless of how high the AMPS number might be. I'd be surprised if it's higher than a low yellow anyway (although I'm often surprised by our kitties around here :eek:;)).

As for AM/PM doses, typically you want to keep them the same, although there are times when a kitty runs so much lower at night that we end up recommending slightly different doses.

Is Oreo still getting the DM dry? If you really really want to keep giving her dry, I'd recommend switching to YAZ when you can so she isn't getting the carbs from the DM. It may be enough to make the difference for her in all of this.
 
Good morning!

You were right, this morning Oreo's BG was below 200 at 171 so we gave her the 0.75 dose. We'll only be able to get another reading at +4 today because we have to go out but tomorrow morning we will be able to get more tests in.

She's still on the DM dry for now. I searched YAZ and didn't find any cat foods with that name for some reason. Do you happen to have a link?

Thanks!

Yes, if you had given the 0.25u tonight, you would have gone back to 0.75u in the morning (assuming the numbers allowed it).

And yes, I would recommend sticking with the 0.75u tomorrow regardless of how high the AMPS number might be. I'd be surprised if it's higher than a low yellow anyway (although I'm often surprised by our kitties around here :eek:;)).

As for AM/PM doses, typically you want to keep them the same, although there are times when a kitty runs so much lower at night that we end up recommending slightly different doses.

Is Oreo still getting the DM dry? If you really really want to keep giving her dry, I'd recommend switching to YAZ when you can so she isn't getting the carbs from the DM. It may be enough to make the difference for her in all of this.
 
Good morning!

You were right, this morning Oreo's BG was below 200 at 171 so we gave her the 0.75 dose. We'll only be able to get another reading at +4 today because we have to go out but tomorrow morning we will be able to get more tests in.

She's still on the DM dry for now. I searched YAZ and didn't find any cat foods with that name for some reason. Do you happen to have a link?

Thanks!
Here you go:
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com/zero-mature-health.html
 
Today in the morning we were able to get a +4 and a +8 BG reading. Tomorrow if we don't do a full curve I was thinking it would be best to get a +3 and a +5 at least since we were able to get a +4 today. Gives us another number at a different time from today. Does that make sense to you also?

We could also probably do a full curve and test every two hours but I hate to do that to Oreo if we don't have to. If you think that's best though, we can get it done.

Yes, give 0.75u at night. And we don't actually know how she's doing during the AM cycle. There may be some low numbers hiding in there that we just can't see. Or those cycles might be higher and flatter as a result of the low PM numbers, but if the dose is lower, those cycles might be more responsive too - everything kind of works together - it's not just each cycle being its own unique thing.

So yes, I would lower both AM and PM doses to 0.75 starting tonight, and then try to get those extra tests in (both Saturday and Sunday if you can). It doesn't have to be a full curve, but if you could get a +4 and a +6 or a +3 and +5, that would be great. Of course any others besides that are great too, but I know it can be hard to stay home for a whole weekend.

And yes, if you reduce and her numbers start climbing, you can increase again, but I'd give it a little time to see were she settles out with the new dose.
 
Doing it like you said where you get +4 and +8 one day and +3 and +5 the next day is fine. Really, it's probably better than a curve in some ways...curves can be useful every now and then, but generally, if you can try to do the random tests at different times a few days in a row, that gives you a nice, complete picture. A lot of us do it that way since getting curves can be difficult when you only have a few days off to get your own stuff done!
 
Hello everyone. I hope you all had a great weekend!

Over the weekend we were able to get a good about of tests in and was hoping you all could check the numbers and let me know what you think and if any adjustments need to be made. Going with the 0.75U seems to be working but we're not getting a lot of dark green numbers in the morning. We are getting blue. It still seems ok but is dark green what we are aiming for? Are the drops/additions in her numbers throughout the day ok?

Last night, Oreo's BG PMPS was only 151 so we only gave 0.25u since she usually drops a lot lower at +4 at night. We were then able to test at +2 and +4.

Also, we ordered that Young Again Zero Mature food for Oreo. Seemed like the right one with her being 9 years old instead of just the zero blend. When it comes in, we plan on mixing the two foods to slowly switch it over. I'm guessing when we make the switch is should be when we can test her more since I know BG can drop a lot when switching foods. What's the best way to make the transition easier, especially since we can't test a lot during the day.

Thanks!
 
