New Bewildered Member (Merlin) continued more

Status
Not open for further replies.
Preshot 26.1 (470)
+1 18 (324)
+2 11 (198)
+3 11.4 (205)
+3.5 10.2 (183)
+4 9.4 (169)
+4.5. 9.3 (167)
+5. 11 (198)
+5.5. 11.6 (227)
+6.3 9 ( 162)
+6.9 6.6 (118)
+7.1. 6.8 (122)
+7.5. 6.6 (118)
+8.25 6.1 (110)
+9 6.8 (122)
+9.25 8.3 (149)
 
So now we need to wait and see if he will start rising on his own. This can still take a while because the food will have to wear off. He may have a whopping great bounce now... who knows, but at least I think we have kept him safe! This has just been a really rough day for you, Jill.
 
So now we need to wait and see if he will start rising on his own. This can still take a while because the food will have to wear off. He may have a whopping great bounce now... who knows, but at least I think we have kept him safe! This has just been a really rough day for you, Jill.
I’m all wore out, as they say. But I know I can’t rest yet.
 
I personally wouldn't give him any insulin tonight Jill, hopefully you can get some u100 syringes tomorrow.
As it stands you have three choices
Skip the insulin
Use the 1ml u100 syringe but the dose of 0.5 unit of Lantus will almost be impossible to get, as Bron said the very first line on the 1ml u100 syringe is 2 units.
Use the u40 syringe and looking at the conversion chart 0.5u of Lantus will be less than a quarter of a unit on the u40 syringe.
What do you think Suzanne?
 
So now we need to wait and see if he will start rising on his own. This can still take a while because the food will have to wear off. He may have a whopping great bounce now... who knows, but at least I think we have kept him safe! This has just been a really rough day for you, Jill.
A real baptism of fire and i thought my first day was bad when Duke dropped low.
 
Tonight you will need to rest. Hopefully, you will find out how long and when/if you can get the U-100 syringes. If they're not available in Cork, I wonder if a neighboring town/city would have them?
 
I will be skipping the insulin tonight, if you think Merlin would be ok with that. But I am soooo confused about syringes. First, there are 2 different sizes of u100 syringes, right? I will Get the smaller one when I can. But the other thing is, starting with .5 or 1 unit of Lantus is a one-size fits all for every cat size dose? The vet was taking into consideration Merlin’s weight and giving .5 per kilo of his weight, which is now 5.5 kilo. But she used a u40 syringe to give him 1.5 units. But, those units are a different amount than the units on the smaller u100 syringe? I’m totally baffled. The vet is too.
 
Sadly, his ear prick reading at 640 was 5.2. He is now eating fancy feast wild salmon florentine from the us
Just to let you know Jill for future reference the Fancy Feast Wild Salmon Florentine is 12.6% carbs, you can use that as a medium carb food for future times to help steer Merlin if he needs it instead of the very high carb like the Felix or honey.
 
Just to let you know Jill for future reference the Fancy Feast Wild Salmon Florentine is 12.6% carbs, you can use that as a medium carb food for future times to help steer Merlin if he needs it instead of the very high carb like the Felix or honey.
I wish I had access to it! I brought over two boxes from the US when we moved here last September. It was their favorite. Sadly, no ff here.
 
I'm just reading that article that I linked to you... here's an excerpt:

A U-100 insulin has 100 units of active insulin in each mL of liquid. You can think of it as being 100 pieces of insulin in each mL of liquid. A U-40 insulin has 40 units of insulin in each milliliter (mL) of liquid. This means that the same volume (liquid amount) of a U-100 insulin has 2.5 times more insulin in it than a U-40 insulin. Or, the U-100 insulin is 2.5 times stronger than the U-40 insulin.
 
