Need help with Charlie ASAP huge jump in BG tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello all. I haven't posted any updates on Charlie over the last few days for 2 reasons. First, he has been seeming to be a little bit more regulated (with the exception of the insulin not lasting the full 12 hours, especially his morning shot) and secondly, a friend of mine's house burned down Thursday night and she is still missing one of her dogs and I have been helping her search. :( But Charlie has been holding his own...until tonight. And I dropped the ball today with him, I work 8-8 on Mondays and since his dx I have been bringing him to work with me, but last week he was very stressed out so today I decided I would leave him home, my teenage daughter was able to feed him small meals throughout the day and his BG this am was 374. I am not able to come home to test his BG and my husband can give his shots but is not comfortable getting blood. I will work on that...but tonight, I had him give 3 units at 7 (normal shot time)...I tested him when I got home and it was 392 ( this would be his +2) and just now at +4 it is 440. I am panicking because shouldn't it be getting lower instead of higher? My husband swears he got the full shot, but I am wondering if it poked thru the skin and he didn't get it, or I don't know why else this would be happening. Any suggestions on what I should do? I know I can get him to eat I don't know if it is safe to give him another shot?? Please help! I am posting this on the prozinc board as well because I am hoping I can get an answer fast. Thanks so much. His spreadsheet link is in my signature
 
Hi Ellie,

What wonderful support Elizabeth was for you last night. It is so great to have her common sense voice late at night in the US when she is just waking up in the UK. Are you blushing, Elizabeth? Hope so!

I haven't replied on your posts yet(I was on vacation the past 2 weeks). You have jumped right into this sugar dance with Charlie and are doing a wonderful job testing. Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks like 3 units was a smidge too high for the yellow preshots on 7/9 and 7/10, causing big bounces before the normal end of the cycle. (bouncing is when Charlie's body recognizes a lower number than it has "seen" before - like the blues he got- and it releases extra sugars, when cause a reaction with a higher number, sometimes fairly fast after the lower one). Maybe give 2.5 on a yellow preshot? And I am wondering if the 3 units may be a smidge high on the pink preshots. It's not possible to tell what happened closer to nadir the past few days, but he might have gone down into the blues or even yellows and then bounced, causing the higher numbers in that 7+ time frame and the higher pm preshot number. Can you get some tests in some time in the 4-6 hour time frame? That might help us see whether he is bouncing from lower numbers and might need a smidge less or if he is staying flat throught the cycle and needs a smidge more.

Another thing to think about is, if he is bouncing quite a bit, bouncing can sometimes look like a higher flatter cycle after the lower number the cycle before. That might have been last night's pattern (or the many other variables Elizabeth suggested - isn't this fun :mrgreen: )

The best way to get him figured out is gather data, any time you can. Before you go out the door for the day, after his am shot. A number 2 hours after the am test and shot can give you an idea how fast the insulin is starting to work. Tests anytime during the midcycle help. A test before bed is helpful. All data fills in the picture that is Charlie and how the insulin is working with his body. This is especially hard if you work, so weekend testing is helpful. And teaching your husband how to tests doubles the data possible. (You might try appealing to him with the science of this sugar dance. Some men can really get into the numbers. Maybe have him read the PZI document:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

Keep asking questions, read and reread the info on the site and gradually you will start seeing the patterns. You are doing fine. Testing will help you keep Charlie safe and away from DKA. (I second Elizabeth's advice to get ketone tests in regularly)
 
Sue and Elizabeth, your support means so much to Charlie and us! I really don't know what I would do without this board. You are incredible people! I need some further advice, I will post a new thread...hes dancing to the beat of his own drum!!! Crazy little boy!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top