Yes, you are aiming for dark green, but if you're still getting numbers that make you feel like you shouldn't shoot, then I wouldn't increase the dose right now. FWIW, I think you could have given the 0.75 on the 151. You gave that dose on a 159 and she stayed flat through the cycle, granted it was an AM cycle and as you said she runs a little lower at night, but the numbers you got show she would have been okay with more. That's the tricky thing - we always know in hindsight....:rolleyes:

One thing about the YAZ is that their directions are adamant that you have to feed only YAZ. Please don't follow that. Wet food is way better for them, and lots of folks around here just use YAZ for treats or occasional leave-outs and do just fine. As far as the transition, assuming she likes it, I'd go with 25%/75%, then 50/50, 75/25, 100% and how quickly depends on Oreo. Does she usually do well with food transitions? Or does she need to move slowly? You could probably transition over about a week, but could move slower if needed, especially taking into consideration your scheudle. I would aim for the move to 75/25 to be on a Friday evening so you can monitor, and same with the move to 100%. So it may take a couple of weeks just to allow for monitoring.

I've read on here that some kitties get the runs as they move to a higher percent of YAZ, so that's something to watch for. I believe I've read that it goes away in time. The slow transition might help with that too.

I don't use this food, so hopefully if I've said something wrong here, someone who does or has used it can chime in with any corrections!
 
Thank you for the information regarding the YAZ. We'll definitely slowly mix the foods together at first.

Ok so last night PMPS Oreo was at 179 and we gave her the 0.75u. At +4 she tested at 54. We were able to get her BG back up and tested a few more times. Based on previous numbers, it definitely seems as though 0.75 or even 1u is fine for Oreo in the morning but the 0.75u still seems to be too much at night. What do you suggest? Is it possible to give the 0.75 in the AM but then maybe 0.50 from now on at night? Obviously just don't want her to consistently be that low at night. I know you said it's not ideal to change the doses AM and PM but not sure what to do with these numbers.

This morning we then only gave her 0.50 just to be safe even though mornings she's usually fine with the higher dose of insulin.

Thanks!

Yes, you are aiming for dark green, but if you're still getting numbers that make you feel like you shouldn't shoot, then I wouldn't increase the dose right now. FWIW, I think you could have given the 0.75 on the 151. You gave that dose on a 159 and she stayed flat through the cycle, granted it was an AM cycle and as you said she runs a little lower at night, but the numbers you got show she would have been okay with more. That's the tricky thing - we always know in hindsight....:rolleyes:

One thing about the YAZ is that their directions are adamant that you have to feed only YAZ. Please don't follow that. Wet food is way better for them, and lots of folks around here just use YAZ for treats or occasional leave-outs and do just fine. As far as the transition, assuming she likes it, I'd go with 25%/75%, then 50/50, 75/25, 100% and how quickly depends on Oreo. Does she usually do well with food transitions? Or does she need to move slowly? You could probably transition over about a week, but could move slower if needed, especially taking into consideration your scheudle. I would aim for the move to 75/25 to be on a Friday evening so you can monitor, and same with the move to 100%. So it may take a couple of weeks just to allow for monitoring.

I've read on here that some kitties get the runs as they move to a higher percent of YAZ, so that's something to watch for. I believe I've read that it goes away in time. The slow transition might help with that too.

I don't use this food, so hopefully if I've said something wrong here, someone who does or has used it can chime in with any corrections!
 
Thank you for the information regarding the YAZ. We'll definitely slowly mix the foods together at first.

Ok so last night PMPS Oreo was at 179 and we gave her the 0.75u. At +4 she tested at 54. We were able to get her BG back up and tested a few more times. Based on previous numbers, it definitely seems as though 0.75 or even 1u is fine for Oreo in the morning but the 0.75u still seems to be too much at night. What do you suggest? Is it possible to give the 0.75 in the AM but then maybe 0.50 from now on at night? Obviously just don't want her to consistently be that low at night. I know you said it's not ideal to change the doses AM and PM but not sure what to do with these numbers.

This morning we then only gave her 0.50 just to be safe even though mornings she's usually fine with the higher dose of insulin.

Thanks!
Yes, it's possible to give a different dose AM and PM. My suggestion would be to try 0.5 u both AM and PM for a few cycles to see what happens, especially overnight and go from there. It's possible that .75 u in the day and 0.5 u at night would be a good routine but there's been quite a few dose adjustment over the last several days. I like to get things calmed down to see what patterns emerge before PS-adjusted dosing.
 