I will be skipping the insulin tonight, if you think Merlin would be ok with that. But I am soooo confused about syringes. First, there are 2 different sizes of u100 syringes, right? I will Get the smaller one when I can. But the other thing is, starting with .5 or 1 unit of Lantus is a one-size fits all for every cat size dose? The vet was taking into consideration Merlin’s weight and giving .5 per kilo of his weight, which is now 5.5 kilo. But she used a u40 syringe to give him 1.5 units. But, those units are a different amount than the units on the smaller u100 syringe? I’m totally baffled. The vet is too.
I would skip his dose, you both need the rest.
On this forum the starting dose is 0.5 unit so things like today don't happen, you can always build up a dose but an overdose can have, well you have seen for yourself.
When Duke started on insulin my vet did the same and went by his weight and started him on 1.5 units, first day he dropped really low and like you we had to give him HC food and Tate and Lyle golden syrup to bring him back up and still to this day he has never had 1.5 units, he's usually around 1 unit.
As for the syringes i have found this.
the main difference is that the markings measurements are for different concentration of insulin. U40 insulin has 40 units of insulin in every ml and the U100 has 100 units. Therefore when converting from a U40 syringe to a U100 syringe you are required to multiply your U40 units by 2.5.
 
I didn't suggest food because I don't think he will eat it, but you are on site and will know ... but add HONEY whatever you do.
 
Yes. I wasn't sure what you meant by bush... I thought maybe it was an indoor plant... but don't let him out of the area where you are located
 
5.1 is 91.8 (92) in US numbers and is not a hypo. We just need to bring him up. I didn't want him in green today. But we will deal with it.
 
Last edited:
That's a great number under normal circumstances.
Yes, it would be a great number... if he still weren't under the influence of an overdose of insulin. And we don't know how much lower the insulin will push him right now... although it just HAS to wear off soon. I'm so glad I didn't have any plans to go anywhere today (not driving today... saving gas money!)
 
Yes, it would be a great number... if he still weren't under the influence of an overdose of insulin. And we don't know how much lower the insulin will push him right now... although it just HAS to wear off soon. I'm so glad I didn't have any plans to go anywhere today (not driving today... saving gas money!)
Lol, yea it's been a long day.
 
Preshot 26.1 (470)
+1 18 (324)
+2 11 (198)
+3 11.4 (205)
+3.5 10.2 (183)
+4 9.4 (169)
+4.5. 9.3 (167)
+5. 11 (198)
+5.5. 11.6 (227)
+6.3 9 ( 162)
+6.9 6.6 (118)
+7.1. 6.8 (122)
+7.5. 6.6 (118)
+8.25 6.1 (110)
+9 6.8 (122)
+9.25 8.3 (149)
+10 5.1 (92)
 
He has an enclosure with a bush where he thinks he is “free” but he’s in now
Oh, that sounds nice for him. I feel relieved. You seem too sensible to me to have actually let him go outside. He's a lucky cat! Some time I'd like to know what it was like to move a cat from Colorado to Ireland. Isn't there some kind of quarantine period? I remember when we moved to England years ago we acquired a cat there... because we weren't really allowed to bring a cat from the U.S. into England.
 
Oh, that sounds nice for him. I feel relieved. You seem too sensible to me to have actually let him go outside. He's a lucky cat! Some time I'd like to know what it was like to move a cat from Colorado to Ireland. Isn't there some kind of quarantine period? I remember when we moved to England years ago we acquired a cat there... because we weren't really allowed to bring a cat from the U.S. into England.
Where abouts in England were you Suzanne?
 
Oh, that sounds nice for him. I feel relieved. You seem too sensible to me to have actually let him go outside. He's a lucky cat! Some time I'd like to know what it was like to move a cat from Colorado to Ireland. Isn't there some kind of quarantine period? I remember when we moved to England years ago we acquired a cat there... because we weren't really allowed to bring a cat from the U.S. into England.
Yes, the laws have change since around 2000. It’s still kind of hellish, but I have done it twice! Once with one cat, last time with three! Nightmare to plan. Expensive. Stressful. But here they are. They are our beloved family.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top