New! Confused (sorry for the double post)

Status
Not open for further replies.
When feeding any dry food she needs to be over 90 or the dose needs to be reduced. So the 100’s are good.
 
Ok good to know. I should check her in the morning before breakfast?
Yes. Please check every morning and evening before you give insulin. You test to make sure she’s not too low to shoot. Then see if she will eat a little food. Don’t wait for her to finish it all. If she eats some shoot right away. Tomorrow night you can shoot a half hour early again to help you get back to your desired shot time. Have a nice evening.
 
Yes. Please check every morning and evening before you give insulin. You test to make sure she’s not too low to shoot. Then see if she will eat a little food. Don’t wait for her to finish it all. If she eats some shoot right away. Tomorrow night you can shoot a half hour early again to help you get back to your desired shot time. Have a nice evening.

thank you so much!! You’ve been an angel!
 
Hi!
I just sent her over numbers to start this a few minutes ago she was waiting on me :) thank you for letting me know I’m a little behind but slowly getting caught up. Everyone is so helpful here!
 
She was only 85 this morning, I should give 2units of insulin with that number? That seems low. :(
 
What did you do? She actually has earned a reduction to 1.75 by falling under 90. When you get a low number, stall, dint feed and post for dosing advice. You need to either start a new post or change the title, ask fir dosing advice, and retest in 20-30 minutes. Maybe you started a new one. I will look.
 
I’m sorry. I didn’t know. Next time I will.

so I did the 2units She ate a whole can.
 
Cliff notes.

1. She has earned a reduction to 1.75. That starts tonight. If ever you test and get a bg under 90 reduce the dose by .25. That becomes her new dose for a week unless you get another bg under 90.

2. If ever under 150 at shot time, stall, don’t feed and retest in 20-30 minutes. Post and change your title to say need dosing advice. Add a question mark prefix. You will find it in the drop down menu.

3.If the retest is over 150 feed and shoot. If not skip or get dosing advice. This is until you have data. You need to test after you shoot in 2 hours or sooner.
 
Last edited:


Cliff notes.

1. She has earned a reduction to 2.75. That starts tonight. If ever you test and get a bg under 90 reduce the dose by .25. That becomes her new dose fir a week unless you get another bg under 90.

2. If ever under 150 at shot time, stall, don’t feed and retest in 20-30 minutes. Post and change your title to say need dosing advice. Add a question mark prefix. You will find it in the drop down menu.

3.If the retest is over 150 feed and shoot. If not skip or get dosing advice. This is until you have data. You need to test after you shoot in 2 hours or sooner.

I don’t understand a dose of 2.75 tonight. She takes 2 at night now. I am so sorry but I don’t understand even how often to test or check or anything. I feel so incompetent and dumb.
 
She was just lying flat when I arrived home. I’m scared to leave now. I ran out of strips so I have to go buy a new meter.
 
With the AT meter the take charge number is 68. That’s when you need to feed high carb food.

leave out food while gone. I believe you leave dry all the time, right?
 
With the AT meter the take charge number is 68. That’s when you need to feed high carb food.

leave out food while gone. I believe you leave dry all the time, right?
Well I was, but Bhooma said I should get away from dry so I took it up last night and only gave a few kibbles on top of her wet food overnight. She misses ift though I can tell
 
I agree you should ditch the dry but until we have data I am concerned she might drop too low. Do you have high carb canned food? I would not leave out the dry but a little when low is fine.

since she ate both wet and dry I would go get the strips. I didn’t realize you were completely out. Leave out food.
 
I don’t think I do, all my cats switched to ff pate when she did. What would be a good one to keep on hand for her? The ones with gravy I think I recall had a lot
 
I agree you should ditch the dry but until we have data I am concerned she might drop too low. Do you have high carb canned food? I would not leave out the dry but a little when low is fine.

since she ate both wet and dry I would go get the strips. I didn’t realize you were completely out. Leave out food.
The human meter is reli on premier and it’s red right
 
I don’t think I do, all my cats switched to ff pate when she did. What would be a good one to keep on hand for her? The ones with gravy I think I recall had a lot


Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Med and High Carb food



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/


Ok thanks I will get some of them this is great thank you
 
Do her ears get sore and is there something I can do to help? The blood doesn’t seem to come out very well either
 
I used to buy them from eBay often through auctions. You want tge lancets for alternative sites. I used needles because that’s how my vet taught me.

Her ears will adapt over time and bleed easier. You won’t need to test as much once you have data. Starting low and not reducing was why more testing was needed today. Tge depot will effect tge next up to 6 cycles but she might bounce and be higher first.
 
I got everything!! And the high carb food. Now I’m probably the one with low sugar I’ve not eaten all day I’m so worried
 
Don’t be. Up until now you had no idea what she was going down to snd he was fine. Had you continued you could have had a problem. Or not. Now she will always be safe. Be happy you found help and will keep her safe.
 
I’m waiting to hear back on my spread sheet from Bhooma I let her know today I got the human meter :) hopefully I can get that set up and see some numbers in there soon
 
Oh no rush. I know she’s busy.

I do have a question.
When it’s time to test for feeding and insulin, you stated this “If under stall, don’t feed and check the bg again in 20-30 minutes to see if it’s going up. If on the way up and over 150 feed and shoot. if bg is falling ask for advice.”
My question is … if it’s under and we wait, isn’t it going to decrease further not increase? This is confusing to me. I’m sorry I’m still learning the patterns,
 
The reason to stall is because at the end of the cycje the bg generally goes up as duration is usually 12 hours. But sometimes you get longer duration. If you feed you won’t know if on the way up on its own or the food bumped up the bg. Because you haven’t been testing there’s no way to know how much of a food bump Chloe gets. You are correct that there is the risk that her bg might fall without food though. Most of the time it will rise. Look at the SLGS directions. It gives choices based upon her bg.
 
She’s earned another reduction. You were planning to shoot in 20 minutes? How off schedule can you be? When did she last eat? You could feed her some low carb and check in two hours to see if high enough to shoot or just skip and shoot at your desired time in the morning.

What do you want to do?

Her dose will be 1.5.
 
She ate last a few kibble and wet around 4 and I pulled it up.
I would feel comfortable skipping if I feed her wet low carb at about 7
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top