Need help with a 7 day plan

Timbo418

Member Since 2018
We are leaving tonight for a 7 day trip to be with family for the holidays. Last night, we gave him a full dose with a PMPS of 91, and 3 hours later he was in the danger zone 63 then 52. We took him in to the vet for dextrose IV after syrup on the gums didn't do anything. We have a pet sitter lined up to supply insulin, but they may not be successful taking BG readings by themselves (Binx is squirmy and usually takes 2 of us). We are looking for "fool proof" plan to keep him safe for the cat sitter for the next 7 days. Should we lower his dose? Introduce some dry food? We greatly appreciate any recommendations on our situation! Thank you!
 
Do you think Binx will eat as well with you gone? I would definetely lower to a least 3.0 units while you are gone. It's also easy for the sitter to measure. And also make sure lots of food is left out, but I'd stick to wet if you can.

Binx did earn a reduction down to 3.25 units, but 3.0 would be safer. Rather him be a little high that too low.
 
Terrific, thank you both! We will reduce dose slightly and leave extra food out. This is so challenging for someone with no experience and we are so grateful for your input! Happy Holidays!
 
Back
Top