New here. Diabetic since May 2015 Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would be more confident about your raising the dose, if you got some numbers earlier in the cycle. It is possible if she drops low early. The black looks more like a bounce than a high because of not enough insulin. The other reason for these higher levels could be an infection or stress - are her teeth okay? No chance of a UTI?
 
At the last Vet visit the Vet did a quick check of his teeth but didn't see anything. He doesn't seem stressed. He also is sleeping under the bed all morning and sometimes through the afternoon. That is his place to sleep during the day so that's not unusual except he usually comes out when I eat lunch and hasn't been doing that everyday. But when he's out, he acts perfectly normal.
What would I look for to be suspicious of a UTI? It seems like there are more larger clumps lately in the litter box.
 
A cat brewing a UTI will generally make frequent trips to the litterbox and might deposit only dribbles, there may be more licking of the back end going on, they might urinate in unusual/improper locations, they might yowl in the litter box, etc.
 
Haven't observed any of that going on. He is very productive when he goes in the litter box. Nothing outside the box; no noises, nothing.

I just looked for him to try to do a +3 test; he is holed up under the bed.
Tomorrow morning, I'll close the doors and try to do some AM tests. I'm working from home, so not sure how well it will work, but it's my plan to test hopefully at +2 and +4.

Thank you!
 
Did a curve today; all high numbers. The spreadsheet is updated. He is at 2.75 units. The increase from 2.5 to 2.75 hasn't made a difference. What do you suggest?
 
Did a curve today; all high numbers. The spreadsheet is updated. He is at 2.75 units. The increase from 2.5 to 2.75 hasn't made a difference. What do you suggest?
Hard to say what's going on. High and flat can be from too low a dose or from bouncing. You're getting reds at a dose range that gave you blues and greens in the past. Sue asked you yesterday whether an infection was possible. I really don't know what to say other than maybe try a reduction to 1.5 u for 3 cycles to see what happens. Don't stay there if his BG shoots up. This might give some indication of whether it's an overdose or not. Increasing isn't working so why not try the opposite?
 
Tried 1.5 for 3 cycles - no change in the numbers. The 250 was a mis reading, I think. I used both sides of the strip trying to get a sample. Same thing happened this morning and I got a reading of 105. I changed strips; tested again immediately and it was 428.
So, guess I'll go back up with the dose. I really think Morgan's system needs a fresh bottle every 30 days; it's worth a try if my Vet will appease this crazy cat mom.
 
Yes, I would go back up. Now you know that more is better. It is possible that the first bottle was off for some reason. It'd be interesting to see if a new bottle makes a difference.
 
Unfortunately, for some reason, I didn't get your response on my e-mail. Just saw your response now. This morning, I was ready to increase back to 2.5 and his AMPS was 385. That's still too high, but he hasn't been in the 300's for his preshot since Dec. 4th, so I kept him at 1.5. Should I post his number tonight before giving his shot?
Have I thanked you lately for your help? Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
He was 417 for his PMPS. See what tomorrow brings. If he stays high, I'm thinking I should go up a unit if for no other reason than the fact that my vet is probably going to want him on a higher dose before he authorizes a new bottle. I'd like a fresh bottle for Christmas.
 
I haven't had time to update the spreadsheet; suffice it to say, Morgan was staying in the 400's. I was finally able to get a new bottle of ProZinc just to see if the new bottle really is more potent.
Dec. 22's pmps was 388. After that test, I dropped to 2 units using the new bottle of ProZinc.
12/23; amps was 353
12/23 pmps - 301
12/24 amps - 116?
I realize it's Chrismas and this isn't an emergency, but there is definately something about the potency of a new bottle happening here.
I read one of Sue's previous posts to me saying to wait 20 minutes to see if the number is going up. My Vet doesn't want me to skip doses,
but 116 is too low to shoot. I'm going to check again and then if he raises, I'll give 1 unit.
 
I haven't had time to update the spreadsheet; suffice it to say, Morgan was staying in the 400's. I was finally able to get a new bottle of ProZinc just to see if the new bottle really is more potent.
Dec. 22's pmps was 388. After that test, I dropped to 2 units using the new bottle of ProZinc.
12/23; amps was 353
12/23 pmps - 301
12/24 amps - 116?
I realize it's Chrismas and this isn't an emergency, but there is definately something about the potency of a new bottle happening here.
I read one of Sue's previous posts to me saying to wait 20 minutes to see if the number is going up. My Vet doesn't want me to skip doses,
but 116 is too low to shoot. I'm going to check again and then if he raises, I'll give 1 unit.
That's a plan. I try to avoid no shots now that I have lots of data. My rule of thumb is to give 30 to 50% of the dose if I have a low PS. I still use the stall technique first.
 
Thank you! I wasn't expecting a response today, so I really appreciate it. It was 1 hr later that I checked - it was BG=145, so it was rising.
I may have given him a a partial or full fur shot though; not sure. The needle definately went in but there was a little insulin on his fur. Can't believe I did that.
I went to 1 unit. I'm having my family over for dinner tonight and was going to shoot him an hour early because once people are here; he is under the bed. I suspect his number will be good for his pmps; if for some crazy reason it's low; I'll can't check again until probably 4 hours later.
Thanks again for your help!
 
Fur shots happen! We've all been there. Maybe it'll work in your favor since you need to shoot early tonight!

