Nellie low bg questions

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
prev post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-254-4-252-dose-increase.261671/#post-2934433

hey @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom

Increased dose to 2.25 this am. Appetite was good during the day. At her PMPS time the Libre read 108, then 120 about ten min later. She wasn't super interested in her dinner, but I got her to eat about a half of a can when I put freeze dried treats on top and gave the 2.25 dose. Usually at +2 after her PM shot she is super hungry again. She seemed initially hungry but didn't want to eat the offerings (I tried 2 different flavors). She did eat some treats again that I sprinkled on top of her food. At around +2 on the Libre she was at 115, just scanned again at around +2.25 and she was at 98. Never seen a number under 100. On the Alphatrak cross check it was 156.

I dont know if she's not crazy hungry because her body is getting closer to being more regulated, or what the deal is. Blood ketone reader was 0.1, just FYI. I will test again soon but first dip under 100 + lack of usual appetite is just making me little nervous! Otherwise seems her usual self.
 
You are correct that she won’t be ravenous when in normal bg. It’s going to be an active cycle I think. You will want to feed small amounts each time, just a couple teaspoons is fine. Usually if they get much below 100 they do get hungry. Does she have a food she loves?
 
@tiffmaxee she loves her treats, she will always eat those. Food is tricky, she has always been stubborn if she doesn't want to eat she wont. But will continue trying different flavors. Do I try MC or HC food?

@Bron and Sheba (GA) she had just eaten a little bit of treats covered in some LC carb (tiny). I will post her +3, which will be in about 20 min.
 
That’s good that she’s eating. Check her bg 30 minutes after she ate.
85 on the Libre, 126 on the alphtrak - this is also her +4 number. She is eating again now. Libre has her going up briefly to 118 about 15 min after she ate, if it matters. 85 is the number for 30 min after she ate.
 
Congrats on tonight's greens.:D

A little housekeeping.

It's really helpful for those of us scanning the forum for people who need help if you follow the conventions for subject line. Which is <month><day> kitty name AMPS or PMPS (whichever is latest), followed by the blood sugar readings listed in + times. If you have a question, there is the "?" prefix you can use which will draw our attention. I'm not always logged on to get alerts, but do scan the subject lines to see who needs help.
 
My bad- will definitely follow protocols moving forward. Got a little panicky there so was in execution mode!

+4.5 libre is 96 - this number is 30 min after she last ate some lc. I’ll post her +5.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) ok we are back in blues- +6 is 111. Do you think I can try to get some rest? I have the Libre set to ring an alarm if her bg drops under 75. I think I’ll set an alarm to also take it at +8.
 
Yes. I would leave out a small snack for her (low carb …anything up to 7% is fine) and get some rest. A +8 test would be good.
+8 132. Headed back to bed! Am wondering though for the am shot if I should go back to 2? I thought I read somewhere that the first time she goes green I reduce..
 
Back
Top