New diabetic dosing help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Barbara, @Chris & China (GA) can help you start a spreadsheet. She's a wizard.
+4.5 229

So at this point plan on shooting .75 tomorrow morning?
I never used Prozinc. I'll leave dosing advice up to the Prozinc people but I expect they will be. It all depends on what the AMPS looks like. If you could get a +11 and post, that might be a help.

@Deb & Wink
@Panic
and I think I saw
@JanetNJ on the forum earlier.
 
First shot – 1 unit Prozinc
Human meter – Relion
PMPS 295
+2 68 (fed aprox 1/2 can gravy (13%)
+2.3 66
+2.5?? (1 tsp karo)
+3 89
+3.5 156
+4.5 229
+5.5 231
Phew.

so I’m calling it a night. Plan on shooting .50 in the morning unless someone posts something different before then. I will check here & post AMPS before shooting in case any one is around. That should be around 5:50 am EST.
I guess I need to check the ProZinc protocol for a do not shoot number also. Thanks everyone!
 
She has been eating the FF Gravy lovers.

This has been niggling me since last night.
The can you were using last night, you thought was 13%.

Prior to diagnosis, were you feeding higher carb food on a regular basis?
Was some of this food super high in carbs?
Were any of the tests done at home or at the vet food influenced?

There's another newly diagnosed cat who is a bit of a conundrum. Elise and Nan were having a discussion about it. Tagging
@tiffmaxee and @Nan & Amber (GA) for their thoughts.
 
This has been niggling me since last night.
The can you were using last night, you thought was 13%.

Prior to diagnosis, were you feeding higher carb food on a regular basis?
Was some of this food super high in carbs?
Were any of the tests done at home or at the vet food influenced?

There's another newly diagnosed cat who is a bit of a conundrum. Elise and Nan were having a discussion about it. Tagging
@tiffmaxee and @Nan & Amber (GA) for their thoughts.
I’m not familiar with anything as far as dosing except for Lantus and Levimar, but I do think a diet change prior to starting insulin can for many lead to a need to be very cautious with dosing, especially if a carb sensitive cat. Couple that with a stress induced bg check at the vet and my red light goes up even more. Since most people don’t have a lot of blood tests and thus don’t know how long their cat might be diabetic, I am even more cautious. It’s a reason I learned the hard way to ask for all test results to be emailed to me and keep a file. Vets often tend to be in a hurry and don’t go back to check all the old blood tests. I haven’t read the thread yet to see if there was glucose spilling into the urine or a fructosamine done. Just wanted to answer your question.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top