pinkfirefly
Member Since 2010
My vet has switched my cat Alley from Vetsulin to Lantus. I have read the stickies here, but am still confused about Lantus as it appears to be SOOOOO different from Vetsulin. Her numbers have been so wild over the past couple of days, I feel overwhelmed and unsure of what to do. I gave her one unit twice daily for a week with poor results. Her numbers were from 300-400, so the vet had me up her dosage to two units twice daily. My cat looked well and acted better, but I had to rush her to the Vet after three days due to an early morning reading of 46 two hours post her AM shot. The vet encouraged me to keep the same dosage, which I did, but freaked out yesterday morning when I saw that her preshot number was 82. On Vetsulin I was told not to shoot her if her numbers were under 100, so I called the vet and she suggested I skip her morning dose and shoot her at 1.5 units that night. I watched her like a hawk, and these were her numbers yesterday.
4:57am- 104
7:41am-82 (she gets shot at 8:00am, so I skipped her shot because this number was so low)
8:49am-73
9:22am-110
10:49am-183
1:48pm-326
5:39pm-268
7:22pm-344 (Was given 1.5 units at 8:00pm)
9:09om-371
10:30pm-395
12:00am-419
12:52am-432
1:44am-473
2:16am-423
This morning
5:29am-418
7:00am-412(Was given 1.5 units at 8:00am)
8:52am-395
10:45am-263
2:42pm-69
This makes NO sense to me. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.
Amanda
4:57am- 104
7:41am-82 (she gets shot at 8:00am, so I skipped her shot because this number was so low)
8:49am-73
9:22am-110
10:49am-183
1:48pm-326
5:39pm-268
7:22pm-344 (Was given 1.5 units at 8:00pm)
9:09om-371
10:30pm-395
12:00am-419
12:52am-432
1:44am-473
2:16am-423
This morning
5:29am-418
7:00am-412(Was given 1.5 units at 8:00am)
8:52am-395
10:45am-263
2:42pm-69
This makes NO sense to me. Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.
Amanda