New Bewildered Member (Merlin) continued more

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is on page 9....

Instructions for Use
LANTUS®(LAN-tus)
(insulin glargine injection) for subcutaneous use
10 mL Vial (100 Units/mL, U-100)
Read the Instructions for Use before you start taking LANTUS and each
time you get a new LANTUS vial. There may be new information. This
information does not take the place of talking to your healthcare provider
about your medical condition or your treatment.
Do not share your LANTUS syringes with other people even if the
needle has been changed. You may give other people a serious
infection, or get a serious infection from them.
Supplies needed to give your injection:
•a LANTUS 10 mL vial
•a U-100 insulin syringe and needle
•2 alcohol swabs
•1 sharps container for throwing away used needles and syring
 
He is still very safe. Bron, do you say feed LC or more HC. I always tend to err on the side of caution... since he's dropped back down... feed 1 tsp. of HC? That's what I would do.
 
I think I need to call the vet. They close in two hours and she will be expecting another update. She said to call if it got below “5 or even 10” though so that’s confusing. She needs to know about the overdosing and the need for syringes. But then, I could see her dosing again at 10. I’m confused. The clock is ticking in Ireland. Everything closes at 5 or 6. No syringes.
 
He is still very safe. Bron, do you say feed LC or more HC. I always tend to err on the side of caution... since he's dropped back down... feed 1 tsp. of HC? That's what I would do.
Yes, I thought he might have finished dropping but he hasn’t. I was actually surprised he had stopped so soon but it was obviously the HC food. We need to go back to doing what we were doing before.
 
If you can't get the syringes for a few days while they are ordered, then Merlin will still be okay. He has been okay so far... waiting this long... he will be better off (safer) with nothing for a few days than having a mixup with syringes again (not your fault.)
 
I think I need to call the vet. They close in two hours and she will be expecting another update. She said to call if it got below “5 or even 10” though so that’s confusing. She needs to know about the overdosing and the need for syringes. But then, I could see her dosing again at 10. I’m confused. The clock is ticking in Ireland. Everything closes at 5 or 6. No syringes.
It’s up to you if you want to call the vet but I don’t think you need to take Merlin in to the vet. He is perfectly safe and you are managing very well to keep him in very safe numbers. You can see how we can feed him to keep the numbers up.
Even 5 is a very safe number and certainly doesn’t need the vet to intervene.
As far as syringes go…get your husband to get just a few of the 1 ml U100 syringes to tide you over until you get the others.
 
It’s up to you if you want to call the vet but I don’t think you need to take Merlin in to the vet. He is perfectly safe and you are managing very well to keep him in very safe numbers. You can see how we can feed him to keep the numbers up.
Even 5 is a very safe number and certainly doesn’t need the vet to intervene.
As far as syringes go…get your husband to get just a few of the 1 ml U100 syringes to tide you over until you get the others.
Forgive my ignorance Bron but are the 1ml with 100 units/markings on them as Jill stated the same as the 1ml u100 you stated and would 1 unit of insulin be the first mark on the syringe.
 
It’s up to you if you want to call the vet but I don’t think you need to take Merlin in to the vet. He is perfectly safe and you are managing very well to keep him in very safe numbers. You can see how we can feed him to keep the numbers up.
Even 5 is a very safe number and certainly doesn’t need the vet to intervene.
As far as syringes go…get your husband to get just a few of the 1 ml U100 syringes to tide you over until you get the others.
But if I call the vet to update her will I also say the numbers are being controlled by feeding hc food?? She’ll think he’s better than he is if not. But I have to update her either way. ..
 
But if I call the vet to update her will I also say the numbers are being controlled by feeding hc food?? She’ll think he’s better than he is if not. But I have to update her either way. ..
Yes tell her the truth. But don’t be talked into taking him into the vet. He is better off at home being monitored closely by you at this point amd fed when necessary. He is on no danger at all at the moment.
 
Forgive my ignorance Bron but are the 1ml with 100 units/markings on them as Jill stated the same as the 1ml u100 you stated and would 1 unit of insulin be the first mark on the syringe.
The U100 1 ml insulin syringes can take up to 100 units and each line is 2 units so it is quite hard to measure small amounts. They are not really suitable but may have to do until others are sourced.
upload_2022-5-19_1-16-18.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-19_1-16-18.png
    upload_2022-5-19_1-16-18.png
    103.4 KB · Views: 318
He's still in blue and is safe. Hopefully, the honey will bring him up. Bron, can you update your list of times and BG readings?
 
