Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
I am very glad you reduced but she still went into the low low numbers.
@Suzanne & Darcy So far so good it seems like! She got her first dose of Lantus this morning, currently giving 7.45am/pm (GMT+2), been testing every 2 hours and just tested her BG at +6 and still no lime green numbers and from the looks of it the lowest was at +4.How’s it going, Monica? Did you start the Lantus yet? Please keep Mia’s spreadsheet updated. I’m concerned about all the lime green numbers. After consulting with one of our moderators, I was thinking — if Mia does not have ketones — you could try a cycle with no insulin and see how she does. But you probably already started the Lantus, which is perfectly fine. Keep testing - beginning at +2.
I’m thrilled to see this beautiful cycle so far today! It will take a few days at least for us to see the full effect of the dose, but what a great start!@Suzanne & Darcy So far so good it seems like! She got her first dose of Lantus this morning, currently giving 7.45am/pm (GMT+2), been testing every 2 hours and just tested her BG at +6 and still no lime green numbers and from the looks of it the lowest was at +4.

@Suzanne & Darcy yes I'm so happy with her numbers today! I wanted to ask infact how the "bouncing" effect is when switching insulins like this. Would the recent low numbers while on caninsulin still be affecting her and might cause higher BG than what she would have had without the bounce?I’m thrilled to see this beautiful cycle so far today! It will take a few days at least for us to see the full effect of the dose, but what a great start!
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @JL and Chip
Just tagging you to see if you have any advice regarding a no shoot number when testing Mia's BG before shooting?
She is strictly on low carb wet foodHi Mónica,
Is mis on dry food? Or is she on wet low carb now?
Ok, i haven't read all through your thread, have you discussed or decided which dosing method you are going to use with lantus?She is strictly on low carb wet food![]()
@Gill & George not sure what you mean? She just switched from caninsulin to Lantus this morning, so she has had one Lantus dose til now, this was meant to be her second one.Ok, i haven't read all through your thread, have you discussed or decided which dosing method you are going to use with lantus?
What I mean is that we don't know how her body is going to react to lantus.@Gill & George not sure what you mean? She just switched from caninsulin to Lantus this morning, so she has had one Lantus dose til now, this was meant to be her second one.
I was recommended to start out with 0.25u as she was having very low numbers with caninsulin
@Gill & GeorgeWe haven't got data on how Mia is going to react to lantus yet, in theory once we have enough data we can shoot even green numbers. But that would not be advisable at the moment due to lack of data.
How long before you need to make a decision? I see she's at 115 at +10.
Please don't feed anything after +10 and let's see what her pmps is. We want a number that isn't influenced by food.
Great good decision@Gill & George
She was due for her dose 1 hour ago now. Posted here and on the Facebook group for advice due to her low preshot BG number, and have now been recommended to skip this dose. I did not feed 2 hours before her preshot BG test.
Even though you skipped a shot it would be good to get a +1, as it might give us a clue as to what might have happened if you had shot.@Gill & George
She was due for her dose 1 hour ago now. Posted here and on the Facebook group for advice due to her low preshot BG number, and have now been recommended to skip this dose. I did not feed 2 hours before her preshot BG test.
@Gill & GeorgeEven though you skipped a shot it would be good to get a +1, as it might give us a clue as to what might have happened if you had shot.
What was her pmbg? I thought you were still waiting for advice on whether to shoot or not as as wasn't updated.
Put the pmbg value and NS in the dose so we know what's gone on.
Nice first cycle.
ETA
As Mia has had dka and you've skipped an insulin dose please make sure you monitor for ketones.
![]()
Sorry wasn't clear. @JL and Chip explained it better.As is a +1 of what was supposed to be her shot time? Or +1 from when she gets her next dose in the morning?
@JL and Chip thanks for the detailed reply!I would test a couple of times after the skipped shot (so between now and your next shot time tomorrow morning) just to see what happens. Be sure to document those numbers on the spreadsheet.
