? Need dosing advice asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Squallie's PMPS BG is 170. I don't know whether to go ahead and feed him, and give him a lower dose, or stall to see if his BG rises. Can anyone advise? Thanks!
 
Lucy wish I could help. Squallie really keeps you on your toes, doesn't he? Hoping someone will be along very soon! Just wanted to say thinking of you (and Genghis' soul brother!)
 
Thanks, Melanie! Yes, never a dull moment around here, lol. How is Squallie's soul brother doing?

EDIT: Squallie's soul sister!
 
Lucy, don't know about Vetsulin, but with ProZinc, don't feed, stall 20 and retest until it comes up to your shooting number.
That's what I usually do, but his numbers have been so crazy lately I wasn't sure he'd even come up to a shootable level. He finally came up to 181 but I don't know how much insulin to give him.
 
Are you planning to reduce the dose tonight since he went so low today and now he has a PMPS that is low? Again, I don't know how vetsulin works. With ProZinc, I would reduce some tonight because of the above and also, they tend to run lower at night.
 
Are you planning to reduce the dose tonight since he went so low today and now he has a PMPS that is low? Again, I don't know how vetsulin works. With ProZinc, I would reduce some tonight because of the above and also, they tend to run lower at night.
I finally decided to give him .75 units, I can monitor him at night so if he starts to get too low I will catch it. Fingers and paws crossed that he just sails through the night with lovely green numbers, lol, right?
 
You are doing great, Lucy. And so is Squallie. He is using less and less insulin and getting lovely numbers. And the Vetsulin is lasting a full 12 hours. Best of all possible worlds.

@Bobbie And Bubba - for the future. Vetsulin acts very similar to ProZinc. The only difference is that sometimes it doesn't last 12 hours - more like 8 - and sometimes it has a harsh onset. So it's important to make sure they have food in their tummies before the shot. But, for Squallie, it is acting just like ProZinc, so any advice you give is right on!
 
Lucy, how did Squallie do last night? I hope you weren't up all night testing him and were able to get some sleep!
 
Nice AMPS! Way to go Squallie! What did you dose this AM? He is doing great Lucy!!
Thanks, Bobbie! I'm loving those nice greens! Don't want to make too big a deal out of it, afraid I'll jinx it somehow, lol. I gave Squallie another .75 this morning, but I think some of it ended up being a fur shot. :oops: I just hope he got enough to have another good day in the greens, fingers and paws crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top