New here. Diabetic since May 2015 Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
76. Can't wait to see this evening's preshot number. Apparently 1.75 units is too high, for now. What will be the right dose be? 1.5? Lower?
 
76. Can't wait to see this evening's preshot number. Apparently 1.75 units is too high, for now. What will be the right dose be? 1.5? Lower?
Try 1.5 u or if you're feeling very unsure, 1.25 u. Those lows today will leave him sensitive.
 
I assume you will see a bounce, but yes, I'd go with a little less insulin. Looks like "maybe" he needs 3+ cycles to get over low numbers...

Good news but hard to know what to give.
 
Wow! What an interesting day. Remember, he might be higher in the morning, but that's okay. I'd still reduce the dose.
 
I don't have enough brain cells left today to think clearly, but I'm half thinking, if it's a shootable number tomorrow,
I'll go with either 1 or 1.25 units even if he is 500 in the morning! I'm still in shock of what 1.75 did!!!???
Thanks again for the care and concern!!!!!
 
Just posting as an FYI in light of yesterday's crazy experience. His AMPS this morning was 523. I gave him 1.25 units. Just tested at +4 = 362. Nice, positive, gentle decrease from a high bounce. Ahhhh I will wallow in this moment......
Getting ready to update my excel spreadsheet to send to my Vet. When he gave me the new bottle on Dec. 22nd, he asked me to send my spreadsheet after two weeks; noting that he was not expecting any difference from a new bottle. :rolleyes:
 
PMPS is 102 His AMPS was 393 after a day in the 400's. 20 minutes later, he is at 119. Is it possible 1.25 units is too much with this bottle? I hate to skip another shot as it might be assisting with the bounces. Should I give him 1/4 unit just to not skip? Should I lower his dose again?
 
PMPS is 102 His AMPS was 393 after a day in the 400's. 20 minutes later, he is at 119. Is it possible 1.25 units is too much with this bottle? I hate to skip another shot as it might be assisting with the bounces. Should I give him 1/4 unit just to not skip? Should I lower his dose again?
I think you'll be stalling a long time to get this up to a shootable number. The safest thing to do is skip this evening shot. My opinion only - others might have a different take.
 
Yes, I think 1.25 could be too much. I would be nervous shooting under 150. I'd want to be sure he is rising, not still falling. What happens to tomorrow if you wait an hour or so? And even then if he is 150-180, I would shoot maybe 0.5? And plan to monitor at +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top