When a cat is producing their own insulin, after feeding you will often see an initial increase in BG followed by a decrease (as the body kicks out insulin). In a diabetic, we replace/supplement the insulin that the cat’s body isn’t providing by giving insulin shots. For a cat heading toward diet-control/remission, a skipped shot can sometimes give us a clue as to whether the cat’s own pancreas is contributing insulin.
The first Lantus shot could be providing some assistance here, and could impact the current cycle where you just skipped a shot. Or maybe not so much, since it was just the first shot and the depot hasn’t yet filled. All data is good data, so whatever tests you get in can help paint the picture as to what’s happening.
Some cats just need a switch to low-carb canned food and a short course of insulin in order to go into remission. We don’t want to rush the process, so collecting data is helpful. We can actually reduce from 0.25u to 0.1u to just a “drop” of insulin as a cat works its way down the dosing scale.
Kudos for hanging in there and being so proactive. It’s been an “interesting” journey given the Caninsulin, syringes, ketones, food and insulin changes, repeated low BG numbers, and so on. You’re doing great!
Hi! Yes I decided to go with 0.1 since @JL and Chip mentioned that in their previous post.I’m just seeing this. And looking at the SS I see you gave 0.1 unit Lantus. It will be interesting to see how she goes in this cycle.
Did you test for ketones?
Is she eating OK?
@Suzanne & Darcy I agree, even though I was super happy to see her numbers didn't reach yellow numbersGreat job with all that testing. After the no shot, we can see she’s not ready to go off of insulin yet. She’s doing well today. Did you have any trouble drawing the .1 dose?
@Suzanne & Darcy seems like her lowest today was at +4 unlike the first dose she got where it was lowest at +6.I agree. I was happy to see her stay in all blue after the skipped shot. Well… let’s see how the rest of the cycle goes today. She may be a little lower at +6. I see the nice green +4.
I think we gained some valuable information last night. One thing we learned besides that she needs a little insulin support is that (in my opinion) it would have been safe to give her at least some insulin. I am fine with the skipped dose from last night, but I think now if she has a similar number we can at least try the .1 unit dose as long as you will be able to monitor the cycle and manage any numbers that are too low with food/carbs.
If today’s cycle continues to be good and she doesn’t go up into yellow, I would continue to give the .1 unit dose. We will soon know if she needs more than that because her numbers will start creeping up. We do not need to rush the process … no hurry at all since she just started. I am excited to see how the rest of today goes!
@JL and Chip Is there a number for the preshot BG where you would think I should go back to 0.25u? Or should I stick with 0.1u even if she goes up to 10-15?Given the circumstances, I would continue measuring the 0.1u the same way you did this morning.
Nice cycle so far.
@Suzanne & Darcy Just updated the SS with her +10 BG reading which was at 6.6. a little less than 2 hours until her next shot nowAlmost 2 hours until shot time?
Ok so anything 10.6 or higher I go back to 0.25u, and anything under I stick with the 0.1u? (From my calculations, 190 like you mentioned translates to 10.6)If she is in yellow I would go back to .25. If it’s borderline like 190, I would shoot .25. But I would then consider.25 as her dose going forward and would actually shoot a 110 (like last night) with .25, knowing that if I can monitor her cycle that I am in total control because I can test, feed and give carbs as necessary to bring numbers up.
@Suzanne & Darcy Just to be sure, IF I end up seeing these numbers at her preshot BG, I still give 0.1u?And if I saw anything 50-99 I would be so happy.