Yes, you can try off-setting the doses and giving 0.75 AM and 0.5 PM. I worry a little since we can't see what's happening during the AM cycle, but Sam went though a long period where he needed different dosing.

I see that Kris just posted about the recent dose adjustments during the PM cycle, and I'm inclined to agree with her. What about giving 0.5u for both cycles for a couple of days and see where things settle out. Or maybe a "fat" 0.5 during the day and a regular 0.5u at night?
 
Got it. We'll try the 0.50 both AM and PM for a bit and see what happens. It's just scary seeing her numbers dip like that but I do realize it's a trial and error thing for the most part and you have to figure out what works best.

Yes, it's possible to give a different dose AM and PM. My suggestion would be to try 0.5 u both AM and PM for a few cycles to see what happens, especially overnight and go from there. It's possible that .75 u in the day and 0.5 u at night would be a good routine but there's been quite a few dose adjustment over the last several days. I like to get things calmed down to see what patterns emerge before PS-adjusted dosing.
 
Good evening everyone!

So we just got the YAZ dry food in the mail today. I wanted to ask if we could just start giving her this new food without mixing it with her old?

In the past when we have switched her food she does just eat whatever is in her bowl and isn't picky in regards to the dry food. We've never mixed in the past but she didn't have diabetes then either.

I didn't know if mixing the new with the old was necessary in regards to blood sugar or if it was just because cats tend to be picky with new food.

If it's ok to just switch all at once to new food it would be easier to monitor I think. If it's better for her health to mix then we of course will.

To remind you, we currently feed her 1/4 cup dry at 5am, some wet food at 5pm, and then 1/8 cup dry at 9 PM to hold her over night.

With the YAZ we would probably just do 1/8 at 5am and 9pm and still do the wet at 5pm. We read that cats typically need only 1/4 cup daily of YAZ since its more nutrient dense.

Thanks!
 
Good evening everyone!

So we just got the YAZ dry food in the mail today. I wanted to ask if we could just start giving her this new food without mixing it with her old?

In the past when we have switched her food she does just eat whatever is in her bowl and isn't picky in regards to the dry food. We've never mixed in the past but she didn't have diabetes then either.

I didn't know if mixing the new with the old was necessary in regards to blood sugar or if it was just because cats tend to be picky with new food.

If it's ok to just switch all at once to new food it would be easier to monitor I think. If it's better for her health to mix then we of course will.

To remind you, we currently feed her 1/4 cup dry at 5am, some wet food at 5pm, and then 1/8 cup dry at 9 PM to hold her over night.

With the YAZ we would probably just do 1/8 at 5am and 9pm and still do the wet at 5pm. We read that cats typically need only 1/4 cup daily of YAZ since its more nutrient dense.

Thanks!
I suggest you phase it in very gradually. Some cats have had diarrhea from the YAZ.
 
So we actually didn't start with the YAZ. I think what we're going to try is switching her to all wet food. We think if we have some of the low carb FF different kinds she may be more inclined to switch. I've been reading also about how to go about switching to all wet. Well have to wait for a weekend we can test her since we work during the week.

We were able to get some good tests in today during the day at the 0.5 units. It still seems like the .75 would be good in the am and 0.5 in the pm. You think we should go to that starting tomorrow morning or do you suggest 0.5 tomorrow morning also and a few more tests? After tomorrow morning we won't be able to test in the am again until next weekend. Because of that didn't know if the 0.5 for a whole nother week would be ideal if the .75 would in fact be better for her. We've been giving the 0.5 for 5 days now but only am tests are from today.

Thanks!
 
So we actually didn't start with the YAZ. I think what we're going to try is switching her to all wet food. We think if we have some of the low carb FF different kinds she may be more inclined to switch. I've been reading also about how to go about switching to all wet. Well have to wait for a weekend we can test her since we work during the week.

We were able to get some good tests in today during the day at the 0.5 units. It still seems like the .75 would be good in the am and 0.5 in the pm. You think we should go to that starting tomorrow morning or do you suggest 0.5 tomorrow morning also and a few more tests? After tomorrow morning we won't be able to test in the am again until next weekend. Because of that didn't know if the 0.5 for a whole nother week would be ideal if the .75 would in fact be better for her. We've been giving the 0.5 for 5 days now but only am tests are from today.

Thanks!
You could try 0.75 u tomorrow AM and leave the PM dose at 0.5 u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top