nervous about today!

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
so, as predicted, timber's number shot up overnight with no shot lastnight (he dipped to 45 yesterday and was only 115 at PMPS). this morning he was 529 and i gave him 1.75 as you suggested. i'm just scared because i'm not going to be home until later this afternoon. i hope he doesn't nose dive again nailbite_smile i should be home by +6 so i hope that will be ok. his low test was at +10 lastnight (though could have been lower earlier, i guess). ugh. this is stressful!! :sad:
 
This may be too late to suggest, but just be sure to leave out plenty of food for him and not dry or kibbles.

Do you know about freezing canned cat food?

It's easy:

take the cat food, place in container, ice cube tray or plastic baggies
Add water and freeze

Once frozen, remove from container, ice cube tray or turn baggie inside out to remove easily and put out, next to regular non-frozen canned food - it will take a few hours to thaw and be fresh, moist ready for cat to eat
 
thanks, i have heard that suggestion. i may have to try that :-D

i tested him at +6 when i got home and he's at 394, so clearly has not bottomed out!
 
Nope looks like he is mid bounce and is coming down. If his PMPS is lower you might want to get some middle of the night tests.

Is he fully transitioned to just wet now or no?
 
Did we explain bouncing?

When the glucose goes much lower that the customary level, the body compensates by releasing hormones which release stored sugar. Some cats may take a few days to settle back down to stable levels after bouncing. You just grit your teeth and wait it out, while testing for urine ketones when possible. (My signature link. Secondary Monitoring Tools has some tips on that as well as other assessments you might do to evaluate him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top