That will probably be okay although you can shoot green numbers with TR but it’s early days now so if you feel more comfortable with that it’s fine. We will be gathering data on how she does. It also occurs to me that you mentioned her dose this morning may have been a little less than the photo. So if you draw a 0.1 dose that has another drop in it that could make a difference. I would practice with the syringe and see how many actual drops are in my 0.1 dose and in my .25 dose and I would make sure I could draw a consistent dose each time. You know how to do it with water.Ok so anything 10.6 or higher I go back to 0.25u, and anything under I stick with the 0.1u? (From my calculations, 190 like you mentioned translates to 10.6)
@Suzanne & Darcy thank you so much for explaining this! Have seen these mentioned a couple of times now but haven't had the time to really read about the two options/protocols. Makes sense the way you explain itSo I was just thinking I should explain. With her very small dose and her numbers, you are already in the position of following TR (instead of SLGS) because with SLGS a reduction is earned when the cat drops below 90. That would not be good for Mia right now when it looks like she may have a good possibility of going into remission. For example, she would have earned a reduction today with the 85 at +4. That would not help her to stay in the “healing green” numbers, as we like to call them around here. So with Tight Regulation (TR) protocol, we like to see lower numbers but keep the cat at 50 or above — mostly green or very low blues is good (hopefully under 120.)
@Suzanne & Darcy Could you clarify what exactly you mean? What would be ok and feel more comfortable with what? Sorry about all the questions, just want to be sure I understand your suggestionsThat will probably be okay although you can shoot green numbers with TR but it’s early days now so if you feel more comfortable with that it’s fine. We will be gathering data on how she does. It also occurs to me that you mentioned her dose this morning may have been a little less than the photo. So if you draw a 0.1 dose that has another drop in it that could make a difference. I would practice with the syringe and see how many actual drops are in my 0.1 dose and in my .25 dose and I would make sure I could draw a consistent dose each time. You know how to do it with water.
Do you mean if she was between 50 and 99 for a preshot number. No. If she had a 50 (2.8) at preshot, I would skip the dose. Let’s see where she is at preshot time.@Suzanne & Darcy Just to be sure, IF I end up seeing these numbers at her preshot BG, I still give 0.1u?
What I said above about the 0.1 dose? I am just kind of wondering (because you said you thought your dose this morning was a little closer to the zero mark) exactly how much insulin she got this morning. I wonder if it was one drop or two. It could make a difference. If we knew how many drops were in the doses, we could make better decisions for this evening. It should be more than one drop because there is such a thing as a single drop dose (but people draw their doses differently so I cannot say exactly how many drops yours will be.) I would like to see her at a consistent dose - a dose where you can shoot it consistently and we don’t have to be wondering how much to shoot each time. It’s less stress on you as well.@Suzanne & Darcy Could you clarify what exactly you mean? What would be ok and feel more comfortable with what? Sorry about all the questions, just want to be sure I understand your suggestions
Oh that would be amazing! Thank you so much @Suzanne & Darcy! That is correct, I am shooting at 7.45 am and pm in the GMT+2 time zoneOne hour and a half until shot time? I am just asking because I want to set an alarm on my phone so I can be around at shot time and you won’t be alone. It’s 12:15 p.m. now my time so that would be 1:45 my time which is 7:45 your time.
@Suzanne & Darcy she got her food as normal and ate a good portionHopefully you gave her a small snack just a little before the two hour window. Her numbers were low enough that it would have been okay.
I will be there well… I will be here!Oh that would be amazing! Thank you so much @Suzanne & Darcy! That is correct, I am shooting at 7.45 am and pm in the GMT+2 time zone
@Suzanne & Darcy I was just wondering what you were referring to when you said this: " That will probably be okay although you can shoot green numbers with TR but it’s early days now so if you feel more comfortable with that it’s fine" which was your reply to me writing this: "Ok so anything 10.6 or higher I go back to 0.25u, and anything under I stick with the 0.1u? (From my calculations, 190 like you mentioned translates to 10.6)"What I said above about the 0.1 dose? I am just kind of wondering (because you said you thought your dose this morning was a little closer to the zero mark) exactly how much insulin she got this morning. I wonder if it was one drop or two. It could make a difference. If we knew how many drops were in the doses, we could make better decisions for this evening. It should be more than one drop because there is such a thing as a single drop dose (but people draw their doses differently so I cannot say exactly how many drops yours will be.) I would like to see her at a consistent dose - a dose where you can shoot it consistently and we don’t have to be wondering how much to shoot each time. It’s less stress on you as well.