? Need help: Gem's evening dose after hypo number am

Sharon w-r

Member Since 2021
Thank you in advance for your suggestions

Question ... I have about 1.5 hours left and need to figure out evening dose after hypo event today am
Can you suggest what to dose tonight?

GEM went to BG 50 this morning...behavior ok but very fast swing
We had to fast her for bloodwork (gave even lower than normal evening dose for fear of fasted night)by 8am she was at BG100 and dropping fast...right down to 50

Intervened with a lot corn syrup, 3 tubes of churu, syringed wet food and a bit of freeze dried rabbit
It took over an hour to get her BG to start to rise.

Worried about giving so much sugar and depleting her insulin depot we gave her Lantus 0.75units around 10am once her numbers came up

Her normal dose is 1.75am and 1.25pm (we have always feared a hypo event while sleeping so we opted to not given same dose am/pm

We have to pull the libre sensor data and spreadsheet it for you but
But her numbers have lowered from 300's and 400's to 200's last week with more prolonged dips into 100's so all was improving
Thee swings reduced a lot

Right now she's at 160

Background info
Gem 6.5yo female tux.
had a bad bout of inappetite and lost nearly 1 pound from March to April ... she weighed 10, dropped to 9.2, and we have helped her regain and is now around 10lbs again.
diagnosed IBD Jan 2020 put on budesonide
Diagnosed Fall 2020 HyperT and started methimazole half dose
We had her T4 followup in March 2021
Vet recommended to slowly increase to full dose
April T4 was fine/low in range but glucose/fructosamine went high...diabetic
underlying all is FELV (that was a surprise...she was neg at time we pulled her off the streets)
 
Do you have a spreadsheet with your blood glucose data in it? What type of blood glucose meter are you using? A 50 on a human meter is still considered normal blood sugar values. Some information in your signature would help us help you, details here:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Hi.
We have the Libre free style sensor reader and iphone app...the 50 low was from the libre sensor

We are using the logbook, charting info/trends...will export data and notes to spreadsheet.
Alphatrak is our backup but not yet using (have not gotten over that learning curve )

Gem: FELV(2015), IBD (budesonide Jan 2020), Hyperthyroid (methimazole sept2020), Diabetes (Lantus 1.75u am/1.25u pm april 2021), 10pounds, age 6.5years
 
Do you have a s/s and just need to enter the data, or would you like some help getting one set up? If you would like help, I am certain Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom is around (she is in Mumbai so at the start of her day) and is the guru to help get the s/s set up.

I started with a Libre so I know how intimidating it is to transfer the data, but maybe you could start by taking the readings and entering in the s/s moving forward then fill in the history afterwards. It's a lot to take in but you'll get excellent help here.

For the signature - you have all the right info, but when you put it in your signature it shows up in every one of your posts. Go up to the top right corner where your name is and you'll see 'signature' in the menu there. Take everything you typed above, and paste it into the signature. When you have the s/s set up, you copy the url and in the signature put "Gem's s/s" - highlight that text, click on the icon for a link and paste the s/s url into the pop-up. I think it's probably explained in more detail in the link Wendy provided above.

Good luck and look forward to seeing your progress in the coming days!
 
Thanks I will. It's been hard to find the time. Outputted the csv file. Have to see about migrating to the template. We aren't using all the fields.
As for last night we took a swag at it and dosed small amount. Specialist said to not dose till her numbers came up but we're still swinging for the fences here
 
Thanks I will. It's been hard to find the time. Outputted the csv file. Have to see about migrating to the template. We aren't using all the fields.
As for last night we took a swag at it and dosed small amount. Specialist said to not dose till her numbers came up but we're still swinging for the fences here
Hi Sharon, glad you made it over to the forum from FB.
 
Back
Top