hi my name is crystal i am from canada and my cats name is sammy, she is 8 years old and became diabetic oct 21.
She started out on caninsulin 2 u twice a day morning and night 12 hours apart. her numbers always started out high in morning from 24.4 mmol/L to 20 mmol/L. and always dropped quickly to anywhere around 8 to 4 mmol/L. she did not feel good on this insulin so i switched to lantus on nov 10 2012. sammy is on a raw diet she was eating evo dry but i am taking that away from her. as of nov 12 no more dry food. she also eats evo cat and kitten canned food. cannot figure out this insulin am i giving her to much or not enough? her bg numbers are below. please help...........
started lantus at 1 u twice a day 12 hours apart. 9:30 am an 9:30 pm shots
nov10
9 am bg 25.8
11:30 am 15.8
3:30pm 17.2
6 pm 17.2
9 pm 16.4
nov 11
9 am 15.3
12 pm 16.5
9 pm 16.5
nov 12
9 am 23
2 pm 12.6
9 pm 19.6
nov 13
9 am 15.4
12:30 pm17
9 pm 18.3
nov 14
9 am 18
2:30 20
8:30 pm15
nov 15
9 am 15.2
12 pm 15.7
2:30 pm 16
9 pm 19
12 am 18.3
increased dose to 1.5 u 9:30 am and 9:30 pm
nov 16
8:30 am 22.5
1:30 pm 13.9
9 pm 18.4
12 am 16.4
nov 17
8:45 am 17.3
2 pm 11.4
5 pm 14.7
9 pm 18
nov 18
9 am 22
4:30 pm 16.7
9 pm 19.7
nov 19
8 am 17
12 pm 14.4
7 pm 19
9 pm 16.9
Nov 20 increase dose to 2u twice a day 9:30am and 9:30 pm
stayed high all day lowest number 15.6 highest 18.3
nov 21
stayed high all day lowest number 15.8 highest 19
nov 22
9 am 21.1
2 pm 12.8
9 pm 20.1
nov 23
9 am 20.5
12:30 pm 15.5
9 pm 20.7
nov 24
9 am 19.4
12 pm 13
9 pm 17.3
12 am 16.2
nov 25
9 am 22.4
11 pm 17
9 pm 19
nov 26
9 am 20.1
12 pm 14.3
9 pm 20
nov 27 increase dose 2.5 twice daily
9 am 20
12 pm 12.2
3 pm 15.6
9 pm 18.4
12 am 16.2
nov 28
9 am 21.1
12 pm 15.1
2 pm 15.1
9 pm 17.5
11:30 16.6
nov 29
9 am 18.8
12 pm 11.7
1 pm 10.6
4 pm 18.4
9 pm 18.3
12 pm 18.3
nov 30
9 am 17
2 pm 15.3
9 pm 17.4
1 am 17.2
dec 1 increase dose to 2.75u twice daily
9 am 19
1 pm 16
9 pm 18.6
dec 2 sammy does not feel good today still eating alot but not active might be uti
9 am 20.7
1 pm 14.6
5:30 pm 14.8
9 pm 14.7
12 pm 17.6
dec 3 still not feeling good still eating
9 am 22.7
2 pm 13.6
9 pm 22
11:30 pm 18
dec 4 still not feeling good taking urine to vet tomorrow to check it for uti
9 17.3
12 pm 12.5
9 pm 17
nov 15
9 am 15.3
12 pm 15.7
2:20 pm 16
9pm 19
11:30 pm 18.3
how much should i be feeding sammy? as i am just letting her eat when ever she wants as she is always hungry.
She started out on caninsulin 2 u twice a day morning and night 12 hours apart. her numbers always started out high in morning from 24.4 mmol/L to 20 mmol/L. and always dropped quickly to anywhere around 8 to 4 mmol/L. she did not feel good on this insulin so i switched to lantus on nov 10 2012. sammy is on a raw diet she was eating evo dry but i am taking that away from her. as of nov 12 no more dry food. she also eats evo cat and kitten canned food. cannot figure out this insulin am i giving her to much or not enough? her bg numbers are below. please help...........
started lantus at 1 u twice a day 12 hours apart. 9:30 am an 9:30 pm shots
nov10
9 am bg 25.8
11:30 am 15.8
3:30pm 17.2
6 pm 17.2
9 pm 16.4
nov 11
9 am 15.3
12 pm 16.5
9 pm 16.5
nov 12
9 am 23
2 pm 12.6
9 pm 19.6
nov 13
9 am 15.4
12:30 pm17
9 pm 18.3
nov 14
9 am 18
2:30 20
8:30 pm15
nov 15
9 am 15.2
12 pm 15.7
2:30 pm 16
9 pm 19
12 am 18.3
increased dose to 1.5 u 9:30 am and 9:30 pm
nov 16
8:30 am 22.5
1:30 pm 13.9
9 pm 18.4
12 am 16.4
nov 17
8:45 am 17.3
2 pm 11.4
5 pm 14.7
9 pm 18
nov 18
9 am 22
4:30 pm 16.7
9 pm 19.7
nov 19
8 am 17
12 pm 14.4
7 pm 19
9 pm 16.9
Nov 20 increase dose to 2u twice a day 9:30am and 9:30 pm
stayed high all day lowest number 15.6 highest 18.3
nov 21
stayed high all day lowest number 15.8 highest 19
nov 22
9 am 21.1
2 pm 12.8
9 pm 20.1
nov 23
9 am 20.5
12:30 pm 15.5
9 pm 20.7
nov 24
9 am 19.4
12 pm 13
9 pm 17.3
12 am 16.2
nov 25
9 am 22.4
11 pm 17
9 pm 19
nov 26
9 am 20.1
12 pm 14.3
9 pm 20
nov 27 increase dose 2.5 twice daily
9 am 20
12 pm 12.2
3 pm 15.6
9 pm 18.4
12 am 16.2
nov 28
9 am 21.1
12 pm 15.1
2 pm 15.1
9 pm 17.5
11:30 16.6
nov 29
9 am 18.8
12 pm 11.7
1 pm 10.6
4 pm 18.4
9 pm 18.3
12 pm 18.3
nov 30
9 am 17
2 pm 15.3
9 pm 17.4
1 am 17.2
dec 1 increase dose to 2.75u twice daily
9 am 19
1 pm 16
9 pm 18.6
dec 2 sammy does not feel good today still eating alot but not active might be uti
9 am 20.7
1 pm 14.6
5:30 pm 14.8
9 pm 14.7
12 pm 17.6
dec 3 still not feeling good still eating
9 am 22.7
2 pm 13.6
9 pm 22
11:30 pm 18
dec 4 still not feeling good taking urine to vet tomorrow to check it for uti
9 17.3
12 pm 12.5
9 pm 17
nov 15
9 am 15.3
12 pm 15.7
2:20 pm 16
9pm 19
11:30 pm 18.3
how much should i be feeding sammy? as i am just letting her eat when ever she wants as she is always hungry.