Mariaana and Milo
Member Since 2021
Hi already posted in the general FDMB but it was suggested i post here instead.
Our vet increased Lantus dose from 2 Units to 3 Units yesterday.(May 6th)
At AMPS i decreased the Insulin dose to 2.5 Units, as i felt very uneasy giving another full Unit.
during the day Milos Blood sugar was going down nicely. But at PMPS his reading was 5.5 mmo/L
so i stalled for 30 min and retested and it was 5.4 mmol/L so a tad lower.
****My Vet has always stressed to never give any Insulin if AMPS/PMPS if BGL are below 10 mmol/L***
AMPS this morning (May 7th) was 20 mmol/L so i did give him 2.5 Units of Lantus again.
What am i to do? Now when he gets a 'nice ' PRESHOT number like for example 5.5 mmol/L...
i cant give him any insulin at all..? So of course his AMPS are always 'High'.
I am unsure how to get off this "merry go round "and need some guidance how to go about this, please!
PS: Milo is due his PMPS Shot in ca,2 hrs.
Thank you!
Our vet increased Lantus dose from 2 Units to 3 Units yesterday.(May 6th)
At AMPS i decreased the Insulin dose to 2.5 Units, as i felt very uneasy giving another full Unit.
during the day Milos Blood sugar was going down nicely. But at PMPS his reading was 5.5 mmo/L
so i stalled for 30 min and retested and it was 5.4 mmol/L so a tad lower.
****My Vet has always stressed to never give any Insulin if AMPS/PMPS if BGL are below 10 mmol/L***
AMPS this morning (May 7th) was 20 mmol/L so i did give him 2.5 Units of Lantus again.
What am i to do? Now when he gets a 'nice ' PRESHOT number like for example 5.5 mmol/L...
i cant give him any insulin at all..? So of course his AMPS are always 'High'.
I am unsure how to get off this "merry go round "and need some guidance how to go about this, please!
PS: Milo is due his PMPS Shot in ca,2 hrs.
Thank you!