I believe Kris and I are both around all weekend if you need something. I'll check in regularly...our kitties don't recognize holidays!
 
Fur shots happen! We've all been there. Maybe it'll work in your favor since you need to shoot early tonight!

I believe Kris and I are both around all weekend if you need something. I'll check in regularly...our kitties don't recognize holidays!
Yes, I'm around almost all the time. Will check in before I go anywhere and when I come back. Outings are minimal and only a few hours in length. Main one is Christmas dinner tomorrow from mid/late afternoon on to mid evening approximately.
 
I have no plans...no family nearby so I stay home with the boyfriend and cats. We don't even do a special dinner or anything...so I'll be sure to check in throughout the day tomorrow! My only outing today is to get some more cat food...since my darn Amazon order won't be here before I run out :banghead:
 
Thank you. I read your comments yesterday; much appreciated. Yesterday was my big event; the day was crazy. My company arrived earlier than expected (or invited, but I'll forgive my brother) but Morgan immediately retreated under the bed. So, between hearing other voices and the fact that I had to vacuum him out from under the bed; I'm sure his numbers were elevated. He was at 210. I dropped from 2 units to 1 unit - I know he didn't eat while company was here, but he ate a lot 4 hours later.
Updated the spreadsheet.
This morning, he bounced to 362. I didn't want to go back to 2 units; was not sure about 1 unit, so I gave 1.5 units. Not sure I did the right thing.
By the way; Happy Holidays!
 
Thank you. I read your comments yesterday; much appreciated. Yesterday was my big event; the day was crazy. My company arrived earlier than expected (or invited, but I'll forgive my brother) but Morgan immediately retreated under the bed. So, between hearing other voices and the fact that I had to vacuum him out from under the bed; I'm sure his numbers were elevated. He was at 210. I dropped from 2 units to 1 unit - I know he didn't eat while company was here, but he ate a lot 4 hours later.
Updated the spreadsheet.
This morning, he bounced to 362. I didn't want to go back to 2 units; was not sure about 1 unit, so I gave 1.5 units. Not sure I did the right thing.
By the way; Happy Holidays!
All we can do is make a decision. :) The 1.5 u seems OK. If you can get some midcycle tests that would be helpful.
 
I updated the spread sheet. I need to leave for dinner so I was going to do Morgan 1/2 hour early. He is at 162. I misjudged this morning and increased by .5 because I got a 404 with the amps. I have to leave in about 10 minutes which takes me to our regular shot time. Not sure what to do. If I have to leave before I can read a response, I will check him when I return which will be in about 1.5 - 2 hours.
 
Yes I skipped. I was able to check before I left which was 20 minutes after his pmps and he went down to 155. Just got home and am now getting ready to test him. Wanted to check here first.
 
That should work. One unit was okay on 12/26. Tomorrow you should be able to shoot at +10 or later as long as he is high enough and rising. I would reduce from the 2.5 tomorrow.
 
Thank you Rachel; those numbers are compliments of a fresh new bottle!
First AMPS was 194. I checked 25 minutes later to make sure he was rising and it was 209. I gave him 1 unit.
 
Just tested him at +6: 360. In anticipation of a high number tonight, I'm not sure how to dose. Is the 360 a result of two low doses, or a bounce?
Not sure if he is 360 or over tonight, if I should stick with 1 unit or go back to 2 units or somewhere in between?
 
Two units looked like it was working well, maybe 1.5 is a better choice until you see what he is doing. Might take a while to get him back on track. Just plan to monitor for a couple cycles till you see what's what.
 
Now he is at 82. He ate a lot for dinner which probably helped.
Regarding dose reduction; 1.5 didn't seem to be enough. 1.75? I'll check again. Hate to skip a dose, but I'll only be up for about another
hour and a half.
Thank you.
 
Since Morgan ended at 95 at almost 11:00 pm (PM+4) I did skip his shot evening shot on Jan 1.
I updated his SS; Jan 2nd AMPS 264 - gave 1.5 units; +6 311; PMPS was 532.
Today's AMPS was 525 and his PMPS is 507.
Not very happy with the 500's and confused about dosing. I definately expected a bounce, but not three preshot readings in a row in the 500's!
2 units made him too low. 1.5 + two 1.75 doses are not bringing him down.
Do you think I should continue to hold at 1.75 units; or maybe if still high tomorrow morning, give him 2 units and then in PM give 1.75?
I know I'm not an expert here, but his system seems to have no rhyme or reason. Sometimes 2 units is not enough; sometimes 2 units is way too much!?
 
This morning's AMPS was 237!! I kept the 1.75 units (which was before your post, Kris) The 500's are scary numbers, but I resisted the urge to go higher, remembering Sue's words "I'm gathering data" and was very relieved to see 237 this morning.
I will try to do a couple of tests today since he has come down so much.
Thank you!
 
At +4 he tested at 35!!! What in the world is going on?
He just ate a bunch of food; dry (Young Again zero carb) + I gave him some Friskies pate which he ate and a few treats (freeze dried) but I found some old EVO treats so I gave him about 4 of those thinking they definately have carbs.
Will test again in a few minutes.
He is acting perfectly normal
 
Wow! You got a second test?(just to be sure the first one was accurate)

If 35 is correct, I would put some honey on his gums and retest in 15 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top