My husband John dictated this to me…
The full spec of the syringe is needed to know what the dosage is. Also the weight of the cat. The consensus on as number of sites looks like the recommended initial dosage is 0.25-0.5 U100 per kg normal wt. Merlin is 5.5kg now and was 6.6kg so taking 6kg as his weight for dosage purposes then it should be between 1.5-3 U100 units. Key question is whether this refers to a U100, 1 ml syringe or a U100 0.3 ml syringe. Big difference!! Tillysdiabetes.net recommends 0.25 IU per kg for the initial dosage. 1 IU = 0.01 ml which is the same as 1 x U100 unit for a U100, 1 ml syringe. This suggests to me that the U100 dosage numbers on other sites (e.g catvets.com/diabetes-toolkit/treatment) are referencing a 1 ml syringe. Our vet gave an initial dosage of 2.6 units on a U40, 0.5ml syringe. 1 x U on that syringe is 0.0125 ml vs 0.01 ml for 1 unit on a U100 syringe. At the higher end of the recommended range the dosage would be 0.03 ml for Merlin which is 2.4 units on the U40, 0.5 ml syringe. The dosage is therefore a bit high but only 8%. BUT if the U100 dosage recommendations are actually referring to 0.3 ml (3/10) syringes then his dose was 3x too high!!! Anyone know what size syringes the U100 unit dosages are referring to?
 
Hi insulin dose was at 9:48 am. It’s 4:55 now
So he’s at +7 now.
Here are the revised times

Preshot 26.1 (470)
+1 18 (324)
+2 11 (198)
+3 11.4 (205)
+3.5 10.2 (183)
+4 9.4 (169)
+4.5. 9.3 (167)
+5. 11 (198)
+5.5. 11.6 (227)
+6.3 9 ( 162)
+6.9 6.6 (118)
+7.1. 6.8 (122)
 
Last edited:
My husband John dictated this to me…
The full spec of the syringe is needed to know what the dosage is. Also the weight of the cat. The consensus on as number of sites looks like the recommended initial dosage is 0.25-0.5 U100 per kg normal wt. Merlin is 5.5kg now and was 6.6kg so taking 6kg as his weight for dosage purposes then it should be between 1.5-3 U100 units. Key question is whether this refers to a U100, 1 ml syringe or a U100 0.3 ml syringe. Big difference!! Tillysdiabetes.net recommends 0.25 IU per kg for the initial dosage. 1 IU = 0.01 ml which is the same as 1 x U100 unit for a U100, 1 ml syringe. This suggests to me that the U100 dosage numbers on other sites (e.g catvets.com/diabetes-toolkit/treatment) are referencing a 1 ml syringe. Our vet gave an initial dosage of 2.6 units on a U40, 0.5ml syringe. 1 x U on that syringe is 0.0125 ml vs 0.01 ml for 1 unit on a U100 syringe. At the higher end of the recommended range the dosage would be 0.03 ml for Merlin which is 2.4 units on the U40, 0.5 ml syringe. The dosage is therefore a bit high but only 8%. BUT if the U100 dosage recommendations are actually referring to 0.3 ml (3/10) syringes then his dose was 3x too high!!! Anyone know what size syringes the U100 unit dosages are referring to?

Whatever U100 syringe you are using, (3/10, 0.5ml or 1 ml) the dose will be the same. And Lantus should only ever be given with a U100 syringes.
We recommend on this forum, if you are following SLGS method and you are feeding a low carb wet diet, that the starting dose is 0.5 units.
if you are feeding a dry food diet, low carb, the recommended starting dose is 1 unit.
With the more aggressive tight starting dose is 0.25 units per kg…with the cat eating a low carb wet diet.
 
He ate maybe a teaspoon of smashed food with some honey and water

Poor guy is probably getting full. But if he won't eat, you can always give just straight honey or a honey/water mixture -- so don't worry. Do you have a syringe for administering liquid to cats (just a small plastic oral syringe?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top