Need some advice Preshot number sort of low

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carribou

Member Since 2011
My 9.5 year old cat was diagnosed with diabetes on January 3. She weighs 14.2 pounds and her blood glucose was 562. My vet prescribed Novolin N - 3 units 2x a day. He told us to get her to eat before we gave her a shot, so we started bribing her with wet food ..and so inadvertently changed her diet. We went back to the vet a week later and she was at 171 8 hours after her shot, 4 hours before the next one. He declared her regulated and told us to come back in two weeks.

I just got a home blood glucose monitor. I took a reading yesterday 2.5 hours before her shot at it was 161. I took a reading just now (she is due for her shot in 30 min) and it was 123. She has just eaten her dinner. Do I still give her a dose of Novolin N?
 
I would not. We tell newbies not to shoot under 200 until you have lots of data and have some idea of what might happen. I would skip your shot tonight.

It is possible that she will only need minute doses. In that case, you want lots of data. So test tonight several times. (The food may raise the number. If it doesn't and the number goes down on its own without insulin, it means you have some pancreatic action. :razz: )

Getting off insulin by giving tiny doses and monitoring carefully is a challenging part of this whole dance. It means lots of tests and record keeping. You really need a spreadsheet so you can keep track of what is happening, and so we will know when you come on and ask for advice. The good news is that is an excellent number!
 
Carribou said:
My 9.5 year old cat was diagnosed with diabetes on January 3. She weighs 14.2 pounds and her blood glucose was 562. My vet prescribed Novolin N - 3 units 2x a day. He told us to get her to eat before we gave her a shot, so we started bribing her with wet food ..and so inadvertently changed her diet. We went back to the vet a week later and she was at 171 8 hours after her shot, 4 hours before the next one. He declared her regulated and told us to come back in two weeks.

I just got a home blood glucose monitor. I took a reading yesterday 2.5 hours before her shot at it was 161. I took a reading just now (she is due for her shot in 30 min) and it was 123. She has just eaten her dinner. Do I still give her a dose of Novolin N?

No, I sure would not give N on that number. N works fast and hard. How long had she eaten before you tested? 30 min? If so, that is just probably a normal number. Is she on all wet now? She may be one that can come off of insulin. Let us know!
 
She is on all wet now, and had eaten about 30 minutes before I tested her. I will skip her shot tonight and test every hour?
 
Carribou said:
She is on all wet now, and had eaten about 30 minutes before I tested her. I will skip her shot tonight and test every hour?

I'd sure skip then. That's probably about what a normal number looks like after eating. I'd test maybe in 3 hours? Not every hour. No need for that. It will be interesting to see if she comes down on her own. You may have diet control going here. That would be awesome!
 
you may have yourself a food regulated diabetic!
kitty is STILL a diabetic and always will be...but looks like diet change has worked wonders.
you can NEVER offer your kitty a high carb treat tho'...hope this run of #'s lasts :mrgreen:
 
Sounds like you may have what we call a "broken diabetic' meaning she is diet controlled. Thank God you got a meter and started hometesting. Great job :mrgreen: No more dry food and please post tomorrow what her numbers on.
 
until you have more data, your no shoot number should be 200. Further, you should be dropping that dose, perhaps as low as 1 unit.

Your vet's advice is scary and I am very glad you are testing

Jen
 
Morning update: Ollie was at 152 preshot, didn't shoot, 131 at +3 and has been snacking Fancy Feast all morning.
 
nice, keep posting as at some point you may do some fine micro dosing. not yet i don't think. a micro dose is like .2 or .4 for which a u100 syringe comes in handy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top