Need dose advise please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: New Member

This A.M. Monet's BG level was 144 . . . so no shot.

This weekend we are going to try and do another BG curve (probably 2). Our Vet wanted us to do 2 days testing every 4 hours during a 12 hour period. Do you guys agree with this ???
Since I am gone through the week from 5:30 A.M. until 4:30 P.M. . . . the weekends are about the only time I have to do testing more often. During the work week I've just been able to do 2 or 3 tests per day.
Since I'm not able to test as frequent as it seems most of you do, would that exclude me from being considered as doing the Tight Regulation . . . would this be more of the Relaxed Regulation ???

Also, going shopping this weekend for some lower carb food than the Hill's M/D wet. After looking at the link you guys sent from Dr. Lisa Pierson (Cat Food Nutritional Composition),
I have narrowed it down do a few. I'm trying to consider not only the Carbs/Protein/Fat , but the calories since Monet needs to lose about a pound and a half to be at his ideal weight.
There are not a lot of options where the calorie is low, the carbs low (<10) , fat <50 and protein >40. The ones I'm looking at are by Merrick (Cowboy Cookout and Grammy's Pot Pie), Weruva (Paw Lickin' Chicken and Steak Frites), Friskies Classic Pate ( Poultry Platter, Turkey and Giblets Dinner, and Supreme Super) and Tiki (Chicken Puka Puka Luau and Koolina Luau). Any suggestions from you guys would be so appreciated.

Just wanted to say again how grateful I am for the continued advice/support ! I honestly now feel you have saved Monet's life ! I hope someday I will be knowledgeable enough about this to pay it forward !
 
Re: New Member

Hi. The 2 varieties of Merrick on your food list have been discontinued.They revamped their product line not long after Dr. Lisa's list came out. The new formulas (Perfect Bistro) have some similar names but are NOT the same formulas. They have been slow providing the nutrient profiles for the new formulas..but for the ones that have come out, they are NOT low enough carb anymore. Very unfortunate. You may still be able to find a few of the old formulas cans scattered around, but be sure that it is the OLD formula (5-star).

Looks like this http://www.amazon.com/Merrick-Cowboy-Co ... B000N62E9G
NOT
this http://www.amazon.com/Merrick-Purrfect-Bistro-Cowboy-Cookout/dp/B00CJ1RNDK?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20.


i would worry less about his weight right now until he is regulated. They are not processing nutrients properly and may be hungrier than usual until they are. I let Hank eat whatever he wanted in the beginning. he didn't eat much actually because he was not feeling well. But with the switch to low-carb canned, even when he was feeling better and eating more normally, he lost weight. Many of us also feed mini-meals spread throughout the day which is better for them and easier on their pancreas. Add a little water to the food each time which is great for them healthwise but also helps them feel more full.
Also most will limit the fish intake to maybe 1-2 times a week or less. We don't feed much fish at all.

As i recall your husband works from home, so he is there to monitor, correct? But no, regardless this would not exclude you form TR. For any protocol you follow you need to be testing. You just do the best you can within the constraints of your schedule. gets spot test at different times on different days, and the patterns will emerge that way. There is nothing wrong with doing a curve. But when you are home testing daily, they are not really necessary. Do one if you like over the weekend. Vets are not used to most of their patients home testing and having so much data readily available on how a particular dose of insulin is working in YOUR cat on any given day.

Get your spreadsheet going and that will not only help you and us here, but it is shareable such that you could send it to your vet if you like. people cannot keep up with numbers scrolling back up and down in posts. Plus the SS charts are color coded and you will be able to see the story of things more easily.

You have done a great job to regroup and get his dose down. Clearly it was too much. He may not need much insulin at all and/or possibly not for long.
 
Re: New Member

Thanks Hank for all your valuable information !

My Husband does work from home....but so far we have NOT been able to master doing the BG test by ourself ...it takes both of us. We have been able to each do the shots alone so I hope the testing will get easier too...Baby steps I guess :o)
 
Re: New Member

Hi Rise==just wanted to say your Monet is gorgeous!!! We fostered a flame point Himmie for 2 months...turns out he was dumped outside because he had kidney failure and we had to say goodbye to him. I am partial to smooshie faced cats!
 
Re: New Member

Hi Laura....thank you! We also have a Persian Flame Point named Picasso ....he really has a smushed face ;-)
 
Re: New Member

Welcome, Risé and Monet! :YMHUG:

MonetsMom said:
My Husband does work from home....but so far we have NOT been able to master doing the BG test by ourself ...it takes both of us. We have been able to each do the shots alone so I hope the testing will get easier too...Baby steps I guess :o)

I didn't see these linked anywhere in the previous comments so I thought I'd share them with you:
Ear Testing Tips
Ear Testing Psychology
Taking your time
 
Re: New Member

Kpassa your babies are so beautiful! Thanks for the links. Definitely will look at all of these!
 
Re: Need dose advise ?

I just tested Monet @7 pm (EST) and his BG was 174....this morning it was 144. His last lantus shot was last night @ 7:00 (1unit). Do you think I should give him his shot @174 ?"
 
Re: Need dose advise please ?

Rise started too high (3 units BID) per vet's orders and uses the AlphaTrak to test

Only numbers we have so far are these:
10/24 AMBG 124 No Shot
10/24 PMPS 201..gave 1 unit

10/25 AMBG 144 No Shot
10/25 PMPS 174 ?????

Rise, I'd probably go ahead and give the 1 unit IF you are going to be home tonight to test. You'll need to get a +2 (2 hours after shooting/feeding) and one "before bed" to make sure he's going to stay in safe numbers.

Hopefully others will chime in too, and I'll continue helping you in messages on how to use the message board a little better :-D

Thank you for reposting your question here!
 
Re: Need dose advise please ?

MonetsMom said:
Kpassa your babies are so beautiful! Thanks for the links. Definitely will look at all of these!

Thank you. :-D They're no longer itty-bitty kittens (they're both over a year old now) but they're still my babies!

Chris & China said:
Rise, I'd probably go ahead and give the 1 unit IF you are going to be home tonight to test. You'll need to get a +2 (2 hours after shooting/feeding) and one "before bed" to make sure he's going to stay in safe numbers.

Yep, I second this.
 
Hi everyone . . I have just uploaded my first attempt at Monet's SS. I'm positive it's not done totally correct . . .so any comments on how to improve it would be greatly appreciated.
 
SS looks good to me! As do his numbers. If he can hold 80-160 for 14 days then he is in remission. He probably isn't quite there yet but you can try and support his pancreas by feeding many mini meals through the day instead of big ones. If he creeps up again then I would try 0.25 and see how that does.

Wendy
 
Thanks Wendy for your comments / advise!

It just gave me chills to read that he might be getting close to remission with his numbers !
Dropping the dosage again to .25 may be what I need to do. I will see what his BG looks like in the AM.
Thank you again for your support !
 
Re: New Member

Jamie & Jupiter said:
Also, whenever you switch to a low carb food, you may see a pretty big drop in Blood Glucose numbers. So whenever you switch foods, you will want to monitor his BG a little more carefully.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top